Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I am a woman!!!!.......

• 01-04-2008 1:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭Curvy Vixen

....and as a woman I would like to buy a pair of jeans! I have hips, thighs, a bum and a flat stomach. I'm probably a 14/16 and a 31" leg.

Do you think I can find a pair of jeans that fit???? i.e. go around me, don't gape at the back, do up at the front and allow me to breath.

Do any 'real women' have an idea where I can get jeans please? I mostly shop in Dublin and just because of the hassle I've been having I'd rather not buy online...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

That "real women" term annoys me. Women come in all shapes and sizes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭Curvy Vixen

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Thanks for that fantastic piece of advice speedboatchase. If you know that women come in all shapes and sizes then is there any chance that you could pass your helpful comments onto the fashion designers and clothes makers of the world please???

Well plenty, if not most, high street shops cater for 14/16 so best bet is to try on a few pairs and settle if you want 14 or 16 and 30" or 32" length

Been there and done that. Spent most of Thursday night in every jeans shop I can find. However, having lost a pile of weight in the last year or two I'm not used to shopping in any shop other than Evans and the like, so wondered was I missing out on something/somewhere obvious.

I was in Dunnes, Oasis, River Island, New Look, Sasha, M&S and had no joy in any of them of a pair of 'well fitting' jeans.

A friend in work mentioned Levi Curvy Cut jeans but they don't seem to sell them here, hence the post looking for help and advice....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭BeansMeansHynes

Yep I have the same problem with Jeans.

I Normally wear baggy jeans for casual wear! There isnt a baggy pair of jeans to be found anywhere. I cannot find any jeans for going out either as it is all skinny jeans around and they so do not suit me at all.

I have tried all of the same shops plus Vera Moda and A Wear and nothing either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭PurplePrincess

Hey Curvy Vixen

Have you tried Dorothy Perkins? I've two pairs of their jeans and the fit is lovely. I also got a pair in Sasha, they're Kube brand and also fit nice. Its trial and error as you seem to be discovering. The things we do for fashion!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Penney's also have nice fitting jeans. It's just a matter of trying on the different styles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭shazpunk

I'm pretty much the same. Ive probably tried ob ever pair of jeans in dundrum at this stage, with no luck.

The only jeans I have ever gotten to fit well are American Eagle. They're pretty well priced (between $20-$40) and although they can be hassel getting over from the states, if you have a friend over there, you;d have free delivery to them, then just get it posted over. With the way the doller is atm you'de be crazy not to try them!

These are a great fit :)http://www.ae.com/web/browse/product.jsp?catId=cat90120&productId=1435_7940

I'm a 14/16 and wear a 10 for snug fit and 12 for comfort from AE.
    They can be long though, so just double check what to get leg wise :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭ozchick

I had to look for ages too, got one pair at Principle (I think that's correct spelling), wider leg ones and stretch, so they are really comfortable -and also a pair in Wallis, not normally the type of shop I'd wander into, but when you can't find what you are looking for...

I think they forget we have bums, hence the bagging out at the back of the waist problem. I can relate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Dinkie

My problem is that my jeans are tight on the bum, but baggy around the waist.

I got a nice pair from Topshop.... fits really nicely... and not too loose around the waist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Eviledna

I said it before and I'll say it again, A-wear in their new Wide-leg range!:D

Don't worry Curvyvixen, I know your strife!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 NYC Diva

I posted a thread re jeans last week too...forgot to thank my buddies here. Went to A-wear and got a grand pair. Grand around the bum and not too loose on the waist.

Heading stateside next month so I'll look up American Eagle - thanks for heads up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

A friend in work mentioned Levi Curvy Cut jeans but they don't seem to sell them here, hence the post looking for help and advice....

http://www.kildarevillage.com/Kildare/village/default.asp?brands=2432%26vId%3D213 They should stock them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I have major problems finding jeans that fit my waist and bum. They fit at the bum but are far too big at the waist as they're made for straight up and down women.
    I do find that when I'm lighter I have less of a problem as my bum isn't as big.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭deise gal

I know your pain ladies!But i'm surprised no one mentioned Next Some great jeans with a high ish waist( not up around your ears :D) They also do various lengths!! i have some fab jeans from next - casual & Dressy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 angelika

I find Oasis "Scarlet" cut jeans a great fit, and I am a size 14. They are cut slightly higher on the waist, so you don't get the muffin top/love handle thing going on and they are nice and flattering on the bum!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 candj

could try next,they do good fitting and reasonable price, they do many different styles straight leg, bootleg, flared, skinny,

you might have a look at my thread under parenting if you have a minute, I would love some female opinions up there as I am sort of getting hammered, yet everyone I speak to seems to agree with what I am trying to write - pbviously not wording it properly :confused:. Anyway would really aprreciate some support

navbits_start.gif boards.ie > Soc > Parenting navbits_finallink_ltr.gif lack of subsidised maternity benefit in private sector

Thank you all very much! Now I'm glad I asked :D

I'll head into town and up to Liffey Valley ~ hadn't tried any of the shops you suggested...kind of lost heart after searching!

