Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone played EA Rugby 08?

• 12-05-2008 4:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭

Got a copy of this on my laptop at the moment, started playing it last night in an effort to avoid study. Surprised to find an Irish team that still has, and I quote:

K. Gleesong
    Malcolm Kelly and Malcolm O'Kelly
    R. Cordigan
    F. Cotonpiomi

and a multitude of others. It looks like they did have licenses for players, but they just were lazy ****es :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

crash_000 wrote: »
    Got a copy of this on my laptop at the moment, started playing it last night in an effort to avoid study. Surprised to find an Irish team that still has, and I quote:

K. Gleesong
    Malcolm Kelly and Malcolm O'Kelly
    R. Cordigan
    F. Cotonpiomi

and a multitude of others. It looks like they did have licenses for players, but they just were lazy ****es :P

Such a lazy assed produced game. The dev's did feck all to it and actually made more mistakes then there was. Drop goal system is stupid. So is the commentary,set pieces, the moves, rucking, turnovers,refs,playermodels, names, physics [because there isnt any], tackling and overall kicking.

But there isnt anything else on offer, European Championship [i think thats the name] was made by a different company and has even worse.

Wish they'd do a Fifa like the fans asked and make it proper.

And nothing annoys me more then McCaw having a scrumcap and BOD with ginger hair and gloves :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I used to have 2005 on the xbox and while they've improved some minor things (find sidesteps, handoffs etc. easier to do, and offloads now exist) which are handy, but overall its bizarre. and I miss Murray Mexted too.

The sidestep and handoffs though see so unnatural you know they dont flow with the whole gameplay and is completely scripted each one will look the same with the same effect there's no failed hand off's or failed sidesteps. When you do one it seems like a cheat almost.

The one thing i did like was the fact that when you were camping on the opposition try line they'd put in big hits unlike in 06 were you would fall over the try line every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

Get the PC version, that way you can edit (and vastly improve) the game and get rid of stupid things like mispelled names and scrumcaps.

Mind you all the editing in the world can't make the game any harder to beat, tis ridiculously easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Who needs good graphics, proper rules ect...Jonah Lomu Rugby will always be the greatest rugby game of all time, EA Rugby is a poor imitation. I'm very annoyed I broke the game, was unbelievable. Bill McClaren the greatest commentator ever with some classics such as Bill; 'Euph! Thats gonna put him in ward 4'...Co-Com; 'I hope not Bill thats a maternity ward!'. EA rugby is brutal considering what they could do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

GDM wrote: »
    Get the PC version, that way you can edit (and vastly improve) the game and get rid of stupid things like mispelled names and scrumcaps.

Mind you all the editing in the world can't make the game any harder to beat, tis ridiculously easy.

How do you do that in the pc version? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 DannyMach

themont85 wrote: »
    Who needs good graphics, proper rules ect...Jonah Lomu Rugby will always be the greatest rugby game of all time, EA Rugby is a poor imitation. I'm very annoyed I broke the game, was unbelievable. Bill McClaren the greatest commentator ever with some classics such as Bill; 'Euph! Thats gonna put him in ward 4'...Co-Com; 'I hope not Bill thats a maternity ward!'. EA rugby is brutal considering what they could do with it.
    Ah Jonah Lomu. My friend recently dusted it off and we've had some classics but we've yet to beat that last bloody classic match v the All Blacks. As for the commentary, I can finish most of the lines before the commentators themselves at this stage. One thing that's better in Rugby 08 is at least you can make line breaks.

Got Rugby 08 cheap enough and think it's worth it for the hours I've gotten out of it, yet it has some real flaws. Along with others have said, details are off and some of the club teams are a joke putting the licencing aside. For an 08 title, I was greeted with my Munster team of 06. Created the likes of Mafi, Carney, etc for myself. Tackling is reminiscent of that in American Football with players capable of launching themselves from 5m away into the ball carriers chest. AI can be poor on both sides and the 'Elite' difficulty isn't that difficult. Grant Fox sounds like Harvey Norman at times. The way you can be diving over the line and then get tackled...have to play the game to know. The way a player absolutely loses all basic skills when put in a position he's not listed for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭ozt9vdujny3srf

Why would they bother doing a good job of it? What other Rugby game are you going to buy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Disable the arcade hand offs and lineouts, put knock ons and injurys at least 17 clicks, and download an up to date roster patch.

