Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you know any convicts?

• 05-04-2008 5:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭

My friends and I were discussing the topic of going to prison last night. Neither I nor any of them know anyone personally that is currently in jail or previously jailed. I suppose it's a product of our social class and luck over the years that we've never been close to that sort of person/gang/group.

So do any of you boardsies know anyone in prison? I don't mean if you know of a guy in your local town that's done a stretch. We all know/have heard of them.

I mean really personally - relative, close friend etc. What did they do; What do you think of them now; How does it make you feel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Yore Ma should be in jail for some of the things she does to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

A friend of mine was jailed briefly for tax evasion.
    No impact on what I think of him now.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

i know someone who was in jail for a short period of time.
    i honnestly think it made him a better person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Worked with a guy in a summer job who was due to serve his sentence for crashing while drink driving, 2 weeks after having his license revoked for drink driving :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

A friend of mine (kind of an ex friend at this stage) was in prison for being an illegal immigrant. They kept her there for about two months and then released her as she refused to tell them where she is from.

She now has an Irish passport.

Moral of the story: if you're an illegal immigrant, they can't deport you if they don't know where to send you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

yeh a cousin of mine is doing 5 years for drug offences. I won't say anything like 'he got in with a bad crowd' or any of that because it would be horsesh1te - he knew exactly what he was doing, it just went pearshaped on him. Sad situation - his wife just had a baby before he went in, he also got married right before he went in which was great to see but sad at the same time as we all knew a custodial sentence was inevitable. Imaging being the wife and knowing your next 5 anniversaries will be spent alone with your child?? tough lady - I've a lot of resect for her.

Anyway, genuniely prison has been the making of him. He's there 2 years now. Gave up the fags, goes to the gym everyday and is writing a lot about his experiences - he reckons he'll write a book about his experiences inside - and I bet he will! We here from him the odd time - every now and then he gets access to a mobile phone and rings us and he tells us the maddest funniest stories about prison life. Obviously there's a very depressing side to it aswell. He says there's stabbings everyday over drugs and just the other day a chap was murdered for a score of heroin. Although he did drugs he never went the heroin route (consuming or selling) so him seeing poeple inject and be off there faces is quite scary.. He is a chef so gets to work in the kitchen and therefore mingles with the female inmates more than others. He said he reguarly sees the Scissor sisters! (the ones what carried your mans head in a bag around The Square) :eek:

Anyway, that's my tale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Yes, me. I'm in jail right now :).

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭pretty*monster

I mate of mine did a few weeks in the joy for breaking an injunction over the bin tax a few years ago.
    Lovely guy, if a bit too idealistic at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

2 first cousins are out and my brother and his friend will be there soon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭seahorse

Eglinton wrote: »
    I suppose it's a product of our social class and luck over the years that we've never been close to that sort of person/gang/group.

It's a product of a lot of peoples social class that they never went to prison in the first place, since white collar crime is not targeted by the guards and the courts as it ought to be.
    So do any of you boardsies know anyone in prison? I don't mean if you know of a guy in your local town that's done a stretch. We all know/have heard of them.

I mean really personally - relative, close friend etc. What did they do; What do you think of them now; How does it make you feel?

Yes, two past lovers, one family member and one friend. It doesn't affect my opinion of them as people, or make me feel any way in particular, except that it was a pity their lives went in that direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Mate - 3 months I think for posession, really for fecking up in court (no lawyer, not dressed appropriately)

Colleague - few weeks for evading arrest on public order offences (taking a slash on O'Connell Street at night, ran from the cops, got caught)

Don't like the colleague to begin with but I don't think anything less of the friend - done when he was 18 and he's 25 now, wouldn't have even gone inside if he'd not been over-confident of getting a slap on the wrist really. Wouldn't do it again, either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

He says there's stabbings everyday over drugs and just the other day a chap was murdered for a score of heroin.

Really? Funny it never made the news.

Unless the joy is like the prison in Oz, and there are 3 odd murders a week swept under the rug.

He said he reguarly sees the Scissor sisters! (the ones what carried your mans head in a bag around The Square) :eek:

The blonde one is a ride.

In all fairness, she is like :D

seahorse wrote: »
    It's a product of a lot of peoples social class that they never went to prison in the first place, since white collar crime is not targeted by the guards and the courts as it ought to be.

I'd much rather see Garda resources be spent on tackling drugs/organised crime etc than white collar crime tbh. Our prisons are busy enough as is, keep putting the true scum into them and I'm a happy taxpayer.

