Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guitar leads wrecking my head!

• 14-05-2008 10:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭

Been using Planet Waves for a few years now which until recently I thought were pretty good but after getting them nicked at a gig last month I bought an other set of leads and already one of them is dying on me! I treat my leads with a lot of respect and always handle them carefully when putting them back in the case.

I know Planet Waves have a lifetime warranty however this is not the point.
    The point is that I hate when a lead fukcs up when I'm in the middle of playing a kickass gig.

So my question is: which brand of leads can I really trust and how long in your experience does a good quality guitar lead last for? I use mine pretty much ever day.

As usual lads, your opinion is most valuable so thank you for your help

Lauren x

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

People say they are over priced for what you get, but try monster cables. They are expensive. But extreamly high quality cables and very reliable. You really get what you pay for.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

I've heard nothing but bad things about Planet Waves cables. I only use Cordial cables with Neutrik jacks from Thomann

http://www.thomann.de/ie/cordial_instrument_cables.html

WRT Monster cables, they'll break too eventually or they'll be stolen like your Planet Waves. I can't think of any reason to spend that much on cables.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

I use Planet Waves and never have an issue with them, but my lead is relatively thick, one of my friends has much thinner, and somehow flimsier feeling Planet Waves cables.

Lauren, did you play a gig in DIT Bolton Street a few months back? I just remember you posting about a Jagstang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭11811

i've had the same planet waves leads for eight years!! still going strong, used quite a bit, gigging, recording,practically everyday. they were well worth the 80 euro paid at the time!

sorry to hear yours were nicked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ball ox

This was posted in the music production forum by JT Suited a while back
    link
    I wouldn't buy the cheapest cables on the market as they will just fall apart but IMO planet waves and other cables around that price are grand. Alternatively buy yourself a soldering iron, some jacks and a big length of cable and work away, probably a lot cheaper too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I swear by Planet Waves. Only ever have one break, and thats cos my 18st mate stood on it when it was angled. Have never tried anything else since I started buying them and them alone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I use planet waves also, haven't had any problems with them so far. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

I use Planet Waves also, they're the only cable i've used that have lasted longer than a few months. No complaints about sound quality, and if the cables do fail (ive had one or two go after a couple of years of regular use), it's a straight swap for a new one. Pretty awesome tbh :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

ive been using my planet waves ones for years same ones no probs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Pretty awesome tbh :)
    Don't think I could ever bring myself to call a straight forward guitar cable "awesome" but that's one's prerogative I guess. So long as it does the job, it really doesn't matter who makes it IMHO but if getting a Planet Waves will save you buying 2 cheaper cables that break easier then it should be a fairly simple decision?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Have been using some fairly cheap musicstore brand cables for the past 2 years. No problems or sound quality issues. They've been gigged plenty of times. If they broke I'd probably go out and get decent high quality cables, but I've no need to yet.

I have a planet waves cable actually, one of their cheaper ones, but I don't really use it since the other ones do the job fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Gotta try these planet waves cables myself, Ive always bought mid priced leads and I seem to go through them dam fast, its definitely one of my biggest musical expenditure constantly replacing leads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Spicy Lauren

Ok. So it seems that Planet Waves get the most votes.
    So I'll dig my old receipt, bring it back to the shop for a swap and get on with my life.

Squirrel - yes, that was me.

Thanks lads :)
    byebye
    Lauren

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Been using Planet Waves for a few years now which until recently I thought were pretty good but after getting them nicked at a gig last month I bought an other set of leads and already one of them is dying on me! I treat my leads with a lot of respect and always handle them carefully when putting them back in the case.

If Planet Waves worked for you before, then it seems a no brainer. ;)

I use them as well, and I still have my very first PW lead from god knows how many years ago, still working fine. Gets my vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Savman wrote: »
    Don't think I could ever bring myself to call a straight forward guitar cable "awesome" but that's one's prerogative I guess. So long as it does the job, it really doesn't matter who makes it IMHO but if getting a Planet Waves will save you buying 2 cheaper cables that break easier then it should be a fairly simple decision?
    I value my free time, and also my money.

If a cable saves me both (no messing around soldering connectors every couple of months, and no buying a replacement ever), thats pretty damn awesome imo. :pac:

Seriously, the grin I had on my face the first time I got a PW cable replaced... I had no receipt, no box, nothing. Strolled into MusicianInc with a broken cable and strolled out with a brand new one, no questions asked. Awesome :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭MattKid

Custom made cables FTW

Try Lavacable.com or Bayoucables.com in the US. (Bayou cables have quite a long backlog at the moment but a sound guy to deal with)

Avoid Mostercables they are bullies See Here It's a long read but worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭tibor

Seriously, the grin I had on my face the first time I got a PW cable replaced... I had no receipt, no box, nothing. Strolled into MusicianInc with a broken cable and strolled out with a brand new one, no questions asked. Awesome :D

Need your receipt to exchange them these days in Musician Inc.
    They did repair a faulty one I had for free though - just cut a bit off each end of the lead and replaced the jacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

its pretty easy to make ur own and repair cables really, but untill the one si use now break not really any need too.. well thats for me... custom ones are nice too ive been using george l's lately too, i need some more of the cable for it actually

and yeah u need the receipt for musician inc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Shanegggg

Been using a cable i got with my gibson 2 years ago. Its the best cable i've ever had. Change it for a cheapy 5-10 euro cable and you definitely can hear a difference. Only problem is i dunno what brand it is or where to get another one of them!!