Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the lotto: scam of the century...

• 19-04-2008 9:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭

right, how many here buy lotto tickets? I think its a disgrace they are just milking the general public here.

lets face it, tonight pot was 12.6M.

last wednesday was say 11M ish, they hiked it up a million (woooooo!) but creamed about 11M in sales since then.

and we get, if lucky.

>

5 Numbers (Not to be scoffed at). a whopping 1,865E

5 & Bonus and delightful 25k euro

anything below that is just a waste.

so despite milking us, they are giving out peanuts, and the massive amount of numbers means that a tiny country like Ireland is going to find it pretty impossible to win the jackpot.( we prob have the same amount of balls in the draw as the UK, with a popluation of nearly 60Million)

The National Lottery LOVE when noone wins, more cash for them.

Im surprised why no one has complained on joe duffy or what not about what they actually do with all the profit they get.

the hiked up the price of tickets, the number of balls in the draw and what not yet give our crap money in the end.

I mean matching five and a bonus would at least deserve a sum in the region of 500,000e not 25,00e...

friggin joke..

Heres my stop, now.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Don't buy lottery tickets then. Do you buy pizza at Dominos? They mark up the price just a smidgen, not complaining about that too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Bit like the M50 toll bridge, only difference is you don't have to buy a lotto ticket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Sales in 2007 for the Lotto: €778.5m

Prizes: €420.9m
    Operational costs: €112.1m
    Charitable Donations: €245.5m

No, you're right. Scandalous profits being made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Phantasm

Gordon wrote: »
    Don't buy lottery tickets then. Do you buy pizza at Dominos? They mark up the price just a smidgen, not complaining about that too?

Buying a pizza guarantee's you won't go hungry.
    Gambling via Lotto tickets certainly does not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

What Aidan said

you obviosly know nothing about what the National Lottery actually does OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Well if you do the maths...

(45! / 6!) = 8145060

i.e. If I had 45 objects (numbers) how many combinations of 6 could I get. So if you were willing to invest €8145060 then you can win the lotto. But given the fact our population is so small, then the chancing are winning are astronomical.

Still no other bet would offer the odds. €2 to win €115 million sometimes. Not bad. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭alancork

Ah.... I suggest you Wiki the Irish National Lottery

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Lottery_%28Ireland%29

to be honest...

See, the thing is, they give most of the money to charity.. ever see those little signs on Community Halls, GAA clubs etc.? " Supported by the National Lottery"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

The lottery is a tax on stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 piedpiper

There used to be fewer numbers in the draw, but (for all the maths heads) statistics and probability allowed a massive ring of people to place bets on all the possible outcomes of the lotto.
    They ended up winning nearly every possible amount that was possible, including all the small amounts for 3,4 no.s etc. So hence the more numbers to choose from and less chance of winning

:rolleyes: Must go do the lotto

Anyone else see the irony in someone named after a Bingo call bitching about the country's biggest game of Bingo? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Motosam wrote: »

/presses missing thanks button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Motosam wrote: »
    Nail. Head.
    Anyone else see the irony in someone named after a Bingo call bitching about the country's biggest game of Bingo? ;)

/waits for wallet inspector to roll by

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭berliner

Brian Nolan had interesting views on the lottery but surprise surprise he was banned from boards.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Sales in 2007 for the Lotto: €778.5m

Prizes: €420.9m
    Charitable Donations: €245.5m

No, you're right. Scandalous profits being made.
    €112 is a bit much allright . They could save a bundle by not showing those ads all the time.
    And lets not forget that a lot of the €245.5 replaces government spending

berliner wrote: »
    Brian Nolan had interesting views on the lottery but surprise surprise he was banned from boards.
    I doubt he was banned for his views. More his PM spam and other offences.

