Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The end is near...

• 28-04-2008 11:41am
    Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I have a count down timer in my sig atm. My last exam is Sat 17th at 2pm, and as of 4pm excatly... I will be finished college forever!

Personally, I can't fraking wait! Bit worried about job hunting etc but am just so delighted to be almost done. And for the first time in all of my years in college I only have *one* exam - usually have 5 or 6. So that's a bonus.

Thinking of bringing champagne for after the exam... but someone warned there might be something in the rules. But if I drink it outside I am sure that'll be fine.

Anyone else have it dawning on them that they've spent (on average) between the ages of 3 and 21 in full time education and now... its actually coming to an end?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭*Shelly*

I was happy to be leaving up until last week. It hadn't really hit me i think that i was leaving. And then when i was at the Drama awards and they played the video of the whole year i suddenly realised i'm finished....And now i don't wanna go :'(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Defenestrate

I'm on the INTRA scheme right now and am practically counting down the days till I can go back to DCU!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Yeah, I was too. Hey, at least you have access to boards! I couldnt even do that. I read a lot of news that summer.

Yeah well I only joined boards in the first place to make the work days go quicker. That's after being banned from BBC Sport's 606 forums twice... :rolleyes:

I loved my INTRA but by the end was dyin to get back to DCU. Soon as i got back i wanted to be out working again. Always want what we can't have :D We'll only have left DCU when we'll be wanting to go back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Try being stuck in Muff for 6 months and then see how fast you want to get back to DCU. ;)

But yes, it's something to look forward to in my opinion. I had four great years in DCU and looking back now there's sweet damn all I'd have done differently. Combine that with a bloody fantastic fourth year and I definitely have something I can look back on fondly.

Yeh but you loved Muff ;)

And as for your final year... of course it kicked ass...DCU was deadly craic last year.. Not so much this year :(

*Shelly* wrote: »
    DCU was deadly craic last year.. Not so much this year :(

Well that's just cos I wasn't there this year! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

You want to be free from it now, but after a few months of a full-time job, you'll want to go back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

Yes Jes, I was saying that the other day - I don't know anything but full time education!!

I don't want it to end :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

I spent 12 months like this. It better be bloody over in May

cooker3 wrote: »
    I spent 12 months like this. It better be bloody over in May

Thats what happens when ya arse about watching lost for the last few months of college instead of doing work :p

*Shelly* wrote: »
    Thats what happens when ya arse about watching lost for the last few months of college instead of doing work :p

it was worth it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Scráib

Ah, fond memories of DCU :) I won't lie to ye lads, the working world is great but the more you're out of college the more you realise how much fun you had there, and how much you can get away with!

The best way I can put is is this: In college you've time but no money, in work you've money but no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Zyox

Jesjes wrote: »
    I have a count down timer in my sig atm. My last exam is Sat 17th at 2pm, and as of 4pm excatly... I will be finished college forever!

What about if you fail it and have to repeat? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭Darren1o1

Zyox wrote: »

I don't think you can, I know in engineering you can only redo the year.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Zyox wrote: »
    I got my 2.1 last semester and I know I havent failed anything so far, nor do I plan to :P Only one exam anyway, thankfully.

Imminent freeeeeedom.

I wanna write a list of things to do when I am finished and free, but I am too busy to at the moment. Short version, that takes nnot much effort so far is:
    -Go to zoo, see baby elephant.
    -Plant some veg out the back garden (find out if its even the right time to do that...?)
    -Go to the mountains for a long drive
    -Go shopping...
    -Sleep for a few days
    -Catch up on some missed tv. (Stopped watching everything except BSG...)

Mmm. Freedom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Yeah we all know these things can't be done while in college. Too much time on your hands there JesJes :p

7 days left from today.
    Yesterday was very productive but struggling today.
    I hate the realisation that its nearly over and I have no plan...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭KenHy

-Plant some veg out the back garden (find out if its even the right time to do that...?)

Your pushing it a bit late, If you go to a garden centre you'll probably find some that they planted earlier in the year.

If you want to go from seed, try something like turnips or leaks which will survive well into the winter, and wont be destroyed by the first cold night that comes around.