Even then it's just about bareable.

is there an up to date roster patch?

If you go to therugbyforum.com I think they have some up to date stuff, haven't checked in a while but it's better than what's in the game by default.

they make you jump through hoops on that forum just to download the thing.

I'll PM you a link to a private download Crash.

You can get the roster editor here - http://homepages.slingshot.co.nz/~woosaah/Setup3.msi - it's a little flaky though.

can i have that too zabbo? would appreciate it.

Then i shall use the editor to cripple the teams that i play with, I'd like to play with Ireland and not beat the all blacks by 60 in elite mode thanks.

Are you using simulation lineout and offloads?

It's depressing for Dan Carter to ping you back into your own 22 every time he gets the ball, makes it much harder to win lineout ball.

If anyone's up for a game, and is near the city centre, I can meet and bring my controller :)

The game really is pants playing the AI all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Al_Fernz

themont85 wrote: »

You can pick this up on Ebay pretty cheap - my brother got the PS1 version about €10.........and then the bitter rivalry started again.:D

yeah I am. In fairness without BOD it's more of a game. But Ronan O'Gara can kick crazy far aswell.

Just found this if anyone who has the pc version is interested

http://earugbyseriescenter.moonfruit.com/#/megaupdatepatch/4528596344

Im actually thinking of buying the game now for the sake of it and now it has proper rosters kits and names thanks to these lads

You're an absolute legend. Thanks for that link.

GDM wrote: »
    You're an absolute legend. Thanks for that link.

NP im just jealous that i dont have it yet to play =( tell me how you get on with it!

Cheers dude, greatly appreciated. I'm quickly coming addicted to this game, despite all its flaws. Need a gamepad to really enjoy it I think though.

Did you try the mod then? What is it like? Only downside is that you loose the Super14 but meh dont think many European people will mind unless you come from SANZAR

Havent installed the mod - links on the page for the download to it just lead to filefront, no download. Weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

I just want an updated Jonah Lomu. :p

Actually I'll be honest, I really want a Football Manager for Rugby. A good one. ;)

08's actually an awful game, but it's the only rugby game out there for us...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭komodosp

It's biggest problem is there's no competition... At least FIFA has Pro Evolution to challenge it Rugby 08 has nothing... I find it pretty much the same as Rugby 06 but with better camera options...

It's too easy to win lineouts from the opponents throw... they give a little twitch before they throw it, and if you jump with the front guy he almost always catches it even if they were throwing to the middle or sometimes (if he's good enough, like POC), if they were throwing to the back...

And some of the rules are wrong... A crooked throw results in a penalty. You lose advantage if you put the ball in touch, or attempt a drop-goal... The players are constantly losing the ball forward but a knock-on is never called...

Other annoying things, the team who win the ball in the scrum always gain ground, the same with a maul. The drop goal system is stupid... You're almost afraid to go into a ruck because of the amount of turnovers (which seems almost random to me)... The opponents are constantly going offside... There are little exploits of the A.I. that, once learned, makes scoring a lot easier - you almost feel like you're cheating using them...

Some of these things are a step backwards because they were fine in '06!

I've become so bored with it that I set myself little challenges like never kicking for touch or letting the AI win the ball on there try line and defending them all the way back to my own, seeing how many phases it can get through.

Shouldn't really have to try entertain myself like that but then the game is fairly poor.

Yeah I set challenges as well, like taking no namers to the RWC, and always running from inside 22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭remus808

Actually I'll be honest, I really want a Football Manager for Rugby. A good one. ;)

www.blackoutrugby.com is an awesome template. Would like to see something similar offline that dosent work on real-time

karmabass wrote: »
    www.blackoutrugby.com is an awesome template. Would like to see something similar offline that dosent work on real-time

Used to play their, wasnt my cup of tea the interface was horrible at launch and i never got into it. Their used to be one called internationalrugbymanager.com or something which was so much easier to use, i really liked it and then one day it disappeared oh well.

I know there is rugby Manager 05 but it seems pointless to play now because the amount of players that have changed, team kit, new players etc.

