Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

poaching

• 29-04-2008 11:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭

all the talk of deer poaching etc... took me back to when we were alot younger and we'd head off with a bobbery pack of dogs off the road and walk the fields from dawn til dusk. no permission,no insurance,no adults, not a clue where we was heading.
    once we walked from donaghmede, hunting all the way, to st. margrets and slept in a tent then hunted all the way home, good times. i dont think kids could do that today.
    another time me and a mate got taking home in a squad car,dogs inc, cos we were got by two special branch men mooching around charlie haughies pheasant pens and hunting rabbits around his estate! no way a youngster would get away with that today, probably end up in court.
    good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Yes fun days indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

[Mod Hat On]
    I believe whitser's thread is more about how things have changed since his childhood

we have already had a poaching debate and everyone got their say. if this turns into a poaching debate it will be locked. Any issues and there's a feedback thread.

Its as simple as this, everyone is entitled to their opinion but if your moral opinion conflicts the law, keep it to yourself, no one is forcing your fingers on to the keyboard ok. There is no problem posting suggesting maybe the laws should be relaxed with sound logic and reasoning etc etc. For example "Deer have become very numerous and a hazard on public roads, should license/permission to hunt them be easier to acquire?" but do not come on here and say "In my opinion (insert illegal activity here) is grand, no harm to no one"
    [Mod Hat Off]

I too have fond memories of galovanting across the countryside as a young lad. Went to a friends house and just went walking across fields (weren't hunting) didn't know who owned the land or anything. We eventually tracked down a lost fox hound and brought him home to be collected later by the local hunt lads. Great day. How things get complicated when you get older eh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭whitser

yeah exactly. if your going to get all high and mighty dont reply to this one. when we were young we'd run as soon as we saw a farmer, i'd say he wasn't in the least bit worried. its was defo a case of we were more afraid of him then he was off us.
    certain urban legends would go around about this farmer and that , they would shoot salt filled shot guns shells at kids! but truth be told never once did we have any real trouble with a farmer. a **** off is all we'd get, and that would send us jumping into ditches and rivers to make good our escape.

things are defo changed. young lads now wouldnt go into the fields in case they got their designer gear dirty. as for jumping into a river or ditch, are you mad?
    no kids today rather hang around and style their ridiculas parrot hair do's.
    we were in the fields every chance we got. i remember one xmass holidays, we hunted every day and lamped most of the nights.for abot 2 weeks, non-stop,poor dogs must have been exhausted.
    this was all in the pre- old english cider and teenage girls years. there wasnt as much lamping done then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

Vegeta wrote: »
    [Mod Hat On]
    I believe whitser's thread is more about how things have changed since his childhood

we have already had a poaching debate and everyone got their say. if this turns into a poaching debate it will be locked. Any issues and there's a feedback thread.

Its as simple as this, everyone is entitled to their opinion but if your moral opinion conflicts the law, keep it to yourself, no one is forcing your fingers on to the keyboard ok. There is no problem posting suggesting maybe the laws should be relaxed with sound logic and reasoning etc etc. For example "Deer have become very numerous and a hazard on public roads, should license/permission to hunt them be easier to acquire?" but do not come on here and say "In my opinion (insert illegal activity here) is grand, no harm to no one"
    [Mod Hat Off]

I too have fond memories of galovanting across the countryside as a young lad. Went to a friends house and just went walking across fields (weren't hunting) didn't know who owned the land or anything. We eventually tracked down a lost fox hound and brought him home to be collected later by the local hunt lads. Great day. How things get complicated when you get older eh.

you still got your say in .

jwshooter wrote: »
    you still got your say in .

About what exactly? That this thread is not to be brought off topic and reminding folks of the charter :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭damo03

Im only 22 and we still had good craic around the countryside when we were younger. Maybe we werent as adventerous as some:D and we are country lads. But still you cant beat geting out even for a walk with no dogs and guns. We used to make bow and arrows and as we got older even used steel heads. I agree with whitser on his comments about young people today though. Im sure i seen a few young fellas wering makup last weekend. And i wasnt in a funny location before the jokes start .F**k i sound old.:D

damo03 wrote: »
    We used to make bow and arrows and as we got older even used steel heads.

