Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What the F8ck!!!!

• 18-05-2008 10:36pm
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 265 Mod ✭✭✭✭

OK so this scared the Sh*t out of me and I thought I would share it with the rest of ye and find out if its happened to anyone else.

Anyway, on saturday I was on my way home from work in the evening and passing around Trim on the bypass... As I'm coming up to a junction I can see a guy in his van flying up to the junction and was astounded as he flew out in front of me and cut me up only to travel at 20MPH in a 40 zone right in front of me... Anyway its a town so I decide not to overtake and wait until we get out of the town. After a while of being stuck behind this idiot doing 20 I eventually find a long enough straight to be able to overtake. So I do, except as soon as I get past him he floors it right up behind me to the point where I can't even see his number plate in my rear view. At this point we're both doing over 60Mph as I'd only just finished overtaking and I can't slow down for fear of him rear ending me... So this goes on for about a mile thanks to bends and oncoming traffic before I've had enough and slam on the brakes forcing him to overtake me.

Then I just continued along watching him speed off thinking what an idiot he was wishing him the worst as he disappeared into the distance. Then to my astonishment as I round a bend there he is coming in the opposite direction towards me, when he swerves across the road at me with his friend giving me the two fingers before I swerve and very narrowly miss them.

I've gotta admit this scared the absolute sh!te out of me... To think that someone could so little regard for the life of me and my girlfriend for the sake of a laugh... WTF!!

Has anything like this happened to anyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I've come across some real arseholes on the road but that takes the biscuit. Please tell me you took his reg down and reported him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

At least you're okay. What an idiot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭abcxyz123

cornbb wrote: »
    I've come across some real arseholes on the road but that takes the biscuit. Please tell me you took his reg down and reported him?

yeah, this is the worst ive ever heard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cokehead Mother

Maybe you or your girlfriend did something to him and forgot about it. He could be one of those people that shoot people when they don't respond when he says 'hello'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/justice/law_enforcement/reporting-a-crime

report it. posting here might make you feel better. reporting it might save someone's life. get maniacs off the road.

/steps off high horse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

betafrog wrote: »
    he flew out in front of me and cut me up

Huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

This is why I haven't learned to drive yet :mad:
    What a feckin mad man!
    Some people shouldn't be allowed leave the house.

Glad you're okay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

No offence dude, but if I had passed the same guy and he started to pull sh1te like that, I would have calmly stayed in front. He rear ends you and he's in the sh1te. I understand why you would have been sh1ting yourself but bullies like that need to be thought a lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

serious idiot.

I would love if he was wrapped around a lamp-post. It would serve him right for being such a dickhead

I'd be careful op, this sounds like the start of a pretty average slasher flick. You may wake one night to see the driver standing above you while your girlfriend lies beside you, a meat cleaver between her shoulder blades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

OK so this scared the Sh*t out of me and I thought I would share it with the rest of ye and find out if its happened to anyone else.

Anyway, on saturday I was on my way home from work in the evening and passing around Trim on the bypass... As I'm coming up to a junction I can see a guy in his van flying up to the junction and was astounded as he flew out in front of me and cut me up only to travel at 20MPH in a 40 zone right in front of me... Anyway its a town so I decide not to overtake and wait until we get out of the town. After a while of being stuck behind this idiot doing 20 I eventually find a long enough straight to be able to overtake. So I do, except as soon as I get past him he floors it right up behind me to the point where I can't even see his number plate in my rear view. At this point we're both doing over 60Mph as I'd only just finished overtaking and I can't slow down for fear of him rear ending me... So this goes on for about a mile thanks to bends and oncoming traffic before I've had enough and slam on the brakes forcing him to overtake me.

Then I just continued along watching him speed off thinking what an idiot he was wishing him the worst as he disappeared into the distance. Then to my astonishment as I round a bend there he is coming in the opposite direction towards me, when he swerves across the road at me with his friend giving me the two fingers before I swerve and very narrowly miss them.

I've gotta admit this scared the absolute sh!te out of me... To think that someone could so little regard for the life of me and my girlfriend for the sake of a laugh... WTF!!

Sounds like something from the film OUTLAW with danny dyver and sean bean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Wow, what a scumbag...

Lesson learned: if someone tailgates you aggressively, don't speed up to get away from them. If they rear-end you, then they're at fault, not you.

Although I imagine this bloke is such a c*nt that he'd probably slam on the brakes if he got ahead of you again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

did you get the licence plate and make and model of car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Huh?
    If my young-uns lingo is up to date, it is a corruption of "cut in front of".

