Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Channel 6..what do ye think?

• 04-05-2008 8:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭

I'm just wondering what everyone thinks of channel 6...
    personally i've actually only started watching things on it recently, i watch sex and the city on it cause i never watched it before, im also watching friday night lights on it now aswell(at least channel 6 are able to schedule shows properly unlike rte) and im going to start watchin shark tonight at half nine cause i missed it when it was on rte and want to watch it from the start...
    I never took much notice of this channel before because of the way it was placed in the channel listings in the old chorus format( it was the last channel so never got to it when flicking through) but now that its after rte and tv3 and those on chorus i find myself starting to watch it a lot more...

just wondering what other peoples opinions on it are...do yee watch it much or do yee not like the way that most their shows are repeats of shows that have been on other channels before(must admit thats what put me off it at first) just wondering if its a popular channel or not among people on here ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Personally I think it's largely useless. What annoys me about TV3 is that it seems to be more like ITV-lite what with shows like Emmerdale, I'm a Celebrity, Coronation Street etc. and to me Channel 6 is in a similar vein and is like Channel 4-lite with shows like Frasier, Friends, King of the Hill, Dawsons Creek and so on.

Why is it left to RTE and TG4 to deliver home-grown shows to Irish audiences? I'd like to see TV3 and Channel 6 offer up some new and creative programming instead of churning out pap that we can get on British channels.

Channel 6 gets a big thumbs down from me. A complete waste of time.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Channel 6 has good music coverage.

Otherwise? I don't bother at all at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

It is totally ignored here. Nothing on it worth watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

Why is it left to RTE and TG4 to deliver home-grown shows to Irish audiences? I'd like to see TV3 and Channel 6 offer up some new and creative programming instead of churning out pap that we can get on British channels.

Channel 6 gets a big thumbs down from me. A complete waste of time.

Well RTE, TV3 and TG4 are all licensed by the BCI to deliver home-grown shows to Irish audiences. Channel 6 on the other hand is not. Therefore it is unfair to criticise them for not doing something that they never set out to do.

I am all for having a go at TV3 for all of the reasons that you mentioned. And I think that TV3 should be taken off the air because it has failed to live up to its public service remit.

But Channel 6 was set up to be what it is; a channel of repeats to attract people who have never saw those shows that they first aired. And in that respect I find it a great addition. At the moment I am also watching Friday Night Lights on Channel 6.

I also think that you could make the argument that Channel 6 has contributed more than TV3. At least Channel 6 shows decent drama (even if they are re-runs) which is a damn sight better than ITV-lite TV3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

7 minute ad breaks and a movie review show that has to be seen to be (dis)believed. Total crap. Tho they did have Mean Streets on the other night which is to their credit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,383 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Don't watch it. Ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭zuchum

Good music. Some quality old shows. Its alright by me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

woooo232 wrote: »
    Well RTE, TV3 and TG4 are all licensed by the BCI to deliver home-grown shows to Irish audiences. Channel 6 on the other hand is not. Therefore it is unfair to criticise them for not doing something that they never set out to do.

I am all for having a go at TV3 for all of the reasons that you mentioned. And I think that TV3 should be taken off the air because it has failed to live up to its public service remit.

But Channel 6 was set up to be what it is; a channel of repeats to attract people who have never saw those shows that they first aired. And in that respect I find it a great addition. At the moment I am also watching Friday Night Lights on Channel 6.

I also think that you could make the argument that Channel 6 has contributed more than TV3. At least Channel 6 shows decent drama (even if they are re-runs) which is a damn sight better than ITV-lite TV3.

I think Channel 6 could at least produce something intelligent that was home-grown. Anything Irish on the channel from what I've seen has been either phone-in quiz shows (which I despise) or entertainment/gossip programmes which I equally despise.