Also, you're right, it is a product of social class and there's far, far more criminals in the lower classes than any other, regardless of the form of crime committed.

Tha Gopher wrote: »

Unless the joy is like the prison in Oz, and there are 3 odd murders a week swept under the rug.

I'd imagine as little news of them gets out to the public as possible, it'd put more pressure on the prisons to work harder to fight it, which I'm sure they don't want.

rb_ie wrote: »
    I'd much rather see Garda resources be spent on tackling drugs/organised crime etc than white collar crime tbh. Our prisons are busy enough as is, keep putting the true scum into them and I'm a happy taxpayer.

Are the businessmen who launder drug money not 'true scum' then?
    Also, you're right, it is a product of social class and there's far, far more criminals in the lower classes than any other, regardless of the form of crime committed.

I don't see how you could claim to know that unless you know the personal business of every person in the country! Obviously crimes like joyriding and petty drug offences are mainly the preserve of criminals in the lower classes, but as for 'regardless of the form of crime committed', that doesn't make logical sense; white collar crime is, by its nature, mainly the preserve of the middle and upper classes.

I'd imagine as little news of them gets out to the public as possible, it'd put more pressure on the prisons to work harder to fight it, which I'm sure they don't want.

While Im sure assaults and non fatal stabbings go unreported, tbh you cant brush murders under the carpet.
    Obviously crimes like joyriding and petty drug offences are mainly the preserve of criminals in the lower classes,

Do you not read the Sindo?

Most working class people have never even heard of cocaine. In Dublin 4 however, people brush their teeth with the stuff its so widespread. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I was in school with a guy who was convicted of manslaughter and was in prison for a couple of months before his sentence was revoked due to a technical error on his charge sheet.

Lucky lucky guy!! Came from a great background, wealthy familly, was given great education and every oppertunity in life and ended up on the dole whilst working in his dads pub also. I think he should be in jail because he's a complete cu*t and got in one of those "anabells" type fights on a night out and a young man died of a fractured skull. Was all over the news a few years back. It was actually his cousin that he killed!

Anyway, never liked the guy and its mad how some people get away with things!! :eek: Not that I think he would be a danger to society and I'm sure he's learnt his lesson, but obviously deserved punishment...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

yes my long-term partner and my brother have both been in prison. To be honest it is interesting, both of them had (have) alcohol problem, and were similar to each other getting into fights, robbing houses etc.
    One of them is off the gargle for the past 10 years, life is cleaned up and is now a professional.
    The other one is still up to the same game, rolling along from crisis to crisis, was in prison for a term as recently as 18 months ago. Now in their very high 30s. Sad to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

+1 to that

-1 to that. Are you f*cking joking!! :eek: She looks like a man. Well rough looking too, probably beat the **** out of most of the male inmates too.

By true scum I assume you mean the working classes? You really are a piece of work. Between your obvious hatred of women and anyone who's not from a leafy middle class suburb, you're the most blatant snob on here at times. I thought this before about you but decided to give you the benefit ogf the doubt but one or two of your comments today have really bugged me.

So your mate got banged up for tax evasion? Was it on a large scale? It's still theft of a sort. What's the difference between that and somebody shoplifting? I bet you'd be screaming for anyone who stole from you to be put away.

Justice has always worked differently in this country depending on who your parents are and where you live. People like you will ensure this continues.

Rant over

EDIT I've had a smke and calmed down a bit but in answer to the OP, yes. Some minor things and some very serious.

Collie D wrote: »
    -1 to that. Are you f*cking joking!! :eek: She looks like a man. Well rough looking too, probably beat the **** out of most of the male inmates too.

Certain you aint thinkin of the black haired one?

She is as rough as a bears bollix in fairness. But the brownish blonde, yup yup :)

No way, man. They're both ugly as sin. Look at the jaw on the blonde one, so masculine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Yea, been from Athlone you gt to mingle with all sorts of colourful ppl.

I know a guy from dublin that butchered his wife and 2 kids a few yrs ago near Moate. Really lovely guy. Very polite. Anger managment issues. Hes now being used as a sex toy in Jail.

I also know another guy, english born.. complete small time dealer big time junky.. did some time for road traffic offences. Id like to tap his daughter.

Do you not read the Sindo?

