Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster V Ospreys

• 19-04-2008 9:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭

Munster's second string team defeat the Anglo Welsh Cup winners and keep the pressure on Leinster for the Magners League title. Another superb performance by Munster!! How do they do it ..... have to say they'll beat Ulster after their display this weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭dc69

escobar wrote: »
    Munster's second string team defeat the Anglo Welsh Cup winners and keep the pressure on Leinster for the Magners League title. Another superb performance by Munster!! How do they do it ..... have to say they'll beat Ulster after their display this weekend.

didnt watch the match but there is something fishy going on about what you say.Ospreys are a very good team and would give the mUnster 1st team a run.

Were Ospreys missing players?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

dc69 wrote: »
    didnt watch the match but there is something fishy going on about what you say.Ospreys are a very good team and would give the mUnster 1st team a run.

Were Ospreys missing players?

It was the Ospreys first choice team. Munster weren't great to be honest - we were lucky with Hook missing four penalties. All in all a fairly dull affair, the schoolboys rugby at halftime was more entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

i only caught the second half but what i saw it thought it was pretty decent and enjoyable.

On another note - How the ref was welsh? they were playing a welsh team like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

dc69 wrote: »
    Waxing the Gaza started it and I have had enough of it tbh,sorry if anyone from Munster was offended,only havin a laugh:)

Wasn't you :) Some of the Munster posts above too...And then the tarring of all Munster fans with the same brush.

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Diamondmaker

Munster's second string team defeat the Anglo Welsh Cup winners and keep the pressure on Leinster for the Magners League title. Another superb performance by Munster!! How do they do it

.........Ask Leinster

Leinster been winning that way all season, whilst the internationals were out they continued to win and with some high profile injuries also likewise.....

Good result for Musnter keeps the race some what more interesting. It is good both teams have this depth.

A very worrying fact this season would be that the 2 provinnces could have had the most succesful season between them whilst the national team had one of the worst.

This points to 1 of things that
    1. a larger representation of Ulster players than their current form should allow
    2. Poor managemnet.

I suppose Point 2 explains Pont 1 also!

Would be good consilation for Irish fans for both teams to win the silver ware that we are threatening to win..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Bloody hell sometimes this forum makes me weep, why does every thread have to decend into a Munster V Leinster pissing match?

Back on topic a good performance from Munster to beat the grand slam champions :pac:, some very impressive performances from a few on the fringes of the first team. Anyone would swear there was a big game coming up soon ;).

Really pleased to see Earls do so well when he came on, still very young but I think this guy has all the attributes required to become a top player. Hope to see alot more of him next season in a red shirt.

.........Ask Leinster

Leinster been winning that way all season, whilst the internationals were out they continued to win and with some high profile injuries also likewise.....

Good result for Musnter keeps the race some what more interesting. It is good both teams have this depth.

A very worrying fact this season would be that the 2 provinnces could have had the most succesful season between them whilst the national team had one of the worst.

This points to 1 of things that
    1. a larger representation of Ulster players than their current form should allow
    2. Poor managemnet.

I suppose Point 2 explains Pont 1 also!

Would be good consilation for Irish fans for both teams to win the silver ware that we are threatening to win..

Bit unfair on the Ulster players, only three of them played in the 6 nations you couldn't say that any of them when picked were keeping much better players out of the team given the available squad (I know Trimble has a poor tournament but we were hardly bursting at the seams with fit centres).

No argument on point two though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,889 ✭✭✭cgarvey

Another superb performance by Munster!!
    What was superb? There were no moments of individual genius, and all traditional strong areas weren't so. Fla had some great tackles, but that was all. Payne was nowhere near his best, Warwick had some decent kicking in spots, but dodgy in spots and a very weak tackle that cost a try. Lineouts, mauls & scrums? Superb? Don't think so. If Hook was anywhere approaching his form, they'd have ranked up a number of points on us.

Ulster near firsts would run amuck on that team on that form.

A win is a win, and there were definitely some fine moments of play, but far far from "superb"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Aside from all the L v M ****e ( and thats what it is, ****e), its good to see an Irish win over the Hairsprays, even better that is wasn't a first team selection, bodes well for up and coming players that might be challenging for irish team selection in the next few years.

ps in a thread on a Munster match, why did Leinster have to be mentioned at all? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Diamondmaker

Zzippy wrote: »

ps in a thread on a Munster match, why did Leinster have to be mentioned at all? :rolleyes:

A question was asked by OP, be it perhaps not seeking an answer;) but depth in squad was the main idea.

Munster and A Another team :) seem to have more of this than the other ML teams. This depth shall be tested at the w/e should a few walking wounded not be fit or quite 100%.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,124 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Wasn't a full strength Ospreys side, but it was close to one. They really should have been further ahead at half time, but Hook had a bit of a mare with the boot. Munster did well to get back into it though. Shocking to think that Ospreys have yet to win on the road in the ML with that squad. I really have to question why Horgan started ahead of Earls though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭escobar

Actually I'm just a magnanimous Leinster fan . Love watching Munster as well ....I enjoy the rivalry. Still think Leinster will win.....:)

marco_polo wrote: »
    Bloody hell sometimes this forum makes me weep, why does every thread have to decend into a Munster V Leinster pissing match?

Back on topic a good performance from Munster to beat the grand slam champions :pac:, some very impressive performances from a few on the fringes of the first team. Anyone would swear there was a big game coming up soon ;).

Really pleased to see Earls do so well when he came on, still very young but I think this guy has all the attributes required to become a top player. Hope to see alot more of him next season in a red shirt.

Bit unfair on the Ulster players, only three of them played in the 6 nations you couldn't say that any of them when picked were keeping much better players out of the team given the available squad (I know Trimble has a poor tournament but we were hardly bursting at the seams with fit centres).

No argument on point two though.

A bit worried about Ulster. They're a team that won the league two years ago and they don't deserve to be 2nd from bottom . They're a better team tham that. Have to agree with the bad managment....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

A bit worried about Ulster. They're a team that won the league two years ago and they don't deserve to be 2nd from bottom . They're a better team tham that. Have to agree with the bad managment....

Think thats a really good point, and that the real story for irish rugby long term. Whatever your position on the Munster/ Leinster debate (for the record I'm bored catatonic by it and limit myself to discussing the actual games) rugby in both these provinces is healthy, flourishing and expanding nicely.

Rugby in ulster is in a poor state, the appointment of Williams is a disaster imo, and they're way too reliant on (second-rate) imported talent...a really bad state of affairs for Irish rugby in general and the national team in particular. When you see really talented guys like Bowe jumping ship you know the problems run deep.

We've got Munster, Leinster doing well...connacht a 'development province' (whatever that means, seems to be to be a euphemism for 'not very good' or 'failing') and Ulster in freefall..not the best outlook for the game in ireland..

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,124 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Williams did well at Leinster, I still say he just needs time. Ulster were in a pretty dire state when he took over. He seems to making the right noises about recruiting people and putting faith in some youngsters and I think its only fair to judge him on next year rather than this. They're still getting very decent crowds considering the crap they have to watch as well, which is encouraging.
    Again, Connacht aren't actually a development province, they're just not funded properly or seemingly given the time of the day by the IRFU. That is one thing that really should change. With the windfall from using Croke, I really think some of it should go towards Connacht and getting a decent and consistent squad. Them losing their best places every year is not helping.

And to make this somewhat relevant to the thread title, a Munster 2nds just beat a close to full-strength Ospreys team. That bodes well for player depth.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

No point starting a new thread, Saracens have lost at home to Wasps, similar story to last week the game was well over at half time 12-35 to Wasps. A second half comeback put some respectability on the scoreboard leaving the final score Saracens 29 - Wasps 40 an 11 try game :cool:. Pity it wasn't on the box insterad of yesterdays LI vs Quins snoozefest.

Pity it wasn't on the box insterad of yesterdays LI vs Quins snoozefest.

Good God, that was one of he worst games of rugby I've seen in a long time...hope it's because Irish eyes were on next weekend and not an indicator of the levels of performance they're going to bring to the semi..play like that and Toulouse will destroy them..

toomevara wrote: »
    Good God, that was one of he worst games of rugby I've seen in a long time...hope it's because Irish eyes were on next weekend and not an indicator of the levels of performance they're going to bring to the semi..play like that and Toulouse will destroy them..

