Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

fitness instructors pay

• 12-05-2008 3:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 46

i was just wondering why fitness instructors (not personal trainers) are paid so little. for example jackie skellies, crunch, ect seem to start instructors off on about 9 euro per hour!!! my 17 year old brother works in the cinema a job which requires no qualifications and was started on 8.75 per hour.

Also if u are a fitness please state where u work and wot ysu started on per hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

A) because the majority of people who are in the gym consistantly for about 6months and research the very basics of fitness can/could devise a program of the same standard as an average 'qualified instructor'. B)The industry isnt all that regulated, so a FI can get qualified within a year of night-classes (I think)... which is hardly in-depth C) A lot of people are qualified in enough of a cert for the gym to be covered by the insurance (insurance states eg. 5 instructors must be on hand at all times) yet not very qualified technically, hence the jobs market is flooded by low qualified instructors. D) Anyone can be a FI, the best/most passionate ones move on up to higher qualifications, so they generally wont be at their pay grade for very long, its rare you see someone working in the big gyms whos 30 and still a FI so they wouldnt have earned a raise 'cos they werent there all that long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭crotalus667

Pen1987 wrote: »
    , so a FI can get qualified within a year of night-classes I think.

18 weeks of 3 classes per week (it's a few hours a class plus 8 hours home study each week)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 tadhg1

having worked in the fitness industry i have yet to find an "avid 6 month gym goer" who would have close to the understanding of exercise and fitness that a "level 1" fitness instructor would have

i agree the industery does need to be regulated, possible with some kind of fitness instructors union.

the fitness instuctors course which i did at night was very indepth it cover a+p, biomechanics, nutrition, fitness testing, exercise for specialist groups such a elderly people, pregnant women,people with diabetes, epilepsy, and much more

also there are plenty of new gyms being built all over the country, and every new hotel has gym in it, and there are plenty of jobs out there for fitness instructor so i wouldn't consider the market flooded with gym instructors

and a friend of mine who has the same qualification i do is now working in brisbane AUS, as a fitness instructor and he started on the equivilant of 12 euro per hour and the cost of living is a lot lower over there so if you factor that in it he's probably on about 14 or 15 euro per hour.

this is why i think fitness instructers are under paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

My original 1 was 4 nights a week for 18weeks and was fairly intensive, i know others that get the same qaulification but it takes 2 years to get so although it might sound better its actually the same thing dragged out over 2 years! time does not mean qaulity!

i went on to do more because of a passion for fitness and am now a succesfull self employed PT, but it is still a shame that after paying 1600 to get certified and working hard the people end up on 9 euro an hour, mcdonalds money i'd say..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

its supply and demand, just like any other industry. Also a lot of fitness instructors do make more money from pt, exercise classes and swimming teaching.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Balmed Out wrote: »
    its supply and demand, just like any other industry. Also a lot of fitness instructors do make more money from pt, exercise classes and swimming teaching.

What? How...?

As already stated, with all the new clubs and health centres opening demand should be high, as already stated. A demand that is probably not being matched by supply. Logically it should follow that the curve shifts and prices/wages go up....

That's not what's happening tho. So if demand is high, and it's not being matched by the supply there must be some other factor at play.

I know for a fact that the TF chain is crying out for PT's. Does not debunk your "supply and demand" theory?

most gyms are crying out for instructors but wont pay half decent money, thats why most leave the industry just as they really get good at what they do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭crotalus667

tadhg1 wrote: »

and a friend of mine who has the same qualification i do is now working in brisbane AUS, .

What Qualification does he/she have ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 FI DUB

Friend of mine works in Trinity College gym
    Gets just over 17 Euro per hour said there open one year and not one staff member has left due to the pay being so good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 991 ✭✭✭aye

FI DUB wrote: »
    Gets just over 17 Euro per hour said there open one year and not one staff member has left due to the pay being so good.

interesting!
    Trinity is open a bit longer than one year, the new gym is open one year, but they always had a gym, and many of the staff from the original gym still work in the new one.

At the moment i just coming to my exams on the NCEF level 1 course, and the course was a lot more intense and a lot more difficult than i thought it would be. i've a degree and a a masters so i have done tough courses before, and this was a very tough part time course.

however, the course has changed as it is now accredited by UL, and that might be why it is harder.

i dont understand why the pay is so bad in some places, although i have come across some instructors who baffle me with the crap they come out with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Most trainers all start out on a crap wage and i like others accept it and make plans for the future - learn more to earn more.

