Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I want to know every single thing about Skangers!!

• 09-04-2008 7:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭

I have to give a speech next Wednesday and I found it hard to come up with something to talk about. So I heard some skangers talking outside while having a smoke. I found what they were saying "funny".

Ahem, anyways. Tell me every single bloomin' thing you know about skangers.
    Where they come from.
    What they wear.
    Types of Skangers. (Was told something about Tallaght Skangers, no disrespect to Tallaghtfornian's).
    How they speak.
    Where they hang out.
    What they drink... Dutch Gold, Devil's Bit, eugh yeh the likes of those.
    Past times.
    Even their feckin history.
    I'll give credit to boards.ie to for part of my research. (might get a few new cool members *cough*

Any help is definitely appreciated.

Schweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeh!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

You're a complete snob. I cringe to think to who and where this speech will be made. A load of arrogant, pompous twits having a good aul' laugh at people from disadvantaged areas....*shudder*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Nike air max, celtic jerseys, dutch piss beer, dodgy taches, white tracksuits, skinny rakes, they sit upstairs down the back on buses, they play dance music on their phones on the bus, drive those annoying scooters, sovereign rings, gold chains, girls wear hoopy earrings, lads are usually named something -o, anto, deco, locko etc, girls in pjs in the local spar

more coming to me....

Edit: I am anything but a snob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Hahah I'm from a disadvantaged area myself so I wouldnt consider myself a snob.
    I'm not going to refer to them as skangers, but will mention the word at least twice during the speech.

Thanks Huggles and The-Rigger. Gonna add everything to a list. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scanger

Wikipedia is your only site when you need info in a rush

Edit: Beaten to it by the Rigger ^^^^

You do realise there are people out there who would consider you a "Skanger" just because of your accent and where you live? It's an offensive and derogatory words...and everyone's heard the stereotypes a million times before....it just ain't funny anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

The wiki is pretty weak on it. Perhaps we should increase the knowledgebase.

Awww so sorry Eve but I'd stick out like a sore thumb amongst "Skangers". I've been living in a disadvantaged area for 20 years. I am now 20 so I've should have grown up to be a "Skanger".. no? I don't sound like one because I chose to listen in school at a young age. I consider myself fairly educated because I also chose to go down this road. These "Skangers" chose differently.
    I'm not slagging disadvantaged area's as such... just a term given to people who just act like they're all 'Ard Men etc. Like slagging... Bikers or Hippies? No? ok. have a beer on me :).

edit: The-Rigger, you're correct. Too weak in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Huggles wrote: »
    girls in pjs in the local spar
    Oh crap...im a skanger :rolleyes: Why didnt anyone tell me?

anniehoo wrote: »
    Oh crap...im a skanger :rolleyes: Why didnt anyone tell me?

Do you really wear PJs out on the street?

It takes 30 seconds to pull on some jeans. Each to there own but I think it looks ridiculous, out of interest, what is the reasoning?

Or by the sounds of things... pull up a tracksuit.

I did it for the first time a few weeks back...black PJs..not the penneys puppies and hearts malarky and was dyin of a hangover so the 30secs to put on a pair of jeans was ignored for the fact i could get my breakfast roll 30secs quicker :D

Laziness, nothing more or nothing less!

What I want to know is why do lads tucks their tracksuit bottoms into white socks. WTF is that about? :confused:
    Ok, it doesn't affect me but it's the latest craze and I can't figure it out

micmclo wrote: »

What I want to know is why do lads tucks their tracksuit bottoms into white socks. WTF is that about? :confused:

Oh another one, why the lads have there hands inside their tracksuit bottoms feeling their tiny manhoods...STDs?

Oh man, thats a craze? I don't want none of it.
    Was walking to college last week and saw some young lad doing as you just mentioned. Obviously I looked and was like "wtf". But everyone in their cars were looking. Not my cup of tea.

I believe that is to show off the latest uber classy nike air max.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

girls in pjs in the local spar

True story.

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    True story.

That reminds me, a taxi driver told me recently that he was in that spar type shop on O'Connell Street recently (can't remember name of it now).

Anyways, he saw two scanger girls in their Pjs and asked them if they had escaped from Temple Street and they went mental at him! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

Oh another one, why the lads have there hands inside their tracksuit bottoms feeling their tiny manhoods...STDs?

They think it makes them more manly having everyone look at them in what they think is "admiration"

Although every lad does it, I hate being out with my lad mates when it's just me, they have no shame!

Oh and I hate to say it, but PJs going to the shop is soooo comfy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

I have to give a speech next Wednesday and I found it hard to come up with something to talk about. So I heard some skangers talking outside while having a smoke. I found what they were saying "funny".

