Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paris Marathon Sunday

• 03-04-2008 3:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭

Many other boards heads running on Sunday?

Any specific goals? Im aiming for 3 '15 myself,

Jaysus Im nervous though.:eek::eek:

Looks like it could be chilly with a few showers.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

Does your 3h15min include the 4hours to pass the start line with 30,000 runners ?:)
    Bonne chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭raemie21

Hey, yeah Paris will be my first one. I'd be delighted with 4:15, still stretching and icing a groin strain but hoping won't bother too much on the day.

Having dreams turning up on the day without my runners or forgetting to put on my race number and being kicked out. Like bloody exams all over again. Nervous as hell but wouldn't have it any other way really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

The dreams are pretty common before your debut, enjoy them!

Enjoy the race, it's a cracker. It can be congested though so try and get as far to the front of your allocated pen as you can. And look out for the Medoc stand at around 40km ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭trinewbie

raemie21 wrote: »
    Hey, yeah Paris will be my first one. I'd be delighted with 4:15, still stretching and icing a groin strain but hoping won't bother too much on the day.

Having dreams turning up on the day without my runners or forgetting to put on my race number and being kicked out. Like bloody exams all over again. Nervous as hell but wouldn't have it any other way really!

Hey Raemie - how did you get on on Sunday? It was my first marathon too, ran in 3hrs 16, quite pleased, but lost touch with the 3'15 pacemaker at km 35 after being tripped and having to stop for a minute to stretch out my hamsteing after the fall..

Very lucky with th weather, I thought the temperature was just right, and not a drop of rain....deadly experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

trinewbie wrote: »
    Im aiming for 3 '15 myself,
    trinewbie wrote: »
    ran in 3hrs 16, quite pleased

While your time is pretty impressive, the accuracy of your expectation is also. Well done on both accounts, but especially the first one. My only chance to do 3'15 would be to cycle it or take short-cuts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭trinewbie

911sc wrote: »
    While your time is pretty impressive, the accuracy of your expectation is also. Well done on both accounts, but especially the first one. My only chance to do 3'15 would be to cycle it or take short-cuts!

Cheers, it was some experince though, defnitely something I wont ever forget, My estimation was based on my long run times, My fist half was pretty much perfect for giving an even split for a 3'15, so fair play to the pace maker on that...from around 26k onwards the pace was a little eratic though.