Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why does Dublin annoy so many people?

• 09-05-2008 2:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭

Why is it that Dublin annoys so many people? People from within my own county can't stand them and anyone i talk to at college hates them too!

I myself am not anti Dublin but the media coverage of them annoys me! I mean i think Mossy Quinns point from a 45 was in the top moments of one of the championships. Daft.

Before every Dub goes ape **** at me i think Alan Brogan is pure class! Cluxton is a good keeper and Vaughan ( jesus this goin to hurt)......is good!

They have some class players and although they arn't going well at the minute once they hit a full croke park they are a joy to watch.

I was at the all-irleand semi last year, savage game. And the abuse and bile pouring out of Dub fans was horrific. never heard anything like it. Galvin headbutted someone and these dub fans just turned round and started abusing the hell out of kerry fans??
    They have not helped themselves with recent sendings off?
    Ciaran Whelan in the Dublin- Mayo game when he almost took Ronan McG head off?
    Vaughan against Laois! Prick.
    The whole walking towards the hill thing.........puke
    Insisting they warm up in front of the hill and getting offensive when mayo warmed up there, **** off!
    but the worst thing was at the semi last year, i was in the hogan and beside me was some D4 tool, clearly hadn't a clue about the game, got the tickets through his firm had brought his two 6 year old kids who proceeded to spend the game with there heads stuck in their ****ing nintendo DS. A joke and i honestly felt sorry for the ordinary Dublin fan and thats saying something.

Ah feck it i am anti Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Why is it that Dublin annoys so many people? People from within my own county can't stand them and anyone i talk to at college hates them too!

I myself am not anti Dublin but the media coverage of them annoys me! I mean i think Mossy Quinns point from a 45 was in the top moments of one of the championships. Daft.

Before every Dub goes ape **** at me i think Alan Brogan is pure class! Cluxton is a good keeper and Vaughan ( jesus this goin to hurt)......is good!

They have some class players and although they arn't going well at the minute once they hit a full croke park they are a joy to watch.

I was at the all-irleand semi last year, savage game. And the abuse and bile pouring out of Dub fans was horrific. never heard anything like it. Galvin headbutted someone and these dub fans just turned round and started abusing the hell out of kerry fans??
    They have not helped themselves with recent sendings off?
    Ciaran Whelan in the Dublin- Mayo game when he almost took Ronan McG head off?
    Vaughan against Laois! Prick.
    The whole walking towards the hill thing.........puke
    Insisting they warm up in front of the hill and getting offensive when mayo warmed up there, **** off!
    but the worst thing was at the semi last year, i was in the hogan and beside me was some D4 tool, clearly hadn't a clue about the game, got the tickets through his firm had brought his two 6 year old kids who proceeded to spend the game with there heads stuck in their ****ing nintendo DS. A joke and i honestly felt sorry for the ordinary Dublin fan and thats saying something.

Ah feck it i am anti Dublin.

You are going to make loads of friends around here ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Supermanscat

Ha Ha! I know but why does everyone else dislike them then? Apart from me?! I a nice guy the way:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭ports best

because they think there better than everyone else no matter what, they think its there divine right to win leinsters and all irelands, they are serious sore losers they just cant take it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

It is our divine right.....................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

because we're better than everyone else no matter what, its our divine right to win leinsters and all irelands, we are seriously good and the losers just cant take it

Oh right i see! Some nice Dub replys there!

Ah no, the behaviour out of some dub fans is terrible.

The thing is, croker is just so handy to get to for most of us that in the end, all sorts of knobs turn up.

No matter which county croker was situated we'd have the same problem i.e. too many knobs from the host county (although, god love us all if it was in limerick :eek:)

Ya you could be right Franko! I mean Dublin away fans are probably a different breed altogether than the dublin Croker fans! I feel bad for tarring them with the same brush i suppose.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

My 2 cents

The media hype around them every year is what gets most people I think. Will it be Dublins year this year? Will the Dubs finally claim Sam and so on.
    I don't for one second think most of the players have the attitutide that it is their devine right to win everything. However, their is an element of their supporters that expect Dublin should win every game but those who really know the game know expectation and reality are worlds apart.

