Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masters 2008 Tipster!

• 26-03-2008 4:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭

So, pick your player!

Masters 2008 winner 70 votes

Tiger Woods
    0% 0 votes
    Phil Mickelson
    31% 22 votes
    Ernie Els
    5% 4 votes
    Vijay Singh
    2% 2 votes
    Padraig Harrington
    2% 2 votes
    Adam Scott
    5% 4 votes
    Retief Goosen
    4% 3 votes
    Jim Furyk
    11% 8 votes
    Luke Donald
    4% 3 votes
    KJ.Choi
    2% 2 votes
    Justin Rose
    7% 5 votes
    Henrik Stenson
    0% 0 votes
    Geoff Ogilvy
    1% 1 vote
    Steve Stricker
    1% 1 vote
    Zach Johnson
    0% 0 votes
    Sergio Garcia
    0% 0 votes
    Angel Cabrera
    2% 2 votes
    Trevor Immelman
    2% 2 votes
    Lee Westwood
    10% 7 votes
    Rory Sabbatini
    2% 2 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

The Heart wants Harry to win it but the head says woods!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭tiptap

I definetely don't think Harrington is going to do it, not a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

I think its Tigers to lose but but but it wont be the precession that people think it will be.

I would also think Stricker and Els will be well up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Goose is the man. Coming right back into form and one of the very best on fast difficult greens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭jph100

hard to look past woods.

im not a betting man but i think for de masters ill have a go. wat bet wud people recommend?

think ill try something in the paddy power 'without tiger' category

I think adam scott, goosen, and believe it or not di marco! will do well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Jim 'The swing' Furyk is due a win. Put your house on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Couldn't back anyone who wears shirts that bad. A darts player wouldn't wear them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Same old story with Vijay...if he can get the putter working he'll be up there with the best of them. I've given my vote to him...going out on a limb.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Out on another limb with garcia... same story with the putter so not the best place to have those kind of issues..... but he has been close in majors before and would love to see him make the step up.
    Baddeley for a top 10 too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Can't see how anyone could top Els at the minute, he's badly out of sorts although I'd love to see him win.

I think Harrington will have a good showing and I agree that Goosen is just starting to cook again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭markymac

I'm going to say Aaron Baddley. He is playing superb at the minute, pushed tiger all the way in the Accenture Matchplay.

Realisticly, if Tiger plays well, I think he is unbeatable around Augusta, but Baddley would be worth a bet, I think!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭ant043

its tigers to lose. If he plays well then its game over. i said before on another thread kj choi could be worth a bet each way. personally i think vijay has no chance. Great player and all but his putting isn't up to there with the rest of his game. goosen was starting to get a bit of form back in the accenture and is a fantastic putter on his day. The fast greens will really suit him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

Yeah agree its tigers to lose...........would like to see him win........the big feat (all 4 majors) would be on then.......imagine seeing that.

Am gonna have a small each way bet on Mike Weir (66/1) and Luke Donald (50/1).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭ports best

i think the big argentine cabrera will win it lads, is he some golfer when on form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

I think Tiger will win it easy enough, and since he didn't win at the weekend he doesn't have the extra pressure of keeping his winning streak going. I also fancy Appleby do well. If an outsider was to win it, it could easily be him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

I agree tbh..Last week twas only his putting that let him down..He's worth a flutter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ImDave

I believe its a fairly open field of about five or six guys that could take it. None the less, I would still put my money on Tiger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Matt Santos

With Tiger after loosing in Doral the pressure of the streak is off. I would have laid him for huge at the even money that was being touted previous to him being beaten as he eventually has to get beaten sometime!!
    Now that he has just the Masters to concentrate on he seems unbeatable.
    Even in saying that there are a few that you have to say are in with an above average chance.
    I think that Ernie Els has been knocking on the door here for a long time now and is too good not to win one eventually. His head must have been in smithereens after the losses in South Africa and in Dubai earlier on in the year but he put al that behind with a good win in the Honda.
    Goosen has the personae to put one of these away. He is the consumate cool dude and the aura of Augusta will not detract from his play like it could affect others.
    Justin Rose has punched well over his weight here and does enjoy performing on the big stages so he should be there.
    Mickelson has a super relationship with the place and if he gets the putting boots on NOBODY will catch him.
    Players I think I would lay all day long here are Harrington (flattered to deceive with a close position last year but I think there were at least five players that genuinely think they let this go last year!), Garcia (Putting will just not stand up to the toughest greens in golf!), Furyk ( Too short a hitter and you got to attack this place to have a chance), Cabrara ( To eratic from the Tee and has not got the ability to scramble like yesteryear!) and Donald ( Dont know if he can stare down the back nine on the Sunday with a quality field behind him).
    Stenson, Casey and Choi are people that could surprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Rory Sabbatini (2nd in 2007) backed at 110 on Betfair
    Chad Campbell (3rd in 2006) backed at 380 on Betfair <--- he is not playing. Ignore.
    Both are in reasonable form this year.

