Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Robotic aides...Brothers, your views please

• 22-04-2008 6:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭

On an impulse buy I purchased a €50 electric lawn-mower in Tescos when my sizable back garden started looking like the Serengeti (they did place them on special-offer adjacent to the drink aisle, damn them).

I reduced the grass in the back lawn to a slash-and-burn look after about four hours of hard labour over the previous two sunny evenings, but that's four hours in which I could have been drinking beer.

So while I was surfing the web today trying to appear like I was working, I stumbled across this - a lawn cutting robot distributed by a company in Louth.

What's that you say? They cost €1,500? Hang the expense, I'll have two!

Should I add this to my current arsenal of man-gear (currently consisting of a Laz-e-boy and a 2kwh chain saw) or are these devices as good as they promise to be?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

On an impulse buy

What are you, a wimmin? Only wimmins make impulse purchases that are not beer, pr0n or a €4,000 home entertainment system.
    I purchased a €50 electric lawn-mower

For shame. That was €50 that could have been spent on beer.
    my sizable back garden started looking like the Serengeti

serengeti7.jpg
    (they did place them on special-offer adjacent to the drink aisle, damn them).

Bet you're wishing you'd spent that €50 more wisely now?
    I reduced the grass in the back lawn to a slash-and-burn look after about four hours of hard labour

This sentence makes Baby Jesus cry. :( If you want hard labour the fitness *spit* forum is thataway
    >
    that's four hours in which I could have been drinking beer.

You only realised that after the fact? :confused:
    So while I was surfing the web today trying to appear like I was working, I stumbled across this - a lawn cutting robot distributed by a company in Louth.

Why can't you just surf for boobies or football like a normal person?
    What's that you say? They cost €1,500? Hang the expense, I'll have two!

No, you'll have one. What have we learned already about wasting money that could be spent on beer?
    Should I add this to my current arsenal of man-gear (currently consisting of a Laz-e-boy and a 2kwh chain saw) or are these devices as good as they promise to be?

Who cares if it's any good, it's a cool gadget that costs shedloads of money. All your mates will be envious and will flock to see it. If it's crap all you have to do is challenge them that it'll cut the grass quicker than they could with the crappy €50 mower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Note to self: get out of the gutter. That's a different type of robotic aide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Tom Dunne wrote: »

apparently so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Tom Dunne wrote: »
    I was likewise thinking along the lines of a sex android... ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

the_syco wrote: »
    I was likewise thinking along the lines of a sex android... ah well.
    That explains why I'm hearing the track Cyborg from Frank Zappa's Joe's Garage playing in my head right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

one word solution: concrete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

I was hoping that Mr Universe's hawt Companion Love Robot from Serenity was now available at all good online retailers. :(

For shame Brothers. For shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭ruthiedv

I'm sure yis'd all make good use of one of these beauties, when you're too drunk to lift your next pint:D

http://msnbcmedia1.msn.com/j/msnbc/Components/Photos/070829/070829_arm_hmed_10am.hmedium.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

I'm giving serious consideration to putting this thread in the misleading titles list:mad:

I didn't know robots had immune systems to get hyperly deficient....
    Oh aides

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Get a cow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭DJ_Spider

We just put stones down! perfect for throwing at cats/kids/anything that gets in garden!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

smashey wrote: »
    Get a cow.

or a sheep.
    Double the fun.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Rabies wrote:
    Originally Posted by smashey View Post
    Get a cow.
    or a sheep.
    Double the fun.

Bro Youse been in KiwiLand a bit too long

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Robotic lawnmower, expensive but the BGRH way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

itll cost €10 every 3 weeks to get your grass cut by that cnut of a kid who wont fcuk off. Pay him to do it.

And It doesnt have to be cut in the Winter so you are sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

itll cost €10 every 3 weeks to get your grass cut by that cnut of a kid who wont fcuk off. Pay him to do it.

Maybe in nice suburban america but this is Ireland. Pay one of them and they'll get rid of the grass and you're lawnmower as well.

I think this is a great invention, Im gonna do a bit of thinking ahead here as well, ill hopefully have my own gaff soon with a bunch of lads who are just as lazy as myself and I'd much rather put the energy spent on mowing lawn into making a fry up. So thats what you do. Get your mate/wife/girlfriend/taxi down to louth, buy a robot and then get up in the morning on saturday to join all the other men being forced to mow their lawns the conventional way, sit on a deckchair, drinking a beer eating a fry up and watch the robot do the work. You can get those in hoover format too y'know. Cos about the same price.

Don1 wrote: »
    one word solution: concrete.
    Two word obstacle: the Missus.

€10?!? Where are you living? Bob-a-Job Land?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭ruthiedv

Wagon wrote: »
    Maybe in nice suburban america but this is Ireland. Pay one of them and they'll get rid of the grass and you're lawnmower as well.

Nah, they don't need lawnmowers; they all have their own horses to sort the grass out.

Two word obstacle: the Missus.
    Then I'd go with the cow option! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Can such a device be used to convey food and beverages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

Victor wrote: »
    Can such a device be used to convey food and beverages?

*thinks* mmm, a robot wimmins* who can mow the lawn. truly a must have gadget for every right minded brother, or sister. :)

*with optional hawt modifications to yore custom specification. or something

Hmmm, list;

One real doll,
    One gutted Honda asimo
    Gang of robotics and animatronics experts
    One puter + programmer

Result, perfection! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 BetsyGray

Rabies wrote: »
    or a sheep.
    Double the fun.

I'd go with the sheep like Rabies suggests. They're lighter and thus easier to turn on their backs which means you can kiss them as well.

I'm an old romantic

Right! I've decided to take the money I was going to spend on the robot and use it to fund the services of young boys...to mow my lawn of course!

Honestly, 1.5K can be spent else where with more effect, like on an Arcam Solo Movie or....on a robotic vacuum cleaner.