Most trainers who do not stay in the industry for more than 3-5yrs are either

A) Not learning more to earn more
    B) Bad in business i.e. make no plans on how they can earn more or get paid better.

Finally, trainers are paid very little as are the managers who do not really like it when a personal trainer comes along and can earn 2-3times more than the manager after about a year. This, from my experience, is why you do not see more PT in gyms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

Haha ya its great when a manager gets pist off with ya! After working in a gym for just under two years i became senior fitness instructor, still getting paid under €10! :eek:
    Conveinetly i was a personal trainer aswell so did a business plan and did some advertising and marketing and slowly and surely i built up a good business. Long story short my manager was bitchin and moaning about it , i quit the senior instructor post and now a full pt in the gym, making more than the manager! She hates me :p and there is nothing she can do about it coz the members love me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

I think its just crap hourly wage, but theres loads of opps for extra as mentioned above, for doing classes and lessons. My gym has bout 12 instructors, and theres about 75 classes a week

and they get free membership, thats a nice perk too :D
    [RRP €300-600 a year]

unreggd wrote: »
    and they get free membership, thats a nice perk too :D
    [RRP €300-600 a year]

That's like what.... an extra 31c an hour??

(365 x 5/7) [= number of days work] - 21 [days holiday in the year] = 240 days

240 x 8 = 1920 hours per year spent working

€600/1920hrs = 31.25c per hour

Please tell me I got that right and didn't make a complete show of myself....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Hanley wrote: »
    That's like what.... an extra 31c an hour??

(365 x 5/7) [= number of days work] - 21 [days holiday in the year] = 240 days

240 x 8 = 1920 hours per year spent working

€600/1920hrs = 31.25c per hour

Please tell me I got that right and didn't make a complete show of myself....

Jaysus Hanley. They must be new PBs??? :D

javaboy wrote: »
    Jaysus Hanley. They must be new PBs??? :D

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHA :D:D:D:D

Love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭uprooted shane

i study there, and have used the gym there a few times, i actually train in northwood but if i get caught up with time i go to the college gym

its not that great and i find the staff, bar one or two people, to be completly arogent! now i use the sports centre as a whole at least twice a week, but the gym ill admit only about 3 or 4 times, but everytime ive been there, ive only met one or two people that are nice at all and in my oppinion that counts for alot.

in northwoord, me and my training partner were going about this new exercise that we read on the internet for obliques. half way through a personal trainer, who had read that same artical on this exercise came over and had a chat to us, helping us to adapt it to our skills/ needs, on his own behalf out of niceness. he was down to earth, had a good chat to us about our program as a whole and was very plesent before going on his way again.

now he, in my oppinion should get payed ALOT more then the people in the trinity gym who most of whom seam to do nothing but talk to them selfs and do routine work very badly!

in saying that though im not sure if the ones i was talking to are personal trainers or just staff, but if they are, they need a good kick!

Do they have PT's in trinity?
    Didn't think they would as its a college gym.

aye wrote: »
    Do they have PT's in trinity?

:confused:im not actually sure if the have PT'S here, but they do have fitness instructors, one of whom decided to tell me my hand's were to close together one day when i was doing a "bench press". i was actually doing a close grip bench press but i guess he knew better;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

Unfortunately some instructors don't even know what a close grip press is..

see fitness instructor courses dont teach alot of resistance training, in mine it was 20 exercises !
    it should be remembered that those course cover a wide variety of things, resistance, areobics, circuits, anatomy etc.
    with that things arent done to specific levels, the idea being that the instructor should go on to complete more specific, shorter, courses

close grip bench is something that even if they did a little reading they would know about, but it wouldnt be something that the basic course wouldnt teach.
    it would be covered in PT courses, or resistance training courses as they are specific.

Fitness instructors are NOT under paid - they are paid what they accept to be paid.

Most have no business sense and just expect clients to fall into their lap.

Finally, even with the most basic of knowledge you can be a very successful trainer i.e. get good results and make over €100,000 a year but most piss and fart about using porgrams that are not intended for those looking to tone up and lose a bit of weight.

