Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fat burning pills

• 23-04-2008 3:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭

Do they work? And if they do, can u take them on thier own or do u need to be flat out exercising along with taking them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Do they work? And if they do, can u take them on thier own or do u need to be flat out exercising along with taking them?

If you wanna lose fat, why WOULDN'T you 'flat-out' exercise? have you looked at your diet and workout regime, and if so, have you really tried? No point taking fat loss pills if those aren't in order. I remember G'em saying that they only worked for her when her diet was spot on, and that she didn't bother with them after. if I'm wrong, G'em, correct me! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Doesn't matter what pills your taking for fat loss .The key is your diet and even a little exercise. The pills will help the weight loss process just that much quicker. A frien of mine has started to attend slimmers world and has lost a stone in a month by .She just made some basic changes to her diet and cut the out the quick fix crap /junk food .She looks the better for it to and feels so much better about herself .She is aiming to loose a total of 3 stone .Only 2 more to go .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

I remember G'em saying that they only worked for her when her diet was spot on, and that she didn't bother with them after. if I'm wrong, G'em, correct me! :o
    Spot on. Irrespective of the type or brand of fat-burners they tend to have a waning effect and while you'll get a great buzz/ loss of appetite/ increased energy for the first few days, this wears off pretty fast simply because OTC fat-burners aren't legally able to cotnain anything strong enough to warrant drastic results. I don't bother at all with them now as they simply leave me incapable of sleeping over 3 hrs per night and that's not fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Even the "real" fat burners aren't a true solution.

I legally obtained (in Canada) and tried Ephedra, (constructing my own ECA stack) and I've had far more impressive results with simply copping on and strictly watching my calories and doing plenty of exercise.

There's really no easy way out and "real" diet pills can work but they're dangerous, and safe diet pills don't work. In any case neither of them contribute to any true lifestyle changes and so it's not a lasting solution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

ye can order hydroxy cut hardcore from america (vitaminworld.com) a lot of other site dont deliver to ireland wink wink, never tried them myself but have order them for a mate, ive used ECA and so has he and he reckon the hydroxy are better?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Something the lads here might be interested in before going down the fat burning pill route..

When Ephedrine was made illegal (both here, Europe and the USA) a lot of manufacturers substituted Eph. with Ephedra and other 'herbal' substitutes, which while they work they do so very poorly but carry the same side effects!.. Now why should lads be concerned about that - ;)

(Close your eye's girlz)

After a few use's men can find it hard to maintain an erection, or even get a quality woodie :o

Don't get this confused with 'Deca-Dick' or loss of natural testosterone from steroid use, its completely different.

Your natural Testo production does not close down with these productions but what happens is a sphinctor (sp'ing) muscle at the base of your penis is relaxed during the use of these productions and lads - ya can't keep your ol' horn!..

Apart from that you can expect the usual sides, lack of sleep or very poor quality sleep. Shakes - (a horrible side effect esp. with ECA stacks) and lack of concentration.

So there ya go, in other words you don't get a free ride ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Fatloss08

my mate used ones called xs fat draining and they stop the fact being deposited to ur body , its meant to pass through ( whatever that means ) now he's lost alot of weight on these 35lbs in a 6 weeks and he's off them 6 months and has mantained weight and even lose a further 20lbs

he swears by them

but he cant think of the name of them in europe

xs fat draining is the usa name

but in europe they have a diff name ( anybody know it :)

but it gave him great motivation to keep the loss going

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Fatloss08 wrote: »
    xs fat draining is the usa name
    xs fat drain, active ingredient = Orthosiphon aka Java tea, a commonly used diuretic. Ten points for guessing what most of that "weight" loss consisted of...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

HERE YA GO

Reads like BS.

Without a life style change you can take all the weight loss products that you want and it won't mean diddly-squat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Fatloss08

lol

dont shoot the messenger , just saying what he told me

ive lost 7.5 lbs over past 2 weeks and im motoring along now

keep the motivation thats my killer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Mairt wrote: »
    HERE YA GO

Reads like BS.

Without a life style change you can take all the weight loss products that you want and it won't mean diddly-squat.

Considering its a diuretic, LOL at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭j0605

Hi guys I wasn't sure where to post and came across this thread so said id ask my question here.

I just read about Laminaria Extract All Natural Diet Pills, they are meant to be very effective and with no side effects, I was just wondering has anyone tried them.

thanks

I hate when people say fat burners don't work.

Read my post here to see my view on them. http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=57902573#post57902573

The ones I am currently taking are called Controlled Labs REDuction. Link with ingredients etc here: http://rjsmuscle.com/pro1369899.html

Main thermogenics in them are: Synephrine, Raspberry Ketones, and Cayenne fruit extract.

PS: I don't get any negative side effects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

They may work for you with low bodyfat and training hard, but the folks who come on here asking about them are generally looking for a quick fix and all they're likely to do is make them frustrated and sleepy!

celestial wrote: »
    They may work for you with low bodyfat and training hard, but the folks who come on here asking about them are generally looking for a quick fix and all they're likely to do is make them frustrated and sleepy!

You're absolutely right and that is something I forgot to put in my posts. If people are overweight (quite fat) looking for a quick fix, I really wouldn't bother with fat burners as they are a waste of money and you would get better results cleaning up your diet, exercising regularly and drinking lots of water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭joeking

50mg of Ephedrine my wife swears by them..
    used to use them myself .....odd headache though :eek: