Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any suggestions for a couples holiday?

• 11-04-2008 11:22am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

So any suggestions for somewhere for my boyfriend and I to go to in the summmer for a week? I'm talking a sun holiday. I've done the week/2 weeks in France, Cyprus, Spain etc. I'm not interested in going to Turkey, unsure about Greece...Any other suggestions?

I'd love somewhere fun seeing as he's going on a 2 week lads holiday seperately so this is my only chance to have loas of fun because my other friends are all going away with their boyfriends... I'm 21, he's 23. I'd like all the water sports etc, wouldn't mind the odd touristy place... but really what I am looking for is some lovely hot sun, sea (swimming pool :p) and sand!!

Any suggestions are very welcome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭shrapnel222

best bet is probably sharm el sheik in egypt- it definitely ticks all the boxes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

Crete one of the most beautiful Islands anywhere.Northern Crete is just georgous and not as touristy as the other end.Chania,Almirida,Rethymno area is great.
    We booked flights and acc on the internet,we got a Villa in Almirida and it was just perfect(not expensive 700euro a week)and it made it even more special.
    Where ever you end up have a great holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭the GALL

Malta Malta Malta
    Crackin place
    loads of history
    friendly people
    loads of sun
    all the water sports you can think of
    cheap
    all the shops you get here
    moonson, river island, m&s etc etc etc
    and above all safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Kowinkadinkski

Hi All,

So any suggestions for somewhere for my boyfriend and I to go to in the summmer for a week? I'm talking a sun holiday. I've done the week/2 weeks in France, Cyprus, Spain etc. I'm not interested in going to Turkey, unsure about Greece...Any other suggestions?

I'd love somewhere fun seeing as he's going on a 2 week lads holiday seperately so this is my only chance to have loas of fun because my other friends are all going away with their boyfriends... I'm 21, he's 23. I'd like all the water sports etc, wouldn't mind the odd touristy place... but really what I am looking for is some lovely hot sun, sea (swimming pool :p) and sand!!

Any suggestions are very welcome!

Hey I jus signed up and saw your question, Lake guara in Italy is the ultimate romance spot, not sure if i got the spelling of it right though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭BC

Croatia.

Travel around a bit but make sure you spend at least 4 or 5 days in Hvar, fantastic place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭hot fuss

Oh my God I second Croatia.. BEAUTIFUL place..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Marbles

would you consider gran canaria ? lanzorote?
    gran canaria - puerto rico is amazing, we stayed at barlovento apts.. our bedroom had a view of the sea.. uumm..(stay away from playa del ingles - its full of young single people and is sooo noisy, myself and my boyfriend went there 2yrs ago, not knowing and it wasnt the best) there is a water park in maspolomas,only a few mins away on a bus ride.. its great!! also amadores beach (a 10 min walk form barlovento) is great!! and theres a gorge swedish man, who gives massages on the beac for a reasonable price too.. would reccomend going on a trip to mogan by ferry. they do submerine trips there, go the day the market is on and fit the 2 in the same day. also, if your looking for a 150% quality Irish breakfast go to the Iirh cafe near the harbour, its an unbelievable size thatll keep the belly full for a day!! haha...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Sharm el Sheikh is perfect for a couples holiday. Don't go in the summer though, far too hot. Check out rb_ie's review of our trip in the trip reports subforum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Lil' Smiler

Hmm... I hadn't really thought of Egypt actually!!
    Would people recommend booking through the likes of budget travel or do our own thing?

I was looking into the possibility of the Dominican Republic as it looks so beautiful & there seems to be alot there I'd like to do.. and I want somewhere nice and different from Europe as I was geared up for the States but that's not happening for me now :( but don't think DR is likely to happen either as himself doesn't sound all too keen. :(

I've done the Gran Canaria thing as a kid, so i really am trying to avoid mainland europe. yes i've had 2 friends go to Lake Garda last year but we were only in Rome last year and as I said I'd like somewhere different!!

I'd just be afraid that if i did go to greece that obviously i kinda want to avoid the happening club scene, yet i don't want a very quiet place.. so somewhere in the middle of that would be full of families & kids maybe?

What would the weather be like in Croatia? ONly thing is, he was there when he went inter-railing & i'd love somewhere new & exciting for us both!