Wilburt wrote: »
    Yeah we all know these things can't be done while in college. Too much time on your hands there JesJes :p
    I've not been out drinking properly for over a month, and I genuinely havent had time to do them in ages :P Cant wait to have weekends and such!

Thanks KenHy, I'll give that a shot. Some centres near by. I do love leeks. :)

Damn hippies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shiny

Finished in 8 days time here.
    Have 4 exams total starting today at 2pm!

I failed twice! Only 2 people in my original class
    made it all the way through without failing.

This year everyone in my class has repeated at least
    one year meaning there there was one year where no
    students entered the course!

All I will say to anyone doing Electronic Engineering.
    Be very careful with Electromagnetics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭pilot1087

I'll be finished my last college exam ever next Thursday and all I can say is the main hall is going to hear the loudest "Thank fu@k thats over" ever

I am defo bringing in a bottle of champagne anyway... Mine is in Mahony Hall mind you... heh.

Two days til FYP goes in, it's going v.well, I is pleased, and then examness, then... freedom.

yeah theres a few in my class bringing in the champagne..

Good luck to the supervisors trying to control the madness when they're collecting all the papers after we've been told to put the pens down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

I am defo bringing in a bottle of champagne anyway... Mine is in Mahony Hall mind you... heh.

Two days til FYP goes in, it's going v.well, I is pleased, and then examness, then... freedom.

Congrats on the fyp.

Im done next monday cant Frickin wait!!!!!!!!!!

pilot1087 wrote: »
    yeah theres a few in my class bringing in the champagne..

Good luck to the supervisors trying to control the madness when they're collecting all the papers after we've been told to put the pens down
    Ah I think I'll drink mine in my labs. Dont envy the invigilators*, they've enough to be doing watching us for a few hours every day! And if there is another exam that lasts longer than yours there is a risk you could upset them (which I had happen to me once and was a massive pain in the ass, esp as its generally in the last 20mins and you need to concentrate)!

Same to you MadMax, it'll be worth it.

*isnt invigilators such a durty word. "I was out last night with yer wan, invigilating all night long.." haha.

True,

I'd say our celebrations will be kept to a minimum.. I know I'll be going straight for the bar anyway

pilot1087 wrote: »
    True,

I'd say our celebrations will be kept to a minimum.. I know I'll be going straight for the bar anyway
    Bar in DCU isnt open during exam time. Both sadly, and understandably.

But the rest of the world is our drunken oyster my friend!

It was open on the last day of exams in semester one.. turned into quite a session and has been pretty much on the last day of exams for as long back as I can remember. Sure if worst comes to the worst there's always the slipper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Eccentric

It was definitely open on Monday, as there were people sitting there drinking when we had our exam in the venue.

Maybe they've changed then... sounds good to me.

I've finished my FYP a day early, which has left me at an absolute loss, because I can honestly say in four years I've never ever completely finished an entire assignement a day early. So, I am partily convinced something is wrong!!! Bah!

So eh... Finished there on Sat. Finally over the hang over.

Have an interview on Wednesday.

Not sure what to be doing with myself...!!!

Support the graduate forum folks (links in sig)... I need somewhere to discuss my prospects... lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Scráib wrote: »
    The best way I can put is is this: In college you've time but no money, in work you've money but no time.
    Hah, painfully true. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

I remember doing the finals there a few years ago in the sports hall. Never so stressed in my life. There was something about college exams that made them so much more scary than the leaving cert. Thankfully mechatronics is behind me now. Go back for a masters? Funk that.

For those comtemplating what to do after college, id recommend a year out, touring the world. Its something i never did and i regret it. Its probably the best oppourtunity you's will get. Once you guys are in the 9-5 with proper jobs, potential mortgages etc, things start to get complicated! However I did take a full 5 months off after DCU, watching world cup and BB. Then after 5 months, the boredom sets in, and then it was CV generating time.

For anyone who did finish up and wants to talk about graduate stuff there is a link in my sig to the new Grad forum!

Andrewf20, good advice... shame I cant afford to take 5 months off, lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

I'm going to Oz in 3 weeks, then it'll be jobsearch when I'm home!

I should go somewhere seeing as I have nothing else to do.