I don't know what the Sindo is, never mind read it.
    Most working class people have never even heard of cocaine. In Dublin 4 however, people brush their teeth with the stuff its so widespread. :rolleyes:

Ah come on now, I've yet to met a person who's never heard of cocaine, regardless where they're from.
    It's still theft of a sort.

It is of course; only difference between a house breaker and a tax evader is the latter is robbing from every tax payer in the country. It'd be very interesting to see what the true social demographics of crime really are, not that we can expect that any time soon.

I don't know what the Sindo is, never mind read it.

Ah come on now, I've yet to met a person who's never heard of cocaine, regardless where they're from.

Okey doke.

Firstly, the Sindo is the Sunday Independant newspaper. You may remember them from such exclusives as Liam Lawlor was with a prostitute when he died in a car crash in Moscow :rolleyes: It would have been a rather apt end to a scandalous existance, but alas, it wasnt actually true. Like a significant proportion of the "news" they print sandwiched somewhere between the 28 pages of advertisements.

Aside from that, the Sunday Independant usually devotes around, oh, 3 articles a week to the apparent epidemic of cocaine abuse among "D4 types". Completely ignoring a few facts

a- Cocaine in this country is of appallingly bad quality

b- Most D4s dont go near it on a regular basis

c- On any super Sunday prem match you are alot more likely to find wide eyed cokeheads in pubs located in rough spots in Finglas than you are in a southside wine bar. Now, given that, cocaine use fom my view in Dublin is on the slide (though down the country it is exploding) but in both places it is the same type of people making up the bulk of the user base- think Argos jewellery, Dutch Gold and knacker trance blasting from the motor. Most D4s or posh types from the country I know wouldnt have a breeze where to obtain cocaine. Where I live its much easier to get than hash.

btw you msquoted me re the theft thing. Im all for theft from government.

In his defence that was me he quoted, think he just mixed up the multiquote function and put your name on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Yes, a very good friend went down for 3 months, it was years ago and over something which turned out very unfair on my mate, it involved a top politician and his son..

S'all about the money..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Me great granda murdered a sailor with his bare hands in the states apparently

Me granda (political though)
    A few family friends and a few friends (some political, some were just ODC's lol)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Bet you wouldn't want to get head from her though, never know what you'd be setting yourself up for...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Bambi wrote: »
    Me great granda murdered a sailor with his bare hands in the states apparently

Me granda (political though)
    A few family friends and a few friends (some political, some were just ODC's lol)

....Bertie?:eek:

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

A cousin of mine is locked up for murder. He was put away last year. I've mixed feelings on the issue.

That's the only person i've ever properly known who is/was in jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭electric69

The Monks son.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭ricey

Ya i know too many!! Have a family member doing life, really gets me down
    but do the crime do the time!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

yeh a cousin of mine is doing 5 years for drug offences. I won't say anything like 'he got in with a bad crowd' or any of that because it would be horsesh1te - he knew exactly what he was doing, it just went pearshaped on him. Sad situation - his wife just had a baby before he went in, he also got married right before he went in which was great to see but sad at the same time as we all knew a custodial sentence was inevitable. Imaging being the wife and knowing your next 5 anniversaries will be spent alone with your child?? tough lady - I've a lot of resect for her.

Anyway, genuniely prison has been the making of him. He's there 2 years now. Gave up the fags, goes to the gym everyday and is writing a lot about his experiences - he reckons he'll write a book about his experiences inside - and I bet he will! We here from him the odd time - every now and then he gets access to a mobile phone and rings us and he tells us the maddest funniest stories about prison life. Obviously there's a very depressing side to it aswell. He says there's stabbings everyday over drugs and just the other day a chap was murdered for a score of heroin. Although he did drugs he never went the heroin route (consuming or selling) so him seeing poeple inject and be off there faces is quite scary.. He is a chef so gets to work in the kitchen and therefore mingles with the female inmates more than others. He said he reguarly sees the Scissor sisters! (the ones what carried your mans head in a bag around The Square) :eek:

Anyway, that's my tale

you might as well have just given his name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

It is of course; only difference between a house breaker and a tax evader is the latter is robbing from every tax payer in the country.

Well, no, that's not totally true. The former is breaking and entering whereas the latter is not. Obviously all theft should be treated with the same degree of seriousness in the eyes of the law but it's important to realise that some forms of theft, such as burglarly and hold ups, involve an element of crime, namely breaking and entering and possession of a firearm that is rarely, if ever, seen in white collar crime.

Not trying to argue that white collar crime should be ignored just wanted to make that important but subtle distinction that people often seem to skip over.

Earthhorse wrote: »
    Well, no, that's not totally true. The former is breaking and entering whereas the latter is not. Obviously all theft should be treated with the same degree of seriousness in the eyes of the law but it's important to realise that some forms of theft, such as burglarly and hold ups, involve an element of crime, namely breaking and entering and possession of a firearm that is rarely, if ever, seen in white collar crime.

Not trying to argue that white collar crime should be ignored just wanted to make that important but subtle distinction that people often seem to skip over.

In fairness the comparison I made was between shoplifting and tax evasion. I would take a more serious view of burglary as there is the fear factor involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I know several people that has been to jail, ranging from white collar crime to robbery.

Collie D wrote: »
    By true scum I assume you mean the working classes? You really are a piece of work. Between your obvious hatred of women and anyone who's not from a leafy middle class suburb, you're the most blatant snob on here at times. I thought this before about you but decided to give you the benefit ogf the doubt but one or two of your comments today have really bugged me.

So your mate got banged up for tax evasion? Was it on a large scale? It's still theft of a sort. What's the difference between that and somebody shoplifting? I bet you'd be screaming for anyone who stole from you to be put away.

Justice has always worked differently in this country depending on who your parents are and where you live. People like you will ensure this continues.

Rant over

EDIT I've had a smke and calmed down a bit but in answer to the OP, yes. Some minor things and some very serious.

No, by true scum I mean anyone who goes into a shop and holds a syringe full of infected blood to the shopkeepers neck in order to get them to empty the till, the people who source illegal firearms and use them to terrify innocent bank employees, the people who break into houses, the people who rob cars, the people who mug innocent people on the street whilst holding a weapon to them. THEY are what I'm referring to when I say "true scum". I could give a fck what kind of background they come from, involving or damaging (either physically or mentally) innocent people is an act of pure scum.

The difference between that sort of crime, and white collar crime, or tax evasion, is that there are innocent bystanders affected or hurt in the midst of it. Who gets hurt by someone dodging paying their taxes? However, plenty of people are left damaged (physically or mentally) by violent acts of crime including those named above.

I'd like to see the Gardaí sort these type of people out first and foremost, the serious violent criminals in our society. Until the statistics for these crimes drop, I could give a f*ck if every single person in the country decides to skim their tax.

As we saw in Limerick recently, now children are being brought into it, 14 year old children firing guns at houses. F*ck white collar crime while this kind of thing is happening in our country. Yes, tax evaders are criminals yet they can not be compared to those going out and robbing banks, organising gang "hits" etc.

As I said, I could give a fcuk what kind of background these "true scum" as I call them come from. If a lot happen to be from the "working classes", so be it, then there's obviously a problem there that needs to be tackled, whether it be education or whatever but I'm in no way making a sweeping statement that working class = true scum.

Also, I don't hate women, I just don't think they should be allowed drive on our roads :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

RB_ie yu were making such a good case for yourself until you wrote that last line!

I WILL hunt you down!:D

No, by true scum I mean anyone who goes into a shop and holds a syringe full of infected blood to the shopkeepers neck in order to get them to empty the till, the people who source illegal firearms and use them to terrify innocent bank employees, the people who break into houses, the people who rob cars, the people who mug innocent people on the street whilst holding a weapon to them. THEY are what I'm referring to when I say "true scum". I could give a fck what kind of background they come from, involving or damaging (either physically or mentally) innocent people is an act of pure scum.

The difference between that sort of crime, and white collar crime, or tax evasion, is that there are innocent bystanders affected or hurt in the midst of it. Who gets hurt by someone dodging paying their taxes? However, plenty of people are left damaged (physically or mentally) by violent acts of crime including those named above.

I'd like to see the Gardaí sort these type of people out first and foremost, the serious violent criminals in our society. Until the statistics for these crimes drop, I could give a f*ck if every single person in the country decides to skim their tax.

As we saw in Limerick recently, now children are being brought into it, 14 year old children firing guns at houses. F*ck white collar crime while this kind of thing is happening in our country. Yes, tax evaders are criminals yet they can not be compared to those going out and robbing banks, organising gang "hits" etc.

As I said, I could give a fcuk what kind of background these "true scum" as I call them come from. If a lot happen to be from the "working classes", so be it, then there's obviously a problem there that needs to be tackled, whether it be education or whatever but I'm in no way making a sweeping statement that working class = true scum.