Yeah, we get way too much media hype. They build us up and give it all sorts. Nearly as bad as the England/World cup shyte every 4 years... (well, except we do actually have a reasonable chance).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Wow, thread is a bit early this year.

Championship usually kicks off before the DUB stuff appears. :/

Play nice guys but bear in mind that those of us around every year are tired of re.hashing the same points over & over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

a message from Pedantic Pat

the title should read - 'Why do Dublin annoy so many people?'

thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I think it boils down to the media.If we didn't get half the coverage we get then we'd be generally well liked in my opinion.Lets face it,when Dublin were in the doldrums from 1996 - 2001 there was not a lot of coverage on Dublin or at least as much as there is in the last few years.Its when Dublin start doing well,winning provincials and look to be contenders is when the heat started.

Now there are some comments on this thread that don't amaze me and I only had to look at the location to figure out why.It could be said that Ports Best hates Dublin and has this attitude due to Dublin defeating Laois in the last 3-4years.The sweeping generalisations prove it and they are false.To speak of a whole counties attitude is short-sighted and rather stupid.Get over it.

I think many will find that expectations and reality in Dublin are very close.I still feel there is enough talent in the current team to win an All-Ireland but expecting to beat a Kerry team was never part of my expectations last year.I was quite annoyed that we got the favourites tag which was driven by the media.

Also,this has been done over and back again but the bad apples in the Hill don't endear many country folk to the Dubs and I see where the country fans opinion comes from from the Parnell/away fans.Unfortunately a lot of country fans don't see this and over-analyse the stereotypes attached to the Dublin fans.

A bit early to be bashing the Dubs when the first throw-in in the championship hasn't happened yet.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

blackbelt wrote: »
    A bit early to be bashing the Dubs when the first throw-in in the championship hasn't happened yet.:eek:

Are ya honestly surprised man its like people shopping for christmas earlier and earlier, next year this thread will appear in mid to late march and the year after that will be bloody december!

Im just glad it aint me who has to clean up around all the prams here tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭RMDrive

This kind of thing is kept going by 2 groups of people. Those from outside Dublin who dislike the dubs and those from Dublin who love to cultivate and encourage this 31 against 1 BS. From what I can see there are plenty of both.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

My opinion-some of the fans, particularly the hill contingent. Since about the early 2000s the behavouor of these idiots has deteriorated. I was on the hill when some scumbag threw a firework at red barry and have seenthe stupidity of these coked up (and no that isnt a stereotype I have seen this aswell) excuses for football fans mant times since. Most of them think that going to a GAA match is the same as going to an EPL match. Dont try and fill us with all this "such a huge fanbase is good for the game" crap, you just dont get that type of thuggisness with most other counties. As for the players, I hate Ciaran Whelan with a passion and always have done, but not because he is a dub, in the same way i dont like francie bellew or ryan macmenimen (sp?). Another thing that annoys me about the fans is bandwagon syndrome. I know it happens in my own county (Wexford) but its like a circus in Dublin, a bit like the Munster rugby team. As a previous poster said the feeling of "us against the world" is only bred from this sort of mob mentality. On the other hand, a bit of controversy is always exciting and it should be a good Summer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Reasons:

1. People making comments like "because they think there better than everyone else no matter what, they think its there divine right to win leinsters and all irelands, they are serious sore losers they just cant take it". Dub fans seem to be pigeon-holed by alot of other counties fans. Id say last year it was at most 50% of Dubs thinking we would beat Kerry on this board. Personally i said i didnt think we were quite there yet. I say the same this year but too early to say for sure. Where does this divine right thing come in? Where does the sore losers thing come in? When you have people making comments like that it can be hard not to feel a bit of us against the world at times. Granted not all so called fans are this shortsighted but alot are.

2. The Media always hype us up, suggest we have finally got everything right, its gonna be our year, Sams coming back to the capital etc. When you hear that year in year out, it would get to you, same as the English get to us every 2 years for the Euros and World Cup. Remember tho that this is papers etc selling to the biggest customer base and usually in rags like the star/sun/herald.

