Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moderator: possibly abusing his position

• 23-04-2008 3:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭

For the past couple of months i have had run ins with moderator by the name of lemming, after i dared question the authority of a organisation to represent a group of sports people, namely the Irish Airsoft Association that coincidently he was a member of.

I was threatened with "broken jaw" in the thead by said mod, i reported this but as per usual nothing happened.

I have since been banned by him twice for 1 week periods, from the airsoft adverts section for fractions that others got mere warnings for.

The second period however went on for 3-4 weeks, i advised him that my ban was up twice, after my second PM, he reverted informing me that i was now banned for an extra 4 weeks for threatening him, i have asked him to clarify what exactly this "threatening behaviour" was but am awaitng a response.
    His PM ending with the wonderful phrase:
    "Now with that in mind, be a good "boy" and kindly. Fvck. Off."

Now i know that we are not entilted to free speach on boards, per se, but this is going overboard. surley o person of authority cannot be allowed to abuse that position just because someone has a different opinion to them.
    Mods in general are not a bad lot, but a small percentage do tend to be.

Is there any recourse to this?
    Post edited by Shield on

By any chance could you post some links to the incidents you're referring to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

ive been trying to find out about the mods, but can fid no info and when i pm some ofd them i never get a reply:mad:

If you don't get a reply perhaps try the category moderator, or the Helpdesk forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Don't post them here just yet or anything, but do you have records of all of your PM exchanges?

And what threads might we look for? Links please. Sign out of your account to enter the forum you were banned from and find them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

That final edit was the right one Overheal...

As for the Lemming chap, big eejit so he is.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,683 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

Overheal wrote: »
    Don't post them here just yet or anything, but do you have records of all of your PM exchanges?

And what threads might we look for? Links please. Sign out of your account to enter the forum you were banned from and find them.

edit: in the meantime this was a lovely first impression for me of the Airsoft forum: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055243139

Who has a Fascist God Complex now? :-|

theres 100 other ways to say the same thing that won't put everyone in a foul disposition when they read it.

When you have to deal with the sheer volume of reported posts on the airsoft board then maybe you can comment. That sticky is there with the agreement and backing of all the airsoft mods. Before we put up that warning the board was on the verge of imploading.

To put my Fascist God Complex hat back on your talking out your arse ;)

Oh and Lemming was 100% correct in extending the ban I've seen the PM's and it was an outragous way to speak to Lemming.

Rew wrote: »
    When you have to deal with the sheer volume of reported posts on the airsoft board then maybe you can comment. That sticky is there with the agreement and backing of all the airsoft mods. Before we put up that warning the board was on the verge of imploading.

To put my Fascist God Complex hat back on your talking out your arse ;)

Just offering my first impression :pac: it just reads like "Yeah come in take your shoes off and keep fookin quiet or youll wake up kujo" :D

as for the PMs have them forwarded to an SMod or, if both of you agree, put them up here.

I do love a good feedback thread.

PS I only talk out of my arse for the ones I like ;)
    Brazilian fart porn w00t
    G'em wrote:
    As for the Lemming chap, big eejit so he is.

Wouldn't know tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭lisaloo

they'd sicken ur hole, the lot of em. who the hell do they think they are. stupid ppl

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

lisaloo wrote: »
    they'd sicken ur hole

Anal vomitting? Go to the doctor!

they'd sicken ur hole, the lot of em. who the hell do they think they are. stupid ppl
    Who's been near your hole? What now? um, PI is that way <---

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Sounds like trouble brewing on the toy gun forum...

feck off you SPAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Just offering my first impression :pac: it just reads like "Yeah come in take your shoes off and keep fookin quiet or youll wake up kujo" :D

I was asked to mod Airsoft beacuse I take a very hard stance on messing so your pretty much right, ive only been physically theated by a couple of users so I cann't be all that bad! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,680 ✭✭✭Chong

Some proof wouldnt go a miss, although I dont believe this arena is suitable for the PM's.

This sort of stuff should be handled in private by MODs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

oh dear...

No Its Cant, Now Do Some Wok

Or Work Even

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,072 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Rew wrote: »
    Oh and Lemming was 100% correct in extending the ban I've seen the PM's and it was an outragous way to speak to Lemming.

Indeed.
    'I advised him that my ban was up twice

That's ONE way of putting it.

