Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

creative vandalism

• 06-05-2008 2:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭

my poor friends house was trashed tonight.
    but one of the details that stuck in my mind was the vandals opened a jar of nutella,put cloths in it,and boiled it all in the kettle.
    this got me thinking, have you ever seen or experienced the pain of vandalism,but been surprised at the creativity used in the destruction?
    all i can think of at the minute are 3 graffiti tags ive seen lately.
    1-"graffiti is wrong"

2-"if you vandalise this wall i'll put a brick through your window"

3- "no philosopher was born in a vacum" obviously from my college, a first year methinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

The ol' "Maynooth Arts Degree, please take one" scrawl with an arrow pointing to the toilet roll holder. Always gets a smile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Maybe they weren't vandals, maybe they were creating modern art

You're a complete philistine nerin :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

orestes wrote: »
    Maybe they weren't vandals, maybe they were creating modern art

You're a complete philistine nerin :rolleyes:
    they microwaved beercans and ketchup.
    waste of beer!!!thats not art!
    i mean, i used to microwave cherries one by one when i was off my head as a teenager,but beer?!

Nerin wrote: »
    they microwaved beercans and ketchup.
    waste of beer!!!thats not art!
    i mean, i used to microwave cherries one by one when i was off my head as a teenager,but beer?!

I thought microwaves explode if you put beer in them?

Now that really would be creative vandalism, blowing someones kitchen up with their beer and microwave!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

the vandals opened a jar of nutella,put cloths in it,and boiled it all in the kettle.

wtf does that mean!!!!!!!!!!!

that the kettle is now borked.

It symbolises the futility of struggle against a political and social system that is inherently unchangable due to the flaws of human nature in a finite world.

Honestly, am I the only one around here who understands art :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

that the kettle is now borked.

lol

seriously i know i live in the bog arse of nowhere but what does it mean...

they boil the nutella and wipe it off the wall?

lol

seriously i know i live in the bog arse of nowhere but what does it mean...

nah, i think its just something to break the kettle,dunno if they smeared it.

If they smeared it I'd make really sure it's nutella if I were you! :eek:

I suggest a quick taste test :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Thank you for the late night LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Wheres the no philosopher bit written up at?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

sorry folks, <tone-->

the most disgusting and possibly disturbed thing I have ever heard of is

TOPLOADING

I cant find much that I can link to thats not Lolocaust material, so Ill wait for the ever eloquent Snyper to come along and explain it to ye all.

</tone>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Toploading is pretty rank but I think I may be able to top it.

When I was in college two or three of the lads that used to live together used to like to play hide the turd at house parties. They were so notorious for it that people used to search the whole house after to try find where the hell it was before it stank the place up.

So after one particular house party the guy who owned the house couldnt find a thing. Two days later he managed to find it. In the butter tub in the fridge.

Other notable hiding places include in a kettle and in the microwave (which was then switched on in one case).

As you can imagine they were never left inside the door of my place if they had been drinking.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

the butterdish you say, hmm that is creative, will have to have a long trawl through my repressed subconcious to see if theres anything more disturbed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

1-"graffiti is wrong"

2-"if you vandalise this wall i'll put a brick through your window"

3- "no philosopher was born in a vacum" obviously from my college, a first year methinks
    Man, I knew the quotes project was in trouble but now I see it's going downhill fast. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Kept me entertained during many a crap...

Left wall: "Toilet tennis, look right"
    Right wall: "Toilet tennis, look left"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

A few years back , beside the Church of Ireland Cathedral in Waterford, There was a parking pole with a blank circle at the top(where the " P " should go) Anyway some creative mind Wrote in black marker " No spontaneous fish signs "

This area is a regular stop on the walking tours of the City , But over the following months there was more pictures taken of the pole that the Cathedral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Banksy recreated stonehenge using portable toilets in a field at Glastonbury. Thought that was pretty cool. Although that would be more art...Sorta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

There's a lot of non-creative vandalism in my college! All the cubicles are covered in northsiders slaggin southsiders and the other way around! Very boring stuff that doesn't keep me entertained:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Turnip2000

I was at a party once where people were playing potato golf in the house.
    And I think all the shoes were hung out of the windows. Then the game of baseball with the oranges was the night ender. Few too many objects destroyed. Bit of a fancy gaff with a lota fancy doo dads about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

House party where the host was not a very liked person..
    Anywho, they put a heap of dishes plates and the likes into the washing machiine on a fast spin... that made some racket
    Also filled the toilet wit washing powder and flushed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

We like to turn everything upside down. Tables, chairs, microwaves, cutlery, food, paintings etc. Then we got to one of those upside down squeeze bottles and we had no idea what to do.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

The only thing I hate more than graffiti is irony.

This one was pretty popular in my school a few years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

whats toploading?

All i can find on google is washing machines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

c - 13 wrote: »
    When I was in college two or three of the lads that used to live together used to like to play hide the turd at house parties. They were so notorious for it that people used to search the whole house after to try find where the hell it was before it stank the place up.
    I would have rubbed their nose in it, like the dogs they are
    whats toploading?

All i can find on google is washing machines
    Try "upperdecking" instead.

Toploading in the slang I grew up with was the roller of a joint sticking loads of hash in the top, smoking it himself and passing it on with feck all left. A "top load inspection" was looking at the joint before it was rolled. I remember this being similar to "fair search", a complete scumbag stranger would ask for a smoke on the street, if you said "I don't have any" or "don't smoke", they would say "fair search", cheeky bastards expecting you to let them search you for smokes!

Same with the topload inspection, fu-ck off and buy your own and roll it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I know it as topdecking. The toilet thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭stevecrow74

seen on many toilet doors with a gap at the top and bottom

'beware of pole vaulters' and an arrow pointing up
    and
    'beware of limbo dancers' and an arrow pointing down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

A classic Mr Vimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

WindSock wrote: »
    I know it as topdecking. The toilet thing.

Always the quiet ones....