Actually "Spammy loolaa" was the reason given for his banning. <3 Beruthiel

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

ironclaw wrote: »

(45! / 6!) = 8145060

i.e. If I had 45 objects (numbers) how many combinations of 6 could I get. So if you were willing to invest €8145060 then you can win the lotto. But given the fact our population is so small, then the chancing are winning are astronomical.

Still no other bet would offer the odds. €2 to win €115 million sometimes. Not bad. :)
    Even if you had all the tickets then you might still have to share the prize.

no, with a syndicate you are hoping to make enough back on the match 4, match 5 to cover the initial layout, so you aren't gambling you are virtually guarantted of getting your money back so it's a free bet or rather several million of them..

piedpiper wrote: »
    There used to be fewer numbers in the draw, but (for all the maths heads) statistics and probability allowed a massive ring of people to place bets on all the possible outcomes of the lotto.
    They ended up winning nearly every possible amount that was possible, including all the small amounts for 3,4 no.s etc. So hence the more numbers to choose from and less chance of winning
    This was really only true for the 6/36 game. The change from 6/39 to 6/42 was to increase the winnings in order to reduce the chance of those in Northern counties going up north to do the UK lotto instead. The 6/45 change was just plain greed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 piedpiper

Karsini wrote: »
    This was really only true for the 6/36 game. The change from 6/39 to 6/42 was to increase the winnings in order to reduce the chance of those in Northern counties going up north to do the UK lotto instead. The 6/45 change was just plain greed.

Ah, shows how much I play the lotto. Still thought it was a 42 number draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

(45! / 6!) = 8145060

Your Maths is wrong. 45!/6! = 1.66 * 10^53

What you want is 45 choose 6, which is

(45*44*43*42*41*40)/(6*5*4*3*2*1) = 8145060

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

(45! / 6!) = 8145060

Maths. Wrong.Yet somehow you got the end figure right :confused:

Number of combinations is 45!/(45 - 6)!*6!

The odds are 1 in 8,145,060

Edit: Damn you slow coach. Damn you to HELL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Fremen wrote: »
    Maths. Wrong.Yet somehow you got the end figure right :confused:

Number of combinations is 45!/(45 - 6)!*6!

The odds are 1 in 8,145,060

Edit: Damn you slow coach. Damn you to HELL!

Always wanted to beat fremen to it...

Maths geeks, tonight you dine in hell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Damn, Neil Delamare must charge ALOT for his sparkling wit and deadpan humour. :rolleyes:

I think the OP is just bitching because he has been doing the lotto for 15 years and all he got was a lousy scratchcard.... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

what is scandalous about the lotto is that you cannot install a lotto machine in a shop unless you have your phone line with eircom! i recently came across this anomaly when a friend of mine who owns a few petrol stations asked me could he set up a network with broadband connection and i recommended he go with smart telecom, he told me he had to go with eircom because he wanted to keep his lotto machine. it was only when i inquired further that he informed me of this crazy situation! i tried googling this phenomon but its obviously not well doccumented for some reason?? :rolleyes:

3 minutes on one search tell you this? If the lotto are the ones footing the bill for the machines, then it makes sense that they would want to keep with one provider.

Brian Nolan's new account PM'ed me to say he was banned for his views and something about the second rollover...

well spotted with the timing, but im hardly expected to do intensive research into what is only a minor gripe (in my mind- giving operators no choice but to go with eircon, sorry- eircom).

but thanks for informing me that lotto foot the bill for the machines, this i also wasnt aware of, i guess it makes sense now... ;)

I said "if". I don't know, but if they are being insistent on the matter it makes sense to suggest that this may be the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭JavaBear

Sherifu wrote: »
    Maths geeks, tonight you dine in hell!

Well that made me laugh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

legs11 wrote: »
    right, how many here buy lotto tickets? I think its a disgrace they are just milking the general public here.

last wednesday was say 11M ish, they hiked it up a million (woooooo!) but creamed about 11M in sales since then.

and we get, if lucky.