Levi in Kildare Village don't have the Curvy Cut ~ thought I had it cracked when I heard about them as I pass there every night but they looked at me blankly when I asked :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Semele

I second whoever suggested these. They're definitely made for curvy girls! Me not being one of these, buying them was a mistake... I loved the colour and the loose-ish straight leg but while the waist was painfully tight at times I could have fit a pillow in the ass and it would still have been too big!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭stratospheres

Dorothy Perkins, Miss Selfridge and Topshop work for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

hey, h&m have about 7 or 8 different cuts of jeans, and the 'hula' brand fit my gf, who has a small waist but a nice full (:D) bum... Pretty reasonable prices too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭genie_us

Curvy I am in the exact same position as you, after weight loss etc and find the best fit jeans for me are the next ones, and in particular the 'stretch' ones in there. Marks and Spencers as well, and surprisingly enough I recently bought a pair in Tesco of all places (they're not dressy though) and they fit really well and are the most comfy pair I have!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭undecided

wrangler used to do jeans in a boot cut leg that were strechy... a friend used to live in them dont know where youd get them tho she used to ge them in roches
    hths

Last time I checked I was a 'real woman'. How would you like it if I implied anyone over size 12 was an abnormal freak? :rolleyes:

Anyway, I don't think anybody can ever find jeans that fit right. I'm a size 10 and still quite curvy and 95% of the time the jeans are just far too long, especially in Zara where they seem to cater for 7 foot tall women. I always end up getting them taken up or altered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭fits

fornarina are supposed to be very good jeans for a curvy shape.

i have the same problem OP, its a head wrecker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

[quote=[Deleted User];55569540]Last time I checked I was a 'real woman'. How would you like it if I implied anyone over size 12 was an abnormal freak? :rolleyes:.[/QUOTE]

It's a euphamism, like 'curvy'. It means 'fat'.
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

Hispanic/Black women have curves, Beyonce, Salma Hayek etc. When a white person says it you have to take it with a pinch of salt, especially when people like Fern Britton used to be hailed as "curvy". Even Fern herself went back on her earlier comments and said she was a bad role model. Surely a slim waist is needed to highlight and accentuate such curves? Anyways, Salma Hayek = hot, Fern Britton = not so much :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Clearly you aren't 'real' enough for the shops. They are hiding the clothes on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭-aboutagirl-

Have you looked in Topshop? They do a whole variety of styles and most of them are marked in waist sizes and leg lengths rather than 12,14 etc

Plus whats with the "real women" crap? Why are real women a 12/14? Just cos I've a smaller frames why does that make me any less of a real woman?!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 monters

gap do really nice jeans with a neat waist but enough room in the ahem....derriere!!! they are also nice and long too which is why i like them....
    topshop...bit boring
    river island....can be really touch and go with sizes
    oasis are nice and if you can order online - J Crew are lovely but a little prisey..

jeans are a nightmare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

Exact same problem.

I bought a pair of the Scarlet jeans form Oasis today, they are midrise which is good, pockets on the back are a bit funny though. I hate it when it gapes at the back and it too tight at the hips!

Further to this, why are dark wash only starting to come back in?, I'm sick of all this 'distressed' crap.

Dark wash came in a long time ago?

My idea of a 'real' woman would not be curvy as in fat but curvy as in not straight up and down like men are. Hourglass shape whatever your actual size.
    You have have this whether you are a size 8 or 14 or whatever.

A lot of jeans manufacturers seem to think women of any size have the same proportions at waist and hips.

Well sure, you have to have hips to be curvy, but the "hourglass" example only works if someone has a slim, or slightly toned waist. Otherwase the "hourglass" doesnt curve inwards, right? So there's straight down the middle (skinny), curvy (boobs, small waist, bum) and there's overweight (round all over) IMO

Yes, well of course clothes won't fit you well if you're overweight. Fashion isn't made for people who are over weight, sure if you are over a 16 you've pretty much had it with most shops.
    The bigger you are, the harder it is to get clothes to fit.

But a lot of clothes aren't even made for those of us who are a size 10 and have curves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭JaneyMc

I had a friend who had similar problems, she only buys her jeans from New Look now, she swears by them. I buy a lot of my clothes from there too and they're pretty affordable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 NudeastheNews

my problem with jeans is that i'm around 12-14.. as in 12s are a bit tight and i get a muffin top.. 14s are too big and fall down and show my crack/ massive hips.. WHAT TO DO?! its very annoying. Also "stretchy" 12s just show my crack all the time too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Brownie Points

try out the Jean Finder on http://www.levisstore.com/home/index.jsp - i got an order through from them as they fit great

Pythia wrote: »
    Yes, well of course clothes won't fit you well if you're overweight. Fashion isn't made for people who are over weight, sure if you are over a 16 you've pretty much had it with most shops.
    The bigger you are, the harder it is to get clothes to fit.