A bit of ash and orange building twine and bam, robin hood :pac:

We used to make them as well, about as effective as poking something with your baby finger :D

Vegeta wrote: »
    A bit of ash and orange building twine and bam, robin hood :pac:

We used to make them as well, about as effective as poking something with your baby finger :D

Exactly the same great fun when you were a kid.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

God, relax Veg, not a mod a wet day and already on a power trip:rolleyes:

Anyway back to topic,
    I used to snare rabbits all over the north county when i was a lad, roaming where i pleased knowing i was only a kid, whats the worst they could do to me? been known to poach some nice trout from a small stocked lake north of Swords,long time ago SSSSssshhhhh

God, relax Veg, not a mod a wet day and already on a power trip:rolleyes:

Prevention is better than cure. Yeah, power trip, I've locked one thread and told people not to drag this one thread off topic. :rolleyes:

I love opressing people, makes me feel like a big man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Used to wander pretty much wherever I pleased as a child. Was nice alright. Set snares and the like, but even then I asked permission to do that. Still, can't get away with that sort of thing these days, and that's understandable enough. So while it was nice to not really have to answer questions, it's nicer now to be able to do more, with the appropriate permissions, and I don't have too much trouble getting those, so don't miss it overly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

the bog was my spiritual home when i was a lad. I was always taken for walks with my grandfather, his gun and 2 spaniels. Its where my interests in hunting were first developed and the excitment of being 12 and being allowed to carry the shotgun with one cartridge in it for safety and being allowed to fire at the odd rabbit as it broke out in front of us. Good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭foxhunter

I probably missed more day's of school than i attended walking around the land.
    I once bought a ferret for a fiver from a Traveller went out one day to try him out and spent two days trying to find him "Never Did Though" it was still better than sitting in a classroom.
    A friend of mine and i nearly wore out my fathers old pointer hunting every field we came across no guns involved of course we were only twelve or thirteen.
    We often ventured on to the north slob thinking we were goin to get a big goose to bring home .
    Thinking about it now I dont think a goose would have been to happy being clattered with a ball bearing from a catapult:o

knowing we were kids, we knew ignorance could be used as an excuse. we told the branch men we hadnt a clue where we were when nicked on charlies place in kinsealy. we knew full well. different craic when your grown up, sorry i was lost doesnt cut it as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭BryanL

one thing i think should be applauded is the tolerance of the vast majority of farmers back then and now.
    i don't think things have changed that much that kids couldn't wander the fields safely now,i just don't think they have the knowledge or the desire.
    we should all do what we can to show kids what is available
    Bryan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭dimebag249

BryanL wrote: »
    one thing i think should be applauded is the tolerance of the vast majority of farmers back then and now.
    Bryan

That's so true, especially when you look at the situation in other countries re hunting and landowners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭Kareir

i don't think things have changed that much that kids couldn't wander the fields safely now,i just don't think they have the knowledge or the desire.
    Bryan

Too True.
    I'm about to turn 16 (yes, firearms licence soon, :D) and the majority or "city kids" would, to be quite honest, shun me or anyone else if i started a conversation with "So, i was out shooting last night..."
    The problem is that the kids of today really have no idea how life works. They have the "McDonalds grows on trees" mentality, added to the fact that influences such as Bambi have completely warped the younger generations views of hunters and shooting. if i was to say my dad owned a rifle, instant reply? "OH MY GOD, he doesn't, like, kill animals?!"
    Also, i go to school in dublin but live in wicklow. i was in class with a guy in my year, and we were talking about how great it will be when we turn 16. i was listing all the things you can now legally do, until i got to "Owning a firearm". he just looked at me with his head on one side and said "dont be stupid dude, you cant own guns in ireland".
    I feel that the influences of T.V. and xbox have ruined the attraction of going outside. God knows i'm not the most active teenager (i'm really not) but if we go out the odd saturday pigeon or pheasant shooting, i enjoy that a lot.

i may have gone slightly off topic there, and if so i'm sorry.