3. Cant deny that in championship games in CP, there is an increasing amount of people who go to get locked and hurl abuse who generally have no interest in the match whatsoever.

4. The fact that we get to play in CP moreso than most others in the AI due to ticket demand means fans of opposing counties are usually hugely outnumbered. I know if we had to travel to Pairc Ui Caoibh or Semple for ever AI game and be surrounded by Cork/Tipp fans and outnumbered, i would grow to dislike them more. Also i think people feel we get treated too generously by getting to play in our home city more often.

5. Were the capital, ask anyone in Manchester, Liverpool, Newcastle etc what they think of Londoners and they will probably dislike them more than other cities. Why? I dunno but its a world wide thing.

Btw Supermanscat, if that D4 tool annoyed you, last year a guy behind me in the Hill who would sound more at home at a Leinster Rugby match suggested taking off Keaney and bringing on Cluxton in his place. Now that made me laugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

God been dying to get this off my chest, Believe might go down well here, but I have to say one of my favourite images ever in GAA came after the semis last year. Its one from a few of the papers the monday after with the Kerry players in the background celebrating their win over the dubs, in the front is Paul Casey kneeling head down gutted not saying a word. I find this distintly pleasing as I recall vividly Casey goading, taunting and abusing Kerry players early in the game.

Any thoughts?

ShagNastii wrote: »
    God been dying to get this off my chest, Believe might go down well here, but I have to say one of my favourite images ever in GAA came after the semis last year. Its one from a few of the papers the monday after with the Kerry players in the background celebrating their win over the dubs, in the front is Paul Casey kneeling head down gutted not saying a word. I find this distintly pleasing as I recall vividly Casey goading, taunting and abusing Kerry players early in the game.

Any thoughts?
    That was brought up in a slightly more "haha, you lost" kinda way last year....surprisingly again by people who disappeared off the board almost instantly after that game. Regular posters know exactly who these people are and im sure we`ll see them in about 2 weeks again. The incidents in the Laois game i feel were unsporting but giving back what they were getting for the whole game. Goading a team with god knows how many AI medals in the team and some of the best footballers in the country is plain stupid. You have to guess it will come back and bite you on the ass which it did.

I may add I'd love to see Dublin win an All Ireland would be great. But only if theres no sh*te and they do it gracefully
    ALa Kilkenny giving Wexford there yearly hiding in Leinster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Hmmm but I'm not going to comment on the playing tactics but there was one incident which damaged the reputation of Dublin fans, at least to me anyway.

Not once but twice was the start of match delayed because Dublin fans couldn't show up on time to Croke Park. I've full faith in the gardai to make judgement calls on this and if there was a crush outside the ground then they took the correct decision to delay the match.

But Mayo fans still managed to show up on time. At the following week, the local rag the Northside People explained it on poor public transport :eek:
    For sure, buses get delayed on match days but how did Dublin fans not manage to make it on time while fans from other counties did?

Once is excusable. But two times is just arrogance. I can almost picture the fans having another pint and "ah sure, they'll have to delay the game, they can't start while we are all out here"

Jesus i knew there was another reason why i didn't like them! Not making a game on time! Now granted there are huge number of fans going to the game but games being delayed because they are not all in is nothing short of disrespectful! Mayo and cork people make it on time, as do kerry people!

Glad to see the debate isn't turning nasty anyway! Some valid points being made by both sides! :D

^
    I
    I
    I
    I

Glad to see the debate isn't turning nasty anyway! Some valid points being made by both sides! :D

Ya spoke too soon

the_syco banned for 2 weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

I used to always want to play Dublin in the championship because of the old Kerry-Dublin rivalry so I actually often found myself cheering for them.
    In the last few years however it would mean more to me to beat Tyrone or Armagh. Best day ever in Croker was Armagh game in 2006.
    Anyways reasons to dislike the
    1: Their panel and staff have serious discipline issues. Funny that there manager is a Garda.
    2: Their supporters constantly delay throw in times.
    3: The arrogance (going to the hill etc)

Still championship is more exciting whilst they are in it.

