Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Friends....

• 16-04-2008 7:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭

Hiya

Wel, circumstances have changed for me here - originally from overseas.... anyway, have just gone through a break up so have effectively lost everyone that I knew over here!! Other than the standard work / flat situation, does anyone know of any other way to meet people over here?? Not internet dating or anything like that - definitely not looking for a relationship at the moment!! Just new friends / people to talk to really!! Im in Dublin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

You're in a good place for a starter I reckon.

Hang around here and meet up with the others at the next beers. Shuld be fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

OP, watch out for the ladies lounge meet-up thread. We have regular meet-ups for coffee or cinema etc. There's lots of ladies in your situation.

I would have organised something for the next week or two but am leaving the country and will soon be looking for my own way to meet ladies for chats!

Alternatively you can post in the thread (it should be a page or two back) and ask if people are around fo coffee. We're all very friendly! :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Been across the pond attending university myself for more than 2 years, so out of touch with things to do in Dub. But remember that student night at the Big Tree was often fun. Thursday nights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭Karen_*

Does anyone want to meet up for coffee/cinema or a few scoops next week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Cmol

Someone mentioned I should post my age etc - I am a 21 year old Female, living in the city...

Been across the pond attending university myself for more than 2 years, so out of touch with things to do in Dub. But remember that student night at the Big Tree was often fun. Thursday nights?

Is that out in Drumcondra?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭She Devil

Yay .. i am moving to Dublin next week and i have no friends there only my boyfriend ... so i would be happy to arrange a meet up in a few weeks/ Hopefully my new job will bring me friends! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Ye've come to the right place ladies, the girls on here are great and some of us have become good friends.

Karen I'd definitely be up for coffee/drinks next week.

Yay! What an absolutely awesome response guys!

Karen - i'd be up for that too... ooo it feels a little like a (mass) blind date! haha

Clare - I think i saw somewhere that you are on bebo? If you want me pm me your username ill add you....

PS : I'm 26:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Actually a big congrats to the ladies here. This is the second of third thread in a little while like this and it never takes more than the first page for you gals to be organising to meet the OP's.

Awesome stuff and nice to see.

Dragan wrote: »
    Actually a big congrats to the ladies here. This is the second of third thread in a little while like this and it never takes more than the first page for you gals to be organising to meet the OP's.

Well I think most people at some stage in their lives have been in a situation like this and you can never have enough friends. Plus there's some great girls on here and most of us would probably have never met if it wasn't for this place so big thumbs up for the Ladies Lounge :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RubyXI

Its cool to see good stuff like this coming from this site. I know what its like to have no friends, so although it wont help my situation, it will change some peoples lives.

Thanks Dragan, tbh, I don't think the ladies lounge gets enough acknowledgement of this. There's a lot of posters that think TLL is a waste of space but I think the fact that there's regular meet-ups is a great thing and we should get kudos for it.

So, kudos Ladies!

Cmol wrote: »

Clare - I think i saw somewhere that you are on bebo? If you want me pm me your username ill add you....

Done ;)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

Hey OP, there's an LL Meetup thread somewhere a page or two back. Post in there and you'll be sure to get a response or 12! The girls are great for hooking up with, be it for coffee and cake, cinema or an unmerciful amount of pints. :D

Honestly ladies I am absolutely blown away by the responses!! Its cheered me up to no end!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Greggles

Aaaawwww it's nice to know there are still some genuinely nice poepl in the world ;-) New here so be nice to me too guys!

Aww im actually excited now at the prospect of meeting new friends in Dublin ... :) Thanks gals .. Send me your bebos if ye want, and its true you cant have too many friends!

I don't have Bebo :-( I have a picture though!?

So, was a date / time for a meeting decided on?

Cmol, I suggest you post in the the LL meet-ups thread mentioned above. Maple bumped it so it should be on the first page now. if you post there you'll get more ladies looking in to let you know if they can make it, if you suggest a time.

No worries, will do :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Cmol wrote:
    Is that out in Drumcondra?
    The Big Tree is somewhat south of Drumcondra in D1 at 39 Lower Dorset Street. Has a grand beer garden too, and at 21 you would fit right in on student night.

Ha! Shows how well my geography of Dublin has come along in the last year!!!!

There ya go!!

Greggles wrote: »
    There ya go!!

*squeel*

It's a boy!!!!!!!!!!! :eek: Throw stuff at him!

Am I that bad! :-( lol

Oh Cmol did request it I should say!

hahahahaha

Where did she say that? It's kind of an unusual practice to arrive in somewhere and start posting your photo around, you know.