_Kar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭thehair

whitser wrote: »
    yeah exactly. if your going to get all high and mighty dont reply to this one. when we were young we'd run as soon as we saw a farmer, i'd say he wasn't in the least bit worried. its was defo a case of we were more afraid of him then he was off us.
    certain urban legends would go around about this farmer and that , they would shoot salt filled shot guns shells at kids! but truth be told never once did we have any real trouble with a farmer. a **** off is all we'd get, and that would send us jumping into ditches and rivers to make good our escape.

did this farmer live neer the old santy road in coolock why i use to live
    on the northside and yes i walked the same fields were ther are factory now:( my hunting years as a young man total chack
    1. hare found in a field i think he was dead a long time
    2.lost a shoe running from famer
    3.my mother slapping the head off me saying you better find the lost shoe
    4.never found that f in xx shoe stoped looking about 25 years ago:D:D:D

happy days

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭ivanthehunter

Kareir wrote: »
    Too True.
    I'm about to turn 16 (yes, firearms licence soon, :D) and the majority or "city kids" would, to be quite honest, shun me or anyone else if i started a conversation with "So, i was out shooting last night..."
    The problem is that the kids of today really have no idea how life works. They have the "McDonalds grows on trees" mentality, added to the fact that influences such as Bambi have completely warped the younger generations views of hunters and shooting. if i was to say my dad owned a rifle, instant reply? "OH MY GOD, he doesn't, like, kill animals?!"
    Also, i go to school in dublin but live in wicklow. i was in class with a guy in my year, and we were talking about how great it will be when we turn 16. i was listing all the things you can now legally do, until i got to "Owning a firearm". he just looked at me with his head on one side and said "dont be stupid dude, you cant own guns in ireland".
    I feel that the influences of T.V. and xbox have ruined the attraction of going outside. God knows i'm not the most active teenager (i'm really not) but if we go out the odd saturday pigeon or pheasant shooting, i enjoy that a lot.

_Kar.
    Well the future sound safe enough in your hands young man. You count yourself lucky that you escaped the trap of the wii and the xbox(and mens make up if thats really going on).

BryanL-- Well said.

I really miss the freedom of being a child and walking through fields as i pleased without a worry in the world.
    ps................ i also miss being free and single:(

Granddad form Scotland lived in the woods during the war he was a boiler stoker for a steam engine driven saw mill. back then there was ration cards and they poached everything i suppose it was seen as a necessity and not as sport but my father eat so much fresh salmon, venison, rabbit, and wild berries that he cant face this food any more.
    The whole saw mill was composed of nomadic workers who were all expert woods men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭José Alaninho

Too True.

_Kar.

Amen to that, just turned 18 myself, and the attitude of those in my own age-group shocks me repeatedly. Nothing I like more than to get out in the fields on a fine summer's eve with me .22 or 12 gauge and bring home the dinner (most of the time :o).... people just don't seem to live they way they used to. The days when fieldcraft and skill were needed to live in the countryside are over. And what a shame that is. :(

Well the future sound safe enough in your hands young man. You count yourself lucky that you escaped the trap of the wii and the xbox(and mens make up if thats really going on).

BryanL-- Well said.

I really miss the freedom of being a child and walking through fields as i pleased without a worry in the world.
    ps................ i also miss being free and single:(

Granddad form Scotland lived in the woods during the war he was a boiler stoker for a steam engine driven saw mill. back then there was ration cards and they poached everything i suppose it was seen as a necessity and not as sport but my father eat so much fresh salmon, venison, rabbit, and wild berries that he cant face this food any more.
    The whole saw mill was composed of nomadic workers who were all expert woods men.
    Im pretty sure it was faketan. And i am 100% serious.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭irish setter

when i was a lad myself and a friend used to get one of our mothers to drop us off about 5 miles from home [as the crow flies] with my friends setter at dawn and we would hunt our way home which would usually take all the daylight hours. we fed ourselves on what berries and crab apples we could find and on days with slim pickings we'd raid an orchard which was on our way. times have changed but i've got 3 young kids that i'll show the way i've grown up. just hope we dont loose too much with our new found wealth