Could be wrong though.

EDIT: Should have refreshed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

A similar thing happened to me.

A guy coming towards me was over on my side of the road coming round a bend. I was forced to go about 3 foot into the ditch/side of the road and as he passed I honked at him and threw up the fingers.

I carried on my way and about 3 minutes later he was behind me flashing and beeping. I could see that there were two lads in the car and vaguely recognised one of them as being from my old secondary school, 3-4 years ahead of me. I kept going and at a wider stretch of road he pulled next to me, his mate rolled down the window shouting at me to pull in. He then started swerving towards me - not coming that close, but still fucking menacing enough.

All I could do was look forward and keep driving. They got bored and turned around. I pulled into the garda station in the next village and reported it. I heard nothing more of it until the next Paddy's Weekend when yer man decked me for 'dobbing' him in. Reported that incident to the gardai too, and yet again heard nothing. Moved out of that town soon after so heard no more, and haven't been boxed since :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Had some guy right on my ass for ages on the road. I was doing about 100kmh.

I kept tapping the breaks and he would back off for a while but then start tailgating me again.

Eventually i slowed to 60kmh in a 100 zone and he eventually overtook me and proceeded to tailgate the next guy up and later on he overtook him.

I just thought it would great if he crashed.
    A few minutes later i pass him and another carr on the side of the road. He had crashed right into the back of him.

Felt great but i felt sorry for the person he crashed into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

it's not driving lessons these bastards need

its brains :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

stepbar wrote: »
    No offence dude, but if I had passed the same guy and he started to pull sh1te like that, I would have calmly stayed in front. He rear ends you and he's in the sh1te. I understand why you would have been sh1ting yourself but bullies like that need to be thought a lesson.

I think I've spotted a flaw in your plan - it's that you get crashed into.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Wasn't Prince Harrys' Royal Police by any chance, was it?

http://news.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30000-1316380,00.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

swingking wrote: »
    it's not driving lessons these bastards need

its brains :mad:

or shooting...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

eoin_s wrote: »
    I think I've spotted a flaw in your plan - it's that you get crashed into.

tow-bars ftw!!

anyhow, he'd be in the wrong, and after all id sooner have a dent in the arse of my car and have his radiator/headlights smashed!

deffo i usually hit the anchors (tap them twice first to give two warning brake lights to them) whenever somebody is tail-gating me. If somebody is tailgating me coming up to a junction, id often clutch it at the stop and put it into reverse gear, when they see the reverse lights coming on they usually get the message and dont be long leaving a space between ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Properly pikeys. Lets say a little prayer that you were not killed.
    Hosanna in the Hiace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭KBarry

Had some guy right on my ass for ages on the road. I was doing about 100kmh.

I kept tapping the breaks and he would back off for a while but then start tailgating me again.

Eventually i slowed to 60kmh in a 100 zone and he eventually overtook me and proceeded to tailgate the next guy up and later on he overtook him.

I just thought it would great if he crashed.
    A few minutes later i pass him and another carr on the side of the road. He had crashed right into the back of him.

Felt great but i felt sorry for the person he crashed into.

A similar thing happened to me years ago in England. I was driving along on a fairly busy dual-carriageway and saw a car barreling up behind me, overtaking on the inside etc. I was in the outside lane and they tailgated me for a mile until I could pull in. As they went past the passengers were all mouthing off and gesturing at me. A couple of miles further up the road I came across their car planted into the crash barrier with the muppets staggering out of it.

No other cars involved so justice was served fully. Muppets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

It's a pity you couldn't get the plate number. An idiot like that on the road is lethal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

Sounds awful OP. People like that should not be on the road. Pity you didn't get the number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

OP: Should have jammed on the brakes and let him drive straight into the back of you, then sue for whiplash and the damages to the car, as well as distress etc.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

rb_ie wrote: »
    OP: Should have jammed on the brakes and let him drive straight into the back of you, then sue for whiplash and the damages to the car, as well as distress etc.
    Ah here now!! Easier said than done especially with your gf in the car.

Is she pregnant?

wixfjord wrote: »
    Ah here now!! Easier said than done especially with your gf in the car.
    Yeah but the law will be on your side, I mean if you drive into someone from behind, pretty much regardless of the situation, you're fcked and it'll cost you big time.

As long as there's no cars infront that you could go soaring into, just jam on the breaks(maybe slow down a little first) and let them come straight into the back of your car.

