Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mouthguards

• 30-03-2008 6:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭

I'm having my first sparring session on Tuesday and the coach told me I needed a mouthguard. I went to the nearest sports shop and bought what I thought was a mouthguard near the rugby section (the boxing section had none)

It was the type where you boil and then bite to adjust to your mouths shape.
    Only problem is that it covers my upper teeth and gums but not the lower half.

Is this normal or should I go out and buy a pair that covers my upper and lower teeth and gums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭armour87

Yes thats normal, it's only supposed to protect your upper teeth and gums.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

what you want is Heavy Impact: Sports such as boxing, squash and cricket are usually suited to this level of protection.'Heavy' impact mouthguards are often used at representative level.

Heavy mouthguards may have up to 300% more cushioning and 540% more resistance to distortion than most "Boil and Bite" mouthguards.
    have a look at this
    http://www.fightsuperstore.co.uk/products.asp/subcatID/8/source/8/mouth-guards.htm/?utm_source=Google%2BLatitude&utm_medium=cpc&utm_term=boxing%2Bmouthguards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Thanks folks, advice greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭ryoishin

There are ones that cover both the upper and lower teeth, are nt there.

What about getting one made, anyone got any places?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Judomad

OP just get yourself a shock doctor gumshield, these are great and also on the packaging there is something about you being insured by shock doctor if anything does happen to your teeth while using them, highly recommended..
    alot of boxers and mma lads i know use them. including myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

The only fighter I ever seen with the upper and lower shield was Holyfield....
    If you are at his level, go for it and get that shield, if not, stick with the one you have:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

What judomad said, get a shock doctor, stay away from the double mouth guards, there pointless, as bren said only holyfield wore 1 and if they where good every one would use them..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Judomad wrote: »
    OP just get yourself a shock doctor gumshield, these are great and also on the packaging there is something about you being insured by shock doctor if anything does happen to your teeth while using them, highly recommended..
    alot of boxers and mma lads i know use them. including myself!

Funnily enough, that was exactly what I bought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Well then thats good, just make sure you give a firm bite when the gumshield is taking out of the water, it protects upper and lower jaw, once you keep your mouth shut, best of luck with your 1st spar, let us know how it goes-words of advice, stick to the basics, jab and move and use your feet to stay away from his punches..and most of all, stay composed!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Judomad

cowzerp wrote: »
    ..and most of all, stay composed!

i disagree......i would have said dont get knocked the fudge out :D:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭DiscoHugh

If you have the money to splash around go to a dentist and get one made up (My dad was a dentist, so I was lucky enough to get it free but stupid enought o lose the gum shield after my dad retired :( ) Definitely superior to your standard boil and bite gum shield which im using now.

As for the double mouth guards a friend of mine had one and he wasnt all that mad about it. Maybe if your nose is fecked up beyond all belief....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

walshb wrote: »
    The only fighter I ever seen with the upper and lower shield was Holyfield....
    If you are at his level, go for it and get that shield, if not, stick with the one you have:D

Hopkins uses one(or at least he did till recently) too and I've seen quite a few others with it but I just can't remember who exactly .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭ryoishin

The bloke that mayweather trains wears one, i remember coz i think it had mayweather on the top and promotions on the bottom. Would a double one upset your breathing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Oilrig

Many years ago... when Oilrig was boxing, it was standard practice to go to a tooth doctor/dentist and have a mouth guard sorted, far better than the boil in a bag versions... :D