Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

6 years of hell neighbour

• 29-03-2008 2:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17

my neighbour has made my familys life hell for 6 years with damage to property verbale and mental and physicall we have been to the council time and time again but they dont seem to want to act even with solid proofe must we keep having to live a life of missery for me and my family its a traveler family causing us this misery please help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

What proof did you have? Does anyone else nearby have trouble with them? If you don't already, have someone set up some security lights and CCTV perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

I remember seeing a programme on rte about a house in limerick where this woman was being constantly targeted by hooligans damaging her property. She had clear video tape evidence of them coming into her garden but the gardai were never able to use it as proof. They gave the young lads warnings but sure they ignore that.

I'm sorry to say but I think your only option is to either come to some agreement/peace with these neighbours or move elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

my neighbour has made my familys life hell for 6 years with damage to property verbale and mental and physicall we have been to the council time and time again but they dont seem to want to act even with solid proofe must we keep having to live a life of missery for me and my family its a traveler family causing us this misery please help

I take it that the people next door cannot afford to be buying their home, in which case they can be transerred or evicted. According to the council, complaints must be submitted to them over the course of a year, with sufficient evidence they will evict / transfer them on the grounds of anti-social behaviour. If you are experiencing this for the last six years, are you sure you have been keeping a solid record and can provide enough proof?

What are they saying to you at this point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 pokerman123

he dose not want to be reasonable tried it many times

The council, what are they saying to you at this point?

Sorry to hear of your trouble, been there done that. I wasn't in a council property though, I had to track down their landlord then gave all my neighbours the landlords number to make their own complaints. He didn't care when I spoke to him first, but when everyone started on him - he didn't renew their lease.

he even said he would murder my 11 year old daughter she now finds it hard to sleep guards where called but as befor denied saying it when asked by the guards we waited 7 years for our house the council make the rules yet dont want to enforce them when it becomes a issieu

he even said he would murder my 11 year old daughter she now finds it hard to sleep guards where called but as befor denied saying it when asked by the guards we waited 7 years for our house the council make the rules yet dont want to enforce them when it becomes a issie

he even said he would murder my 11 year old daughter she now finds it hard to sleep guards where called but as befor denied saying it when asked by the guards we waited 7 years for our house the council make the rules yet dont want to enforce them when it becomes a issieu

He certainly is not going to admit to that. I take it that the gardai have been out a few times. I would be inclined to ask them for a copy of their records; call-outs that they have made to the house and take them to the council on Monday morning first thing. I certainly wouldn't mess with this guy, sounds a tad unhinged..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Bloody_Rootz

I had a major prob like this a few years back it was ongoing for around 7 years too but i was a kid and it had huge effects on me..
    In the first few years i was randomly beat up witch did really bother me too much but then as the years went on they started to break my windows everyday and the treats... I couldnt even have my friends over and my bedroom window was boarded up ;/ and when I call the Garda they never did nothing they said they needed cctv evidence and even that wouldnt help there was no stopping a family supposedly above the law..If it was me doing that stuff im sure it would be a diff story...we just moved and it ended then. We moved to a private appartment which costs way more i know but it was well worth having peace of mind... Crappy solution i know.. I don't think bad of all travelers alot of them were nice people but there is always a few that will be hell.

the council just keep aviding the complaints even had meetings with counciler with them but thay just dont want to act its like one law for them and none for anyone else

Have you sought any legal help? I'd start throwing the word around at the council to be honest. There is no quick-fix here, its going to get ugly before it gets better.

Im not sure if legal aid can help out here, they are very specific about what cases are taken on. But I'd definitely look into it.

//Edit

Legal aid

The above link is for legal aid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Put the pressure on the councillors OP.
    The local elections are not far away and these guys will do anything to get elected.

Have you a local paper? Would you go public?

I don't think you understand his situation if you were in it you would, I do if u goto papers and write something about them that will make things worse if you had somehow got the concillors to move them you think they will just forget about it? I can garuntee they will not.. People like that are scum and this is just normal daily entertainment for them..only ppl they are afraid of is other travelers.. sorry if I sound negitive but im being realistic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭board om

hey OP,

is it only you having problems with this family or are other people in the estate having similar problems? like would it be directed at you because you are the closest house to them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Is the property owned by the local authority or a private landlord?

If it's council, I used to work in a housing department and I have to admit, you really have to put the pressure on before anything is done - and I mean really put the pressure on. Draw their attention to everything. And yes, complaints from other residents will only strengthen your case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭seahorse

I really feel for you OP. This is a very good example of what goes on in council areas all over this country; decent people are left to raise their kids in hell while total scum are let run rampant wholly immune to the laws that are supposed to be there to curtail them.

The single thing I can think for you to do is to practically camp out in the local TD's office. You need to get a politician onside. Take every bit of evidence you have and take your child who's received those threats along with you and make sure your TD knows every aspect of what's gone on. Make sure you have copies of all police reports filed, the lot. There are anti-social laws that are being broken here and someone needs to put the fire under the arses of those lazy bastards who head council departments, who, needless to say, are going home to their own stress and abuse-free environments every day after work.