I've seen the pms too and it was far from just 'advising'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

How very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

You can always edit your posts, unless its a higher post count you're after.

Sabotage wrote: »
    Indeed. Spoken like a true professional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

If you have nothing worthwhile to add, don't bother. Good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Sabotage wrote: »
    Won't matter as I doubt they'll be around long tbh.

Sounds like OP got a fair few abusive pm's from the mod there, but we're only hearing one side of the story so it's probably best that an Smod has a check through the pm conversations before passing judgement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I was threatened with "broken jaw" in the thead by said mod, i reported this but as per usual nothing happened
    Is this part true?

Was it before or after the alleged abusive PM sent by yourself?

tbh, if it's proven that a mod did threaten physical violence, then something needs to be done.

Doesn't matter what happened after this event, if a mod behaved this way, it's a disgrace.

OKAY

to add substance to this I present herea:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055256323

To be fair Lemming does appear very high strung and anal. Perhaps in need of a holiday.

DesF wrote: »
    Is this part true?

Was it before or after the alleged abusive PM sent by yourself?

tbh, if it's proven that a mod did threaten physical violence, then something needs to be done.

Doesn't matter what happened after this event, if a mod behaved this way, it's a disgrace.
    Doesn't matter what happened before it either, no users on boards should be threatening another with physical violence, regardless of what has been said.

OKAY

To be fair Lemming does appear very high strung and anal. Perhaps in need of a holiday.
    Don't see anything wrong in there tbh.

There were enough warnigns dished out.

OKAY

sweet jesus he's angry :(
    in fairness though, you arent supposed to question a mod in the thread.

but anyway- sweet jesus he's angry

^the above is not criticising the mod, just pointing out they really pissed him off

I like Lemming.

OKAY

Yeah he seems to have lost the head a little in that thread. I can understand why the issue is there though and as annoying as people just not getting the rules is, he probably shouldn't have reacted in such a way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

OKAY

Really, I would have said the multiple warnings, trolling posts, questions on thread about moderator decisions and complete confusion in the first 3 pages about who actually made and accepted an offer would have justified Lemming to be rather pissed.

Go to adverts.ie and say "Offer 50, sending pm". See what happens...

Nothing wrong with that thread. People don't follow rules, posts get reported, people get banned. Every mod on this website do the same.

I presume there is a reason why the Airsoft Adverts isn't just apart of Adverts.ie, and has it's own seperate forum right here on boards?

That thread linked to above.

There were people banned for questioning modding on-thread.

That must be in every charter of every forum on boards that it will result in a ban.

I'd be seriously pissed off if some muppets kept doing it, even after someone else was banned for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I don't see anything wrong in that thread to be honest. People just didn't seem to be grasping or rather appreciative of the concept of the rules.

Where's the evidence of this broken jaw claim? the link to an airsoft thread seems totally irrelevant to me.

Master of the Universe

I presume there is a reason why the Airsoft Adverts isn't just apart of Adverts.ie, and has it's own seperate forum right here on boards?

Because of the nature of the items, the admins thought it would be a good idea to keep it in the airsoft forum so the relevant mods could keep an eye on it.

The problem here being that a lot of people seem to forget that adverts.ie rules apply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,156 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

For the past couple of months i have had run ins with moderator by the name of lemming, after i dared question the authority of a organisation to represent a group of sports people, namely the Irish Airsoft Association that coincidently he was a member of.

I was threatened with "broken jaw" in the thead by said mod, i reported this but as per usual nothing happened.

Actually, the threat of a broken jaw was not direct and very much in response to the innuendo implied by you of airsofters having association with republican paramilitaries (and by extension myself) by the title of a thread you created, originally called "The Real I.A.A."

Said thread was reported to the moderators and the site administrators by myself and records exist to that effect.

Oh, and one other thing. On that particular forum I am not a moderator, kthxbye ...

I have since been banned by him twice for 1 week periods, from the airsoft adverts section for fractions that others got mere warnings for.

Youve' been banned alongside a lot of others for failing to bother taking stock fo the rules. As the airsoft adverts forum has grown, proactive and very visible moderation has been required. There's been no grand conspiracy. You've been banned for rules violations. Simple as.
    The second period however went on for 3-4 weeks, i advised him that my ban was up twice, after my second PM, he reverted informing me that i was now banned for an extra 4 weeks for threatening him, i have asked him to clarify what exactly this "threatening behaviour" was but am awaitng a response.
    His PM ending with the wonderful phrase:
    "Now with that in mind, be a good "boy" and kindly. Fvck. Off."

