Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever been called up on stage

• 19-04-2008 1:48am
    Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Did a bit of acting in my time but tonight at the Podge & Rodge show in Vicar St., I got called up with a mate to "help" out with a Scare at Bedtime.

Lots of fun. That's what you get for having front row seats.

So, anyone else had such experiences, being dragged into the limelight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

i was dragged off stage at a concert before. but never dragged on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Yep I was brought up onstage before.

Was at a Nike launch party before for a new range of gear. They were givin out the usual prizes up on stage so I decided I'd volunteer to answer a question posed by Ireland manager at the time Brian Kerr. Got the question right no bother so had to choose one of three envelopes for a prize. Opened my selection and.............I won a signed f*ckin Man. Utd jersey. Kerr says to me in front of about 200 or so people there "Are ya happy with that son?". To which I responded "Eh no not at all, I'm a City fan". Cue massive awkward silence and feet shuffling from Kerr. It was hilarious!

Kept the jersey anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

Pulled up on stage by Pat for not closing a window in the classroom (dont ask)

Did it to several people in the audience and also insists on chasing you out of the auditorium! One poor teenage kid got an awful time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

I had to simulate oral sex with a gay comedian in London recently. Well he did the work, i just stood there mortified. Good craic though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

togster wrote: »
    I had to simulate oral sex with a gay comedian in London recently. Well he did the work, i just stood there mortified. Good craic though

thats gonna come back to bite you. :p

fair play for doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 piedpiper

kenco wrote: »

Did it to several people in the audience and also insists on chasing you out of the auditorium! One poor teenage kid got an awful time.

Same as, made an arse of me.

Also got called up once by a trad band to give the singer a sup of buckfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭dvega

Was in thailand recently and went to see a 'ladyboy show' in ko samui,they dragged me up on stage kissed me all over the face and started feeling my nuts in front of everyone,everyone was hysterical,except me of course....at least i got a free drink out of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭dvega

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Yep I was brought up onstage before.

Was at a Nike launch party before for a new range of gear. They were givin out the usual prizes up on stage so I decided I'd volunteer to answer a question posed by Ireland manager at the time Brian Kerr. Got the question right no bother so had to choose one of three envelopes for a prize. Opened my selection and.............I won a signed f*ckin Man. Utd jersey. Kerr says to me in front of about 200 or so people there "Are ya happy with that son?". To which I responded "Eh no not at all, I'm a City fan". Cue massive awkward silence and feet shuffling from Kerr. It was hilarious!

Kept the jersey anyway.

Classic!

Maximilian wrote: »
    Did a bit of acting in my time but tonight at the Podge & Rodge show in Vicar St., I got called up with a mate to "help" out with a Scare at Bedtime.

Lots of fun. That's what you get for having front row seats.

So, anyone else had such experiences, being dragged into the limelight?

Heh, you were picked out by my girlfriend :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

kenco wrote: »

Remember that from seeing their videos. Haven't seen it live but looked very embarrassing. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭KatiexKOUTURE--

Got called up on stage in Trabolgan in Cork for my birthday a few years ago. My mother told some of the reps it was my birthday and during one of the sort-of family entertainment evenins and i got to dance on stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Yes, but I'm not willing to talk about it.

If anyone's familiar with going to church near Kings Cross in London a (good) few years back then you'll understand.

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

Maximilian wrote: »
    tonight at the Podge & Rodge show in Vicar St.

awful show, unfunny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Bros123

Got called up on stage in Trabolgan in Cork for my birthday a few years ago. My mother told some of the reps it was my birthday and during one of the sort-of family entertainment evenins and i got to dance on stage.

You GOT to dance on stage at Trabolgan!

Lucky you.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

It'd definately be my idea of hell, especially at a stand up gig, actually i don't think i'd go to see the type of comedians who brings people up on stage tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

got called on stage in Amsterdam before, a girl wrote her name on my chest with a big marker. She didn't use her hands.

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

tbh wrote: »
    got called on stage in Amsterdam before, a girl wrote her name on my chest with a big marker. She didn't use her hands.

Some kind of remotely controlled robotic device?

there was certainly some nut-tightening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭dobsdave

dvega wrote: »
    Was in thailand recently and went to see a 'ladyboy show' in ko samui,they dragged me up on stage kissed me all over the face and started feeling my nuts in front of everyone,everyone was hysterical,except me of course....at least i got a free drink out of it...

Please, don't tell us what they made you drink,seriously, don't.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

Would be my idea of hell.
    Was in Sea World in Florida at the Shamu show and there's clowns who entertain while waiting for the show to start. He walked through the seat (literally) and put his hand on my head and I was thinking "oh ****". Then grabbed my sister and dragged her up front with him. Hundreds of people there. I would have died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Myth wrote: »
    Heh, you were picked out by my girlfriend :pac:

Podge or Rodge?

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

there was certainly some nut-tightening.

So with a wrench then was it oh wait it was a vagina right?

right or wrong, it was a vagina :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Barry Murphy done a comedy gig in a pub in Athlone about 11 years ago.
    I won a prize in the raffle and he called me up on stage to make a fool outta me. Slagged me off about something and I called him a cnut and vowed to have revenge.

By pure coincidence I moved up to Dublin later that year for work. Started playing football in Herbert Park with the work crew and who also played with the same group ... none other than Barry Murphy. I noticed him wearing a knee support so I made sure the 1st time he got the ball I went through him for a short cut ... hard but fair :-)

He limped off for a minute and I took great pleasure in shouting over to him, thats for being a cnut in Biddys! No doubt he hadnt a clue what I was on about, but it made my day :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

I got called onstage by Green Day at the Point before to play drums. A decent 5/6 minutes of fame if you ask me! :)

Not a big stage but still a stage! Was in Synotts one night in town and the lads put me down for karoke..... So the usual name call with me drunk and shocked. Went up anyway for the laugh.

Me ''What am I singing?''

Stage guy ''Rocketman''

Me ''You can **** off with that''

After the usual push from the crowd I did it and did it well ! :D Near shat myself to be totally honest.

sunnyjim wrote: »
    I got called onstage by Green Day at the Point before to play drums. A decent 5/6 minutes of fame if you ask me! :)

I saw that - you were good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭eldeabroad

I must have only been 7 or 8 (almost 32 now) and on holidays in Galway when Brendan Grace called me up on stage with a couple of other kids as part of a joke with "magic" smarties that "changed" our voices..twas the microphone really........... apart from that acting in the "scottish play" in school was the only other time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

Hugh_C wrote: »
    awful show, unfunny

Agree,I sent a post to Irish Comediens forum re Podge and Rodge:(

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I was brought up to sing Video Killed the Radio star. I was the only drunken fool dancing and singing along on a Monday night in Cuba in Galway.

Oh dear. :o

Podge or Rodge?

Eh, they're guys. My girlfriend's the stage manager for the live show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭suzieb

sunnyjim wrote: »

I seen you too-great gig-and it was brill bringing fans up onstage-great memory for you to have!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

I saw that - you were good!

You're too kind :o Heh!

Dragged on stage by a comedian or two too.