But a lot of clothes aren't even made for those of us who are a size 10 and have curves.

Pythia thank you ~ you seem to have go to these posts before I did and answered them correctly!

In my new book 'How to Offend 7 Gazillion People with One Innocent Comment' there is a whole chapter on the phrase 'curvy'. Curvy means just that....people, male or female...of EVERY size, that go in...and...out! Simple. Not said to offend anyone who is a size zero or a size 32!

I used to be a tight sized 32...I am now a size 14/16...so yes to the poster who's name I can't be arsed to look up, I was and am fat....not curvy, to a lot of people. However, after losing 13 stone, I am looking for help ~ sadly you're not providing it! :rolleyes:

Back to the subject in hand.....the jeans I have been trying on seem to be made only for mannequins to wear...i.e. those plastic models in the shops that look good in them cos their hips to waist ratio is zero!! (Probably upset the mannequin world now...) Because of my old size, I have not had the pleasure of 'normal' (no doubt I've offended someone else now!) sized shops and was looking for advice!

For anyone who still has an interest in this now boring subject, I found Red Herring jeans on Saturday in Debenhams and they seem to fit nicely around my fat arse whilst not hanging off of my smaller waist! That's someone else I've offended probably :rolleyes:

Thanks again to everyone else that's helped ~ had a good shopping day on Saturday!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I used to be a tight sized 32...I am now a size 14/16

Fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

13 stone? Thats incredible, fair play.

Thanks very much!! :o

Now you see my dilemma though ~ I'm not very experienced at buying jeans and the like and I see people in fab fitting jeans all the time so you start to think there must be a special 'proper fitting jeans' shop that you're missing out on!

I think that the problem is that I seem to be a size '15' ~ that leaves me with eating my way back up to a 16 or walking an extra half mile every day to get to the elusive 14! Looks like my trainers will be taking more punishment for a while ;)

It's actually cheering me up in one sense to hear that I'm not the only one that's having problems..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

I am black, i have the same problem... my best pair of jeans are all American brands! In Europe i do Next, Oasis(Scarlet) and Dunnes stores...

Well done on all the weight loss. I would imagine you already have much more of a selection to wear than you used to.

Jeans shopping is so frustrating as you get knocked down so often. It's always far too hot, you have trouble getting them on, etc, so you end up giving up.

Jeans with a bit of elastication in them are good. It means it'll fit tightly at the waist but will stretch a little for your bum.

It's the same with tops. If you have a big cup size, you have to buy big sizes of tops. This means they're too baggy at the waist, shoulders etc if you have a small back measurement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Scatman

hey
    my best friend is 14/16 and she has the same woes
    however ms selfridge and awear are excellent on her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Maglight

Have you tried Not Your Daughter's Jeans aka tummy tuck jeans? You can buy them in Pamela Scott. I hated the idea of them until I tried them on. Wow. What a difference. What a fit. And so comfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Glitzy100

Ah, so you think just because you're a 14/16 you can't find jeans that do all the requested things? Try to be a regular 10 or 12. It's a nightmare then as well. I think i have found 1 (yes that's ONE!) pair of jeans that do all the tricks, and that's a a pair of bootleg 7. Try them, they mightn't work for you, but you never know! So really, don't worry, we're all in the same boat more or less.
    My sis is bit on the curvier end of the femal-o-meter, she found a great pair of Fornarina jeans and a pair in Monsoon.
    Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Sugar Drunk

Pythia wrote: »
    I have major problems finding jeans that fit my waist and bum. They fit at the bum but are far too big at the waist as they're made for straight up and down women.
    I do find that when I'm lighter I have less of a problem as my bum isn't as big.

oh my god so its not just me?? I am size 8 but have a smaller waist and short ass legs. so i have to choose between jeans that fit my ass and hips and gape at the waist, jeans that fit waist and squish my ass or hipsters that are too bloody long and dont fit right. the only pair of jeans i have are a deisel pair that ive had years and are in bits but i have given up trying to find a new pair!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭peeps78

finding a pair of jeans that fit well has been a life long quest for me and, from reading this thread, it looks like for most other women too.
    it seems like you have to try on every pair of jeans in the country, and in a range of sizes as what is a 16 in one store is a 18 in another, to find the right pair.
    at the moment im having alot of success with next. i even bought a few pairs of the same type of jeans in case i dont find any as good for a while.

I brought one of my favourite pairs of jeans to the alterations place off Grafton Street. They fitted me perfectly everywhere except the waist.
    I asked them to take in the waist. They cut a V shape at the back and sewed it back up.
    They now fit absolutely perfectly! I would highly recommend doing this, it's about e20 but it means they fit the way you want.
    I'm going to bring more pairs in and get it done to them too.