Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Noisy cars

• 01-04-2008 10:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭

I am really pissed off with these boy racer fcuktards and their noisy cars.:mad:

Woken up at 3 O'Clock by loads gobshtes driving around in 2nd gear to make their cars sound rapieh!!!!!

Is there laws against the noise on their engines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Hate the noise of them too, very annoying. :mad:
    Not sure how illegal those loud exhausts are though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

My muppet of an ex used to have a realllly noisy car! He loved it and did something (haven't a clue how) to make it even louder!

Saps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

No laws against the cars, there are laws against disturbing the peace with them. Did you ring the cops?

I'm not in favour of banning loud cars - that would be extreme and punish more than would deserve it.

There should be something done about the muppetry though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

MizzLolly wrote: »
    My muppet of an ex used to have a realllly noisy car! He loved it and did something (haven't a clue how) to make it even louder!

Saps!

Sounds like the ould hole in the exhaust trick...not really a trick, it's more just acting the ********

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭SunnyP

I have never seen the point of noisy big exhausts - does it not annoy the hell out of the driver while driving

Sounds like the ould hole in the exhaust trick...not really a trick, it's more just acting the ********

That's it, something to do with a hole in the exhaust!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

It serves just about as much use for the driver as go faster stripes, it just makes it seem like they're in something amazing making so much noise...but really they're in a 1.4 '92 honda civic...(and no i do not drive a 1.4 '92 civic!)

It serves just about as much use for the driver as go faster stripes

Are they two stupid strips going down the car???

If so... he had them too!! :o The Shame!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

swingking wrote: »
    I am really pissed off with these boy racer fcuktards and their noisy cars.:mad:

Woken up at 3 O'Clock by loads gobshtes driving around in 2nd gear to make their cars sound rapieh!!!!!

feck off:D:D

if loud cars make them happy then great.

my car so soooooooo loud i cannot hear around me, so i cant notice emergency vehicles for example, or even better assholes sitting on their horn.
    im not a fcuktard im highly educated, and i modify my engine myself:rolleyes:
    bet you pay some guy e300 to change your oil:D

IMO the only fcuktards are the gob****es driving boring diesels, jeeps, korean, small **** cars.

some people drive for fun get yer head around it:mad:

sports manifold, 1 silencer, de-cat, and happy days i piss the dry ****es off.:D:D:D priceless, you make it worthwhile tbh:D

edit: my engine is loud as its a race engine fitted to a classic car, its exhaust bore is about performance so isnt big.
    a big bore exhaust actually decreses your performace from you engine.

im not being a dick, just a bit sarcastic to the OP!

lads you know feck all about cars tbh, ALOT of cars with big exhausts have powerful engines, 200+ bhp in a typeR civic is ALOT of power, alot of hot hatches put out this power too.

i agree with you about the dopes around who just do it to look cool, and know sweet **** all about mechanics and how engines work, drive around in clapped out heaps of ****!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

A few noisy "boy racer" cars used to come around my place as well at all hours of the morning, very annoying to ones sleep.

They stopped when their rear windows started to get shattered, dunno how, a catapult I suppose, by irrate neighbours I think.... It was never solved & they went away...

kona wrote: »
    my car so soooooooo loud i cannot hear...some people drive for fun get yer head around it.....

No problem with that, not outside my house at 3 in the morning though.

My car is loud (not in the knacker / scumbag sense AND it has a factory exhaust), I wouldn't deliberately drive it around a residential area in the early hours though.

I'd agree with Trojan if it happened to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn!

I own a high powered car Jap Turbo car. I have a 3" exhaust (a quiet one at low rpm). It did help allot with power i now have 240bhp (with other minor modifications.) With a fuel pump ill be pushing that to about 260bhp.
    • I get on well with my neighbours
    • Have never had a complaint
    • i dont drive like a cock
    • I dont rev the sh1t out of the car in second gear
    • My car is maintained to a high standard
    • After 11pm i coast my car into the estate
    • I have many friends who are the same
    • My racing is done at track days and drag racing days
    Now i do have a have a integra in a neighbouring estate who has an annoying habit of revving the sh1t of the car at all hours of the day and night and that behaviour pisses everyone off.

Its not the exhausts that are the problem its often down to the drivers who are plain and simply disrespectful. I assure you i could wake you up at night with a standard exhaust if i was being an ass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

as the OP said, its the dickhead that sits in 2nd gear while driving around build up areas thats the problem. Even the loudest exhaust can be driven silently if you want, driving in 3rd gear at below 3k revs will usually make no noise at all.

these scumbags would drive with there windows down and the music thumping if these exhausts were banded (its happened in spain). They are dicks, get their license plate number and phone the garda.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

My Da called them muscle cars back in his time. Something about Pontiac GTO's and a song by the Beach Boys? Or was it some other group he listened to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Orbghost

I used to be a bit of a boy racer when I was a lad.
    I had a modified metro. It had a custom paint job, lowered to the floor, sports exhaust, bored engine, custom air filter.........you get the idea.