I'm hoping for a Tiger free event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 harojohn

have to agree wit gillie, definitely be rootin for harrington but woods is jst after winning 8 out of his last 10 comps. lee westwood might be a good bet if he could put in a performance on sunday

Back
    Rory Sabbatini 107 €50.02 €5,302.18
    Hunter Mahan 210 €20.00 €4,180.00
    Daniel Chopra 396.97 €14.00 €5,543.60
    John Senden 464.85 €118.27 €54,859.13
    Woody Austin 476.39 €14.01 €6,660.09

Just getting in my aftertiming before the event.
    If John Senden goes well I'll probably sell my bet.
    Hunter Mahan did well at Augusta in his one visit, as an amateur, 28th in 2003, 73,72,73,76.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

With Tiger after loosing in Doral the pressure of the streak is off. I would have laid him for huge at the even money that was being touted previous to him being beaten as he eventually has to get beaten sometime!!
    Now that he has just the Masters to concentrate on he seems unbeatable.
    Even in saying that there are a few that you have to say are in with an above average chance.
    I think that Ernie Els has been knocking on the door here for a long time now and is too good not to win one eventually. His head must have been in smithereens after the losses in South Africa and in Dubai earlier on in the year but he put al that behind with a good win in the Honda.
    Goosen has the personae to put one of these away. He is the consumate cool dude and the aura of Augusta will not detract from his play like it could affect others.
    Justin Rose has punched well over his weight here and does enjoy performing on the big stages so he should be there.
    Mickelson has a super relationship with the place and if he gets the putting boots on NOBODY will catch him.
    Players I think I would lay all day long here are Harrington (flattered to deceive with a close position last year but I think there were at least five players that genuinely think they let this go last year!), Garcia (Putting will just not stand up to the toughest greens in golf!), Furyk ( Too short a hitter and you got to attack this place to have a chance), Cabrara ( To eratic from the Tee and has not got the ability to scramble like yesteryear!) and Donald ( Dont know if he can stare down the back nine on the Sunday with a quality field behind him).
    Stenson, Casey and Choi are people that could surprise.

Nicely narrowed down Matt, you really nailed your flag to the mast there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Matt Santos

Not sure but is that sarcasm?
    :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

He forgot to mention Ray Floyd. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,445 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I'm new to this forum but have watched and played golf for a number of years.
    I back golfers every week and have had a good record up to this year, I am currently going through a horrific run. For example I pick three golfers every year on both the european and pga tours and back them every week.
    This year my three european tours guys are Rory McIlroy, Joost Luiten and Lee Westwood. While the tour was in Asia I decided to add three as these guys were not playing much there, so I picked out Arjan Atwal, Jeev Milka Singh and Jyoti Randhawa as my alternates in that order. I really fancied that Atwal would do something, but the week he won I left him out for the first time. Thats just the way my luck is running.
    Now that I have clearly explained where my luck stands, I think Tiger will win it.
    The three for me excluding Tiger would be Justin Rose, Geoff Ogilvy and of course 'the man' Phil Mickelson.
    Experience of the course is paramount and those who play well here so to do it time and time again. Those who hit the ball really high have an advantage on this course and all the above players do that. The reason I stick Ogilvy in is that he has just shown a return to form and while his record on this course would not be outstanding, he definitely has the game to challenge even Tiger when on his game. Rose played well here last year and seems to relish difficult courses, on top of that he is the most improved young golfer in the last year or two. And then theres Mickelson, I don't think I need explain anything about this guy and if none of the Irish are in contention, I will be cheering for Mick.
    I don't think backing Padraig Harrington is a good idea, in fact I dare to say that he choked his way to a major. That has always been his problem, he is a great player but he always seems to make a mess of it just as he gets into serious contention in a major.
    I like the guy he tries hard and he is a great representative for this country, these are just my thoughts on all I have seen of him over the years.

I certainly don't think Mickleson or Padraig are going to do it.
    I think Scott or Goosen (excluding Tiger obviously) will be there. Both players coming into form, and Scott shot a 63 yesterday !