I would be less critical of the station if they actually produced something of merit instead of these 'glitzy' shows which to me are really scraping the barrel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Brilliant music-wise, and I'm an insomniac so it suits me grand. Night Shift is infinitely better than anything any other channel offers in terms of music coverage, and they run a lot of videos you just wouldn't see otherwise.

Rest of the channel... ain't so good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Bond-007 wrote: »
    It is totally ignored here. Nothing on it worth watching.

Seinfeld?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Full_Circle

From what I recall, Channel 6 were the first terrestrial channel to broadcast shows like Heroes, House and The Closer (I do love me some Kyra Sedgwick :p). And like other posters have mentioned, they show Friday Night Lights and Shark at a much more reasonable hour than RTE (who should be castrated for showing primetime fare at crazy hours. Can you castrate a TV station?!?). So I wouldn't call it a strictly "repeats only" channel.
    I havent seen their movie show, but their coverage of music beats the hell out of MTV One at least......

From what I recall, Channel 6 were the first terrestrial channel to broadcast shows like Heroes, House and The Closer (I do love me some Kyra Sedgwick :p). And like other posters have mentioned, they show Friday Night Lights and Shark at a much more reasonable hour than RTE (who should be castrated for showing primetime fare at crazy hours. Can you castrate a TV station?!?). So I wouldn't call it a strictly "repeats only" channel.
    I havent seen their movie show, but their coverage of music beats the hell out of MTV One at least......

Thats not saying much. Listening to the dogs barking on my street beats MTV1 as a musical experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Full_Circle

SDooM wrote: »
    Thats not saying much. Listening to the dogs barking on my street beats MTV1 as a musical experience.

This is true. They show practically no music at all. Maybe E4 Music (on E4 in the morning) would be a better comparison. But Channel 6's musical coverage is a lot more diverse and often highlights Irish acts too.

I agree as per my earlier posts. I would often flick through early in the morning and see something suprising on. I do hate music programs which are obviously paid adverts for whichever singles are out at that given time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

Its need more fresh American shows like Heroes rather than old Fraiser and Friends (we have Paramount and E4 for that).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

I think Channel 6 could at least produce something intelligent that was home-grown. Anything Irish on the channel from what I've seen has been either phone-in quiz shows (which I despise) or entertainment/gossip programmes which I equally despise.

I would be less critical of the station if they actually produced something of merit instead of these 'glitzy' shows which to me are really scraping the barrel.

Well yeah obviously it would be great if they produced high quality home grown programming. But tbh RTE and TV3 have a lot more money than them and quality home produced programming on their stations are either of extremely varying quality or almost non existent in the case of TV3.

It costs a lot of money to make decent home produced programming. So until the stations with more money start consistently producing good television I will be giving minnows like Channel 6 a pass. Plus although I have never seen it, other posters seem to think that their music programming is pretty good so at least that is something.

And I think that TV3 should be taken off the air because it has failed to live up to its public service remit.

I agree 100%. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Harpy

Dman001 wrote: »
    Its need more fresh American shows like Heroes rather than old Fraiser and Friends (we have Paramount and E4 for that).
    sorry Dman you're gonna need another example it does have heroes haha., its on season two(not too sure where abouts in season 2 cause i haven't been watchin it)
    but i know what you mean it basically needs to get the rights to more shows like this..yeah it definatley needs to get more original shows but think its gonna benefit from rte's really bad scheduling of shows if it keeps pickin up good shows that rte show at all hours of the night..

oh wait sorry dman after rereading your post i realised you prob know it does have heroes and it just needs more like it sorry (woops)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

In the 6 months I've had access via Sky, I haven't watched so much as a second of their output...
    Doesn't sound like I'm missing much really...have to concur with people syaing about RTÉ's scheduling of prime time fare though...and comments about MTVone's muscial output or lack thereof...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,383 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

The problem with channel 6 is that apart from Heroes it doesn't show anything which is not available elsewhere on sky... They need something major to help them..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