I was very proud of that car and boy did it make me feel good.

One thing you have to give these lads is the amount of pride and care they give their cars. They are nearly all immaculate.

However............
    Now I'm in my early 30's I have a little more wisdom on my side.

It seems quite crazy that a teenager can get his hands on a high powered car. If you look at the stats, most accidents are caused by young male drivers. At that age you take risks for thrills. FACT!

When you are a little older with experience of driving you don't take such stupid risks. You know just how bad and pointless it all is.
    Having said that there are plenty of adult idiots on the roads granted but the kids just don't have the driving experience. You really need 10 years of driving experience in my opinion.

So, I have to say I think a limit on engine size should be made law up to the age of 25. In fact I would say up to the age of 22 you cannot drive anything over 1000cc. Perhaps then, you can go up a 100cc for every year of driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

There's nothing wrong with a loud engine. It's a beautiful sound and a completely different kettle of fish to a loud exhaust.

I'm told having a straight threw exhaust can improve performance on a high performance car but dicks who put loud exhausts on **** cars should be kicked up and down the street. It's stupid highlighting the fact you've got a piece of **** car with extra bits of useless plastic attached to it.

I remember hearing rumbles that the EU wanted to ban these loud exhausts but even if that hasn't come though they can probably still be done for breaking the law. I would have thought that a straight threw exhaust wouldn't have a catalytic converter, which is required by law if I'm not mistaken?? They've also technically modified there car and gotten a performance boost which their insurance company might not like.

I like fast cars but I'd be embarrassed to sit in some of those cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

I own a high powered car Jap Turbo car. I have a 3" exhaust (a quiet one at low rpm). It did help allot with power i now have 240bhp (with other minor modifications.) With a fuel pump ill be pushing that to about 260bhp.
    • I get on well with my neighbours
    • Have never had a complaint
    • i dont drive like a cock
    • I dont rev the sh1t out of the car in second gear
    • My car is maintained to a high standard
    • After 11pm i coast my car into the estate
    • I have many friends who are the same
    • My racing is done at track days and drag racing days
    Now i do have a have a integra in a neighbouring estate who has an annoying habit of revving the sh1t of the car at all hours of the day and night and that behaviour pisses everyone off.

Its not the exhausts that are the problem its often down to the drivers who are plain and simply disrespectful. I assure you i could wake you up at night with a standard exhaust if i was being an ass

Well said, there's nothing wrong with people who are enthusiastic about cars as long as they have some common sense to go along with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

Orbghost wrote: »
    So, I have to say I think a limit on engine size should be made law up to the age of 25. In fact I would say up to the age of 22 you cannot drive anything over 1000cc. Perhaps then, you can go up a 100cc for every year of driving.

That is an incredibly rediculous statement. I am 21 and I drive a 1900cc diesel. Do you think I am not entitled to?

Some people need a larger engined car, I do roughly 20,000 miles a year, therefore a larger engined car suits my needs,
    as I do a lot of motorway driving etc.

Engine size has nothing to do with this, the noise is created by high revving and aftermarket backboxes.

A 1l micra with a loud backbox will make more noise than a 2.5l car with a standard backbox.

The solution to the problem in the OP is patroling of areas by the gardi to ensure that this does not go on,
    another good idea would be to ban back-boxes as this is what knackers get for their car as they are relatively cheap.
    Perhaps only allowing full through exhaust systems for enthusiests (sp?), as these are expensive (probably out of scum
    price range since they're driving old cars mainly)
    and actually increace performance.

By your logic when your 35 you could drive a 2l :rolleyes:, get real.

Schism wrote: »
    Well said, there's nothing wrong with people who are enthusiastic about cars as long as they have some common sense to go along with it.

Nothing wrong with modifying etc as long as your obey the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Silent Partner

Schism wrote: »

Unfortunately there are far too many out there with no common sense. I live in Portlaoise and can regularly hear these spanners out at night. It does my head in.

Often, it's the ones without common sense that end up as stastics on the news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

that's bull tbh. there are plenty of young ones out there perfectly capable of handling the large engines, just as there are plenty of older people who have larger engines they can hardly get to grips with (just like yer 30 something wan in an 07 Porshe yesterday who nearly caused a head on because she overtook me on a blind corner, inches away she was). You see this all the time on our roads. any regulation like that should be based purely on merit. i.e. first test can't drive anything above 1.4, then do another course revision thing to show you can hold larger engines say up to 2.5 then another for larger engines still or some such...