We went to Egpyt with Falcon Holidays, would definitely recommend them.
    We stayed in the Hyatt Regency in Na'ama Bay which is in Sharm. There is a private beach and a private coral reef which you can go diving or snorkelling in. You're guaranteed sunshine which is great.

The resort is very European, lovely food and nice places to eat and drink. When I say European, I mean English is written and spoken everywhere, there's very little obvious Islam and the food is what we're used to.

You can do lots of day trips if you're interested, but it's also perfect for lounging by the pool.

I'd highly recommend Egypt, especially the Hyatt in Sharm.

Yeah I read the review, only the short version but it sounds fab and also from what everyone else is saying!!

Hmm... now to convince the other half, he said that he heard Egypt was quite rough... i'm presuming he means people?? I like the idea of diving, private beaches, lovely weather, the day trips and the quad biking etc! Sounds amazing!!

Thing is tho, i have a feeling it'd be August when we'd get to go which would be scorching hot wouldn't it? i do love a good tan though..

That actually is another thing now that you mention it about things being european. i'm a picky eater but he is 10 times worse, what is the food like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭coreilly1

Was in Lanzarote in October low season.my and gf just wanted to chill but wanted a few lively pubs if we wanted the few beery nights.

me, 25 her, 24, stayed in the old town in Peurto del Carmen - amazing top end food about half the price you would get in Ireland, local fish caught that day etc. Then you can spend 2euro (or walk) to get a taxi to a few lively bars in the new town....if you wanted to.

you should check out caesar manriques's work on youtube and google - a local lanzarote artist and architect that commissioned loads of work around the island.I'm a bit of an arty-farty head so really appreciated his stuff.but even if your not, its by far the best "touristy" stuff i'v ever seen.then again you can get away completely from tourist stuff too.

The island is quite couplesy, and there is an older crowd there moreso than a younger crowd, so depends what your into.It just seemed to suit us down to the ground - by no means a playa del inglas in the new town but you can defo find the craic if you need it.

Price of the apt where we stayed was reasonable price and chilled out, we kept to ourselves so suited that there was really no other people at the pool, the odd older couple here and there maybe.Oh and have a good check for flights, they can be a bit pricey

Anyway, theres a spanner in your works for ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭piskins72

myself & my husband went to Egypt last May for a week to Sharm, it was a last min hol so we were restricted as to where we stayed, anyways, we stayed in the Concorde El Salam hotel which was a good spot, Direct Holidays do it and I think Airtours also, check Trip Advisor for reviews, some mixed reviews as far as I know on it, my other half is also a picky eater and he seemed to manage fine there as we were AI, we did go to the Hard Rock Cafe in Nama Bay for a nite also, only thing was that towards end of the week he did get an upset stomach, which I think goes with the norm if u visit Egypt. In the middle of May the temps were starting to hit the 40 mark, so it would imagine that Aug would be sizzling!!! one tip tho if you do decide there, the money is very poor quality as in its condition and take a hand sanitizer with you and use it after handling the money, its meant to work as regards bugs & that as to not getting them apparently!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭JackieO

Ok, I was going to start a similar thread asking the same thing. Looking for a romantic spot to head off on hols with the BF.

I have done the canaries, portugal, france spain thing too many times. Also, want to stay in a nice hotel, at least a 4 star.

From what I can see Egypt does look great. I'm not sure how safe it is there though. The hotels look really nice and I like the idea of all inclusive. Have been to Croatia before. Its lovely but zero night life (in Dubrovnik anyway). Would go back but only to a different part.

Malta is lovely too but its ages since I was there.

Have also been looking into the Dominican Republic - which looks fab aswell I have to say.

Any more tips would be greatly appreciated - particularly around hotels to stay in.

Do you have any tips on convincing the other half to go to the Dominican Republic!?! :p

Yeah that's what I'm a bit stumped on about Egypt, whether it is safe or not. I would like the freedom to be able to do what i want and not be in an all inclusivr spot or go on day trips all the time. Something I also did hear from a friend, and again it just might be whichever part you go to but when this couple were ordering drinks, his girlfriend would ask for say a water and the waiter would look at the guy as if to say is that ok, and once he got the nod from her bf it was al good. I know it's possibly a way of culture but ugh!!

have you looked into the DP as an option?

muslim country's can be like that the woman is subserviant(in public)

Egypt (especially Sharm) is totally safe. At our hotel they had two security checks with metal detectors and bag searches. The Police are on the main roads all the time stopping drivers and checking paperwork.
    They also check cars with mirrors to check there's nothing underneath them.