Sorry! It is my fault! :o

oh right, I just didn't see you responsd to him in the thread.

It might be safer to PM pictures to each other! :)

haha yeah but apparently were both a bit slow and couldnt figure out how to do it....

My bad!!

haha yeah but apparently were both a bit slow and couldnt figure out how to do it....

My bad!!

No probs, we were all newbies once! I was just a bit confused for a minute, thought I might be missing posts!

If you can't figure out how to do something feel free to ask. People here are (generally!) friendly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

:) Dude, your a fella posting in the Ladies Lounge. It's important to remember that the wimmins rule the roost in here and allow us men folk purely on sufference but only because we can carry stuff.

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

:) Dude, your a fella posting in the Ladies Lounge. It's important to remember that the wimmins rule the roost in here and allow us men folk purely on sufference but only because we can carry stuff.

I will give you a gold stamp for cleverness today. well done!! hahaha:rolleyes:

Mods - I'm not entirely sure if this is appropriate, feel free to lock!

Was thinking about this the other day

I can't begin to explain how much the LL and Boards in general have done for me since I first posted this back in April, I've met some of the most amazing people through this - people who I know i'll be friends with long after I go home :)

Its awesome to know that there are still so many genuine people still out there!

Anyone who's thinking about coming along to a LL meet up or a boards beers in general? Just go for it! They really are some of the nicest people you will ever, ever meet!

Just... Thanks Guys.... you really do rawk!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Hiya

Wel, circumstances have changed for me here - originally from overseas.... anyway, have just gone through a break up so have effectively lost everyone that I knew over here!!

We can't be friends? :confused:

Galvasean wrote: »
    We can't be friends? :confused:

Stop stalking me! :p

I'm not sure if your joking but did you see the date of that original post?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I'm not sure if your joking but did you see the date of that original post?!?!

Oops :o

Confusing me with your bumping of a post which vaguely resembles much more recent events...

Galvasean wrote: »
    Oops :o

Confusing me with your bumping of a post which vaguely resembles much more recent events...

Vaguely being the key word! :)

Managed to hold on to all my friends this time :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Sorry to hear that, it's always tough feeling alone! Stick with the ladies lounge, some of the nicest gals you'll meet in here, what about work or education?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭MayMay

Aww that's nice :) Yay for Boards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Mods - I'm not entirely sure if this is appropriate, feel free to lock!

Was thinking about this the other day

I can't begin to explain how much the LL and Boards in general have done for me since I first posted this back in April, I've met some of the most amazing people through this - people who I know i'll be friends with long after I go home :)

Its awesome to know that there are still so many genuine people still out there!

Anyone who's thinking about coming along to a LL meet up or a boards beers in general? Just go for it! They really are some of the nicest people you will ever, ever meet!

Hear hear!! Well said Cmol and completely agree with ya hun, met some fantastic people in here, life long friends! Hopefully it'll inspire others to bite the bullet and go meet up, once it's done safely that is!

*group hug* :D

Awww great post Cmol :) Yep, this place is the best. Not only do ye give great advice, make me laugh and everyone can always come here to rant without being judged but ye're all great girls and I've made some fantastic friends on here.

I love our little community here, hurrah for the Ladies Lounge!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Anouck

Hi there !
    I've just seen that topic and I'm in the same situation of looking for friends.
    I'm in Ireland for a year now, I'm 23 working and studying. but I live with a family in Newtownmountkennedy. I have a boyfriend but I find difficult to meet new people ! and as I'm busy I don't always have the time to come into town (as I don't have a car, it's complicated sometimes)
    I saw you meet up for a coffee or something but I had the feeling youse all in Dublin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭MayMay

Not everyone is in Dublin here but I think most are alright Anouck. Any clubs you could join in your local area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Anouck

There is probably some clubs but i don't know about it...
    I live in Newtownmountkennedy but I'm looking for a flat in Bray or Greystones so I think it's gonna be handier to be there to go out and meet people... anyone from that area in the LL ?

Think there's one or two alright (but won't name names just in case) but sure Bray/Greystones are practically Dublin suburbs and easy to get in to town so come to a LL meet up sometime :)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Anouck, you might also want to have a look in the Wicklow forum, there might be stuff of interest to you there. If you do move to Greystones it also has a separate sub-forum of its own.

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

Cmol. . . just so you know. . . You also RAWK!!! :D You have to be one of the bestest and nicest girls I've ever met and to boards I am forever grateful!! love ya missy!! x x x ;)