Immediately get out holding your neck and cursing and call the police, make sure you've witnesses that your neck is "hurt" and once the police have arranged to get you home, straight over to the doctor, get a note saying you've whiplash, then go see someone and claim you're terrified to get back into the car after what happened/you saw your life flash before your eyes etc. Ham the whole thing up and bring it to court, along with a psychiatric evaluation that you're emotionally distressed and aren't able to drive, the whiplash and the damage to the car, you're in for a nice payday and a few days off work.

And at the end of it, some f*cking idiot will have a few lovely points on their licence (full disqualification if there's witnesses to how they were driving) and a massive hike in their future insurance.

Justice imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Its a big assumption someone who drives like that has a valid license or insurance. Also nothing to say they won't drive off if they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

This is not a good idea. There is enough carnage on the roads without this sort of attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Arsehole. Crashing into a tree is what he has to look forward to.

Quality wrote: »
    This is not a good idea. There is enough carnage on the roads without this sort of attitude.
    Just think of the €€€s :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

cornbb.... Too much muck on the van to get the plate and was too busy concentrating on not crashing to get a decent look... Wish I had though just so I can find who it was... Absolute c*nt!!

Well the prick that did this to you will drive again and do it to someone else because you didn't cop on to take his reg. Your girlfriend was in the car too?

No excuse tbh. This prick could end up killing someone

Yeah but the law will be on your side, I mean if you drive into someone from behind, pretty much regardless of the situation, you're fcked and it'll cost you big time.

As long as there's no cars infront that you could go soaring into, just jam on the breaks(maybe slow down a little first) and let them come straight into the back of your car.

Immediately get out holding your neck and cursing and call the police, make sure you've witnesses that your neck is "hurt" and once the police have arranged to get you home, straight over to the doctor, get a note saying you've whiplash, then go see someone and claim you're terrified to get back into the car after what happened/you saw your life flash before your eyes etc. Ham the whole thing up and bring it to court, along with a psychiatric evaluation that you're emotionally distressed and aren't able to drive, the whiplash and the damage to the car, you're in for a nice payday and a few days off work.

And at the end of it, some f*cking idiot will have a few lovely points on their licence (full disqualification if there's witnesses to how they were driving) and a massive hike in their future insurance.

Justice imo.

This is a large part of the reason that insurance is so high in Ireland. Would you ride the system in the same way if anyone crashed into you, or just if you thought they were scumbags?

Moreover, would you really take the chance of a collision to make a few quid? Would you purposely fall over on a wet floor and get some compo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Hudson 4 ever

I think it was just a practical joke, you need to lighten tf up

This is a large part of the reason that insurance is so high in Ireland. Would you ride the system in the same way if anyone crashed into you, or just if you thought they were scumbags?

There's a difference between an innocent/mistake crash and this dangerous tailgating-for-the-laugh scumbaggery (don't think that's a word fwiw), so given the chance to f*ck over some scumbags I'd happily take it. If it got one idiot off our roads for a few years, or taught them to drive safely and with consideration for others on the roads, then the job is done, regardless of the cost.
    eoin_s wrote:
    Moreover, would you really take the chance of a collision to make a few quid? Would you purposely fall over on a wet floor and get some compo?

As I said above, it'd more be the chance to f*ck over some scumbags. The compensation would just be an added bonus, or a reward should I say, for getting these guys the punishment they deserve.

And no, I wouldn't go looking for slippery floors just to slide and get compensation, as that only hurts innocent people financially.

I've a massive problem with a lot of the drivers on our roads, whether it be those who engage in such activities as tailgating/playing chicken etc with innocent drivers, or those who break the speed limit in the 60km/h section of the M50.

There's not enough severe punishment being dished out to these drivers, there's laws in place for our own safety yet people decide to break them every single day and they get away with it. The penalty points system is a farce as it barely deters dangerous drivers from doing so and I for one am really, really looking forward to the addition of more speed cameras throughout the country.

There's so many deaths on our roads and the attempts to bring the toll down are weak at best so any chance I'd get to f*ck over some scumbag driver who's going around scaring other drivers or generally breaking the laws and making the roads unsafe for other drivers, I'd take it.

Insurance Fraud hurts innocent people financially as well - look at the premiums we have to pay as it is.

Ah but what % of it comes from insurance fraud, and what % of it comes from dangerous drivers f*cking up and crashing into someone?

I'd guess that the sheer amount of retarded pr1cks that are on our roads, causing crashes, have a much, much greater contribution to the rise in premiums that the odd person making fradulent claims.