Sorry for the language mods but this type of thing really boils my blood. :mad:

Um nobody listening to me? :( seriously what do you think he'd achieve by doing all you said seahorse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

TDs won't be arsed helping you unless there's an election coming up. I think it would be more beneficial for the OP if he/she kept annoying the council's housing department.

Ultimately the TD will have to liaise with the housing department anyway, so why not cut out the middle man?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭ciaran2008

It would appear speaking to the family is out of the question so. .

I recommend phoning a variety of agencies and this way they can work together to stop this. If you live in the south contact the garda, keep hassling the council because if this family are as bad as you say the chances are the council and garda may already know of them etc. If they are making noise etc contact environmental health and you can get through to them by phoning your local council.

If the council are refusing to act report the matter to senior authorities and if then they still refuse to listen I recommend you contact your solicitor and pay your GP a visit to discuss the mental affects this may have had on you are any family members. Should your GP decide you have suffered from this i.e. depression etc and because the council failed to act your solicitor may well wish to initiate legal proceedings against the council For psychological damages and the slightest threat of this will get the council moving! Trust me! Anyway good luck with your problem!

Um nobody listening to me? :( seriously what do you think he'd achieve by doing all you said seahorse?

I dont know if you've given this any thought Bloody_Rootz, but not every council tenant has the option of moving to an expensive private apartment. A lot of council tenants are trapped in this situation. Do you not think if the OP could just up sticks and start paying five or six times more rent they'd have already done that at some point in the last six years?

I sympathise with you also that you had that to deal with, I have seen a lot of this and it is a horrible thing; but there are lots of people who just cannot do what you did, single parents who cannot work full-time being a prime example. Not everybody has the same choices open to them that you had.

On a particular flight of ground-floor steps in Ballymun, for example, about forty or fifty scumbags congregate every single night and drink themselves stupid, fighting and shouting and taking drugs and pissing in the hallway till 5am. I've got people close to me who live in Ballymun so I spend a bit of time there. I don't know the girl who lives in the apartment just a few feet away from where all this has been happening every single night FOR YEARS, but I have seen the same girl come and go with her kids for all that time; I've never even met that girl but I really feel for her, and I reckon if she had any way out she'd be long gone.

Dudess wrote: »
    TDs won't be arsed helping you unless there's an election coming up. I think it would be more beneficial for the OP if he/she kept annoying the council's housing department.

Ultimately the TD will have to liaise with the housing department anyway, so why not cut out the middle man?

Because unfortunately, being a TD, the middle man in this case is deemed worth listening to Dudess, whereas council tenants unfortunately are not. The council doesn't give a damn what is going on in council estates as far as I can see, as long as they get their rent they don't seem to care less about what some of their tenants get up to.

Just wanted to add, you know, you can really see the crazy disparity here when you imagine how this situation would be dealt with were it happening in a privately owned apartment block. The offending party would be given notice to quit the property on the spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

seahorse wrote: »
    Just wanted to add, you know, you can really see the crazy disparity here when you imagine how this situation would be dealt with were it happening in a privately owned apartment block. The offending party would be given notice to quit the property on the spot.

Oh please, you think private apartments are some sort of utopia? This sort of thing goes on in private estates and apartment blocks too. Notice to quit on the spot? Once a landlord gets their rent every month, they'd have to be pushed very, very hard to make them get rid of the tenant

And if you think a council is useless, then many find management companies are even worse! Stroll over to the accomadation forum seahorse and read any number of threads of anti-social residents (mostly renters) and how management companies and gardai are doing nothing to help

This OP has been dealing with it for months.

Sorry, going off topic but it's a relevant point. You can just as likely get neighbours from hell even if you are paying over €1000 per month in rent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭vincenzo1975

i WAS IN THE SAME SITUATION AS YOU, BUT ONLY FOR TWO YEARS, WE MOVED OUT.

The family in question were always drunk, fighting on the street, mother pissing on the street, dumping rubbish on the street, bring junk home and leaving it in the garden, knocking on your door at 2 or 3 in the morning to ask for cigerettes, throwing crazy stuff into the back garden, shouting and cursing at all the neighbours.

We were the only ones at the time who owned our house, so we just sold up and moved on. Terrible experience.

i have really tried every thing that people are saying legal and tds even my td has had meetings with the council but still no action he thinks its a total disscrace whats happening to my family i cant afford to take action yet these people can take it against you because thay all chip in to help each other out **** we are just a normal family looking for a peacefull life if we have to give up our council house it would gut us after waiting so long but we cant take much moor sleepless nights worring if anything is goin g to happen to our property and my children to scared to go out when hes at is door there are two outher neighbours who have complained as well but still no action by council we just cannot understand why