Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

vegas virgin

• 03-04-2008 3:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭

i'm off to vegas in a couple of weeks for the first time and would like any tips and advice about the place?

i'm staying in the flamingo which i believe is pretty central, and going through old threads, i saw a few links for tournaments there but nothing on cash games.

i play mainly .5/1 and 1/2 online, so i imagine i'll be playing 1/2 and 2/5 over there. Anyone know where the softest tables are? the best casinos for poker?

any and all tips would be appreciated with regards to poker or anything else anyone might deem worthwhile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Ah the memories.
    I stayed in the Flamingo the first year I went, you'll get used to the smell. Don't play in the poker room in the Flamingo.... its depressing.

Ceasers palace is across the road and I found the poker room there great. The cash games are fairly soft and there are always $1 $2 games and $2-$5 games going.

I also found that the Venetian poker room is good aswell.

Definitely go and see a show while your over there, in fact I would book it before you go...

I did the helicopter trip to the Grand Canyon last year, and all I can say is WOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

First off, you'll love vegas. Whats not to love eh!! Yeah the Flamingo is central on the strip. I stayed in downtown both times I was there and I found that the Nugget and binions were handy enough regarding cash tables. It was only 1/2 and 2/4 though....did'nt play anything higher so can't comment.

Go and see the Canyon for def.

Ghost bar, voodoo and Ra nightclubs are wicked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

we really need a vegas guide sticky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭The Tourist

smurph wrote: »
    I did the helicopter trip to the Grand Canyon last year, and all I can say is WOW
    Do you get to get out and walk around on those?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Yeah you do, well i did anyway, you have a "Champagne Breakfast" thing and get to have a look around for a while. The best part was flying back in over the strip imo, class view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

Great place to go, The americano's are so nice it's unreal, you have to tip them though nearly everywhere you go. Drink is free in the casion's just give the girl a dollar when she comes out to you with your drink

Restaraunts were top class, top quality service, never waiting long etc. Get a limo from the airport to your hotel only costs $55 dollars, plus it feels great when you pull up in the forecourt of the hotel and a guy in a tuxedo opens the door for you, class.

Play in the Bellagio for the class of the place, If you see Doyle Brunson and a few other high rollers there in Bobby's room go on in and watch, just pool all your money together with your mates and you'll have enough for one Big Blind:)

Cash games in ceasar's were very soft

Play the venetian deepstack tourney

Go to the shooting range get your self a big AK47 and shoot it a couple of times

Then go to the chicken ranch and shoot off a couple of times as well:pac:(never there myself just heard a rumour...from eh... strewelpeter:))

Enjoy mate ... you lucky fecker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

I expected so much more from this thread....

OP you should search the one of very many threads on this topic, they will more useful than this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

Best value food in Vegas has to be the buffet lunch in the Bellagio, it's unbelievable for choice & value. Eat as much as you want of the best of food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭TheRock

mdwexford wrote: »
    Yeah you do, well i did anyway, you have a "Champagne Breakfast" thing and get to have a look around for a while. The best part was flying back in over the strip imo, class view.

Mick, what crowd did you do that with and how much?
    Going over myself in June and looking to do something similar, but finding ridiculous prices on the net, around $500-$600 each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

Here's a blog that has good very recent reviews of the poker rooms:
    http://www.lasvegasadvisor.com/blogs/dmatthews/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

kakak1 wrote: »
    Best value food in Vegas has to be the buffet lunch in the Bellagio, it's unbelievable for choice & value. Eat as much as you want of the best of food.

QFT couldnt agree more, the one in the Rio is like McDonalds in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭shrapnel222

brilliant, thanks for all the tips and links.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Tinytony

Has anybody ever used the BMI direct service to Las Vegas? Would it be reccommended?
    I'm thinking of heading over in November for a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

TheRock wrote: »
    Going over myself in June and looking to do something similar, but finding ridiculous prices on the net, around $500-$600 each.

Cant remember their name Alan but i think it cost $250 or so. Definitely dont pay anything like $600 anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭dK1NG

When would be hte best time to go? We're headn over this Summer for 2 wks, but havent decided on any specific dates yet!

dK1NG wrote: »
    When would be hte best time to go? We're headn over this Summer for 2 wks, but havent decided on any specific dates yet!

Went last year for 2 weeks. It's too long in my opinion. 7days in Vegas and 7days somewhere else in the states would be better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭shrapnel222

smurph wrote: »
    Went last year for 2 weeks. It's too long in my opinion. 17days in Vegas and 7days somewhere else in the states would be better.

i'd heard of this vegas timewarp thing but when a week becomes 17 days, that's good value for money there!!! I wonder if i can get my boss to see it that way :p

lol
    7 days, not 17 lol

Cheers Smurph, thinking now of a week in Cuba then a week in Vegas in early June!:)

EDIT: After checking it out, Cuba is out of the question apparently! So, thinking of a week in Cancun instead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

two weeks in Vegas could be touch. My last trip was for 5 days.. and I was a broken man coming home.

I've had 3 trips, and damn it... I'm starting to feel the urge again.

Stayed in the MGM the first two times i was there... great hotel, but the poker is pretty crap there. Last time I staying in the Flamingo. It's not remotely as nice as the MGM, but it is a good bit cheaper.

The games in Caesars are the way to go. There's a few tournaments on there too if that's what your into. The 1/2 are ultra soft and the 2/5 is pretty easy going. I was there around wsop time so not sure how much of a difference that makes.

Don't discount the small ****ty game in the flamingo either. It's very very soft. It's a nice stop off point for an hour on your way to bed from other joints.
    I did just that one day coming back from Caesars. It was about 5am. I didn't stop playing until 9am or so cause it was just so damn soft. I cleaned up.

Don't forget to see the sites too... of which there are many!
    Anyway, best of luck and enjoy the trip.

Some nice advice there jimbling! Cheers.

As for hotels, would ye advise staying central or towards one end of hte strip? Or does it matter? A mate of mine stayed in the Luxor last yr n said it might be better staying more central.... Any thoughts on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,606 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

dKIng.

I marginally preferred the Luxor/Excalibur/MGM/NYNY end, nice 'vibe'.

The Caesars/Bellagio/Paris/Ballys middle section is more upmarket.

I'd avoid anything north of Circus Circus (inclusive).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

dK1NG wrote: »
    Some nice advice there jimbling! Cheers.

As for hotels, would ye advise staying central or towards one end of hte strip? Or does it matter? A mate of mine stayed in the Luxor last yr n said it might be better staying more central.... Any thoughts on this?

I'd say try and stay central. There's plenty of hotels there that are pretty reasonable. Even MGM isn't really that pricy. The Flamingo and Excalibur are the cheaper hotels in that area.

jimbling wrote: »
    Don't forget to see the sites too... of which there are many!
    Anyway, best of luck and enjoy the trip.

The tough bit will be to fit in poker around everything else!:D

On a serious note, do people sleep in Vegas - so much to do, so little time.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭corkie123

TheRock wrote: »
    i seen it at 350 over there