For example, whenever I'm on the m50 I slow down to 50/60 in the relevant designated zones, rightfully so as there's construction work going on there, however the overwhelming majority (and I mean 99% of drivers on that road) just fly through it as though there is no restriction in place. Some even give me the finger for obeying the law!
    These f*ckers are the ones who are causing problems on our roads, causing crashes, increasing everyones premiums. Yet nothing is done about it, they're well able to slow down when they spot the Gardaí "hiding" a couple hundred metres ahead in their brightly coloured jackets, but that's about it.

I've been dangerously tailgated twice, once was by a group of eastern europeans on my way to cork, who I 100% would not be considering jamming the breaks on because god only knows if they've insurance or a licence. The second time was in the Dublin mountains by some scumbags who were trying to run me off the road, following me around and generally trying to scare the shít out of me. I obviously wasn't going to do something then as it was so isolated and they were beyond insane that I'd be scared what would happen should I have to get out of the car and face them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I think it was just a practical joke, you need to lighten tf up

IMO you need to stfu, as with experience I've learned that stupidity in a car can and will lead to injury/death.

There is no need for it, and trying to brush off this activity as a 'joke' shows your level of intelligence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I know it was probably meant as a joke, but deliberately allowing somebody to crash into you is stupid and dangerous. Not only to you, but to others traveling behind the tailgater.

Unfortunate that you didn't get the reg OP. Guy sounds like a nutcase. Perhaps you'll see him again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

connundrum wrote: »
    IMO you need to stfu, as with experience I've learned that stupidity in a car can and will lead to injury/death.

There is no need for it, and trying to brush off this activity as a 'joke' shows your level of intelligence.

She's a troll, look at her previous posts. Surprised she has lasted.

connundrum wrote: »

You're so cool, and you must be some sort of genuis too, what with being able to evaluate somebody's intelligence without knowing anything about them and only reading a couple of words they wrote. The Op needs to chill out and so do you, I do this sort of thing the whole time, I even run people of the road sometimes, its all in good fun

It'll be sweet when you eventually run yourself off the road, hit something and die really slowly, crying out for someone to help you yet noone will hear you. Society wil be so much better off. Lets just hope you don't have any offspring before it happens, or if you do, lets just hope they're in the car with you at the time.

Your parents will probably be relieved to be rid of such a stain to society, they deserve a good beating for bringing such a travesty into the world in the first place though, it must be said.

Oh well, lets hope that death comes sooner rather than later, eh?

stovelid wrote: »
    I know it was probably meant as a joke, but deliberately allowing somebody to crash into you is stupid and dangerous. Not only to you, but to others traveling behind the tailgater.

Yeah it was a joke pretty much, I'm just getting tired of seeing dangerous driving on our roads and little being done about it. I mean so many people are being killed week after week, and yet all we're doing is handing our penalty points and stationing Gardaí with speed cameras at points in the road that there'd be little or no accidents on.

For example, I was coming down the N81 from Tallaght one day and there was a speed camera set up with about 4 Gardaí sitting around monitoring it in the middle of rush hour traffic. This isn't going to save any lives. Yet I drove to Carlow in October and the main national road (can't recall the name of it atm) which has a reputation amongst Gardaí for being one of the most dangerous in the country had not one speed camera on it.

The most unfortunate thing about it is that so many innocent lives are lost because of dangerous drivers, yet again, so little is being done about it.

It'll be sweet when you eventually run yourself off the road, hit something and die really slowly, crying out for someone to help you yet noone will hear you. Society wil be so much better off. Lets just hope you don't have any offspring before it happens, or if you do, lets just hope they're in the car with you at the time.

Your parents will probably be relieved to be rid of such a stain to society, they deserve a good beating for bringing such a travesty into the world in the first place though, it must be said.

Oh well, lets hope that death comes sooner rather than later, eh?

You're so easy to annoy :D I may have to buzz you some day. I think in your case I'd pull up beside you on the motorway and throw a strawberry milkshake through your window (or maybe I'd just smash your windscreen :D ) Either way I'm sure you would get mad very quickly and probably end up killing yourself trying to catch me!

Nah I'd just go do the same thing I do every other night, go tie your mother up and whip the f*cking arse off her before sodomising her and splodging my load all over her face and then letting her go tuck you in and kiss you goodnight.

tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I do this sort of thing the whole time, I even run people of the road sometimes, its all in good fun

There's some pretty decent trolls here on boards. You're really going to have to do better than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I think in your case I'd pull up beside you on the motorway and throw a strawberry milkshake through your window (or maybe I'd just smash your windscreen :D )

utility?

thats when Hudson says "mummy why do you taste funny"...
    Heh :D

Sangre: Possibly.