Ya there is a level of arrogance but in fairness the team do play lovely football! For some reason i love the way alan brogan bounces a ball to get away from his opponent?

I don' tknow where people are complainin saying the thread is early? They have played seven or eight league games so they annoyed from round one not just championship;)

Super I think the more I continue to come into this section of boards the more I will grow to dislike them;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Blame the media of course :rolleyes: You know why I don't like Dublin? Because of incidents in matches like Meath and Tyrone, last year against Laois (Vaughan, Brogan and others), Mayo and so on. If they'd ever concentrate on playing football and behaved themselves they might not get half the attention that they get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

As is always the case with these kinds of threads, the things being levelled against Dublin can be said for a whole load of other counties too. Lots of matches where Dublin aren't playing have delayed throw-ins due to late arrival of fans. Lots of counties get hyped up in the media. We've loads of "3-in-a-row" talk about Kerry at present. The prospects of many other counties are being written about in the papers too. As to comparison being made with England, the major difference is that Dublin do genuinely have a chance of coming home with silverware. All counties have their share of tough supporters and sunshine supporters. As to dirty counties, we all know who the dirtiest county in the country is, and no other county, not even Dublin, comes anywhere close. The only way in which we do come close is the fact that we share a border with them. As far as dirty play is concerned, we're light years from them.

In all sorts of sports, teams traditionally go down to where their largest amount of supporters congregate. Many stadiums have sections where large amounts of their supporters can be found. There is nothing wrong with that. Much of what is made of the Dublin team going to Hill 16 is a complete non-story. So what if they warm up down there? So what if they march down there (which in fact they never really do - bar the infamous Mayo incident in 2006)? For some strange reason though, people drag it up, even long before the Mayo incident. It is funny that people of other counties constantly give out about the Hill, the fans that are on it, the bile that a tiny minority come out with, and yet they want other counties to go down and warm up in front of the Hill. With the complaints they make about the Hill and its fans, you'd think they'd be glad that their team don't go near it before a match.

The anti-Dublin threads have started early, and as usual there is very little of substance in them, just the same old unfounded and empty complaints. We are here in a GAA forum, so you'd think that the other 31 counties could surely find other things to post about, instead of making the Dublin threads longer than most. Stick to the other threads lads. There are plenty of them about, with far more interesting topics to discuss.

Flukey wrote: »
    As is always the case with these kinds of threads, the things being levelled against Dublin can be said for a whole load of other counties too. Lots of matches where Dublin aren't playing have delayed throw-ins due to late arrival of fans. Lots of counties get hyped up in the media. We've loads of "3-in-a-row" talk about Kerry at present. The prospects of many other counties are being written about in the papers too. As to comparison being made with England, the major difference is that Dublin do genuinely have a chance of coming home with silverware. All counties have their share of tough supporters and sunshine supporters. As to dirty counties, we all know who the dirtiest county in the country is, and no other county, not even Dublin, comes anywhere close. The only way in which we do come close is the fact that we share a border with them. As far as dirty play is concerned, we're light years from them.

In all sorts of sports, teams traditionally go down to where their largest amount of supporters congregate. Many stadiums have sections where large amounts of their supporters can be found. There is nothing wrong with that. Much of what is made of the Dublin team going to Hill 16 is a complete non-story. So what if they warm up down there? So what if they march down there (which in fact they never really do - bar the infamous Mayo incident in 2006)? For some strange reason though, people drag it up, even long before the Mayo incident. It is funny that people of other counties constantly give out about the Hill, the fans that are on it, the bile that a tiny minority come out with, and yet they want other counties to go down and warm up in front of the Hill. With the complaints they make about the Hill and its fans, you'd think they'd be glad that their team don't go near it before a match.