We never felt at all unsafe.

We didn't go all inclusive as we felt we wanted a choice of where to eat and we aren't big drinkers so the free alcohol wasn't a big plus.

Re food, if you go to the nice restaurants you'll get food like you're used to at home. We didn't go to cheap restaurants as we were afraid of food poisoning. Also, the money is filthy so we carried around an anti bacterial hand wash and sprayed every time we touched money.
    The only thing you can't get there is bacon.

Re the thing about sexism, yes, it's rampant. I actually found it funny. For example, I booked the hotel in my name, but they put it into my boyfriend's name. I was always referred to as Mrs X (my boyf's surname). They even changed my airline ticket into my name with his surname for an internal flight. Everything would be directed at him. They all assume you're married. The men will tell your boyfriend that they like his wife, she's very sexy, etc.
    You'll get some looks if you're thin, young and European, some cat calls too and comments about how lucky your husband is, but no touching or anything too serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭bren2002

the GALL wrote: »
    Malta Malta Malta
    Crackin place
    loads of history
    friendly people
    loads of sun
    all the water sports you can think of
    cheap
    all the shops you get here
    moonson, river island, m&s etc etc etc
    and above all safe.

Malta is a great spot, but FYI it has very few natural beaches. Lots of man made ones in the major resort complexes but few man made ones.

It is a great spot though, the food is fantastic. There are areas to avoid being in the middle of (the nightclub district) but if you're on the edge of it you'll be laughing.

Pythia wrote: »
    Egypt (especially Sharm) is totally safe. At our hotel they had two security checks with metal detectors and bag searches. The Police are on the main roads all the time stopping drivers and checking paperwork.
    They also check cars with mirrors to check there's nothing underneath them.

We never felt at all unsafe.

We didn't go all inclusive as we felt we wanted a choice of where to eat and we aren't big drinkers so the free alcohol wasn't a big plus.

Re food, if you go to the nice restaurants you'll get food like you're used to at home. We didn't go to cheap restaurants as we were afraid of food poisoning. Also, the money is filthy so we carried around an anti bacterial hand wash and sprayed every time we touched money.
    The only thing you can't get there is bacon.

Re the thing about sexism, yes, it's rampant. I actually found it funny. For example, I booked the hotel in my name, but they put it into my boyfriend's name. I was always referred to as Mrs X (my boyf's surname). They even changed my airline ticket into my name with his surname for an internal flight. Everything would be directed at him. They all assume you're married. The men will tell your boyfriend that they like his wife, she's very sexy, etc.
    You'll get some looks if you're thin, young and European, some cat calls too and comments about how lucky your husband is, but no touching or anything too serious.

Cool Pythia, thanks for the feedback on that. It does sound rather funny actually! He'd probably think he was great or something...or run a mile when they called me his Mrs hehehehe!! :P

bren2002 wrote: »
    Malta is a great spot, but FYI it has very few natural beaches. Lots of man made ones in the major resort complexes but few man made ones.

It is a great spot though, the food is fantastic. There are areas to avoid being in the middle of (the nightclub district) but if you're on the edge of it you'll be laughing.

Yeah I was thinking about Malta too, my friend is living over there for 3 months at the moment, she loves it but she's young and is in the nightclub district as you say. Her and her friends rented a villa in Gozo for the weekend and said it wa lovely. What is it like weather wise? Say August?

we went in may and
    ...hot hot hot

Do you have any tips on convincing the other half to go to the Dominican Republic!?! :p

I'm not 100% there yet, so can't say for definate yet. :-)

Re Egypt. The sound of all that security and the muslim (sexist) element would put me right off to be honest. Not to mention the cat calling and wolf whistling.

I think the DR it definately is going to be. I just have to convincne himself of that now!

Malta is hot. Was there in july/aug time and it was almost unbearable (and I love the heat).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭WooPeeA

I can recommend you Eurocamp. http://www.eurocamp.com/

I traveled with them to Italy last year. 2 years ago my parents did. They are cheap and brilliant. The most beautiful locations in Europe, clear houses, shops, restaurants and internet cafes inside of their camps.