Yeah well that would work but involve a lot of expense.
    I still stand by my point that by far, the majority of people 30 years or older are more responsible drivers than those in their teens simply because when you are younger you take more risks. And therefore it's seem quite stupid that a kid can pass his test and drive any car regardless of it's power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I think we need a Nurburgring. People like speeding and showing off cars give them a place to do it in safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

if loud cars make them happy then great.

my car so soooooooo loud i cannot hear around me, so i cant notice emergency vehicles for example, or even better assholes sitting on their horn.
    im not a fcuktard im highly educated, and i modify my engine myself:rolleyes:
    bet you pay some guy e300 to change your oil:D

IMO the only fcuktards are the gob****es driving boring diesels, jeeps, korean, small **** cars.

some people drive for fun get yer head around it:mad:

sports manifold, 1 silencer, de-cat, and happy days i piss the dry ****es off.:D:D:D priceless, you make it worthwhile tbh:D

edit: my engine is loud as its a race engine fitted to a classic car, its exhaust bore is about performance so isnt big.
    a big bore exhaust actually decreses your performace from you engine.

im not being a dick, just a bit sarcastic to the OP!

lads you know feck all about cars tbh, ALOT of cars with big exhausts have powerful engines, 200+ bhp in a typeR civic is ALOT of power, alot of hot hatches put out this power too.

i agree with you about the dopes around who just do it to look cool, and know sweet **** all about mechanics and how engines work, drive around in clapped out heaps of ****!

:DBefore i even looked at who the poster was i tought of a car i had seen on adverts posted by none other then.... Kona.
    The car belongs on the modifiers wall of shame:D:D
    Just to share it http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=46619&cat=2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Simple solution: Place a large rock in the middle of the road, probably something around 9 inches high and preferably weighing at least 20kg.

Those driving slow enough can go around it. Those driving too fast will hit it, burst their sump and have an expensive repair bill.

Note: This may not be good advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

:DBefore i even looked at who the poster was i tought of a car i had seen on adverts posted by none other then.... Kona.

Hah. OWNED.

At least he should black the tyres in a for sale ad. It might make the car look a little less hideous.

im not a fcuktard im highly educated

*snigger*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭bluemachaveli

swingking wrote: »

Not every one who drives a modified car is a "boy racer fcuktard"

I have a fairly loud exhaust on my car, however i do tend to respect people in the area and keep the revs low around housing estates etc.

shot of yer ma:D

no seriously, that guy is called koni.....as in koni shock absorbers, im KONA as in kona mountain bikes, now i think your dislexic, and the ****tard around here:cool::cool:

who is owned now cheddar head;)

and a 01 celica isnt a classic car.

in for the gob****e who sniggers, what does that say for you??? moron, ive more qualifications than your sorry ass, or the ones you can make up .:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

OHHMOG!

Apologies for sidetracking into a discussion about Koni's lovely car, but I just had to say OMG. He's probably highly educated too!

Edit: I followed bitemybanger's lead and misquoted. Apologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

I luv meh sxcy mr2, vroom vroom! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

I still stand by my point that by far, the majority of people 30 years or older are more responsible drivers than those in their teens simply because when you are younger you take more risks.

I'll stand by my point. i see just as much risk taking for the older age groups (if not more so) than the younger ones on our roads everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

LOL That car looks like a gay transformer!!!

in for the gob****e who sniggers, what does that say for you??? moron, ive more qualifications than your sorry ass, or the ones you can make up .:rolleyes:

Yeah yeah :rolleyes:

Convictions are not qualifications.

Jumpy wrote: »
    Yeah yeah :rolleyes:

Convictions are not qualifications.

very good:rolleyes:
    what did you learn today?? how to butter bread???

well in senior infants i learned to read and spell, looks like you couldnt even carry out this simple task, which most 6 year olds can do, so your qualifications must be , really basic...can you wipe your arse???:confused:
    or does mammy do that task for you because you keep messing up??

I always liken the boy racers with crappy cars (and engines) to when you're young and attaching that clip to your bicycle that makes it sound like a motorbike. Big noise but at the end of the day you still look like an idiot.

There's just something primal bout hearing the sound of a muscle car revving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

this is why we have lamposts and accident black spots in this country..

very good:rolleyes:
    what did you learn today?? how to butter bread???

well in senior infants i learned to read and spell, looks like you couldnt even carry out this simple task, which most 6 year olds can do, so your qualifications must be , really basic...can you wipe your arse???:confused:
    or does mammy do that task for you because you keep messing up??

lollers, u tipe funni.
    Wud stay to talk, but being caled for bed an it taykes ages for me to get into my jammies.