>

so despite milking us, they are giving out peanuts, and the massive amount of numbers means that a tiny country like Ireland is going to find it pretty impossible to win the jackpot.( we prob have the same amount of balls in the draw as the UK, with a popluation of nearly 60Million)

Im surprised why no one has complained on joe duffy or what not about what they actually do with all the profit they get.

the hiked up the price of tickets, the number of balls in the draw and what not yet give our crap money in the end.

I mean matching five and a bonus would at least deserve a sum in the region of 500,000e not 25,00e...

friggin joke..

Heres my stop, now.!

it took you until now to realise this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭legs11

Nah

I dont do the lotto, fcuk that I put my euros into PP, far better dividends.

pah, 11million profit them cnuts make and ad a million onto the roll over.

anyone who believes they shower the coffers of local GAA clubs around the land with money are dreaming.

as a matter of interest, how much does the uk get for match 5, or match 5 plus bonus?

since we have as many balls as thier system now?

anyway lads, who knows

it could be you next wed!

:cool:

it took you until now to realise this?

ehhhhh no

I am just raising the issue huh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

This topic is both new and interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

xsiborg wrote: »
    but its obviously not well doccumented for some reason?? :rolleyes:

Most likely because nobody cares.

The old tried and tested "tax on stupidity" line took longer to surface than usual. I really think theres a group of people scouring the forums for the usual threads to come up so the old chesnuts can be rolled out.

See how far you get telling that Dolores woman in Limerick or the family that won €15m a coupe of months back that the lotto is a tax on stupidity. They might even throw you €20 for your insightfull views.

anyone who believes they shower the coffers of local GAA clubs around the land with money are dreaming.

SO what do they do ?hand out signs that peoiple glady put up for free just to perpetuate the myth that the lotto gives money away?

as a matter of interest, how much does the uk get for match 5, or match 5 plus bonus?

since we have as many balls as thier system now?

We might have the same amount of balls but we dont have the same amoutn of players. Hence prizes are lower.

stevec wrote: »
    Bit like the M50 toll bridge, only difference is you don't have to buy a lotto ticket.

Since when are you forced to drive through the toll bridge?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭board om

piedpiper wrote: »

i remember a good few years ago some shop owners were caught for doing that. they closed their shops for a few days and put through tickets for every possible combination of numbers. they were only caught becuase the lottery noticed the huge amount of tickets being purchased in the various shops. it was a good idea in theory though becuase as they were lotto agents they wouldnt of had to stump up the huge amounts of cash up front to buy the tickets. so they could would have probably just paid for the tickets out of the winnings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Patrick Nolan

To whom it may concern:

I wish to see my ban lifted (I want to write under my own name) as I uncover
    the biggest case of fraud in this country namely the on going National Lottery roll over situation.

I feel that board will benefit from the publicity as the case uncovers.
    I must state that a leading news paper in the country are at present looking in to my allegations concerning improper operations of the National Lottery and its games.

Nevertheless I want to wait and see if the second largest National Lottery rollover out of four which is set to be played out this year accomplish a prize fund of €17m or over, or will we have to wait until later in the year to play out that drama!

The 1st large rollover which took place this year ran from the 30th of January and was just won in time for the St Patrick’s Bank Holiday Weekend.

At any rate I sure I have no need to tell you the amount of publicity that boards will miss out on!

Regards
    Brian P. Nolan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭berliner

To whom it may concern:

I wish to see my ban lifted (I want to write under my own name) as I uncover
    the biggest case of fraud in this country namely the on going National Lottery roll over situation.

I feel that board will benefit from the publicity as the case uncovers.
    I must state that a leading news paper in the country are at present looking in to my allegations concerning improper operations of the National Lottery and its games.

Nevertheless I want to wait and see if the second largest National Lottery rollover out of four which is set to be played out this year accomplish a prize fund of €17m or over, or will we have to wait until later in the year to play out that drama!