Bryan
    totally agree brian.
    i think the play-station generation has neither the will or desire to spend the days adventure-ising down in the fields.

thehair wrote: »
    did this farmer live neer the old santy road in coolock why i use to live
    on the northside and yes i walked the same fields were ther are factory now:( my hunting years as a young man total chack
    1. hare found in a field i think he was dead a long time
    2.lost a shoe running from famer
    3.my mother slapping the head off me saying you better find the lost shoe
    4.never found that f in xx shoe stoped looking about 25 years ago:D:D:D

happy days
    we used to get great hunting near coolock. in the fields behind brinks, at the back of that big house on the corner facing the new bewleys round about. one of the first foxes i ever got was in there, flushed it with our bobbery pack to a lurchers. there was plenty of ratting and rabbiting in there also. its mostly factory units now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

we used to get great hunting near coolock. in the fields behind brinks, at the back of that big house on the corner facing the new bewleys round about. one of the first foxes i ever got was in there, flushed it with our bobbery pack to a lurchers. there was plenty of ratting and rabbiting in there also. its mostly factory units now.

Would that have been on the old Belcamp estate ? According to a lad I met a few times there's still great pigeon shooting to be gotten around there.

we hunted all them fields. the belcamp estate, i think you meen where the school was, had plenty of game on it. rabbits,foxes rats,rooster and loads of pigeons, even woodcock. its a long time since i walked in them fields.
    we used to walk from donaghmede-belcamp-kinsealy-feltrim and as far as the airport in a days hunting.
    wasnt unusual for us to be out 10,12 13 hours. when we were kids we didnt pay much attention to boundries or seasons!
    we'd have terriers,springers,german shepard x's,lurchers, one of the best that used to be brought of the road was a yorkie,no mess.
    all them fields are built on, same as all the land around balgriffin and baldoyle that we hunted. the old racecoures in baldoyle was excellent rabbiting ground.

we hunted all them fields. the belcamp estate, i think you meen where the school was, had plenty of game on it. rabbits,foxes rats,rooster and loads of pigeons, even woodcock. its a long time since i walked in them fields.
    we used to walk from donaghmede-belcamp-kinsealy-feltrim and as far as the airport in a days hunting.
    wasnt unusual for us to be out 10,12 13 hours. when we were kids we didnt pay much attention to boundries or seasons!
    we'd have terriers,springers,german shepard x's,lurchers, one of the best that used to be brought of the road was a yorkie,no mess.
    all them fields are built on, same as all the land around balgriffin and baldoyle that we hunted. the old racecoures in baldoyle was excellent rabbiting ground.
    great days whitser i live in mayo now f me you see a lots off foxs-rabbie-
    ever type of bird i will never live in the jungle again I.E dublin
    pack up sell the house get out of dublin head west to hunt again:cool:
    ps i am shooting at target at the monted in a field:p:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

The "rampers" in Balgriffin great for pheasant now all built on, the moyne river through to Baldoyle good for duck now when I travel the train the odd time I am in Dublin all I see is burnt out cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Too True.

_Kar.

Good to see you have an interest and are commited, my young lad is 12 and is into hunting, shooting and all things outdoors including archery gets awful stick in class

The "rampers" in Balgriffin great for pheasant now all built on, the moyne river through to Baldoyle good for duck now when I travel the train the odd time I am in Dublin all I see is burnt out cars
    i took a few duck off that river over the years, where it opens to the sea on the coast road. shot my first and only ever teal down there.

its sad to see apartments etc...on all the land we used to hunt as kids. scots in balgriffin had a great bit of cover for holding foxes. year after year we hunted foxes up there. all houses now.
    the fields behind the grave yard and on towards kinsealy were good hare grounds. they've started to develop all that now. even if kids around there did have an interest in hunting theres fcuk all places to go. hear a lot about obese kids nowadays but a few days hunting after a bobbery pack after would soon have them back in shape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

its sad to see apartments etc...on all the land we used to hunt as kids. scots in balgriffin had a great bit of cover for holding foxes. year after year we hunted foxes up there. all houses now.
    the fields behind the grave yard and on towards kinsealy were good hare grounds. they've started to develop all that now. even if kids around there did have an interest in hunting theres fcuk all places to go. hear a lot about obese kids nowadays but a few days hunting after a bobbery pack after would soon have them back in shape.