Jumpy wrote: »
    lollers, u tipe funni.
    Wud stay to talk, but being caled for bed an it taykes ages for me to get into my jammies.

well just dont stick your boxers on your head and you will be fine.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Kona, Jumpy cut it out or take it to pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

Kona, Jumpy cut it out or take it to pm.

spoil sport!

or with the theme of the thread:

spoiler sporty!!!!!

I'll stand by my point. i see just as much risk taking for the older age groups (if not more so) than the younger ones on our roads everyday.

Unfortunately accident statistics do not support your experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Lobster

I overtook a corolla on a hill one day with a loud exhaust, all the exhaust did for him was to let me know how hard he was trying not to let me pass;)
    Its far more impressive to have a car that makes little noise and doesn't sound like its trying too hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Can you imagine driving any sort of long distance in one of those?

I f8cking hate boy racers, making up for having a tiny c*ck with a load car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

I absolutely hate hate HATE noisy cars. The noise of them just goes through me, and the ones round where I live drive like lunatics. I dont see the need for it at all, yea you can have pride in your car, I just dont get why youd want to make it sound like the arse is falling out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Hate them.

There is nothing wrong with 'noisy cars' if it happens to be a ferrari etc.. as clarkson put it - "sounds like thor, the thunder god clearing his throat".

It's the 4-pot 1.4L shitboxes driven by baseball cap and soverigen ring wearing arseholes that cause all the irritation - take 'em away and squash 'em I say.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

just a point of clarification.

Blue & BA Bogman both made references to 'Muscle Cars' blue even referenced teh GTO, that is a muscle car, I have (well I like to think it is anyway) a 'Muscle car' 4.0L 5Spd XR6 Falcon, and even then its not all that impressive over here.

however no matter how much work you do and how hard you try and convince yerself a 1.4L Honda civic aint gonna cut the mustard in this league.

and theres nothin wrong with buying old cars either, just make sure they're not ****heaps, I just bought a 1988 300SE Mercedes for very little money, less than if I was to buy a 95 Civic,

which one would you rather have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

just a point of clarification.

Blue & BA Bogman both made references to 'Muscle Cars' blue even referenced teh GTO, that is a muscle car, I have (well I like to think it is anyway) a 'Muscle car' 4.0L 5Spd XR6 Falcon, and even then its not all that impressive over here.

however no matter how much work you do and how hard you try and convince yerself a 1.4L Honda civic aint gonna cut the mustard in this league.

and theres nothin wrong with buying old cars either, just make sure they're not ****heaps, I just bought a 1988 300SE Mercedes for very little money, less than if I was to buy a 95 Civic,

which one would you rather have

The civic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Ohhh someones a moaning Norris, look this debate goes on and on, some people don't have sence with their cars not all, I've a jap import, exhuast system the lot but I wouldn't drive through an estate giving it mustard at that hour of the night, any real car owner will respect the car and the people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

The stats would tend to contradict this:

http://www.rte.ie/news/features/roadsafety/roadsafetyissues.html
    Car crashes are the number one killers of young men (16 - 25) in Ireland and driving at excess speed is the primary cause of these crashes.

Driver error was the cause of 81% of all fatal and injury crashes from 1997 to 2000. Male drivers aged between 18 and 24 represented (24%) the majority of these drivers. Statistically 17-24 year olds are 7.7 times more likely to be involved in a fatal or serious injury collision. (Source: NRA)

The profile of the young driver most likely to be killed/injured in car crash is:

* Male, 17 - 25 age group, licence holder for less than two years.

Many die in single vehicle accidents where speeding was the principal factor. Bravado, peer pressure and a sense of invincibility often leads young men to take risks while driving, without realising the dangers of these risks.

The relative proportion of speeding-related crashes to all crashes decreases with increased driver age i.e. older drivers have fewer speed related crashes. Research conducted in the UK indicates that an 18 year-old driver is three times as likely to be involved in an accident as a 48-year-old. For every mile driven, a 17 year-old male is seven times more likely to be involved in an accident as a middle aged man

Whatever about accidents and fast driving, the loud exhausts really bug me too. Have a neighbour who is always working on cars outside the house, and revving engines late at night to show off to his mates, there was a big row one night with the neighbour who has a new baby, of course the boy racer dickhead is Polish so claimed not to understand, think he got the message when the other guy threatened to smash up his car. Hasn't happened since! :rolleyes: