Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motor Tax renewal issues

• 08-04-2008 10:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭

2 issues:
    I've no Vehicle Registration Cert, I've sold my car, can the new owner tax the car without it or will they have to wait until they complete change of ownership process is complete? I hoped to get the replacement last week and hoped the new owner could use it to get taxed immediately.

The tax is out of date, I suspect that I sent in the application online but did not receive the disc, but how can I find out? I've checked banking records and nothing shows the payment but I think the transaction failed to process or something, I suspect this because I retried using the PIN and the website will not let me in, I presume it's because that PIN has been used before, what can I do to find if it was a Transport department error or not? they're not responding on phone or email.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I think the order is:
    Cert to insure.
    Insurance to tax.

Edit, the new owner can get a form of non-use and have a Garda sign it. S/He won't have to pay tax from purchase date then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Stealdo

biko wrote: »
    I think the order is:
    Cert to insure.
    Insurance to tax.

Edit, the new owner can get a form of non-use and have a Garda sign it. S/He won't have to pay tax from purchase date then.

Only if they're not using the car.

Sounds like the OP lost the VRC and is only getting around to getting a replacement now that s/he is selling. The new owner of the car is liable for tax from the date of purcahse assuming that the car didn't have any tax pre-paid (which it didn't).

OP - the new owner won't be able to tax the car themselves without both the VRC and a valid insurance cert. You do not need the VRC to insure the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭learnerplates

So for the new owner it's
    Insurance
    VRC
    Tax.

I did confirm with the motor tax that the new owner only has to pay motor tax from when they own the car (I didn't get the exact definition of owning but I presume it's the day the transfer of ownership was applied for)

Any ideas on the failure of the tax renewal transaction, has anyone come across this before? the PIN not working online?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Once the change of ownership has been processed in shannon and the new owner comes up as the name and address on the computer in the motor tax office, the new owner can tax it. I've never heard of needing to produce the registration cert in order to insure a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭FuzzyWuzzyWazza

alias no.9 wrote: »
    Once the change of ownership has been processed in shannon and the new owner comes up as the name and address on the computer in the motor tax office, the new owner can tax it. I've never heard of needing to produce the registration cert in order to insure a car.

No, but you need insurance cert and VRC to TAX the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

No, but you need insurance cert and VRC to TAX the car.

You need your insurance cert if you're doing it in person or by post. You only need your insurance policy number if you're doing it online.
    You can tax your car either in person, by post or online without the registration cert as long as the name and address correspond to what's on the computer.

Here's a good one for ye, the Motortax office in Shannon appears to have lost my replacement VRC! they refuse to answer emails of phones, the local motor tax office has told me that the VRC was issued on the 1st April but I still have not received it, hence it must be lost.
    I now have to re-apply, fill in the RF134 again, get it stamped by the guards, go into the tax office and re-apply, and then wait again for god knows how long.
    What a bunch of idiots these civil servants are.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

The tax is out of date, I suspect that I sent in the application online but did not receive the disc, but how can I find out? I've checked banking records and nothing shows the payment but I think the transaction failed to process or something, I suspect this because I retried using the PIN and the website will not let me in, I presume it's because that PIN has been used before, what can I do to find if it was a Transport department error or not? they're not responding on phone or email.

Surely you should be able to remember how you applied for your tax disc ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

The tax is out of date, I suspect that I sent in the application online but did not receive the disc, but how can I find out? [...] I suspect this because I retried using the PIN and the website will not let me in, I presume it's because that PIN has been used before.

How long is your tax out of date? The PIN will only work for 3 months after the tax is up. After that, you have to go to your local Motor Tax office. Personally, I've always found the Motor Tax online system very reliable, but as it's a web based system, naturally can't be immune to problems for everyone.
    Here's a good one for ye, the Motortax office in Shannon appears to have lost my replacement VRC! they refuse to answer emails of phones, the local motor tax office has told me that the VRC was issued on the 1st April but I still have not received it, hence it must be lost. [...] What a bunch of idiots these civil servants are.

Maybe they sent it but it was lost in the post? Also check that they have your correct postal address.

Also, there's a certain irony in you calling a whole section of the workforce idiots when you can't remember whether you tried to tax your own car or not :rolleyes:

It was last July!! found the letter the renewal letter on my desk in work, I never noticed it was out of date just presumed I'd paid it last july. The 3-month expiry on the pin would explain it alright.

BTW after spamming the motortax office in shannon with emails about my missing VRC replacement document I got a response by email. I've had to fax in a new application form, stamped by guards, and they tell my it will be posted by Swiftpost today.
    They still will not answer any phonecalls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

so lads if you bought a new car and the tax was up before you bought it... its not up to the new owner to back tax it? or will they?? i think i have my wires confused from above...

There's no back-dating of tax when the car changes ownership.
    The new owner only taxes it from the date of transfer of ownership.
    The old owner doesn't have to pay the back-tax either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

thats very good news for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

There's no back-dating of tax when the car changes ownership

Correct
    The new owner only taxes it from the date of transfer of ownership

To be a bit more precise / pendantic (you choose) the new owner taxes it from the first day of the month of the date of transfer of ownership. So if you buy a car on March 31st at 23:59 and fill in March 31st on the form, you'll have to pay for a full months' tax for March

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 -dmo7-

unkel wrote: »
    Correct

To be a bit more precise / pendantic (you choose) the new owner taxes it from the first day of the month of the date of transfer of ownership. So if you buy a car on March 31st at 23:59 and fill in March 31st on the form, you'll have to pay for a full months' tax for March

MASSIVE thread revival here but i'm currently in this dilemma at the moment about the car tax being backdated. Is there anywhere where this is published so that I can be certain about this? Need to know asap lads so thanks in advance!

contact citizen.ie or your local motor tax office. citizen.ie usually reply to emails, motor tax office on the other hand are undependable, and with the tax on pensions none of them will probably be doing a tap for the coming years.:rolleyes: