Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster v New Zealand

• 28-04-2008 11:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭

Gonna be brilliant.A mouth watering encounter.:) I've always wonderer how a team like Munster or Leinster might do against one of the super twelve teams or a southern hemisphere nation. No better team to play than New Zealand . If any club team could beat them now it would be Munster. They might have an edge in the forwards......and for the inaugural match in Thomomd. :):)Will they keep Howlett though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

When is this on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

November 18th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/section/4/story.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=10506661

Gonna be interesting alright. What will happen with Howlett is going to be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Wont be surprised if its a farce A game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭remus808

AB's dont need Howlett... Sivivatu, Rockocoko and Muliainia is a fine back 3!

Now that you mention it, would love to see Leinster play a S14 teams.. Crusaders or Blues or something. Epic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭jamieh

Hi lads,

What do ye reckon would be the best way to go about getting tickets when they go on sale??

Would it be worth while joining the Munster Supporters Club?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

yup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Considering the next RWC will be based on world rankings at the end of this year, I'd prefer not to see any front line Irish players playing in this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

zAbbo wrote: »
    Considering the next RWC will be based on world rankings at the end of this year, I'd prefer not to see any front line Irish players playing in this game.

Some of the munster players who would die for the red jersey will not be able to be kept out of this. They will want to continue the memory of 30 years ago.

Epic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭escobar

Munster are the only club team they're playing obviously because of their club rugby rankings , being the best club team in the Northern Hemisphere It's a real honour for Munster and Irish rugby.:) Have any other club teams played them in recent years or would that be like commiting hari kari?

escobar wrote: »
    Munster are the only club team they're playing obviously because of their club rugby rankings , being the best club team in the Northern Hemisphere It's a real honour for Munster and Irish rugby.:) Have any other club teams played them in recent years or would that be like commiting hari kari?

Beyond popular belief the main reason for the match will be and always will be money, the one 78 was not so its hardly comparable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Stev_o wrote: »
    Beyond popular belief the main reason for the match will be and always will be money, the one 78 was not so its hardly comparable

And erm.... the problem is.....? Nothing wrong with that, this is after all a professional game...couldn't care less if the suits want to make a few bucks by recreating one of the iconic fixtures in the history of the game...for the players on the field and the Munster supporters, filthy lucre will have feck all to do with it...

It's going to be a great game and a brilliant occasion...one of the hottest tickets in the union game this year and anyone who thinks Munster will field an A team is deluded....as for the AB's they can field who the hell they want,,beating the Blacks is beating the Blacks....haka at Thomond, f*ckin' hell...are you kidding me!!!! its going to be astonishing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Yes, beating the All Blacks is beating the All Blacks, something our national team have never done...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,978 ✭✭✭✭phog

Whatever about Munster having the option of using the Irish contracted players mid week I'd love to see Anthony Foley come out of retirement and don the Munster jersey for the game, if any man deserves it he does.

As for tickets - hens teeth I'd say.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

It won't be up to Munster, or the players, as to whether a full team is fielded. The internationals are contracted (and paid) by the IRFU, so the Irish coach will allow them to play or rest them as he sees fit. Hopefully it'll be a full strength team mind you.

I thought the ABs were down to play another club team (in France if memory serves)?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Unforunately it is smack bang in between the Ireland Vs NZ and Ireland Vs Argentina tests on the 22nd. So I cannot see too many of the front line Irish players getting a midweek run against them. Three games in a week would not be good player management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

phog wrote: »

As for tickets - hens teeth I'd say.

..indeed, personally there is no physical debasement or personal humiliation I will not subject myself to to get a ticket...oh christ the horror...

Podge_irl wrote: »
    It won't be up to Munster, or the players, as to whether a full team is fielded. The internationals are contracted (and paid) by the IRFU, so the Irish coach will allow them to play or rest them as he sees fit. Hopefully it'll be a full strength team mind you.

I thought the ABs were down to play another club team (in France if memory serves)?

That wasnt the case with the Barbarians match last year were the IRFU stepped in and cancelled the invitations the players had been given

Stev_o wrote: »
    That wasnt the case with the Barbarians match last year were the IRFU stepped in and cancelled the invitations the players had been given

Surely that backs up my point....:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Oilrig

Regardless of who is or isn't released to play, I suspect that through the various "channels" this match is already sold out.

Concentrate on Cardiff guys.

PS, should have been held in Croker...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

escobar wrote: »

Think I heard they were going to play Stade Francais as well.
    Its nice to see some of the old rugby tour back, playing midweek games against club/provincial teams, even if its just one or two games and more to do with money, and even if its only an AB midweek team. Only see it with the Lions anymore...
    Will be some atmosphere, can't imagine too many tickets floating around! :D

Oilrig wrote: »
    PS, should have been held in Croker...

Think one of the reasons for it is to open the new Thomond. Besides, Croker can't be used for non-internationals so its a non-runner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Also, mid week matches against a local team should always be played in the local ground. They're largely for local supporters, so its only fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Gelio

No insult to Munster here,

but new zealand playing anywhere near their best would cream any Munster side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

ajeffares wrote: »
    No insult to Munster here,

but new zealand playing anywhere near their best would cream any Munster side.

I suppose it would be fair to say that any NZ team playing anywhere near their best would beat most teams in the world, not just Munster, so no offence taken. That is one of the reasons why the '78 victory is so well remembered - it was a good ABs side that was beaten by the lesser Munster.