Who gives a crap about close grip bench press - 95% of my clients i deal with NEVER do it as the basics done really really well with plenty of intensity and constant encouragement (pushing) from a sincerely interested trainer will kick ass every time.

Trainers need to treat the work like a business - record workouts, progress clients, plan and then its easier to be respected and make a very good living

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

Transform wrote: »
    Fitness instructors are NOT under paid - they are paid what they accept to be paid.

Finally, even with the most basic of knowledge you can be a very successful trainer i.e. get good results and make over €100,000 a year but most piss and fart about using porgrams that are not intended for those looking to tone up and lose a bit of weight.

Who gives a crap about close grip bench press - 95% of my clients i deal with NEVER do it as the basics done really really well with plenty of intensity and constant encouragement (pushing) from a sincerely interested trainer will kick ass every time.

Trainers need to treat the work like a business - record workouts, progress clients, plan and then its easier to be respected and make a very good living

Transform do you work as PT? What gyms do you work in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 FI DUB

i study there, and have used the gym there a few times, i actually train in northwood but if i get caught up with time i go to the college gym

its not that great and i find the staff, bar one or two people, to be completly arogent! now i use the sports centre as a whole at least twice a week, but the gym ill admit only about 3 or 4 times, but everytime ive been there, ive only met one or two people that are nice at all and in my oppinion that counts for alot.

in northwoord, me and my training partner were going about this new exercise that we read on the internet for obliques. half way through a personal trainer, who had read that same artical on this exercise came over and had a chat to us, helping us to adapt it to our skills/ needs, on his own behalf out of niceness. he was down to earth, had a good chat to us about our program as a whole and was very plesent before going on his way again.

now he, in my oppinion should get payed ALOT more then the people in the trinity gym who most of whom seam to do nothing but talk to them selfs and do routine work very badly!

in saying that though im not sure if the ones i was talking to are personal trainers or just staff, but if they are, they need a good kick!

Shane i think they do know what there talking about as i know a couple of other guys that went for a job there but didnt get past the interview stage and they where good!!!
    There is one guy there that was the senior strength and Conditioning
    coach for the Dublin football panel and the under 21's Lenster team so i think he may know what he's talking about.Also my mate has a rake of qualifications under his belt and did do PT but quit it as there was more money to be made in Trinity.

Maybe if you go and speak to them and ask them questions your opinion will change??????

you seem to be talking more about PT's, while the OP was talking about your average fitness instructor in a gym, who works for the facility, needs a qualification to work there, but still only get's paid the same wage as the guy working in the spar down the road.

Shane i think they do know what there talking about as i know a couple of other guys that went for a job there but didnt get past the interview stage and they where good!!!
    There is one guy there that was the senior strength and Conditioning
    coach for the Dublin football panel and the under 21's Lenster team so i think he may know what he's talking about.Also my mate has a rake of qualifications under his belt and did do PT but quit it as there was more money to be made in Trinity.

Maybe if you go and speak to them and ask them questions your opinion will change??????

oh i know some of them do know what there talking about! and i know some of them would know alot more then i would... but what i said was that some of them dont, as in the ones ive experienced! like that guy coming over and telling me to use a wider grip. now i know for sure that he didnt know what he was talking about.

i also said i didnt know if the people i have experienced were just staff (ie as in receptionist and so on) but that the ones i have talked to didnt have a feckin clue!

Starting out they would not get any job if they did not take the crap rates.
    Gyms are generally trying to screw as much out of clients and staff as they possibly can-why should they improve if the money does not come with the improvement? not everyone can be a pt, and gyms are at fault for not activley encouraging higher standards and hiring low standard trainers,

my interview was very indepth when i went for my 2nd fitness job because i was young and have a Dublin accent!! most would not have got through it.
    the other less experienced trainers where barely interviewed, i was told this years after!
    True.

The qualification of 99% of all 'gym instructors' is no more than 6-12months and then its mickey mouse spin, aerobics etc course they get them to do to 'maintain' their training cert.

Now compare that to a qualified (typically 4 yrs college) accountant, nurse, teacher etc - they all start out on a crap wage, accep it and move on with experience and further indepth study.

Most trainers PT and instructors start working out in the industry because they like and enjoy fitness/training for themselves but very very very few make the transition to the job being about the client. For gods sake half most of the trainers day is spent farting about with very little to show for it.

