Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheap Guitar Amp....

• 21-04-2008 9:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 43

Hi All.. I've been away for awhile from boards but am now back. This is my first time posting in this forum and I need some advice. My friend just got a new electric guitar & is teaching herself to play. I'm just wondering if anyone knew where she could get a reasonable priced amp in the Dublin area or online? Any help appreciated. Thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

Can't go far wrong with the Microcube. I'd say most of the music places in Dublin stock them. A few pop up on adverts.ie now and again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Definitely the Microcube. Can be had for around 100 euro,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I would have to agree with the above posters and say get a microcube they're very versatile little amps. I mean they've got such a good name around here that there was a thread started asking "how to get that microcube tone"!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Another vote for our beloved MicroCube! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

The Microcube is crap!

I am, of course, lying. I love that little guy, get one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Fifilefleure

Hi folks... thanks for all your replies. Will def look into that one!! €100 is not bad at all!!

I forgot to mention, you have to get the red one. It sounds better. ;):)

Okay - know very little about amps....:p but what is the difference between the two? :)

One is black and one is red. :D;)

Joe Robot wrote: »
    One is black and one is red. :D;)

Aaaaahhhhh - it has all become so much clearer!! This tech stufff is so much simpler than I first though :D;)

Of course when it comes to guitars and basses, black ones always sound better. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

Nein!!!! Yummy tobaccoburst flamed maple ftw!! Or Heritage Cherry sunburst. Or Metallic navy (my RG, shiny! :D ). Or bare sexeh wood like poplar. Black to me is Argos beginers pack! :D

Don1 wrote: »
    Nein!!!! Yummy tobaccoburst flamed maple ftw!! Or Heritage Cherry sunburst. Or Metallic navy (my RG, shiny! :D ). Or bare sexeh wood like poplar. Black to me is Argos beginers pack! :D

Not when it's done well and on a beautiful instrument. In that case it can be so shiney it's hard to take a picture of.

Exhibit A of black instrument sexiness. :p

blackbeauty.jpg

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

Okay, that is one of the exceptions. Like a black Edwards LP with gold hardware. I'm just saying as a rule, I don't like it. For instance, I think the Eric Clapton sig Strat looks cheap to me. Should have a sexy finish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭andy1249

Is that this one lads ?

Just checking , cos Im buying someone it as a present , dont know that much about amps these days....

http://waltons.ie/waltonsshop/product_info.php?cPath=35_36&products_id=1144

andy1249 wrote: »
    Is that this one lads ?

Just checking , cos Im buying someone it as a present , dont know that much about amps these days....

http://waltons.ie/waltonsshop/product_info.php?cPath=35_36&products_id=1144

+1..... anyplace to get it cheaper???:)

That's it but you'll get it cheaper in Music Maker on Exchequer st. (just off the beginning of Georges St.) ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

Feck ,124 bucks a bit steep in Waltons. Had a quick search on Ebay there and including delivery it'll be 100 Euro from the UK.