I'm a big fan of Channel 6. I missed shows like Seinfeld and (too my immortal shame I'm admitting this) Dawson's Creek the first time round and I find most of the shows highly entertaining. Cannot stand the male presenter though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

There's no shame in admitting you missed Dawson's Creek first time around....the shame would be admitting you're watching the re-runs :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,552 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

All I ever watch on 6 is the occasional Seinfeld.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Waste of bandwidth. That is only my opinion of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

I used to watch some music programme on Channel 6 when I had NTL. Now that I've Sky, it's become lost among the plethora of crap freebie channels that I skip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

TV3 do produce 'home grown' shows.

Unfortunately, it's almost entirely made up of that annoying weather man, and sports coverage, which is invariably much worse than the RTE equivalent (i'm not looking forward to their GAA coverage this year)

Basically, TV3, have snatched exclusive rights off RTE for things they were generally very good at, and produced inferior versions of them, but they have totally ignored the sections of the broadcast media that RTE are useless at producing, and instead simply import cheap nasty broadcasting from america and the U.K.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

I watch House on Chan6, that's about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭chris d

has the best music coverage on the tele.

has repeats of seinfield at dinner time.
    has buffy on a continuous loop. (a good thing)
    has the american office.

doesnt have ryan tubridy.
    doesnt have pat kenny.

comes high on my list of, 'nothin's on, check and see if seinfield/buffy/next generation's on' type channel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

i've never watched it by my own choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

I kinda like channel6, its there is nothing on, whats on channel 6?! Its like e4. I watch heroes, the odd csi and house, i do like the music coverage it appears to be the selling point!!

I can see if i had sky how id never watch it! buried in with all the other sh*t. Were i have NTL digital, so its up near the top!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

hate the new take 6 shows faux friendliness, just present the program and cut the crap, no you a tv presenter your not seating on sofa discussing what you think of the latest film, and we're not your mates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭phenomenon

I used to watch the Sopranos and Curb your Enthusiasm on it but only because I missed these shows the first time round. As far as orignal content is concerned the channel is useless.

And why do they even bother with music coverage?? There are plenty of far superior music-dedicated channels out there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭MattEmulsion

phenomenon wrote: »
    And why do they even bother with music coverage?? There are plenty of far superior music-dedicated channels out there

They cover Irish stuff - so I don't know what other Irish music dedicated channels there is. Bubble hits? pah bollocks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

The occasional episode of American Dad is the only reason I would turn it on, nothing other than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Yeah, I really can't think of a better music channel. Honestly, if they just rolled Nightshift nonstop - and maybe asked Michelle Doherty to talk about bands like she'd heard of them before, bless her heart - I'd probably watch it more. It has a good mix of homegrown and international stuff, and just obscure enough for my tastes. My only gripe is the endless commands to go and look at the website, and that the little filler bits, though they are generally pretty decent bits of news, are endlessly repeated.

Basically, whoever actually picks the music for Nightshift, I think you rock pretty hard. Hooray for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭grimm2005

i watch it soley for seinfeld as it seems to be the only channel showing it and i never saw it the countless times its been repeated elsewhere, it also shows it in the right episode order which is a major plus but thats pretty much it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I watch Friends on Channel 6 when there is nothing else on. Oh and I watch Rachel Ray sometimes because even though she annoys the crap out of me, I love cooking and will watch pretty much anything with cooking involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TarfHead

I think Channel 6 could at least produce something intelligent that was home-grown.

I enjoy C6 for many of the reasons already posted. Without them I would not have seen Brotherhood or American Dad or got started on Family Guy, and they've given me the opportunity to watch 24 which, being classicly male OCD, I couldn't start watching the first time around because I missed the first few programmes of series 1.

I enjoyed Cois Farraige. A guilty secret maybe, given that Jenny Buckley is terribly fond of herself. Besides that, the producer of the programme is from the Britton family so should have had some insight into Ireland's surfing communities and history.