Who are you making the speech to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Miss Fluff wrote: »
    Who are you making the speech to?

A bunch of skangers, probably :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

If you live in one of the areas where they are common enough then you should really know everything you need to know through basic experience. Quit being lazy and looking for other people's words to put in your speech.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Bard wrote: »
    A bunch of skangers, probably :p

That'll be really "funny" then, will go down like a fart in a spacesuit I should imagine. I honestly can't think of any situation or context where giving a SPEECH:eek:on skangers seems like a good idea tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

The-Rigger wrote: »
    The wiki is pretty weak on it. Perhaps we should increase the knowledgebase.
    I like your thinking :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

If you're called Anto, Deco (Anthony & Declan also accepted) or Jacinta you are a scanger, FACT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭bluemachaveli

Creature wrote: »
    If you're called Anto, Deco (Anthony & Declan also accepted) or Jacinta you are a scanger, FACT!

Harsh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,706 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Be sure to point out the regional differences of scangers too, e.g. slang terms. Also discuss Limerick scangers' (aka 'scobes') overuse of the nasal passages while speaking. Try and find the root cause of it too, cause I have no idea

Harsh :D

Harsh but true ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

If you're called Anto, Deco ...

Is that top Deco or bottom Deco???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭bluemachaveli

Ive seen a few of the Limerick "boys" wondering around with the socks tucked in, but they have taken the ensemble one step further.

A big f**k off Snoop Dogg looking pimp cane.

Also useful for beating people :p

This rare breed of Skanger can be seen around the Childers Rd.
    Halting Site/Retail Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

If you're called Anto, Deco(Anthony & Declan also accepted) or Jacinta you are a scanger, FACT!
    No Deco's real name usually won't be Declan, it will be his friends giving him that title because of his resemblence to Barcelona's Portugal international midfielder who also goes by the name of Deco

While we're talking about names, they name their children after the latest pop singers at the time of their birth

Last summer I encountered a Shakira, this year I'm sure the place will be flooded with Rihanna's and maybe even the odd Leona Lewis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Awww so sorry Eve but I'd stick out like a sore thumb amongst "Skangers". I've been living in a disadvantaged area for 20 years. I am now 20 so I've should have grown up to be a "Skanger".. no? I don't sound like one because I chose to listen in school at a young age. I consider myself fairly educated because I also chose to go down this road. These "Skangers" chose differently.
    I'm not slagging disadvantaged area's as such... just a term given to people who just act like they're all 'Ard Men etc. Like slagging... Bikers or Hippies? No? ok. have a beer on me :).

edit: The-Rigger, you're correct. Too weak in my opinion.

Have to agree with Eve, I also listened in school at a young age (that has very little to do with how someone develops an accent by the way, not sure why you mentioned it), I have a third level education, I have been called a skanger when I was younger by snobs (and yes snobbery and insecurity is why people say it). I do wear nike runners sometimes because nike make the best most comfrotable runners (hence there worldwide popularity), I sometimes wear a Celtic jersey because I support Celtic FC, I sit upstairs down the back of the bus because they are the best seats on the bus as they provide you with the most room, I drove a scooter when I was younger because they were inexpensive, cheap on petrol and they don't get stuck in traffic. Calling someone a skanger because of someones accent, style of dress ect is no different than someone in America calling someone a ni**er because they are black. It is meant in a derogatory sense and it is pathetic, and the reason some people feel the need to go on about it is the same reasons you get people calling black people ****. It's born of fear of anything different to themselves, insecurity and ignorance.

"Oh look that kid's wearing Celtic jersey and he has his hair shaved short, I bet he has 12 kids and is uneducated, what a skanger."

"Oh look that kid's wearing baggy pants and a 2pac t-shirt, I bet he is a troublemaker and his father is in prison, what a ni**er."

Now I realise this will not be a popular opinion because lets face it this is afterhours, one of the most right wing, snobish, conservative locations on earth, but I thought I'd give it in anyways.

Sorry slipss if you feel that way.
    It's just a study that I want to do. It's part of what we see everyday. "Skangers" have just about become a social class of their own.

Would you rather if I did it on the Amish community and how they don't like to advance, technologically speaking? Or would you get offended and quote the time when your T.V. remote ran out of batteries?

I'm just gonna do a speech on something that is certainly built into the modern Dublin society. Just an observation and opinion. I suppose, you don't see these "Skangers" talking about your "snobs" and whatnot and giving them some derogatory name?

Welcome To Earth. It's Full Of Humans. Enjoy Your Stay.

