Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tis the season

• 05-05-2008 9:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭

With the summer being here as it is May and the tempatures startng to rise
    I found myself pondering where to the brothers stand on or in their shorts ?

Are they for lesser men not used to sweating in the sun ?

Or is there there a standard to which a brother may wear shorts but woe betide
    the man who wears white hipster metrosexual shorts.

So lads which of ye sports the exposes calf's look at this time of year and which of ye dare to bare above the knee ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

*shudder*

You have just made me remember it's that time of year my father with whip out the shorts and white socks. No amount of abuse will dissuade him from this abomination.

As for me, Bermuda shorts are the only acceptable form of shorts, and only in the privacy of the back garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

medium_28603.jpg

Note white pastey legs.

Fajitas! wrote: »
    Note white pastey legs.

Pastey and hairy legs are de rigueur for the Brethren.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Jean shorts, sandles and white socks FTW!

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

I like those combat shorts for lads. something sexy bout them.

Although I did something rather disturbing yesterday. I was stopped on caple st at the lights and there was a few guys standing at the lights, one was wearing nice combat shorts, not a bad looking chap either so I was taking alot of notice then I was looking at everything. The dude was wearing a polo shirt with a V neck jumper. not tooooo bad, I could handle that view, then I noticed the feet. Dubes. feckin Dubes I tells ya!!! well the lights couldnt have gone red quick enough.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Jean shorts, sandles and white socks FTW!

Xavi6 banned for crimes against All That is Decent.

Tom Dunne wrote: »
    Xavi6 banned for crimes against All That is Decent.

I heard it's in this year* -

socks%20and%20sandals.jpg

(* I jest Brother Tom. Please don't wave the ban stick!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Xavi6 wrote: »
    I heard it's in this year*
    Jesus Xavi, camel's toe ftw.:D

I prefer the tight 70s football shorts. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,491 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Long baggy shorts are best :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

I also agree on the long baggie shorts, comfort and look bad ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

I go for the long & baggy shorts too ... mind you, they don't actually look long & baggy on me ... but that's part of the charm.

I have very hairy legs, with several odd lumps, scars and stitches - so naturally I whip on the shorts at every opportunity. I like the ones you get with loads of pockets, for keys, wallets, phones, tissues, water bottles, dog treats, first-aid kits ... the essentials.

I draw the line at sandals though. My toes are not fit to see the light of day :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Cargo shorts I hear the wimmins call em - the ones with lots of pockets

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Over a certain age and over a certain shall we say build, shorts just look wrong. Wrong I tells ya. When you see a guy of 35, of a stocky mein and a bad haircut walking a small dog that you just know he didn't choose, you feel bad for him and your gender in general.....:D

On holidays in more clement climes of course all bets are off. Me, I very very rarely go native though. I will suffer in stoical silence goddammmit!!! :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Are thongs considered shorts ? A very brief, and specialised form of shorts perhaps ?
    What about long thongs ? Sequin covered banana hammocks ? Budgie Smugglers ?

Or those over-the-shoulder ones that Borat wears.

Cos I wouldn't know anything about that sort of thing *ahem*

smashey wrote: »
    I prefer the tight 70s football shorts. :cool:

It's only when you actually meet smashey that you can appreciate how horrid that image is.
    trout wrote: »
    Are thongs considered shorts ? A very brief, and specialised form of shorts perhaps ?
    What about long thongs ? Sequin covered banana hammocks ? Budgie Smugglers ?

Or those over-the-shoulder ones that Borat wears.

Please, my stomach is delicate enough already this morning. :eek:

No, no, no, no and no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

It's only when you actually meet smashey that you can appreciate how horrid that image is.

and here I would tought all things being in proportion smashey would have been far to well endowed to wear such short shorts and not get arrested for indecent exposure, ah well.

Please, my stomach is delicate enough already this morning. :eek:

No, no, no, no and no.

Please can we have that post deleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

"...men not used to sweating in the sun" - well that's pretty much all of us in this country.

I'll wear shorts because they're comfrotable. Have horrible legs, scarred, spotty and evertything, but my comfort's more important than your standards of decency.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

this is a super sexy thread for chew. she is thoroughly enjoying the mental images, and delighted to finally have an excuse to use the following. . . .

pics or it did'nt happen. . . !!! :D

wow that felt good! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

ChewChew wrote: »

Agreed.. and red or blue bermuda shorts too, HAWT.

Rozabeez wrote: »
    Agreed.. and red or blue bermuda shorts too, HAWT.

oh stop. super duper sexy

I only have dark coloured shorts, goes with my supposed dark skin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Gonna need pics...

I'm wearin shorts now but I reckon I look like a hillbilly or something.

Rozabeez wrote: »
    Gonna need pics...

I'm wearin shorts now but I reckon I look like a hillbilly or something.

I am in work :( so no shorts today for me.

I think there's a pic of me in KYN wearing a pair of very very short short shorts. In my defence it was in the mid 30s at the time :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Just to prove Mairt know's not to wear white socks with his shorts..

As for sweating... There's a few of the wimmins around here could make Mairt sweat!..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

I have no problem wearing shorts and in fact have a collection of boardies from when I was oz. However I am startign to come to the conclusion that the rest of humanity might have a problem with me wearing them. However once I am happy screw the rest of ye

Thaedydal wrote: »
    and here I would tought all things being in proportion smashey would have been far to well endowed to wear such short shorts and not get arrested for indecent exposure, ah well.
    On the contrary, if you've got it, flaunt it.:cool:

No use hiding it all behind a tent masquerading as shorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

Combat/Cargo shorts FTW! And tomorrow is supposed to be warmer than today. :eek: If it's at all like today I'll probably be wearing shorts - socks or possibly ankle socks a.k.a gay socks into work. :pac:

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Currently wearing short as I've just been hacking my way through the undergrowth that was my garden. They have to be longish, but with all the scars from my ops on my knees I'm toying with the idea of a slightly shorter pair to test the "chicks dig scars" theory. Obviously this would expose a greater area of snow white hairy flesh, which would probably negate any benefit gained should the scar theory actually work.