They help and talk to the very people who do not need the help (regulars - lifters and gym bunnies) and then wonder why they get paid very little - please. There are lots of excellent trainers out there - they get results, look the part and make as much money as the hours in the day allow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

There are lots of excellent trainers out there - they get results, look the part and make as much money as the hours in the day allow.

Hi transform,
    can you recommend a good PT who works in Northwood Santry?
    I need someone to help me make out a program, never done resistance training before and am lost. Im 26 , 6'3 and 95kg
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

as has probably been already they're probably paid so little because any of the decent ones become PTs.

No idea about trainers in northwood

Just go in and ask any of the personal trainers to do up a program - pick one that looks the part, busy with clients and if you are just starting out even a very basic program will do.

Best to get going and post up your goals etc here and get advice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭quietobserver

like every industry there may be a flood of qualified staff, however dedication to a job is something entirely different to a qualification,some instructors would be better off at home.
    the leisure centre industry in ireland attached to hotels came about as a result of a change in the demand for hotel requirements, clients wanted more faciliities and as with any civilisation leisure activites are assoicated with the rich and those who could afford it,(roman and greek civilisations for eg) anyhow as hotels started to offer this it made it very difficult to pay staff at one wing of the hotel a higher rate for leisure attending as it originally started as, basic customer care and handing out towels, its only in the last 8-10 years that fitness has become a more serious aspect of these hotel facilities, but still paying staff more in this area would upset the apple cart especially when other departments dont understand the workings of a leisure club, very hard to justify to chefs, accomodation staff, reception staff etc why fitness instructors merit more pay than the basic hotel wages. In a nut shell its one of the reasons the pay is as it is.

like every industry there may be a flood of qualified staff, however dedication to a job is something entirely different to a qualification,some instructors would be better off at home.
    the leisure centre industry in ireland attached to hotels came about as a result of a change in the demand for hotel requirements, clients wanted more faciliities and as with any civilisation leisure activites are assoicated with the rich and those who could afford it,(roman and greek civilisations for eg) anyhow as hotels started to offer this it made it very difficult to pay staff at one wing of the hotel a higher rate for leisure attending as it originally started as, basic customer care and handing out towels, its only in the last 8-10 years that fitness has become a more serious aspect of these hotel facilities, but still paying staff more in this area would upset the apple cart especially when other departments dont understand the workings of a leisure club, very hard to justify to chefs, accomodation staff, reception staff etc why fitness instructors merit more pay than the basic hotel wages. In a nut shell its one of the reasons the pay is as it is.

but the reality a fitness instructor has spent the guts of 2000 and study his/her ass off most of the time at night form sept to june to become qualified at level one in ncef, itec, ilam, ace or whatever. And you get ur first job ur on 9 euro an hour and the cleaner how has no qualification wat so ever is on 8.50 an hour. and to those who the being a fitness in structor is a handy job, you could be doing 5-6 classes a day, it's like slave labour in some places.

there should be some
    of representitive body for ppl working in the fitness industry

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

but the reality a fitness instructor has spent the guts of 2000 and study his/her ass off most of the time at night form sept to june to become qualified at level one in ncef, itec, ilam, ace or whatever. And you get ur first job ur on 9 euro an hour and the cleaner how has no qualification wat so ever is on 8.50 an hour

Well if someone only studies from June to Sept for 3 or 4 months then in my opinion they are not entitled to land a lucrative job.

Many students spend 4 or 5 years studying, working sh!te jobs in chippers or the likes to put themselves through college, to end up out in the real world with a dodgy starting wage/salary. Like everything, you have to proove yourself and work your way up from humble beginnings.

BossArky wrote: »
    Well if someone only studies from June to Sept for 3 or 4 months then in my opinion they are not entitled to land a lucrative job.

Many students spend 4 or 5 years studying, working sh!te jobs in chippers or the likes to put themselves through college, to end up out in the real world with a dodgy starting wage/salary. Like everything, you have to proove yourself and work your way up from humble beginnings.

Fully agreed.

If you're worth the money, you'll get it. If you're not then you won't. It's just that simple in my opinion. You can blame as many extraneous factors as you like, but if you've the qualifications, the ability and the desire you WILL make it to near the top in any industry.

please read my post again i said from "september to june" 1 college year, look i'm not saying that they should get huge salaries but i do think that level 1 fitness instructors should start out on about 12-13 euro per hour i think that thats a fair wage.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Ok, I mis-read your post.

