Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Platoon for Commodore 64 game play videos

• 12-04-2008 4:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭

I threw up a few gameplay/walkthrough videos of platoon for the C64, ont he tube, there wasnt any up for the commodore version.
    Quality aint as perfect as i hoped but its okay.
    2nd favourite game to the Last Ninja 2!

http://ie.youtube.com/user/djsmithy or scroll down the page if ye dont care for descriptions.

havent got around to putting up the last level yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭corkproducers

Might as well make it easy on ye:

Intro:

Level 1:

Level 2 (Both Parts):

SUPER BONUS VIDEO!
    An alternative ending to Level 1:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

this brings back good memories!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,595 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

My cousin had this on the ZX Spectrum. Every time you were shot, the game would completely reset itself and you'd have to go through the whole loading procedure again.

Which was a right shame as it seemed like a good game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Ah memories! I rarely used to get past the jungle level and if I did I was usually close to being out of morale anyway.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,396 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I only ever made it out of the beginning jungle level to the bridge once. Fecking hated games with mazes that looked the exact same. Still I've got the SID theme stuck in my head now for the rest of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

youtube is firewalled, but i'd love to have a go right now and see if I can remember my way out from memory before I watch the vid.

what was it, jungle, underground, foxhole? I can't remember any other levels.

EL_Loco wrote: »
    youtube is firewalled, but i'd love to have a go right now and see if I can remember my way out from memory before I watch the vid.

what was it, jungle, underground, foxhole? I can't remember any other levels.

Theres a 2nd jungle where you fight barnes at the end of it.

Havent a video of it yet, i beat it on an emulator not too long ago, but probably used the trainer because its a bitch of a level!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I first played Platoon as part of this games pack http://cgi.ebay.ie/Commodore-64C-Hollywood-Pack-Boxed-with-games_W0QQitemZ170210821565QQihZ007QQcategoryZ3544QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem#ebayphotohosting
    A real eye opener. I remember liking it but I don't think I could ever get past that underground tunnels level.

Some fun games in that pack Miami Vice was rubbish but it clearly had some impact on the makers of Grand Theft Auto. The similarities are many.Rambo First Blood was a classic tho and still is :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭romperstomper

does anyone remember playing this game with a lightgun as well as a joystick for level 2 etc? fantastic experience and it really made this game stand apart. i still remember it today 20 years since i last played it!

I had a demo tape called Blaze Out or Blast or something, and it was full of demos that used the light gun, and had the tunnels level in it.

I cant remember if i used the joystick or not though!
    Some dude on the tube said it used do the walking for you if you had the light gun in.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Think I got to level 5.
    What was unique about Platoon on Commodore 64 was the variety in every level - each new stage had a whole different gameplay style.
    The secodn stage was a FPS long before Wolfenstein!
    Great game really.

I think the Untouchables was something similar - every stage was unique gameplay wise.