Sadly the rugby market isnt exploited and doesnt look like it will be any time soon. Oh and tenner bets EA will release a 09 release to co ensign with the Lions tour and for it to be rubbish

Havent installed the mod - links on the page for the download to it just lead to filefront, no download. Weird.

http://earugbyseriescenter.moonfruit.com/#/downloads/4528596328

Try the first one listed there. I dont know if that has everything but im sure its a start

Anyone know how to install that mod...? Normally not bad at this kind of thing, but not sure what's going on with it.

Haven't a clue unfortunately, never seems to work for me.

export the files into the install folder, and load the new roster...

Instructions should be in the zip.

Nah, there's no readme in the Zip.

Seems odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Spaceman Spiff

I found a copy of Rugby 08 on sale over here and I excitedly purchased it without a second thought. I figured that it would just be a roster update (like most EA games) but I quickly realized I had just purchased Rugby 06 with more bugs and misspelled names (but a couple extra impact players). I do enjoy how Gavin Henson hasn't lost his ability to kick the ball 70m against the wind, or how Shane Horgan is still listed as a centre and D'Arcy is still a wing.

I've basically switched back to Rugby 06, the gameplay is the same only my kick defense actually works, I can actually kick dropgoals and all of the back plays are still useless.

Also a note on player aesthetics, T.Brennan has dreadlocks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

If anyone is setting themselves challenges beating NZ without passing the ball took me a while to manage (best way is to use the scrum half and kick the ball over the oppositions head and hopefully a centre will run onto it) - but was kinda fun at the same time.

Incindently scoring a drop kick with ROG is a challenge in itself - he is truely terrible at them.

I'm actually good at drop goals in this game, my record is 15 playing a match with 5 minutes per half.

So does anyone have a working roster update they could send me? Pretty please? :o;)

I have one but i need a place to upload and host

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭komodosp

I'm actually good at drop goals in this game, my record is 15 playing a match with 5 minutes per half.
    At what skill level? I only ever managed one on the "Elite" level, with Paddy Walace. Usually, even if by fluke I manage to get the guide line thingy to end up between the posts the player kicks it wildly wide of where the indicator said the ball was going to go and I miss anyway... I know it should be harder on the harder level, but be reasonable!

I've never really played anything but elite, but obviously the closer and more central you are to the posts - the easier it is to drop one over.

It's pretty simple.

Drop goals aren't too tough, just put someone in the pocket right in front of the 22. Easy. ;)

Just wish it wasn't such a half assed piece of sh1t.

I mean, the squads are all bloody ancient, they didn't bother with half the licences... It really is a joke.

Elite is still way too easy, I put 265 points on a Barbarians side which I filled with star players.

Anyone now of a site where i can upload this file ill gladly give it yous.

Filefront or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Ulstermell0

you would have thought EA could use a lot of the madden engine for kicks, hand offs, side steps etc. i haven't played either game but the yanks go mad for madden

Filefront or something?

Readme is the RAR file

http://files.filefront.com/Rugby08+Patchzip/;10391409;/fileinfo.html

Stev_o wrote: »

Gosh. That's not bad at all. Thanks a million. ;)

A few odd player stats, but a hell of a lot better than EA. :rolleyes:

Wish they'd remake Jonah Lomu... :o

Gosh. That's not bad at all. Thanks a million. ;)

A few odd player stats, but a hell of a lot better than EA. :rolleyes:

Wish they'd remake Jonah Lomu... :o

There's a player editor i have that sorts the stats and facts out but not the faces but i could give the links to the face remodels that people at THR make.

Still dont now how to fix team stats though Ireland is 77:rolleyes: South Africa have nearly 10 star players bah lies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

I have rugby 08 and its alright but some awful things in it. Kicked the ball out on the full the other day from well insude my 22 and i get the "its out on the full, will bring it back to where it was kicked". Come on.

Anyways i think i have a copy of Jonah Lomu routing about somewhere, may have a root around at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭remus808

Anyone notice the horrific rating inaccuracies in the club sides? The most telling is that Glos are 80 while Munster are 68!!! And this game was made the year after Munsters HC win?! Meanwhile Leinster and Leiscter are 75 and 82 respectively.. the mind boggles