I've been at Garda lake, Italy. Close to the city center, camp beside the beach. Very close to 3 great theme parks. Free maps and free tourist help at their office or phone.

They can send you free catalog with all their camps and pictures before you make a final choice. Absolutly brilliant company. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 osgur

Would recommend Sharm.... lovely place for a couple very close to airport which is also a bonus.

With regard to malta, im interested to know what resort there would be must suited to a couple. St Julians seems to be the party town is it ?

osgur wrote: »
    Would recommend Sharm.... lovely place for a couple very close to airport which is also a bonus.

With regard to malta, im interested to know what resort there would be must suited to a couple. St Julians seems to be the party town is it ?
    we stayed in buggiba it's quite enough for couples, we went into the big towns in the day only
    you've got to go to medina and valetta and spend a good day in each town walking around faboulas places and people

JackieO wrote: »
    I'm not 100% there yet, so can't say for definate yet. :-)

Re Egypt. The sound of all that security and the muslim (sexist) element would put me right off to be honest. Not to mention the cat calling and wolf whistling.

I think the DR it definately is going to be. I just have to convincne himself of that now!

Malta is hot. Was there in july/aug time and it was almost unbearable (and I love the heat).

Well when you get there be sure to let me know how you did the convincing.... sexual gestures, cooking, watching football/nerd stuff to make him happy!! I'll do anything, i just want somewhere new, where we've both not been and somewhere that's not in europe!!

DR just looks so lovely, looked at the tourist boards website, there's a safaris which i'd love, casinos..hmm.. he's been to vegas so i dunno but i'd just like somewhere different!!

Yeah the wolf whistling and stuff is horrible but sure I got that on my knack holiday in Cyprus last year :P It'd only make him jealous too, so more attention for me hehe!!

How long are you planning to spend in DR?

have u been looking at accom in DP?

Where is DP?

Meant DR :(

Oh right, nope haven't looked into accom yet as the holiday chat hasn't come up again in a while, have had a busy time of late! Why do you ask?

I was looking at dreams in Punta Canta. 5-star and very good value for all inclusive. America is much cheaper this year in general as the dollar is so weak. Thats why I'm really keen to go now.

yeah think that was one accom I had been looking at also, there was another one called Sunscape The Beach, Punta Cana, think thats called Dreams now tho so prob same accom! not overly sure tho. :confused:

Yes, Dreams was formerly know as the Sunscape. Mixed reviews on trip advisor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Was in mykonos in greece last year with a few friends. It is a lovely island, would be a nice place for a couple to go. It is very expensive over there as it's teh island that a lot of cruise ships dock in

Oh wow!! That Dreams place looks amazing!!

Aw why did you say that?? Now i reeeeeeeeeeally wanna go!!

I might have gone off the idea of Egypt, i'm not sure.

I wanna go to the Dominican Republic!!!!!!!!

Anyone know anything much on it? weather? expensive? things to do etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Qwerty27

Been reading this thread with interest and like the sound of Egypt. Can anyone tell me what temperature is like at end August, early Sept. Not really able for stiffiling heat!

Also, what is the best resort so as to be able to do trips to Cairo, the Pyramids etc.

My parents were there a few years ago. Weather is fab and its cheap as chips. Most places are generally all inclusive so you don't need an awful lot of spending money.

I'm all on for it now aswell. Just have to convince the other half!

Me too, I mentioned it once but he wasn't keen, pretty annoying since I'm already not getting to go to the states with him & i want to go so badly.

I looked up accomm for the Dreams resort for the first week in August, works out nicely cheap!! i am pretty impressed with that I have to say.

He didn't sound too keen on Egypt either and I mentioned Croatia but I'm not all to pushed on there. I want somewhere really different to what I'm used to and some beautiful weather and scenery and different things to do!

Ok, booked Egypt in the end. COuld really only go for 1 week so it was too short to go to the DR. Happy with decision now. Its only a 6 hour flight and resort is only 15 mins from airport!.

All booked and paid for. Now the diet and shopping can begin!

Yeah that was the OH's reason behind not going to Dominican republic because i said no to going to US for a week... but I wanted to go back to Florida and anyone who's been there knows that a week is not enough!! Well, for me it isn't anyway! I'm hoping for 10 days away together so hopefully that would be enough.