The anti-Dublin threads have started early, and as usual there is very little of substance in them, just the same old unfounded and empty complaints. We are here in a GAA forum, so you'd think that the other 31 counties could surely find other things to post about, instead of making the Dublin threads longer than most. Stick to the other threads lads. There are plenty of them about, with far more interesting topics to discuss.
    Spoken like a poet.

e.thanks on the way when mine renew.

Seems to be an outsider sentiment though.My uncle (a Mayoman) says that the anti-Dublin and 31 against Dublin theme is something which is exacerbated by the anti-Dubliners and not the Dubs themselves.

My take on it,as time goes by,is that the more we are hated,the more we are doing things right.Think about it,we were hated in the early-mid nineties when Dublin were doing really well.Seemingly when Dublin went off the boil afterwards until the Lyons era and Pillar era we weren't getting the level of exposure,not winning so many matches and the hatred died down somewhat.

Now we are doing well and the media has come out to play and this riles the anti-Dubliners.There is a trend here that you could plot on an x-y axis between media coverage and hatred/dislike for the Dubs by non-Dubs.

It is really silly but most the time I lap it up.

I dont think the thread has no substance. i simply asked why did so many people hate dublin and the fact is that many people do. I'm happy to start another conversation about another countys popularity.I am not picking on Dublin, it's just that many of the people i know do hate Dublin and i simply wondered why.
    Many people, some dublin gave there thoughts and i thank them for there input.
    Well why do people keep draggin up old incidents regarding Dublin? Thats what i want to know? why do the general public see the bad in Dublin? Thats all. If you can;t see that flukey then you really are a thick little ignorant ****er who my guess never kicked a football.

supermanscat banned for two weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

Any time is a good time to have a go at us Dubs.

kaimera wrote: »
    supermanscat banned for two weeks.

First ban of the championship for an 'inter-county' player:D

Am i the only one amused by the fact that a descriptive word for shíte is in the main protagonist's name? And i pity kaimera and smashey as they are the ones who have to clean all that shíte up

Looking at the ban, well they are doing a good job of it ;)

As for supermanscat, well coming onto a site and saying that about a respected member isnt exactly clever now is it?

GAAman wrote: »
    Am i the only one amused by the fact that a descriptive word for shíte is in the main protagonist's name? And i pity kaimera and smashey as they are the ones who have to clean all that shíte up

Looking at the ban, well they are doing a good job of it ;)

As for supermanscat, well coming onto a site and saying that about a respected member isnt exactly clever now is it?[/QUOTE]

You see dude,that wouldn't normally surprise me but when I read that he is an intercounty panellist on the Sligo team,I was shocked and kind of amused.Here is a footballer who plays at the top level/or thereabouts in his county,has a go at other teams for their behaviour,then gets banned on an internet forum.

The mind boggles.:confused::confused:

Anyway,myself and Tomthepost sorted out our differences by PM and also resulting from that,we are of the impression that he is a bit of a flamer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

I know this thread probably doesnt warrent any more discussion but as a kerry man i must have the last word :D I think its fair enough that the Dubs get the amount of coverage that they do in the media, they do have the largest fan base after all, plus it kinda takes the attention off Kerry's 3 in a row push, creating far less pressure on the lads! I personally like the Dub's they play a nice style of football unlike some teams (but thats for another thread) They overstep the mark sometimes and because of that they are targeted by Ref's for reputations sake. The same thing happened to Kerry (particularly Donaghy) in the 2007 league. He was sent off twice for fairly innocuous things. So not everyone hates the Dubs outside the Pale. Kerry vs Dublin AIF 2008!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

DDC1990 wrote: »
    but as a kerry man i must have the last word :D
    I'll have the last word.

Locked. :D

*joking*

I know this thread probably doesnt warrent any more discussion but as a kerry man i must have the last word :D I think its fair enough that the Dubs get the amount of coverage that they do in the media, they do have the largest fan base after all, plus it kinda takes the attention off Kerry's 3 in a row push, creating far less pressure on the lads! I personally like the Dub's they play a nice style of football unlike some teams (but thats for another thread) They overstep the mark sometimes and because of that they are targeted by Ref's for reputations sake. The same thing happened to Kerry (particularly Donaghy) in the 2007 league. He was sent off twice for fairly innocuous things. So not everyone hates the Dubs outside the Pale. Kerry vs Dublin AIF 2008!!!