Thanks Slipss...somebody agreeing with me...this never happens.This talk of skangers is just not funny. It's been done to death, it was never funny in the first place and i'm sick to the teeth of hearing about it. It's people's prejudice (because of fear and ignorance) dressed up as "humour". I completely agree with you when you say there's no difference between using this word and n****er. There are people out there who think anyone from the Northside of Dublin is a so-called "skanger" so i can't for the life of me understand why someone from a disadvantaged area doesn't see the irony of using this word when referring to people from his own area. Alot of people out there wouldn't care how well you listened in class, they'd tar you all with the same brush. What happened to judging INDIVIDUALS by their actions and not what they wear, drink, how they speak or whatever? A feck it, not going to change the minds of this shower of twits but good to know i'm not the only one in a state of despair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

slipss wrote:
    Calling someone a skanger because of someones accent, style of dress ect is no different than someone in America calling someone a ni**er because they are black. It is meant in a derogatory sense and it is pathetic, and the reason some people feel the need to go on about it is the same reasons you get people calling black people ****. It's born of fear of anything different to themselves, insecurity and ignorance.
    Imo, that is absolute BS.
    There is no way you can make that comparison.
    Black people were hated because of their colour. They were denied their basic human rights by racist white pricks.
    Skangers, however, are hated because of their actions and the trouble that they cause in society.
    Obviously I wouldn't call someone a skanger if they were a decent, law abiding person who just happened to support Celtic and come from a rough area. The undeniable fact is some of these people are scumbags, who are involved in drugs, assaults, thefts and all kinds of crime regularly. THEY are skangers/scobes/ whatever ya wanna call them.
    Not everyone with a shaved head and a Celtic jersey is a skanger. Of course not. But, I repeat, some of them are. You may think that's stereotypical, but I feel that it's based on facts.
    slipss wrote:
    Now I realise this will not be a popular opinion because lets face it this is afterhours, one of the most right wing, snobish, conservative locations on earth,
    More BS. It's a bloody discussion forum, of course you're gonna get some right wing conservative types.
    All kinds of people post here, it's childish to label the entire forum based on the views of a few.
    And I can assure you I am not a right-wing conservative snob just because I happen to despise scumbags.
    If one of these people attacked you or a member of your family you would not be long changing your opinion.
    I had heard of this, and didn't believe it.
    Then last month I went to Dublin, and saw it with my own eyes.
    It is, genuinely, the most ridiculous looking thing in the world.

Also, I've always wondered: if these people are supposedly "disadvantaged" how the hell do they afford football jerseys/Nike runners/gold earrings and rings/booze etc.

Finally OP: I must say, this is a very weird topic to give a speech on. Are you absolutely sure you wanna approach this topic?

Would you rather if I did it on the Amish community and how they don't like to advance, technologically speaking? Or would you get offended and quote the time when your T.V. remote ran out of batteries.

Well if you did a report on the Amish community calling them......well I don't think there is an equivalant to n.igger when describing the Amish, so lets just say Ammies, and then went on and on trying to make snide comments about their beards and their white shirts and their silly names, then yes I would think it would be in bad taste. I wouldn't be offended, I'm not offended now, I just think it's an odd thing for someone to do.

Square Igloo, the OP is not defining a "skanger" by his/her actions, he's defining them by what they wear, drink, accent etc etc.

Would a trouble make from Dalkey be called a "skanger"? Absolutely not.

Imo, that is absolute BS.

Well of course some scumbags wear celtic jerseys ect. But like you say in your post, the word skanger is associated with scumbags, but when the OP asked to know everything about skangers peopel didn't say "they rob cars, they assault people ect ect" they said "they wear tracksuits, they have nicknames like Deco, they ect ect". Basically people from working class areas, that is stereotyping in the way that all black people are stereotyped as being a certain way by some people and then refered to as n.iggers, which is why i made the comparison. You say skanger is based on the actions of people while n.igger is based on skin colour, well plenty of people would say they call black people n.igger and dislike them not because of their skin colour but because of how they act "they have criminal tendencies, they are lazy and uneducated ect". The point I was trying to make here was that people associate "skangers" with anti-social behavior ect and then when asked to describe them simply list off a bunch of things that are common to the majority of working class people. I hope that makes the point I was trying to make a little clearer.

"If one of these people attacked you or a member of your family you would not be long changing your opinion."
    I was set apon by four youngfellas and stabbed three times in the back, robbed and left for dead four years ago, they all had thick Tallaght-esk accents and one of them had a Celtic scarve pulled up over his face. It didn't change my opinion. I think the fellas that jumped me were scumbags, i don't think anyone with that accent or a celtic scarf are scumbags and i wouldn't try to lump everyone with a similar style of dress or way of speaking in with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Square Igloo, the OP is not defining a "skanger" by his/her actions, he's defining them by what they wear, drink, accent etc etc.