Still, imo 9 or 10 months or 1 year studying for a few nights is not a reason to expect the world to fall at your feet and heap gold on you.

The best people in any walk of life continually strive to improve themselves and would probably be doing some kind of ongoing learning anyway, whether it is personal reading, attending classes or whatever else.

Years ago a college degree would have set someone apart from the crowd. Nowadays everyone has one so it has become the norm rather than the exception. Following this logic, why should a one year course suddenly set someone up for life?

I have no idea what a fair wage is for a fitness instructor because a) I don't work in the fitness industry and b) I have no worked in Ireland for 5 years. My points are merely an observation that people should quit whining and get on with improving themselves (not aimed at anyone in particular).

Ok, I mis-read your post.

Still, imo 9 or 10 months or 1 year studying for a few nights is not a reason to expect the world to falling at your feet and heap gold on you.

ur blowing wot i said way way way out proportion. im talking about a fair wage, i'd hardly call 12 euro an hour "the world to falling at your feet and heap gold on you" 12 euro per hour is a very modest wage.
    The best people in any walk of life continually strive to improve themselves and would probably be doing some kind of ongoing learning anyway, whether it is personal reading, attending classes or whatever else.

i agree that if you want very good money continual professinal development is vital. new comers to the fitness industry are being exploited 9 euro per hour (and some are on less) is an unfair wage.

Years ago a college degree would have set someone apart from the crowd. Nowadays everyone has one so it has become the norm rather than the exception. Following this logic, why should a one year course suddenly set someone up for life?

"set some one up for life" are you having a laugh!! i'm talking about 12 per hour here. the average annual wage in dublin is E40,227, at 12 euro per hour you'd get aprox 24,336 (12x39x52), and this is working full time. 24 grand is miles away from being set up for life, 24 grand is a very modest wage.
    I have no idea what a fair wage is for a fitness instructor because a) I don't work in the fitness industry and b) I have no worked in Ireland for 5 years. My points are merely an observation that people should quit whining and get on with improving themselves (not aimed at anyone in particular).

well then maybe you shouldn't be commenting a forum entitled "fitness instructors pay"

Oh the sly little dig, well done ;) Don't take it so personally now. It's a thread btw.

As regards the rest of my points you know what I mean.

Fully agreed.

If you're worth the money, you'll get it. If you're not then you won't. It's just that simple in my opinion. You can blame as many extraneous factors as you like, but if you've the qualifications, the ability and the desire you WILL make it to near the top in any industry.

Sorry Hanley, in some industrys this is true, but not as a fitness instructor, you might get yearly raises, but there about time served rather than abilities,

i know really bad instructors and some good ones too and there on the same money, this is the problem, if your worth more its tough, leave or accept it-thats why the standards are sometimes poor,

Yes personal trainers make more but thats another topic, fitness instructors work shifts and do classes, tough when they get repetitive! they dont get pensions or health cover or sick pay in most cases-im personal training now but had high standards for years and was on pathetic money, i stayed because i loved it.

And other industries that start on low money get rewarded for doing well, this does not happen in gyms unless you move into management or sales, both could not be further from doing the job you love, might aswell work in a bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

"set some one up for life" are you having a laugh!! i'm talking about 12 per hour here. the average annual wage in dublin is E40,227, at 12 euro per hour you'd get aprox 24,336 (12x39x52), and this is working full time. 24 grand is miles away from being set up for life, 24 grand is a very modest wage.

I assume that's a basic salary with extras to be added on, right? Any idea what the average fitness instructor makes annually from personal training and whatever other extras they can do? A lot of graduates would be lucky to get €24k a year, so why should someone with a basic qualification start off on that kind of money plus extras? As has already been said, if you're good enough, you'll climb the pay ladder fairly quickly.

they would not have extra's, personal trainers are a different thing, they work 1 on 1 and earn way more and are usually more qualified and are more experienced..also most are self employed.

An Citeog wrote: »
    A lot of graduates would be lucky to get €24k a year, so why should someone with a basic qualification start off on that kind of money plus extras? .