Dear jesus i just fell over, a kerryman saying these non hatred filled things about Dublin??!! STAY ON TOPIC GODDAMMIT!!! ;):D

Oh and totally agree on the Kerry Dublin final would be a hell of a match!!

blackbelt wrote: »

You see dude,that wouldn't normally surprise me but when I read that he is an intercounty panellist on the Sligo team

Sure he is prob the lad who has to stay behind the goals and fire the balls back to the forward durin trainin! And anyway sure if he is indeed a sligo panelist well he isnt gonna get the chance to face the Dubs on the pitch anytime soon so he needs to throw his digs over the internet :D

If you can;t see that flukey then you really are a thick little ignorant ****er who my guess never kicked a football.

In fact, I have, both Hurling and Football and with senior intercounty players. Indeed I've played international, in fact intercontinental, football. You may not believe me, but I can guarantee you that it is fact. As others have said, you've not made a very good start here, insulting posters, making assumptions that are so far off the mark that it is laughable, and getting a ban in record time for your efforts. Maybe you'll think better of it and have a little more respect for people here if and when you do come back.

Ah, bannings started already. Good work ;) As for this, "cant turn up on time blah blah blah", this has to come from people who have never tried to get into the Hill 20-30 mins or so before throw in for a sold out game. The other stands have many entrances with plenty of space for fans to get in, the Hill doesnt. Granted that people should know this and leave even earlier but i then remember 2 of the 4 entrances for the hill last year were closed to allow horseback gardai to keep an eye which meant you were delayed even more. Its a simple fact that its a nightmare getting into the Hill and can take a bloody long time.

Would be one hell of a final alright. Never has been a dull game that i can remember involving Kerry and Dublin. In fairness threads like these give a forum for some people to blow of steam usually making silly remarks that arent usually true but "them and their friends think its true!" :) Hopefully having these threads at this time will mean bannings will be handed out earlier and the "so called fans" will be gone for the champo leaving us to actually discuss GAA in peace.

Amen to all of the above.Mods taking a zero tolerance to abuse is good to see and they are following the lead of the CCCC after the Dublin-Meath debacle.:)

I hope this serves as a warning to the new posters this summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

i used to like dublin up untill a few years ago and its the same for a lot of people around here but now they are on par with meath as our most hated team i think there is a couple of reasons for this.

The media building dublin up year after year after year is one problem someone compared it the england soccer team and i think it is similier.
    That **** with the hill annoys alot of people aswell but i think the main problem with the dubs here comes from so many of them now live in drogheda and are in the pubs spouting absolute rubbish they only go to games in croker for a piss up and wouldnt even know half the team. Then come back to the local pub talkin **** about the few players they actually know the name of.

Well Redzerdog, your post sounds like a perfect description of all 32 of the counties. Dublin is no different to any of them, as I outlined in an earlier post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Flukey wrote: »
    Well Redzerdog, your post sounds like a perfect description of all 32 of the counties. Dublin is no different to any of them, as I outlined in an earlier post.

Except that with a bigger population there are more of them so people see it a bit more

Spot on, but thats always seen as an excuse, not fact. Capital, more people equals more exposure, simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

redzerdrog wrote: »
    That **** with the hill annoys alot of people aswell but i think the main problem with the dubs here comes from so many of them have moved down the country and are in the pubs spouting absolute rubbish they only go to games in croker for a piss up and wouldnt even know half the team. Then come back to the local pub talkin **** about the few players they actually know the name of.

I think thats the nail on the head. I'm in Portarlington and while I have a Dublin accent it wouldn't be where my allegience lies. there are a couple of Dublin pubs in the town and a couple of locals-only pubs. The Dublin pub(s) on match days are ridiculous. The local pub I go to every so often I got a few looks when I first started talking about the local championship. I could feel the sense of "wonder what shyte the Dub will come out with"!