Another one :o
    Back
    Vaughn Taylor 343.27 €31.01 €10,613.69

He is a local lad. He missed the cut in 2006, and was 10th last year. He was one behind at 36. If I remember correctly those who just made the cut and were the early starters in round 3 (Retief Goosen) got in with good scores before the wind got up. Tim Clark / Vaughn Taylor, leading at 1st / 2nd at half-way fell back. But what has logic got to do with it?
    I've also laid Tiger Woods to finish in the top 5 - his odds are 1/3 to be top 5.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Goooner4life

Even tho i would like harrington to win, i dont think he will. apart from the obvious choice of woods i think goosen is a great bet to win.also stenson might have a small chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Denis Irwin

Heart says Harrington but the noggin says Woods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Stricker Each Way??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 battermytreble

No need to read the posts here, because this statement is gospel.....

TIGER WOODS WILL WIN THE '08 MASTERS....FACT!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

Cancel Sabbatini now as he has no chance as winning the Par 3 comp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭dobsdave

I'm thinking Scott.Anyone know what odds he is?
    Cant access betting sites at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Weaselator

dobsdave wrote: »

Backed him at 33's on pp yesterday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

dobsdave wrote: »

He's 33/1 with PP

I should point out that Bruce Betting are paying out 1/4 odds on 7 (SEVEN) places!!

Madness - you can get Fred Couples 100/1 with them

That's 25/1 on Couples finishing in top 7.

PP have Couples at 9/2 for Top 10.

Bruce Betting - 1800 50 49 48 - will give you a free €50 single bet when you spend your first €100 with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭sham69

Fancy a flutter on Scott.
    Does anyone know if all the bookies do a "without woods" bet or is it just PP.
    I think William Hill is near me in work.
    Cheers.

ps A mate of mine who really knows his golf asked me to put 50 e/w on Jerry Kelly, I never heard of him..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Silver-Tiger

Michael chopra top debutant 11/1 with pp
    Johnson wagner 20/1 for the same bet

Romero is the favourite there at 11/2
    but he goes for absolutely everything
    Sureley this will go against him

Westwood top gb & i 6/1
    I like that, im not jumping on the harrington bandwagon.

Woods will win for me
    Goose and Phil in top 5 so thats where the each way bets went.

Langer top Champions tour player 8/11
    Banker of the week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭dobsdave

Scott it is so, each way, for me.
    Hopefuly he hasn't surged into the lead by the time I get home to make the bet:D

Thanks for the quick replies folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

sham69 wrote: »
    Fancy a flutter on Scott.
    Does anyone know if all the bookies do a "without woods" bet or is it just PP.
    I think William Hill is near me in work.
    Cheers.

ps A mate of mine who really knows his golf asked me to put 50 e/w on Jerry Kelly, I never heard of him..

Decent pro, Kelly, and looks oddly like one of my mates!

I'm not sure he'll be in to many people's thinking as far as winning the Masters this week is concerned but it wouldn't be the biggest shock in the world where he to do well all the same...

I'm taking the field versus Eldrick.

Course is playing long and Casey was saying that they will be using more drivers that they would be playing which hopefully means that tiger might spray a few as driver is his weakest club in his bag

will hill isn't offering without woods. 20/1 on pp and 28/1 on betfair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭clg23

Westwood top gb & i 6/1
    I like that, im not jumping on the harrington bandwagon.

I took westwood at 10/1 for top european. Would love to see harrington win though.

I dont think Scott has the mental strength. If he gets himself into contention I dont think he'll survive the pressure of a Sunday at the masters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 crip17

woods it too short, but how many times have we said that lol i fancy els and Stenson.

for best odds

http://www.oddschecker.com/

Not a gambler but these are ones that caught my eye...

13/2 Aaron Baddeley to be top Australian
    25/1 Retief Goosen to win
    9/4 Fred Couples to miss the cut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭stevire

Lee Westwood for the win!! He's improving every year and looking in great shape, if he starts well he can finish it off well. 66/1 e/w cant go wrong! ;)

Stewart Cink should be another good outsider, he's well used to the course and plays better on it everytime...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

You forgot to include O'Meara in the poll.

Staggering odds. Still worth a euro each way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

10 Runners, €4 each .......Come on O'Meara !! All Prices on betfair.

Luke Donald 60 €4.00 €236.00

Sergio Garcia 70 €4.00 €276.00

Fred Couples 110 €4.00 €436.00

Mike Weir 140 €0.98 €136.22 140 €3.02 €419.78

Paul Casey 100 €2.75 €272.25 110 €1.25 €136.25

Justin Leonard 210 €4.00 €836.00

Scott Verplank 300 €4.00 €1,196.00

Bernhard Langer 520 €4.00 €2,076.00

Steve Flesch 910 €4.00 €3,636.00

Mark OMeara 1000 €4.00 €3,996.00

O'Meara flies out of the blocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Denis Irwin

Have a fiver e/w on both Harrington and Els.

Adam Scott, Paul Casey, Retief Goosen 3ball on the tee... HMMMMMMMMM
    Delighted to see poulter leading (probably his only irish fan here) :D