Graduates are being exploited too.

are you trying to say that if one group of ppl are being exploited (eg graduates) then its ok to exploite another group of ppl (eg fitness instructors) ????

also you say "A lot of graduates would be lucky to get €24k" fitness instuctors are not getting 24 grand a year thats a figure i suggest as a "fair wage" most ar getting alot less than that.

true-lots are on about 18k a year starting with 3-4% rises yearly if there lucky!

Graduates are being exploited too.

are you trying to say that if one group of ppl are being exploited (eg graduates) then its ok to exploite another group of ppl (eg fitness instructors) ????

also you say "A lot of graduates would be lucky to get €24k" fitness instuctors are not getting 24 grand a year thats a figure i suggest as a "fair wage" most ar getting alot less than that.

Seriously, you're not making any sense. Quit talking about exploitation. We're talking about 20k a year here. AFTER ONE YEAR OF TRAINING. That's a great start. It's completely ridiculous to think you've some god given right to automatically earn more year on year if you're not improving in any way.

Everyone starts on the same wage, if you want to earn more then do something to prove your worth it. Don't think you should just earn more because you earn the same as somone who is incompotent. It's your job to show why you should be earning more, not why the other person should be earning less.

In most other industries (I know especially in mine) there is continuous training with LOTS of extra work and study to be done. As you become more qualified you earn more money... It's a pretty simple forumla.

I personally don't believe ANYONE should get more money for the sake of it, save some sort of inflation adjustment. If you want to earn more money, work more or work more smartly. Don't just expect handouts.

I know ALOT of college graduates who've spent the last 3 years working thru a honours degree who are only starting on 18k.

And cowzerp, it's generally accepted fitness instruction is the first step on the road to becoming a PT yea....? My point was that if someone has a love for the industry and is knowledgeable about different aspects of it then this is the logical progression, and they'll earn more in the process. The guys who are unmotivated and happy to rest on the laurels are the ones who are gonna be earning the same money 5 years down the road as they are now. Why should these guys get anymore when they're not doing anything to improve their qualifications or skills?

Hanley, i know you love the industry and are ashamed of the standards of some fitness instructors?

now only a small % of instructors will ever be PT,s, there would not be room for all anyway! its actually very hard work! and not for everyone.

Now after years of study and learning of people and practising what i preached i had no choice but to move into PT, now for the general public, me been a PT is of no benafit unless they want to pay me 60 euro a session, so the people who cant afford this are left with instructors with no room for improvement,

thats why the gyms are full of teen instructors who are only learning, if the pay matched the skill levels then more would stay on and improve the standards of fitness instruction..Gyms dont care about this as they can pay peanuts to 18 year olds to replace me when i moved on! who suffers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

I used to be a fitness instructor in a gym in the UK. We got, I think, around £5 per hour for being on duty in the gym, £15 per hour for personal training sessions and a £4 bonus on top for every induction we performed. I think the pay was ok. If we had the basic fitness instructors qualification (which you could get in a week! Though it took me 2 attempts) then you could automatically do PT sessions in the gym. Tbh I often felt we were all underqualified and didn't even deserve the amount of money we were getting! I worked around 24 hours per week, mainly sitting around doing not very much and after tax would usually have about £130.

I used to be a fitness instructor in a gym in the UK. We got, I think, around £5 per hour for being on duty in the gym, £15 per hour for personal training sessions and a £4 bonus on top for every induction we performed. I think the pay was ok.

Well thats the UK not Ireland, and just shows more how the instructors here are been ripped off.

cowzerp wrote: »
    Well thats the UK not Ireland, and just shows more how the instructors here are been ripped off.

Or how much the UK instructors are being over paid...?

I used to be a fitness instructor in a gym in the UK. We got, I think, around £5 per hour for being on duty in the gym, £15 per hour for personal training sessions and a £4 bonus on top for every induction we performed. I think the pay was ok. If we had the basic fitness instructors qualification (which you could get in a week! Though it took me 2 attempts) then you could automatically do PT sessions in the gym. Tbh I often felt we were all underqualified and didn't even deserve the amount of money we were getting! I worked around 24 hours per week, mainly sitting around doing not very much and after tax would usually have about £130.

What exactly was this one week(!) qualification? I'm in London and wouldn't mind doing such a course both for the knowledge and potential of making some money on the side.