The 1st large rollover which took place this year ran from the 30th of January and was just won in time for the St Patrick’s Bank Holiday Weekend.

At any rate I sure I have no need to tell you the amount of publicity that boards will miss out on!

Regards
    Brian P. Nolan
    Good to hear your views.Free speech etc.

Free speech etc.
    Does not exist here, private website, essentially guests, yadda yadda yadda same old everytime its brought up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Brint

and we get, if lucky.

>

friggin joke..

Heres my stop, now.!
    You're such a loser - most of the Lotto profits go to charity and grant funding - and just don't buy a ticket if you don't like 2nd and 3rd prizes. It's not as if they false advertise or anything - it is what it is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Brint

No - but I do see you clutching at straws to be funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Brint wrote: »
    You're such a loser - most of the Lotto profits go to charity and grant funding - and just don't buy a ticket if you don't like 2nd and 3rd prizes. It's not as if they false advertise or anything - it is what it is!
    Watch how you address other posters.
    In fact, sitebanned temporarily while we check some things...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Noelie

I do agree with the OP that anything other than the main prize is pretty much worthless.

With the increase in numbers they should have linked the smaller prizes to a proportional prize pool. look at yesterdays first and second prize, even if you gave each of the 2 second prize winners 300K the main jackpot would still be over 12M

no one raises the issue of this because us Irish are generally of the opinion, ah shur tis grand. we are just a thick ignorant society and they know this so they can do what they like, I wont even go into scratch cards!:eek:

Its not really grand at all IMO. As for being a loser, losers are people who get 5 numbers and a bonus. who should be getting at least half a million squids.

If we have the same number of balls as the uk and a poster pointed out we have lower net pay outs because of our dwindling popluation relative to the uk then why are our tickets just as expensive (if not more so) than the uk?

It is a joke whatever way you look at it, they rake in millions every few days when there is a big pot but give out scant rewards.

As for the lotto giving out generous grants to clubs around the country why dont you take a drive around every parish and see what they have received..

I doubt if they are killing themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

Theres definately too many numbers in the lotto, no one ever wins these days its just rollover after rollover

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

MooseJam wrote: »
    Theres definately too many numbers in the lotto, no one ever wins these days its just rollover after rollover
    Yeah, 42 numbers was enough, besides adding another 3 to it!:(
    I only do the Lotto when it goes to 9/10 million, I wouldn't buy a ticket for a 1/2 million jackpot.
    Someone earlier said it was a tax on stupidity: :rolleyes:
    Tell that to anyone who's won it (I know people who have won it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Play Euromillions if you don't want to play the national lotto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

brim4brim wrote: »
    Play Euromillions if you don't want to play the national lotto.

Agreed. It was 58 million last Friday. Back down to 15 million or so on Friday. Still bigger than the Irish lotto and you can only buy one line if you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

if 30% of a country's population plays the lotto or equivalent then that would mean at a €4 average that

In Ireland €5.4 million is raised per draw.

In the UK it would be €72 million per draw.....

THATS why they can have larger jackpots etc as the odds work in the lotto's favour.

In addition lastnight's total giveaway was €1,845,380....and with 104 draws per year that amounts to about €192 million ex jackpots every year in prizes.

If €217 million went to lotto funded projects in 2006, then that adds up to approx €2.08 million per week.

€1,845,380+€2,080,000 = €3,925,380 from €5.4 million accounted for before rollover and expenses. So if jackpot is won on night one of the run, Lotto makes a loss or marginal profit.

Now grow up and find something real to complain about....or better yet do something about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭buckfast4me

Just to note, the lotto next Wednesday (being at least €13 million) is + EV (Expected Value). Each line is €1.50, and the odds of winning the lotto are 8,145,060/1 but with a jackpot of €13 million, you are getting odds on your €1.50 of around 8,666,666/1 (which is better obviously). It's like rolling a dice and getting odds of 7/1 on a single number, when the correct odds are actually 6/1.