They would want to be just a touch more clinical next weekend, I forget the exact stats but didn't they have up to 70-80% possession and it still took them 65 minutes to score :eek:

I still think that both semi final games next weekend are going to be very close and would be very surprised if the two GP sides do not turn in big performances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

munster leinster ****e fest posts deleted.

Bren202 banned
    dc69 banned
    waxy fella banned.

They would want to be just a touch more clinical next weekend, I forget the exact stats but didn't they have up to 70-80% possession and it still took them 65 minutes to score :eek:

Pretty much spot on, unbelievable to watch. LI had all the ball, played all the rugby, but kept running up blind alleys by continually trying to play an expansive game. Quins just sat back and lined 'em up. eventually Casey called a halt, they started using a bit of grunt and got the result...

I'd agree with your points re: next week, I think Toulouse might be in for a surprise at Twickers. Hope the exiles in London get out there and give 'em their support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

Pretty much spot on, unbelievable to watch. LI had all the ball, played all the rugby, but kept running up blind alleys by continually trying to play an expansive game. Quins just sat back and lined 'em up. eventually Casey called a halt, they started using a bit of grunt and got the result...

I'd agree with your points re: next week, I think Toulouse might be in for a surprise at Twickers. Hope the exiles in London get out there and give 'em their support.

i hope they turn in a good performance too. I'm heading over to the munster match and i'm going to make a weekend out of it and head to this too. hope its a good match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,968 ✭✭✭✭phog

I though it was a great game, some great tackles, the way the Munster lads lined up their attacker and stopped them dead, incredibly fast game at times too.

Shane Williams kept scoreless by a 2nd rate Munster team - how many times has that been done? Okay Osprey's scored the only try of the game but I think Munster had more opportunities to score tries are were just off the speed of the game to gain the advantage. With regards to the try I think Foley was held back to delay him getting a tackle in for that try, though Mushy and Warwick should have done better.

All in all, a good result for Munster and it must be shocking for Ospreys, they seem to have a problem winning away from home but they must have thought this game was in the bag.

Good to see John O'Sullivan and Barry Murphy back playing and hopefully we'll see more of Earls this year and next.

suppafly wrote: »
    i hope they turn in a good performance too. I'm heading over to the munster match and i'm going to make a weekend out of it and head to this too. hope its a good match.

Now thats my idea of a good weekend....lucky sod, enjoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Ospreys were terrible. Missed three kickable penos and a conversion. Munster were really let off the hook imo in that game. Particularly right at the death when the ospreys had about three phases of possesion under the Munster posts about 5 yards out and no one dropped back for the drop goal that a prop would comfortably slot.

Instead went out wide and Williams ended up scuffing it across the face of the posts from an awkward angle.

Discipline from Munster is still terrible and will need to get a hold on that before the end of the season. For all his attributes, O'Callaghan is such a liability to have on the field, probably averages about 2 or 3 penaltys conceded in his own half per game, which could equate to giving the other team about a 6 point headstart if you play him. (assuming most kickers will take their oppertunitys)

Was impressed with some of the Munster second string though individually, some really good performances from them. And that was a full strength O's team as well so fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭ManofMunster

thought it was a fairly even game all in all. ok hook missed a few kicks but they weren't gimmes and conditions weren't exactly ideal for kicking. but we let a couple of glorious try chances slip (particularly that one from earl's break where stringer's pass was knocked on with the line beckoning). but it was very much our 2nd XV so good to see our strength in depth. and i suspect that poster who felt earls should've started ahead of horgan needn't worry - can't see that happening again. horgan was poor. earls looked class.

can't wait for sunday!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

[Jackass] wrote: »
    Munster were really let off the hook imo in that game.

ba dum *tish*

The point is that it was their second team . It'll be a completely different team on the pitch against Toulouse. For some reason Munster seem to have a gift to be able to win tight matches... I think it points towards the quality of their squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

The point is that it was their second team . It'll be a completely different team on the pitch against Toulouse. For some reason Munster seem to have a gift to be able to win tight matches... I think it points towards the quality of their squad.

He was talking about London Irish..........

Stev_o wrote: »
    He was talking about London Irish..........
    AAh...Thanks stevo only read the end of the posts . So L.I arn't getting to the final then ......I don't doubt they'll raise their game for the Toulouse match though..