I was just discussing this thread with mrs trout ... and I mentioned your post about snow white hairy flesh, scars and short shorts ... mrs trout asked me who posted that ... and I told her. She declared, and I kid you not, "Zaph, yore so hot right now".

Take from that what you will :cool:

Mrs. trout is clearly an excellent judge of hairy white flesh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭DJ_Spider

I have a knife scar on my upper thigh so shorts make me feel a little self concious. I usually wear jeans so it doesn't show. I don't wear boxers as I always feel like I have too much on underneath. I wear briefs as it feel more comfortable and it shows the man vegetables better!

Mrs Spider likes what I wear, but prefers it when I don't at all :D So as she is the only one I have to keep happy I will not be wearing shorts this summer. (BTW I presume this IS the summer and it will be autumn tomorrow?!)

If it's scars they look for the here is the ultimate scar.:cool:

I am suspending the "pics or it didn't happen" rule in this instance, on the grounds of decency, good taste and common sense.

Mind you ... I also have scarred genitalia. smashey's story is better though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

OMG. I seriously would have started screaming the cop shop down in my girliest shriek possible ala Ned Flanders. "pushed it back in". WTF MAN?

*It's been a long time coming but OMG 1000th post!* :pac:

Congrats on 1Kth post kyub, and my heart goes out to you smashy. I take it you not too keen on the 'hitler has only got one ba11' song then?! :eek:

Zaph wrote: »
    Currently wearing short as I've just been hacking my way through the undergrowth that was my garden. They have to be longish, but with all the scars from my ops on my knees I'm toying with the idea of a slightly shorter pair to test the "chicks dig scars" theory. Obviously this would expose a greater area of snow white hairy flesh, which would probably negate any benefit gained should the scar theory actually work.

you see, that right there is super sexy. RARRRRR.

I just love scars. They are so unique and add extra character. I have 3 scars that are visible and cannot be covered. I hated them, but now love them cause they are part of me.

but boy in shorts sporting sexy scars. well come here to me now!! :D

I just love scars. They are so unique and add extra character. I have 3 scars that are visible and cannot be covered. I hated them, but now love them cause they are part of me.

*observe trout writing in his little black book again ... *

Note: 05/05/2008 - Ensure that the long trousers are worn on the June 20th Beers of the Night of a Thousand Corsets.
    The hawt cargo shorts are not repeat NOT to be worn that day for fear of a multiple scars, pasty white flesh hairy legged ... incident.

Well bugger me, chicks really do dig scars ;)

Zaph wrote: »
    Well bugger me, chicks really do dig scars ;)

it's true. some (obviously not all) scars are just super sexy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭ruthiedv

DJ_Spider wrote: »
    I have a knife scar on my upper thigh
    Tell the truth, you were getting the stone out of an avocado, weren't you:D

0wn3d! Actually I was in the army and got it in combat! (you wouldn't think I was a jarhead to see me now, the six pack has turned into a barrel!) :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

Baggies/boardies/cargo/combat shorts only thanks. Wear mine only in proper warm weather (today barely qualified, I was just trying to embrace the only bit of summer I'll get this year) and when I'm biking. Even in mid winter in rain and muck you can't not be wearing shorts when peggin it down the side of a mountain in anything other than shorts.

On the scars thing: the bulk of mine are on my face (3) and hands (7, mostly small)

kyub wrote: »
    OMG. I seriously would have started screaming the cop shop down in my girliest shriek possible ala Ned Flanders. "pushed it back in". WTF MAN?
    It seemed like the sensible thing to do. :D
    DJ_Spider wrote: »
    Congrats on 1Kth post kyub, and my heart goes out to you smashy. I take it you not too keen on the 'hitler has only got one ba11' song then?! :eek:
    That song doesn't bother me in the slightest. Remember, I have two, it's just that I've seen one of them.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

Jesus Christ Smashey! :( I couldn't even cover my eyes cos it was in my head! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭chris_oc

Although I did something rather disturbing yesterday. I was stopped on caple st at the lights and there was a few guys standing at the lights, one was wearing nice combat shorts, not a bad looking chap either so I was taking alot of notice then I was looking at everything. The dude was wearing a polo shirt with a V neck jumper. not tooooo bad, I could handle that view, then I noticed the feet. Dubes. feckin Dubes I tells ya!!! well the lights couldnt have gone red quick enough.

Combat shorts are always good! they also come under the category of "baggy" and "comfortable" so its a win win!

As for Dubes, burn the fcukin lot of them...

(not that they're bad shoes, just what they stand for loike!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

jsb wrote: »
    I have no problem wearing shorts and in fact have a collection of boardies from when I was oz. However I am startign to come to the conclusion that the rest of humanity might have a problem with me wearing them. However once I am happy screw the rest of ye

wear them!
    board shorts are the sex!

in the summer ive been known to throw them on over my biknis n what not.

brothers im hearing you with the pale legs.im also among the ghosty pale,scarred legs brigade!

socks and sandles no...xavi6 wear flipflops with socks and you deserve bodily harm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

I like short shorts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Rob_l wrote: »
    I like short shorts

fine then instead of the jeans picture short shorts instead

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055285889

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Why the hell did I follow that link.........