Also, I don't hate women, I just don't think they should be allowed drive on our roads :)

The point you made that bugged me wa that there are far, far more criminals in the lower classes.

I think one is just as likely to get their head kicked in any southside rugby club as they are in any working class boozer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I know about 20 people who have done time or are currently doing time.
    Five of them did a week for assault, four are there for drug offences (heroin and cocaine) and the rest vary from breaking and entering to other petty theft type crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

And a little bit of respect is lost... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

snyper wrote: »
    I know a guy from dublin that butchered his wife and 2 kids a few yrs ago near Moate. Really lovely guy. Very polite. Anger managment issues. Hes now being used as a sex toy in Jail.

Is rape that prevalent in Irish prisons?

I havn;'t a clue about the Irish justice system.

I think I know what case he is referring to and if so that guy is being held in Arbour Hill which is mostly a sex offenders institute. Although I don't think it's a major problem there have been incidents over the years and in a prison full of sex offenders, I wouldn't be too surprised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭board om

i was thinking about this last night. i have known quite a few people who have done time for various offences, mainly burglary, drugs, and motor offences.

there is a shop around the corner from where i grew up, its only a small little shop. i dont want to give too much details becuase it would be unfair to the family. but anyways, the same guy ran the shop for years. everyone in the area would have known him as a nice fella, harmless really. there is a girls school around the corner from the shop and it was always a bit of a joke that he used to be checking out the girls when they would be walking past the shop in their uniforms, but i always assumed it was a joke and people were just winding up this lad up becuase he was so harmless and non-threatening. (i will point out this guy is late forties or early fiftes now, we arent talking about a young guy here). anyway, one day last year his shop was closed and there was a note on the window saying 'closed until further notice', and this note stayed there for the next few weeks. nobody knew where your man was, everyone actually thought he was in hospital having an operation or something like that. so after a few weeks of the shop being closed we eventually found out that he had been sentenced to a few years in prison for molesting kids. the sick fcuker had been mr polite and always as nice as can be, and the whole time he was actually touching up kids. i still cant believe it.

another guy i know did 6 months for a motor offence that he didnt even do. he was arrested on a warrant and dragged before the courts. 'apparently' he had been stopped on a motor bike with no tax and insurance but he actually hadnt. obviously someone else had been stopped and had given his name. so when he got to court he was sentenced to 6 months for no tax and insurance and for not turning up at the the original court date. the problem was though that he came from a criminal family and although he wasnt really like the rest of the family, he was tarred with the same brush. and even if he did know who had given his name he couldnt grass them up as it isnt the done thing where he is from. so he had to keep quiet and do the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I know a few guys in jail and a few guys who have done time. It normally depends on the crime as to how i will view them. Mostly theft and stuff, some assault, one very serious crime.

I'd call them all mates i guess.

Your treatment in prision invariable depends on two things in Ireland.

1) What you did
    2) Who you know

The first one can be complicated. Go to prision for gang related murder or assault and such and you'd better hope some of your mates are in their because some of his will be.

Go to prision for doing something to your own family, or children and your life is made a living hell. It's kind of odd that most criminals i know, professionals who actually provide for their families through crime.....have an absolutely total disgust for rapists, kiddy fiddlers and the like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i know a few people inside and more who did a bit mostly drugs and protecting territory its darwinisim in action imo
    main difference is they got caught the main crims that i know know/of or have met just never got caught because they are too smart too protected or just bloody lucky

not "bad " people not "easily led" just lads that think there is an easier way than working half yer walking life in a job that gives you nothing for money that'll leave you stuck in a world where m,ore and more we want stuff

i also knew one psycho but he's gone now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

A guy in my class in college had a prison sentence to look forward to once his course was finished. He was caught in possession of a large quantity of Es. Think they let him finish college cos of how well behaved, co-operative etc he was once they caught him. Really nice, quiet guy - I don't know how he fared in Cork Prison.

Other than that, I don't know anyone who is in/has been to jail - I just know of people who have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

My cousin is currently doing a stretch in a far away land for using clients money to pursue his own happiness. Damn solicitors :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I only had one friend that went to prison, but he did his time over in the UK then moved to Ireland when he got out so he wouldn't end up back in jail.

I know loads of convicted felons that never went to jail. A large proportion of the lads in my town have been convicted of something, usually fighting, driving offences or drugs.