Whitser, you should start up a health farm for obese kids- a couple of weeks with you and they,d be like whippets:D:D

seriously i might do that. get the little podgy fcukers out running after the hounds. use the whip to keep them moving!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

seriously i might do that. get the little podgy fcukers out running after the hounds. use the whip to keep them moving!

Rofl here:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭quackquackBOOM

I heard this on the radio one day it was a priest reffering to young people nowadays "if they cant smoke it,drink it or have sex with it they break it" and thats the way its gone they have bored little lives because they wont get off their arse and do a little exploring that would mabye give a little fuel for thought in their minds
    I havent even seen a kid building a tree house or "camp" in years its unfortunate when you think of it
    never actually poached when i was a kid but used to love trying to get deer with the homemade bow and arrow:rolleyes:
    got closer to them then than i ever did for the rest of my hunting life

The hounds sure keep ya fit alright. The man i hunt with who has hounds is touching sixty. And to say he would put ya to shame. Forget gym membership just get a few hounds.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Hezz700

As a kid every summer we built a raft. you know the type? 1 pallet, 2 or 4 drums( depending on capcity ) and a good lashing of rope. Oh and the remains of last years raft.

This proud vessel would be navigated down stream about 3 miles and out onto the River barrow armed with gaffes, nets, rods, catapults, cheapo penknives and various implements of doom. Not to mention a couple of snotnosed pirates. We would spend the day stopping off to fish,or to gather up some frogspawn or set a snare or just to prod something dead with a stick:)

Also we would go to the forestry hunt small game while evading capture by the workers:)

When would arrive home our mothers would say something like, Mrs Kelly said that Mr Kelly told her that he saw you hiding in his silage pit and your not to be up there cos your putting holes in the plastic.

I heard this on the radio one day it was a priest reffering to young people nowadays "if they cant smoke it,drink it or have sex with it they break it" and thats the way its gone they have bored little lives because they wont get off their arse and do a little exploring that would mabye give a little fuel for thought in their minds
    I havent even seen a kid building a tree house or "camp" in years its unfortunate when you think of it
    never actually poached when i was a kid but used to love trying to get deer with the homemade bow and arrow:rolleyes:
    got closer to them then than i ever did for the rest of my hunting life
    we used to build bases all over the fields, some of them were very well designed. and swings, we were mad for making swings over rivers. one spot called "the cove" we'd mitch off school and spent the day down there,even got into the water a few times. lucky we didnt get typhoid or worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,070 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Yiz are remindin' me of me Tom Sawyer 'n Huck Finn days. Underground (cut and cover) dens, tickling trout, and snaring them with a single strand of wire from a rabbit snare tied to a long hazel rod. Caught plenty that way! (Sliced my first in half by pulling too hard, only found the head). Straight on to the frying pan with a few tomatoes and home-made brown bread for good measure.

Down to the local garage for a red tube (had to be red, much stretchier), then to the dump to cut the tongue from an old shoe (soft leather mind). Then get a nice hazel fork and some twine and get to work making a catapult. Smooth pebbles from the river. No bird was safe. Pigeons and rooks especially. Rats too.

Miles through the fields playing 'Harry Allen' - like a game of cross-country chasing, but no turning back.

Ever make a large arrow (almost a spear, but with flights - we used cardboard) and launch it using twine looped around a notch near the flights, the other end of the twine looped around your fingers which held the front end of the arrow? Never tried hunting with them, but they'd fly a mad distance.

Old British motorbikes were purchased for a few bob, hidden in the ditch, and fired up at dusk using a pint of petrol siphoned from someone's Morris Minor. They never missed it!

Thinking of writing a PS or xBox game with all that on board, but find myself these days spending too much time on boards!

Thanks whitser for stirring the memories.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Mod edit-
    NOT SAFE FOR WORK - strong language!

