Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rich Fulcher

• 25-04-2008 11:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭

ok, so what do ye think of him?

started watching the second series with commentary the other night, which i was quite enjoying, except that almost every time rich opened his mouth, i just got SO annoyed. like... GRRRR :mad: *twitch* kinda annoyed.

he's just loud, and silly, not in a witty way, just in a ...silly, loud annoying way. he just bugs me in general.

and i thought the same sort of thing first time i saw him as bob fossil. the dance in killeroo... unnecessary, the general manic-ness, just OTT... everything about him just bugged me...

but, somewhere along the line, he grew on me... i love the dance the first time you see bob, i love the little 'blue berk', and tommy, and betamax and eviltree... not to mention kodiak jack!

outside the boosh in character, he still bugs me, but what do ye think? what's his best and worst character?

i think kodiak jack is his best one, (though the ape of death is a strong contender), can't think off the top of my head which one bugs me most now though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

He's a total nutbag... in the recent documentary they did for Boosh night they said he's the only one who has to reel in his madness when the cameras start to roll.

But I have found he is the one that Boosh newbies love to hate...

It's worth checking out Snuff Box, the series he did with Matt Berry.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

I just see him as a loud, shouty american who gets his laughs from being loud. He was definitely my least favourite members at the start but his genius has shone through on the second and third seasons. You have to wonder though how much influence did julian and noel have on reigning him in.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Every time I watch the live DVD, I am amazed by him
    spitting right in Noels face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

*dance dance dance*....and thats why i don't like cricket!! :D

just brillaint!! i think he is great, he does take a while to grow on you (imo) but after a while everyone comes around to lovin bob!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

SDooM wrote: »
    Every time I watch the live DVD, I am amazed by him
    spitting right in Noels face.

hehehehehe, awesome!

the forest is a cúnt tonight :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

he can be a bit annoying sometimes,you learn to love him though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Started off not knowing what to make of him, but think he's deadly now, especially as Bob :D

Although a close second for me was Eleanor, had me part disgusted, part in hysterics :D

Hellooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

hehehehehe, awesome!

the forest is a cúnt tonight :D

I was drinking a vodka the first time I heard that line and i nearly spat it all out on a dog!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

He is great, his show with Matt Berry, Snuff Box, was deadly

I just watched a pilot Rich and Matt did together along with Simon Farnaby who played Hamilton Cork and Howard Boon....

It's called Golf War and it's about two rival golf clubs.

The beautiful Nina Conti is also in it... although she's somehow less attractive when she hasn't got a her hand up a monkeys arse.

feckin males keep feckin with the sound on the computer, still havent gotten round to watching that first youtube thing there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Sorry Monkeyfudge, I didn't see your earlier post about Snuff Box. The mastermind scene is is great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I'd say he would be a hoot in real life, but a person whom you need to keep your distance from once in a while for fear of your head exploding.

i think in real life, i wouldnt go near him. im not a big fan of loud. (although i say that, and i remember you've only met me when particularly inebriated..), but nah, ill accept him as a boosh charactre, but in life, i would probably have to kill the dude.

I'd make sure that every time I saw him that he'd do a dance, to explain something :D

Ah... the power of boards.ie

If you type Rich Fulcher into google this thread is the 5th result.

OoOooh. I hope he is googling himself. Hi Richie :D

/waves.

More Snuff Box gold from Fulcher:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

i like his characters, (nicey nicey zoo zoo ftw) but fcuk me, is he annoying in the commentaries.. i had to turn off the comms in season 3, he was giving me a headache..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

He's brilliant. I love his fisherman character in the Old Gregg episode who puts shells on things. "And that's why I can't go for that"!!!!

Not you, naan bread!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I love that pub. "Old Neville here's never been fishin'"!!

i just want to make a three-man knitted jumper...

OOH! did i mention it's starting to get all wintery here? i have a one-man version of that jumper on teh way to me in the post here :D

except over here, it's a jersey, not a jumper. silly kiwis.

I thought it was genius how when the guys walked in, everything went quiet, till the barman put another coin in the meter!!! :D

nah, that one seemed a bit predictable/done before, to me. have to say, for me that was quite a weak episode in a lot of places (in teh same way that i love journey ot the centre of punk, but the whole 'im your father', 'noooooooooooooo' bit is crap), the 'some say' bit of old gregg is weak, not very funny, specially on subsequent watches, and howard's character in teh bar was a bit boring too.

Cheese is a kind of meat,
    a tasty yellow beef,
    i milk it from my teat!!

but i try to be discreet!

^^ ah you are a legend.....but are you really a legend?!

*sprays window spray at you*

rejected........again

Disfigured and alone
    crawling in the shadows
    Must I live like a freak?
    Deformed, useless and embarassed
    Freak, freak.....

have you thought about joining the circus?

im not thinking about that right now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

I quite like most of his characters, with the exception of Bob Fossil. I just hate "The louder you are the funnier you are" type of comedy. So I dislike Fossil and I dislike Fulcher in his interviews/commentaries. In fact he makes a lot of the commentaries very annoying to watch.

However I do love Elenor and the Ape of Death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Ash_M

i must admit, i adore rich fulcher after watching the live DVD... i think sometimes he overdoes it but i don't think the boosh would be what it is without him...
    and seriously, eleanor! not to mention tommy nookah... and of course the little blue berk with the forehead. ah yes, comedy gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,431 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

He's a total nutbag... in the recent documentary they did for Boosh night they said he's the only one who has to reel in his madness when the cameras start to roll.

But I have found he is the one that Boosh newbies love to hate...

It's worth checking out Snuff Box, the series he did with Matt Berry.

Fulcher is a legend and what i've seen of snuffbox is excellent!
    my favourite being ...
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I66aySW4le8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Ugh Rich Fulcher hasn't grown on me one bit. If anything, the more I see of him the less I like, he just gets more and more annoying. Bob fossil is by far his most annoying character and whenever I find out a character is played by him I instantly dislike them, which is terrible cos there are some pretty funny ones, like Eleanor who I liked before realising Fulcher played them.

He's even more annoying off-screen, he has this whole "OLOLOL I'm so RANDOM, see how RANDOM I am!" kind of humour which is funny when you're 13 but a bit overdone now.

The rest of the Boosh is awesome though :)

Hellooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Helloooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooput the knife down

Rich was in this weeks episode of the Sarah Silverman Programme.

Strange to see him on a US TV show... he was minister who was marrying Sarah to her dog.

They had Matt Berry on it last week too.. he was a representative from the Oxford Dictionary.

oh dear god, i HATE Sarah Silverman. saw the ads, and was quite looking forward to watching the show etc, and sat through about 10mins before leaving the room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭segasega

I just watched a pilot Rich and Matt did together along with Simon Farnaby who played Hamilton Cork and Howard Boon....

It's called Golf War and it's about two rival golf clubs.

The beautiful Nina Conti is also in it... although she's somehow less attractive when she hasn't got a her hand up a monkeys arse.

I still have bad dreams bout this.....it was terrible.....there was one good joke in the whole thing!:mad:

Pie, Pie!:P