According to one of the newspapers today, both teams will be fielding 'lesser' sides.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Pinetree Boy

Times have changed. In 1978 eight ABs and five Munstermen (I think) backed up from the Munster game into the test the following Saturday. Apparently our professional players can't manage to do this anymore. I know the game is a lot more physical but these guys are a lot better prepared. Personally if the ABs rotational policy and removal from Super 14 last year taught us anything it should be that players need to play.

Incidentally, the 1978 ABs played 18 matches in around 8 weeks. Don't know about Ireland but down here the call is for the hard men to return not these so called professional underwear models, with designer tatoos, earings and bleached hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭dc69

I suppose it would be fair to say that any NZ team playing anywhere near their best would beat most teams in the world, not just Munster, so no offence taken. That is one of the reasons why the '78 victory is so well remembered - it was a good ABs side that was beaten by the lesser Munster.

According to one of the newspapers today, both teams will be fielding 'lesser' sides.

why would munster field a weakened team against a weakened all blacks team?

the all black 2nds could comfotably put the first team away imo.
    And thats nothing against munster,they would do it to any club side.
    the physicality they will bring will be like a tidal wave,theres nothing like it in nh rugby.

Sure they will probably put brett at oh,who is only second to dan carter in the world.The quality in depth they have is sick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I wouldn't imagine there would be any All Black first string playing in this game considering the test match the following weekend.

Not to say that doesn't mean it wont be an awesome team none the less.

As for Munster, as a rugby supporter I'd be gutted if a first choice Munster 15 didn't get a run out for this one, but again, as world cup seeding will be based on rankings from now on, I can't see the IRFU taking any chances and letting an adidas promotional video get in the way of our chances of beating the All Blacks.

Times have changed. In 1978 eight ABs and five Munstermen (I think) backed up from the Munster game into the test the following Saturday. Apparently our professional players can't manage to do this anymore. I know the game is a lot more physical but these guys are a lot better prepared. Personally if the ABs rotational policy and removal from Super 14 last year taught us anything it should be that players need to play.

Incidentally, the 1978 ABs played 18 matches in around 8 weeks. Don't know about Ireland but down here the call is for the hard men to return not these so called professional underwear models, with designer tatoos, earings and bleached hair.

Strange that if they played so many games back then why is the fact that Anthony Foley is making his 200th appearance for Munster this eveining against Ulster being seen as a such an achievement.

In 1978 they may very well have played for province and country in the same week but the season was a lot shorter back then. Saying all that I'd love to a first choice 15 for Munster being available for the game.

[Jackass] wrote: »
    I wouldn't imagine there would be any All Black first string playing in this game considering the test match the following weekend.

Not to say that doesn't mean it wont be an awesome team none the less.

As for Munster, as a rugby supporter I'd be gutted if a first choice Munster 15 didn't get a run out for this one, but again, as world cup seeding will be based on rankings from now on, I can't see the IRFU taking any chances and letting an adidas promotional video get in the way of our chances of beating the All Blacks.

I wouldn't worry too much about the seedings - reckon we are stuck as 8th unless Scotland does something miraculous against Argentina :D There is very little chance that we will move up the rankings playing Aus, NZ etc. The next 6Ns are our best chance, but thats too late for the WRC rankings. I really don't care too much as long as we avoid Argentina!

Allegedly the IRFU traded its vote for the next world cup to be in NZ and not Japan with the ABs playing these two games in Ireland. The invite definately went out from the IRFU, not the Munster Branch. Technically, Thomond Park is owned by the IRFU - and they are going to make a hell of a lot more money to pay for the new stadium playing the ABs than Canada. ;) (what are the chances that to get an AB ticket, you will have to buy a Canada one ;)

So, there might be a few disgruntled people with the IRFU, if Munster and the ABs are sending out uncompetitive teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

So, there might be a few disgruntled people with the IRFU, if Munster and the ABs are sending out uncompetitive teams.

I hope so! I'm so fupping jealous of a fixture like that! Brand spanking new stadium and an opener against the All Blacks. It doesn't get much better than that.

Either way I'm sure it'll be a cracking game, but ohhhh lorrrdyy, how good would it be if it was full strength teams all around! (Howlett in red of course)

Technically, Thomond Park is owned by the IRFU - and they are going to make a hell of a lot more money to pay for the new stadium playing the ABs than Canada. ;) (what are the chances that to get an AB ticket, you will have to buy a Canada one ;)

You mean it'll be that easy to get a ticket for ABs game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

anyone else not in any way interested in this? i'm not bothered at all about the all black As playing a weakened munster side.

of course i'll watch but i am not expecting any glory, guts or even a good game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Diamondmaker

Id be looking at it as a bit of fun a side show to the tests....like a Babas game or mid week Lions game. It aint much more than that....

Looking forwad to it none the less as I have a few Kiwi friends over here now.

[Jackass] wrote: »
    I hope so! I'm so fupping jealous of a fixture like that! Brand spanking new stadium and an opener against the All Blacks. It doesn't get much better than that.

Either way I'm sure it'll be a cracking game, but ohhhh lorrrdyy, how good would it be if it was full strength teams all around! (Howlett in red of course)

NZ radio Interview with Duggie about the match etc. (link found on munsterfans.com :)

He says it will take a bit of getting his head around playing the ABs - but a fairly unique opportunity - not that many ABs get to play the ABs.

http://www.radiosport.co.nz/ThisWeek/30715.wma

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭ibuprofen

NZ radio Interview with Duggie about the match etc. (link found on munsterfans.com :)

He says it will take a bit of getting his head around playing the ABs - but a fairly unique opportunity - not that many ABs get to play the ABs.

http://www.radiosport.co.nz/ThisWeek/30715.wma
    I'd say Howlett will be given some special treatment. I'd say he'll shine though...Can't wait