Get Chopper over to sort out the crisis: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Lads,ye all sound like you had perfectly normal childhoods back in the 50s to the 80s ,like meself.:D Did most of the things mentioned here as well.
    Amazing we are all still alive.Going by toadys modern parents and child rearing we should be all traumatised,abused,and in desperate need of counselling.
    One thing tho,do we actually have a story of actual poaching?? I dont mean nipping across to the neighbours farm to pot the odd bunny,or youthful high jinks.But an actual poach where you or other individuals went off with the intent to hit a stretch of river of salmon or deliberately take a deer in or out of season,due to "want of money" or other reasons??

Stories should be edited to protect the guilty.:eek:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

do we actually have a story of actual poaching?
    If we do, I strongly suggest we keep it to ourselves. Confessing to an illegal act in public isn't something to be done lightly.

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Lads,ye all sound like you had perfectly normal childhoods back in the 50s to the 80s ,like meself.:D Did most of the things mentioned here as well.
    Amazing we are all still alive.Going by toadys modern parents and child rearing we should be all traumatised,abused,and in desperate need of counselling.
    One thing tho,do we actually have a story of actual poaching?? I dont mean nipping across to the neighbours farm to pot the odd bunny,or youthful high jinks.But an actual poach where you or other individuals went off with the intent to hit a stretch of river of salmon or deliberately take a deer in or out of season,due to "want of money" or other reasons??

Stories should be edited to protect the guilty.:eek:
    this started cos of all the debate over poaching and lads lamping land that wasnt their permission, and i was just saying how simpler things were when i was a kid. we hunted away and didnt think about permission or seasons or insurance etc....stuff like that didnt matter when your 14 and out mooching. as far as actual serious poaching goes i dont think many young kids could ever have done any proper poaching.

Sparks wrote: »
    If we do, I strongly suggest we keep it to ourselves. Confessing to an illegal act in public isn't something to be done lightly.

Hence I suggested stories should be edited...
    And indeed life was simpler back then.But as to wether kids could do poaching then,well lets say back then I was taken on a few less than legal fishing and hunting expeditions by my dad and his pals..Seeing that it is now well over 30 odd years ago and most, if not all parties are now gone to the happy hunting grounds,not to mind any statutes of limitations are well passed sell by date.The tales could be told.

Well I suppose in the future kids can tell their grandkids about the brilliant drug deals they did ,and doing a great driveby shooting and never being caught by the law....:rolleyes::(
    How times change.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Well, GTA can be fun, I understand.

Of course, kids might also just wind up telling their grandkids about the internet software companies they founded and made their first few million on. While sitting on a raft floating six fathoms above what used to be the point depot before the polar ice caps melted. Now that would be nostalgia. I mean, this nostalgia you get today, it's not as good as it used to be...

[

Well I suppose in the future kids can tell their grandkids about the brilliant drug deals they did ,and doing a great driveby shooting and never being caught by the law....:rolleyes::(
    How times change.[/quote]

grizzly 45 how ture you are i used to live in dublin i am in co mayo now.
    my wife was on a bus this morning and how in mayo /1 house broken
    into/2 how a BALL of money was stolen /3 yes same house 08 car also.
    /4 a van stolen all buy 11am this morning:eek:

grizzly 45 how ture you are i used to live in dublin i am in co mayo now.
    my wife was on a bus this morning and how in mayo /1 house broken
    into/2 how a BALL of money was stolen /3 yes same house 08 car also.
    /4 a van stolen all buy 11am this morning:eek:
    [/QUOTE]

Better move back to dear dirty Dublin then...It sounds safer!!!:eek:

Sparks,Isn't the Point depot gone already???:confused:

Better move back to dear dirty Dublin then...It sounds safer!!!:eek:

mmmmmmmmmm no i will buy more ammo i can give my fo a good resons
    for ammo limted to be 10.000 rounds there a lot of robbing going on
    around here :D. ps look at your crime figure:D:D

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Sparks,Isn't the Point depot gone already???:confused:
    No, the Point is still there. They're refurbishing it and building the Point Village around it, but the depot will still be there when the Village opens.