I thought he was asking what clothes/drink/style skangers were into and not defining people by these things.

Thats like me asking what clothes/music do emo kids like. I'm hardly labeling everyone who have similar interests a emo.

of course you're gonna get some right wing conservative types.
    All kinds of people post here, it's childish to label the entire forum based on the views of a few.

Thats fair enough.

Well I'm not from Dublin so I know nothing about Dalkey: is it a bit posh?

slipss: yes, your last post made your point a bit clearer. And I agree, it's wrong to label all working class people skangers. I still think it's wrong to make the comparison with black people though.
    I can't imagine the "n" word used in anything other than a racist slur.

Ahem, anyways. Tell me every single bloomin' thing you know about skangers.
    Where they come from.
    What they wear.
    Types of Skangers. (Was told something about Tallaght Skangers, no disrespect to Tallaghtfornian's).
    How they speak.
    Where they hang out.
    What they drink... Dutch Gold, Devil's Bit, eugh yeh the likes of those.
    Past times.
    I'll give credit to boards.ie to for part of my research. (might get a few new cool members *cough*

Any help is definitely appreciated.

Schweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeh!!!!!!!!

Nope, wants to know everything there is to know about "skangers", not just what they wear etc.

Yes Square Igloo, Dalkey is one of the most expensive places to live in the country. Never heard anyone referring to someone from this area as a skanger...skangers is a word exclusively used when referring to the working class, which must tell you something?

skangers is a word exclusively used when referring to the working class, which must tell you something?
    ...That people from Dalkey are instead labelled with the "Gaawd, Roiish etc." Ross O'Carroll-Kelly D4 stereotype? (Is Dalkey in D4? Forgive my ignorance of Dublin geography:))

No! County Dublin..roight!

My apologies;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Where they come from.

They come from disadvantaged areas and rather than get off their lazy hole and get a real job and improve their lot in life they prefer to make money through various lowlife criminal activities.

What they wear.

Surprisingly for people who have no visible means of income they wear the latest in sports wear decorated with cheap Argos jewellery.

Types of Skangers.

All the fucking same.

How they speak.

Lazily. They sound like you’d imagine someone with a blocked nose speaking text speak would. Also there’s no real pause between words. There’s just a nasal drone that allows them to blend into each other. Alreetbuddd.

Where they hang out.

Parks, fields, empty flats, dole office, dealers houses, street corners, Local Authority social housing unit to name a few.

What they drink

Whatever is on offer in the off licence that day.

Past times.

Vandalising local amenites while complaining about having nothing to do.

Petty crime.

Admiring each others sportswear while casing their neighbours property.

Intimidating the smaller, weaker, elderly members of society like fucking jackals.

Breeding to increase their welfare allowances.

Joyriding.

Unfortunately they don’t spend enough time;

Wrapping their stolen cars around trees.

Sharing dirty needles.

Getting raped and beaten in prison.

Arrived with the foundation of the welfare state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

thank you Mr. Myers, but we've heard it all before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

thank you Mr. Myers, but we've heard it all before

Here's another "working class hero" with his "defend the scumbags" mentality.

If you act like a skanger and you're from a working class area then you're called a skanger because. . . you are.

If you act like a skanger and you're not from a working class area, you are a skanger but you're called a muppet or something like that.

It doesn't reflect on working class people nor is it generalising all working class people so just stop trying to find some connection where none exists.

It's that attitude that lets them do what they like. Any condemnation of them in the media is seen as denigrating the poor, working class. It's not the 18th century anymore. The only people who deliberately cling to an outdated and irrelevant class system are the people trying to defend the worst members of society no matter what their "class".

Any minute now King I expect a good "snob" bashing thread from yourself. Something cutting and relevant to ease the class consciousness that eats you.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

everyone knows what a skanger looks like and they dont necessary have to come from the northside either Killiney have their own skangers, as well.

i have issues with the skangers on the bus at night, as i am coming home from work in the rain and their they are with their gel nails, hair extensions, sunbedtans, dripping in horrible big gold earrings and 25 chains around their next with their 2 kids called brittney and tiffany, who are best in the best of clothes, talking about the holidays they are going on this year. when i am sitting there looking at them thinking "so that's where my tax money is going"

They have never had a job in their life or intend to get a job. they will continue pushing out sprogs just to get a council house

**rant over now**