Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone else think theres more Gardai around?

• 15-05-2008 9:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭

I don't know if this is just in Cork, but does anyone else think they are everywhere?

Don't get me wrong, this is definitely a good thing as we always say there's not enough around!

Examples. I was driving the girlfriend home the other night about 12 O' Clock. A garda checkpoint was set up by Sundays well and I was breathalised. Anyway, on I went and dropped the GF home. Wake up the next morning to go to work and out by Melbourne Road there's another checkpoint set up breathalising people as they go to work.

I was then out last night and stopped by the Gardai to be asked "What's your name, What are ye doing here" to which I responded I was turning my car (In a lane) and got the resonnse "Get outta here now" after which he drove off. Then, driving home last night after being stopped I saw one squad car, and TWO paddywagons! Keep inmind this is between 11 & 12 O' Clock on a Weds night!

Before posters jump down my throat I'm NOT COMPLAINING!

JUst wondered is it the same in other areas of the country, and if any1 else from Cork has noticed this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Galway, same as usual. Saw a foot patrol yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Haven't seen any. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Yep, I've been seeing alot more squad cars around Lucan and Maynooth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Sherifu wrote: »
    Haven't seen any. :(

Yeah Garda numbers on the streets of Bucharest are down these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

kevmy wrote: »
    Yeah Garda numbers on the streets of Bucharest are down these days

I blame Brian Cowen and Co. .... pay more attention to Romania you bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Good few more yeah...

More quantity than quality IMO but i guess the uniforms will at least put the scumbags off so im happy enough that my taxes are going somewhere useful

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

I think its the good weather, they dont mind getting out of their stations a bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

Funny, I noticed a few foot patrols in odd areas yesterday. Sligo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

I'm originally from Dublin but just moved back from living in London for a couple of years to Limerick. The main thing i've noticed is that you rarely see the Garda out on the street here in the city centre.

Last week when those raids happened in Limerick i was actually surprised to see two squad cars in a row on my way home from work. It kinda clicked then.

I'm sure they're probably doing their job and i don't envy them but i found it strange.

I have to say the met police in London are great. Extremely professional and helpful. They also have a laugh with you and fell like normal people looking out for you as opposed to in charge of you. Maybe because i never go on their bad side but they were there when my girlfriend got mugged, brought her around in the car for and hour to see if she could spot the guys. Then back to the station for a cup of tea and look through mugshots and send letters constantly updating her of the progress of the investigation. I thought they were amazingly trained, professional and visible.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 ontheroad24/7

definitely the weather. shur aren't ya out more yourself, that's why you're seeing them. they're not doing anymore tho, are they ?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

funk-you wrote: »
    I'm originally from Dublin but just moved back from living in London for a couple of years to Limerick. The main thing i've noticed is that you rarely see the Garda out on the street here in the city centre.

Last week when those raids happened in Limerick i was actually surprised to see two squad cars in a row on my way home from work. It kinda clicked then.

I'm sure they're probably doing their job and i don't envy them but i found it strange.

I have to say the met police in London are great. Extremely professional and helpful. They also have a laugh with you and fell like normal people looking out for you as opposed to in charge of you. Maybe because i never go on their bad side but they were there when my girlfriend got mugged, brought her around in the car for and hour to see if she could spot the guys. Then back to the station for a cup of tea and look through mugshots and send letters constantly updating her of the progress of the investigation. I thought they were amazingly trained, professional and visible.

-Funk

Much more personable, yet professional. Still they get slated just as much as the Guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

look at the perks sure? not looking at the job itself but the benefits that go with it are incredible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

RedXIV wrote: »
    look at the perks sure? but the benefits that go with it are incredible.

such as?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I think more and more Gardaí are ROUND.

Has anyone seen the fat bastard who stands outside Government Buildings?

Fúck me, I hope he's chasing me the next time I'm caught for something.

He looks like he's pregnant with twins, the overweight cúnt.

How are Gardaí allowed to get into such a state, would his Inspector or whatever not have a quiet word with him or something?

Is there not some required level of fitness for these Upholders of The Peace?

What if they all became like this oaf? How would they catch the baddies?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

DesF wrote: »
    I think more and more Gardaí are ROUND.

Has anyone seen the fat bastard who stands outside Government Buildings?

Fúck me, I hope he's chasing me the next time I'm caught for something.

He looks like he's pregnant with twins, the overweight cúnt.

How are Gardaí allowed to get into such a state, would his Inspector or whatever not have a quiet word with him or something?

Is there not some required level of fitness for these Upholders of The Peace?

What if they all became like this oaf? How would they catch the baddies?

Hahah yeah i know he's shocking. He's not just overweight, he's seriously obese. I suppose in fairness it could be a medical condition. It's probably the only place they can put him, can hardly have him on the beat! Although it might do him some good!