Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What can I do this summer...?

• 29-04-2008 11:22am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭

Hey guys,

Im just looking for some ideas as to what I can do work wise during my last summer ever as a student...

I've spent the last 4 years working part time in behind the bar at an extremely busy Dublin venue. Spent 10 weeks last summer with Anglo Irish Bank as an intern in Group Finance and start an audit training contract with a top 5 firm next October.

My college exams finish in about 10 days so I've a good 5 months of summer to do nothing with.

The majority of it will probably be spent training as much as possible (I compete internationally in powerlifting) so I was hoping to find a job where I could work maybe 12-20 hours a week and not have to worry too much about any major responsibilities.

Anyone got any ideas what I could do to keep myself occupied? The actual job that I do, and the start/finish times don't particuarly concern me either.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

What are your interests?
    j1????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Check out www.multiflex.ie, and look for the number of Deirdre O'Rourke. Ring up and ask her about any opportunities in the DAA for summer work. You get about 40 hours over 7 days, so it's not the part-time job you're looking for. But shift work is good for finishing work at 1pm, and having the rest of the day to do what you want.

Otherwise, a few centras are hiring. The one beside Graingers on the Malahide Road/Ard Scoil Ris is hiring part timers for the summer.

Gig security - try Swords Events. Hiring AFAIK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭homeOwner

You could try getting extra work on a movie set. I did it a few times, its great craic and you get to see yourself on screen!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

MIN2511 wrote: »
    What are your interests?
    j1????

Interests = training and competition (I'd make a pretty good trainer, but you need specific courses before gyms will hire you!)

I'm genuinely not interested in a J1 at this point amazingly!! I might take 6 months out when my audit training contract finished in 3.5 years, but as of now... no interest!!

sunnyjim wrote: »
    Check out www.multiflex.ie, and look for the number of Deirdre O'Rourke. Ring up and ask her about any opportunities in the DAA for summer work. You get about 40 hours over 7 days, so it's not the part-time job you're looking for. But shift work is good for finishing work at 1pm, and having the rest of the day to do what you want.

Otherwise, a few centras are hiring. The one beside Graingers on the Malahide Road/Ard Scoil Ris is hiring part timers for the summer.

Gig security - try Swords Events. Hiring AFAIK.

I had considered the DAA thing actually, but was under the impression they weren't taking on (or already had enough) staff.... My dad knows alot of people in the DAA and airport in general, must get him to check.

I didn't want to be reduced to having to work in Centra's or Spar's (not that it's a bad job, just something I'd like to avoid if possible). I had considered part time work in some of the pubs/bars around the area tho. Big Tree, Botanic House, Ivy House, Quinns etc... (I assume this is the same sunnyjim who used to post on whopperbuzz????)

Gig security's a good idea actually. I'm surprised I hadn't thought of that before. I train with a few lads who run the or know the people who run security at alot of gigs in the city.

I really should try and use these people I know instead of just posting randomly online.... :rolleyes:

homeOwner wrote: »
    You could try getting extra work on a movie set. I did it a few times, its great craic and you get to see yourself on screen!

That sounds pretty awesome actually. Where would I find out more info...? how regular is it, and what are the rates of pay like do ya know???

And if anyone else has suggestions then keep them coming, I'm all ears!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

I had considered the DAA thing actually, but was under the impression they weren't taking on (or already had enough) staff.... My dad knows alot of people in the DAA and airport in general, must get him to check.

Yeah, they are looking for quite a few positions. Seriously, just give 'em a ring at that link I gave you, they are screaming for people to apply right now, as a security clearance by the Gardai takes a while to get processed.

Yup, same Sunnyjim.

I don't blame you avoiding the Centras, they are a crock tbh. Hate this kind of work, but I like the customers...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

Gig security is great but the pay is ridiculously bad.

You more or less work the gigs you want which includes music,sporting and hotels and it can be fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Hey man, can ya play video games? if so let me know, activision are interviewing for testers either this week or next. I pulled a fluke and got a project co-ordinator position so i might have a bit of pull if ya want it? If ya have a second language you're a cert but if not, well ya never know :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭JavaBear

^ hate the way you need a second language for those jobs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭homeOwner

Hanley wrote: »
    That sounds pretty awesome actually. Where would I find out more info...? how regular is it, and what are the rates of pay like do ya know???

And if anyone else has suggestions then keep them coming, I'm all ears!

I think nowadays you go to movieextras.ie or something like that but when i did it 8 or 9 years back I just walked into an open casting in temple bar and was picked along with about 100 others. I did a few movies and a few adds. Back then you got paid about €80 per 10 hour day and if it went over 10 hours you got more plus all free meals. You certainly wouldnt do it for the money or the luxery (3am on the top of the moutains in wicklow in the rain and freezing cold was not glamourous!) and its usually a 5am start but worth it for your 3 seconds of fame.

JavaBear wrote: »
    ^ hate the way you need a second language for those jobs!

ya don't NEED one. I haven't got one. But i'm doing a course on computer game development which might stand to me. But some people get lucky and just waltz into it

RedXIV wrote: »
    Hey man, can ya play video games? if so let me know, activision are interviewing for testers either this week or next. I pulled a fluke and got a project co-ordinator position so i might have a bit of pull if ya want it? If ya have a second language you're a cert but if not, well ya never know :D

Aww sh!t that woulda been a frickin AWESOME job. I'm not as big a computer games nerd as I used to be tho. I haven't even played a PS3 or Xbox360 yet :o

Thanks for the offer, but if you did pull strings and got me the interview I'd probably just make you look bad, and I wouldn't want to do that!

Well i'm starting next week and if i hear of any easy jobs going, i'll PM ya, best i can do ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Esse85

Hanley what are you studying??

Also would door work at a club/pub interest you?

Esse85 wrote: »
    Hanley what are you studying??

Also would door work at a club/pub interest you?

Just at the end of a combined Accounting and HRM degree... Not sure if I want to do anything specifically related to that for the summer tho since my Audit training contract starts in October...

I had considered door work, but I dunno if I'm cut out for it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

sunnyjim wrote: »

Any jobs still going there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

hanley i'd recommend part time work in a bank call centre, handy work and hours. might even be some experience for you. great pay for a part time job (12eish). did it for about 2 years during college/professional exams.

good laugh in most centres as there is always a very young crowd.

Sangre wrote: »
    hanley i'd recommend part time work in a bank call centre, handy work and hours. might even be some experience for you. great pay for a part time job (12eish). did it for about 2 years during college/professional exams.

good laugh in most centres as there is always a very young crowd.

Ohhhh thank could be a runner...

What sorta stuff would I be doing?? And where could I find out about availability?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

pretty straight forward if you have any common sense. just dealing in relation to people's accounts over the phone, you do a lot of what a teller would do but obviously don't deal in cash/cheque. you'd answer questions on accounts, direct debits, standing orders, cheques. depending on where you're put you might also deal with lost cards, credit cards or mortgages.

place i was in in south dublin was always stuck for part time/eveing staff. i left about 6 weeks ago and they really needed them. PM if you want the name/location of where I was.

its often evening work (e.g 4-10) so I found if great for the gym as I could go when it was quiet during the day.

4-10 sounds pretty perfect actually... I do live on the other side of the Liffey, but since I wouldn't be driving across the city at rush hour it shouldn't be a problem!!