If you don't mind me asking how much did egypt cost you?

Ok, booked Egypt in the end. COuld really only go for 1 week so it was too short to go to the DR. Happy with decision now. Its only a 6 hour flight and resort is only 15 mins from airport!.

All booked and paid for. Now the diet and shopping can begin!

You'll have a great time!

Paid €630 for a week in a 5* B&B. Works out way cheaper than DR really which was working out about €1,400 for 10 nights.

My BF wasn't too keen on Egypt either but I've talked him around. Not planning on leaving the resort much so it should be fine. I just want to lie by the pool for a week. The pyramids are a long trip from Sharm El Shiekh which is the resorty place. Its either something like a 20 hour day trip (14 hours on a bus) or a short plane ride. BF not keen on flying so we won't be doing the pyramids.

Croatia is absolutely fabulous. Was there 2 years ago and it really is beautiful and very different. Not much happening night-life wise though unless you go to some of the more livlier islands. Definately would recommend croatia - would go back in the morning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Qwerty27

Hi JackieO

Is it really a 20 hour trip to see the pyramids from Sharm? One of the reasons I wanted t go to Egypt was to visit the pyramids! dont really fancy 14 hours on a bus!

Where abouts In Croatia did you stay and what did you do there? If we dont go to Egypt, then Croatia is next on the list!

Apparently yes, its a really really long day trip. I was reading various trips on tripadvisor and generally what they were saying was that you would be leaving your hotel at approx 4/5 am and not returning until 12/1 O'clock at night. Apparently 14 hours of that is spent on a bus - definately not my idea of how to spend your "holidays". Would love to see the pyramids but not if its that much work. I think the flight is only about half an hour though and its probably as cheap as chips.

Went to cavtat in Croatia which is a little village beside Dubrovnik. Stayed in Hotel Croatia which was quite nice - had fabulous views!. We would get water taxis into Dubrovnik at night. But not much night-life in either place.

We went by plane to Cairo to see the Pyramids. You can book them yourself with Egypt Air (selecting Egypt as your home country to get cheaper flights).
    I wouldn't go near the bus trip. It's only a very short flight and it's not too expensive.

By the way, do not buy a Visa if you aren't planning on leaving Sharm. The normal stamp is all you need to stay in the resort.

Yeah I have to say if I do end up going to Egypt, there is no way I would spend hours on a bus in that heat going to places!!

Oh...also, anyone know much about the weather in Crotia? How hot? Is good weather pretty much guaranteed??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Oh...also, anyone know much about the weather in Crotia? How hot? Is good weather pretty much guaranteed??

Just about guaranteed mid May to Mid /september.

Was reading your thread, you should do Croatia, but travle around.

Dubrovnik area 2 days, go to Ston & Peljesac peninsula, catch Ferry to Korcula onto Hvar and Brac, then into Split/Trogir area, come back along coast through Makaraska riverera.

Croatia is brilliant ....it's absolutely out of this world if you put in a little effort and travel around.

that's exactly what I want, something different and what I'm not used to experiencing! Which is why i'm torn between Cortia & Egypt... Dominican Republic realistically won't happen :( He's never mentioned it since the 1st time i did which came back with negative feedback :(

Yeah my other half was in Crotia only for a few days though when he went inter railing. I'd love to travel around and these islands everyone is talking about sound lovely!!

Yay good weather!! what kind of temperatures are we talking? We;re talking of going wherever we're going for 10 days or so anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

that's exactly what I want, something different and what I'm not used to experiencing! Which is why i'm torn between Cortia & Egypt... Dominican Republic realistically won't happen :( He's never mentioned it since the 1st time i did which came back with negative feedback :(

Yeah my other half was in Crotia only for a few days though when he went inter railing. I'd love to travel around and these islands everyone is talking about sound lovely!!

Yay good weather!! what kind of temperatures are we talking? We;re talking of going wherever we're going for 10 days or so anyway

Temperature June 25-30ish, July and August 30-38, September 25-30

Nice breeze though, and the sea is lovely to swim in.

ooh, so there might actually be somewhere where i can swim in the sea?? I have an odd fear of it, i don't like not being able to see into it! My boyfriend and I were chatting just there and he showed me a link from bbc of the weather in Croatia and then Miami (was hoping to originally go to florida) and it says Crotia is hotter @ max temp :)