Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You know that Proclaimers song...

• 10-04-2008 4:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭

"I would walk 500 Miles"
    Well its basically 2 speccy Scottish blokes telling their chicks exactly how far they would go to prove their love for her. The chorus goes:

But I would walk 500 miles
    And I would walk 500 more
    To be the man who walked 1,000 miles
    To fall down at your door

Having walked 8 miles to get back home after a debs back in 94, Pighead appreciates the enormity of what the two lads are prepared to do. The lads women must be absolute stunners.

To be perfectly frank, Pighead reckons the lads are full of shit. No way in hell would anybody walk 500 miles in these days of trains, cars and rollerskates. If the song was written back in the 2nd century then maybe it would be a bit more credible but its barely 20 years old for Gods sake.

Anyway what other commonly uttered phrases or words would you consider to be of the "full of shit" variety?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

''Johnnyrotten''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,281 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

The boy looked at Johnny, Johnny wanted to run, but the movie kept moving as planned. The boy took Johnny, he pushed him against the locker, he drove it in, he drove it home, he drove it deep in Johnny. The boy disappeared, Johnny fell on his knees, started crashing his head against the locker, started crashing his head against the locker, started laughing hysterically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

The boy looked at Johnny, Johnny wanted to run, but the movie kept moving as planned. The boy took Johnny, he pushed him against the locker, he drove it in, he drove it home, he drove it deep in Johnny. The boy disappeared, Johnny fell on his knees, started crashing his head against the locker, started crashing his head against the locker, started laughing hysterically.
    Jesus that sounds nasty. But why did he start laughing? Earlier on in the paragraph you state that "Johnny wanted to run" implying he was scared, yet by the end of the passage he was in a state of ecstasy implying he was ok with the whole "driving it in deep" scenario.

Can you explain these inconsistencies?

Pighead wrote: »
    Can you explain these inconsistencies?
    No.

You asked for commonly uttered phrases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

No.

You asked for commonly uttered phrases.
    Pighead was kinda looking for more general commonly uttered phrases. Wasn't really thinking about excerpts from your boy on boy porn magazine collections. Thanks for the reply anyway though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Ive fallen in love for the first time
    And this time I know it's for real

From I want to Break Free. I suppose the real issue here is why I am sitting googling Queen Lyrics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

Do you reckon the Proclaimers could sue yer man from the Plain White Ts

A thousand miles seems very far
    but they've got planes and trains and cars
    I'd walk to you if I had no other way.

Plainly stole their idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

You never close your eyes
    Anymore when I kiss your lips.

Sing the righteous brothers. What I'd like to know is how would they know this without leaving their eyes open themselves. Hypocrites! I say.

Pighead wrote: »
    Pighead was kinda looking for more general commonly uttered phrases. Wasn't really thinking about excerpts from your boy on boy porn magazine collections. Thanks for the reply anyway though.
    Pighead has a dirty mind. Tsk tsk. I'm disappointed in you Pighead. It reads like he's being beaten up to me. Maybe you know the following part better?
    When suddenly Johnny gets the feeling he's being surrounded by horses, horses, horses, horses
    coming in in all directions
    white shining silver studs with their nose in flames

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

And the thing that was "driven in deep" was a knife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

Soo sometimes people say things but what they actually mean is something else

Jaypers.

Something else about empty vessels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

The Narcissus complex:

Speaking of oneself in the third person to avoid responsilbilty for one's thoughts and ideals.

"So may he himself love, and not gain the thing he loves"

First of all you get riled up about people with high post counts (it simply happens when you're on Boards a long time and you post regularly, and it's inevitable you become known. It does not mean you're taken more seriously than those with low post counts). Now you're taking issue with Pighead using the third person. Those are two glaring similarities between you and a poster who was site-banned last year called Peter Collins.
    Oh yeah, and he used to throw in quotes like that too. Lose the resentment will you?! Jeesh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

Dudess wrote: »
    First of all you get riled up about people with high post counts (it simply happens when you're on Boards a long time and you post regularly, and it's inevitable you become known. It does not mean you're taken more seriously than those with low post counts). Now you're taking issue with Pighead using the third person. Those are two glaring similarities between you and a poster who was site-banned last year called Peter Collins.
    Oh yeah, and he used to throw in quotes like that too. Lose the resentment will you?! Jeesh!

Dudess, you say that like I care.

I know you got promoted :rolleyes: here, but to be honest, there are only so many "pighead is great" threads I can handle.

It's the Emperor's new clothes for 90% of posters here.

Grow up! You actually feel insecure about people having high post counts or being moderators. Ye-eh-ess... people don't accumulate those posts by themselves at all - they get "gifts" of them by the admins who "favour" them.

Moderators are actually required here you know. It's not a conspiracy. I shudder to think what kind of sh1te would carry on on a message forum without moderation.

If you have a problem with Pighead, send him a pm. If you have a problem with the way there are threads focusing on Pighead, take it to Feedback. Although those threads are usually started by Pighead himself, which he's well within his rights to do.

Why can't you just ignore him? And where do you get that 90% figure from?

All these people who have hissy fits over Pighead - they really come across as jealous of the attention he gets. Some people find him funny - I personally think he writes good posts. Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Just about anything sung by Westlife and Boyzone.

Dudess - IanCurtis gets riled up about everything. For fvck's sake, the man makes Victor Meldew look like Buddha.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.