Now i know that we are not entilted to free speach on boards, per se, but this is going overboard. surley o person of authority cannot be allowed to abuse that position just because someone has a different opinion to them.
    Mods in general are not a bad lot, but a small percentage do tend to be.

Is there any recourse to this?

Here's the pm conversation in its entirety for whomever wants to care ...
    Lemming wrote:
    you've been banned for one week for thread-spoiling. Please familiarise yourself with the adverts rules before you bother posting again. You will need to log out to view the rules since you're currently banned.

Questioning a moderator decision in an advert is not the place to do it. Use the adverts feedback forum instead.

Contact myself or another airsoft adverts mod after 7 days (that's next Wednesday)

nothing ever happens with reporting ect so theres no point, the thread in question is the only place for things like that so people can get a full idea as to the mood.

what exactly will happen if i do go to feedback?

Nothing ever happens? Do you think that moderators live at your beck and call? We are not employees, we do not get paid for this. Report a post, one of us will get to it. Maybe not inside of .0001 of a second to satisfy your impatience but it will be dealt with.

To answer your question on feedback, any queries you have regarding what goes on in a given thread, querying of bans, interpretations of rules will get answered. Without you receiving a ban for asking.

here that ban is up, unban me, alright?

i wont tell you again boy.

I have been stupidly busy with work for the last few weeks and doing very long days. So understandably I have had more important things to concern myself with than your rather abrupt demands that a ban be lifted. Given that last post, you can have an extra four weeks off for abuse.

But as an aside; y'know .... that sounded awfully much like a threat. Threats tend to have you removed from boards.ie forever. Now with that in mind, be a good "boy" and kindly. Fvck. Off.

If you have a problem, kindly take it up with the site administrators on the feedback forum. I will of course be only too happy to furnish the site administrators with the contents of this mail.

explain to me exactly how i abused you boy.

and secondly im a little bit smarter than to go making "threats", be that in writing or on a public message board, any "threat" you inferred was merly in your own mind.

you cant have been too busy if you were posting on boards.

and yes i will be taking this up with feedback, a chap like you, on a complete power trip, has no business being a moderator.

if you have a problem with me at least have the balls to be honest about it rather than hiding behind the safety of your moderator position.

see you soon.

o1s1n wrote: »
    Because of the nature of the items, the admins thought it would be a good idea to keep it in the airsoft forum so the relevant mods could keep an eye on it.
    Ah-ha, thanks.

Makes sense I suppose.
    o1s1n wrote: »
    The problem here being that a lot of people seem to forget that adverts.ie rules apply.
    Is the charter specific on that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Just reading a couple of threads on there is making my brain hurt. It's worse than the CS and Soccer forums at the peak of their idiocy! Jesus, I'd be highly strung if I had to mod that ****e.

Seems this is the post where Lemming threatened violence. I would say that's rather uncalled for, but good god, some people on there are really pushing things to breaking point.

Hey Lemming, did you see where I said I liked you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Based on actually seeing the post by Lemming, it would appear you are full of sh1t.

Lemming wins in my book :)

Master of the Universe

Is the charter specific on that?

It is indeed.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055099052

Master of the Universe

Just reading a couple of threads on there is making my brain hurt. It's worse than the CS and Soccer forums at the peak of their idiocy! Jesus, I'd be highly strung if I had to mod that ****e.

Seems this is the post where Lemming threatened violence. I would say that's rather uncalled for, but good god, some people on there are really pushing things to breaking point.

I hope Rews 'warning' now makes sense ;)

Nerin wrote: »
    Lemming wins in my book :)

funny-pictures-gasp-hamster.jpg?w=480&h=640

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Never saw a more valid ban in my life.

Massive sensationalism OP, good job. I don't think you're going to be a postive contributer to the Airsoft forum, so I don't see why you think you've earned access.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Time for pics now I believe...

DriveMeCloser.jpg

Wow, what a condescending little bollocks (silver haze). Perma-ban him imo.

Also, I think it's quite clear that Lemming wasn't addressing the OP personally with the broken nose comment.

The OP didn't threaten lemming in the PMs, as far as I can see.