Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Im Irish and we are the best drinkers in the world

• 25-03-2008 10:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭

Need I say more. Im sick of all the negativity to do with drinking in Ireland. FFS we are not all idiots! Some of us can still hold our drink and have a good time. We are not all like the p***heads in Finglas, or the puckheads in Temple Bar. I have found myself actually feeling GUILTY about drinking lately. Jeevus Cripes:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

A fuc*ing men to that my friend! Scoop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭gollyitsolly

Bottoms up:)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Yeah stereo type the finglas people i tell ya :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

woohoo, this 1's gonna fly. i'm sick of it too, this pc muck's annoying me, i love the booze, craic and cant understand this new ad campaign... if you cant hold it, give it up... dont be blaming everybody bar yourself! hic, what day's today?

Eh no, but there was more publicity about Finglas over Paddys weekend than anything.Wheres all the stuff about good parties and music and laughs.? Everyone seems to be jumping on the bandwagon of negativity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Routledge

Need I say more. Im sick of all the negativity to do with drinking in Ireland. FFS we are not all idiots! Some of us can still hold our drink and have a good time. We are not all like the p***heads in Finglas, or the puckheads in Temple Bar. I have found myself actually feeling GUILTY about drinking lately. Jeevus Cripes:eek:

Nobody likes a show off. Even if we are, it means jack

Ireland & Drinking is an overplayed cliché.

And its pretty obvious that we have an ever growing problem with the booze

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Routledge wrote: »

The only problem is that the price keeps going up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

More drink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Sherifu wrote: »
    More drink!

Good idea.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Drinking is the only thing left for me after the wife took the kids with her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Need I say more. Im sick of all the negativity to do with drinking in Ireland. FFS we are not all idiots! Some of us can still hold our drink and have a good time.

If you take this link to the BGRH lads they will hold you in high praise forever with those statements :D

Nobody likes a show off. Even if we are, it means jack

Ireland & Drinking is an overplayed cliché.

NONONO,the media sensationlise everything.Its todays news. We have a general problem with the youth in this country, and parental control.............

Im quite sure the media do. Its part of the job

The Vintners Association play it down. Its part of the job.

The nurses in A&E (sum of whom are seious boozers themselves) are probably best placed, along with the addiction centres, to give a truer indication. By these accounts its a mess.

Than we have the bravado element, like your post which trys to add to the hype

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

+1. Thank god!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

And you have a healthy suicide and domestic violence rate to back it up too :)

Im quite sure the media do. Its part of the job

The Vintners Association play it down. Its part of the job.

The nurses in A&E (sum of whom are seious boozers themselves) are probably best placed, along with the addiction centres, to give a truer indication. By these accounts its a mess.

Than we have the bravado element, like your post which trys to add to the hype
    Ah yes, youre the nitpicker and the down with career women type! Get the f***outta here and gerra life.:)

Overheal wrote: »
    Most of that is a man problem, not a drink problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

At least we don't export democracy. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Yeah, like America's such a great role model on those counts... :rolleyes:

Zzippy wrote: »
    Exactally, my round....:)

Ah yes, youre the nitpicker and the down with career women type! Get the f***outta here and gerra life.:)

Quite the Magnum PI arent we. How come they havent asked you where Ossama is?

And I can well imagine that going on a session with you wud be 'bleedin rapidhh', a riot if you will.

Zzippy wrote: »

Yeah... well..... shut up :(

the one thing i dont like about it though is the only thing you seem to be able to do to kill time here is drink. Its depressing in itself. Theres a chronic lack of sober recreation in this country. I wont say the states is much better: just replace 'pub' with 'television'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

the one thing i dont like about it though is the only thing you seem to be able to do to kill time here is drink. Its depressing in itself. Theres a chronic lack of sober recreation in this country. I wont say the states is much better: just replace 'pub' with 'television'

Cinema, restaurants, opera, theatre... It's not that they aren't there it's that the pub is "easier" for most people.

Quite the Magnum PI arent we. How come they havent asked you where Ossama is?

And I can well imagine that going on a session with you wud be 'bleedin rapidhh', a riot if you will.
    Yawn. Dahling, going on a session with me is something you could never do. You are simply not in my zone!:) Go away you silly little man.

Yeah... well..... shut up :(

How can you say that? Ive never being bored in my life! I dont have enough hours in the day to do all the things I want to do. My God, when you are bored with life , you may as well give up ...

Yawn. Dahling, going on a session with me is something you could never do. You are simply not in my zone!:) Go away you silly little man.

Of course I couldnt. The language barrier with you speaking working class and all, wud act as too much of...well a barrier. And than theres the smell.

Slán

Of course I couldnt. The language barrier with you speaking working class and all, wud act as too much of...well a barrier. And than theres the smell.

Slán
    Pog mo hoin, dhaling:)

nesf wrote: »
    Cinema, restaurants, opera, theatre... It's not that they aren't there it's that the pub is "easier" for most people.
    Touche;)

Might be because im bored and broke :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

No money, no hoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

+1.

It's not the only reason, by far. It surely doesn't help, though. This is a valid point, regardless of the fact that the poster isn't Irish. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

nesf wrote: »
    Exactly.

I'm asking this for the third time in the past few days, but what does Ireland not have that other countries do have (bar hot weather/beaches) in terms of things for teenagers/those who don't drink/those who don't like pubs?

I've yet to get an answer on this question, and I for one can't see anything Ireland is lacking that other countries have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Da Bomber

Gollyitsolly for president:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭JavaBear

+1:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Brave New World, huh?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

rb_ie wrote: »
    Exactly.

I'm asking this for the third time in the past few days, but what does Ireland not have that other countries do have (bar hot weather/beaches) in terms of things for teenagers/those who don't drink/those who don't like pubs?

I've yet to get an answer on this question, and I for one can't see anything Ireland is lacking that other countries have.
    I think you're seriously underestimating the effect of bad weather, especially the amount of rain and dark hours. We've no serious winter or summer sports. If we'd really nice weather, or ski weather people would never stay indoors.

Of course, there are options but most people don't know of them so they aren't really options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

I think drinking has a 'Cool' factor to it, thats why most young people do it. They want to be seen as 'mad' and brag about drinking in school.

For me its the more social aspect, but i also enjoy the taste of the drink. People seem to drink to heighten their social status or let their hair down after a long weeks work.

Why do you drink? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Exactly.

what we have that other countries dont is a "drinking culture"

Ive been to and lived in over a dozen countries, the concept and peoples tolerance and perception to enjoyment of drink is different here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Irish seem to make any excuse to go for a few drinks, Every Holiday season, Birthday, Celebration, Weekend! lol Thats a lot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Chunky Monkey

snyper wrote: »
    what we have that other countries dont is a "drinking culture"

Ive been to and lived in over a dozen countries, the concept and peoples tolerance and perception to enjoyment of drink is different here.

So true and it gets really boring after a while when you realise that the only thing your friends talk about is their last session and how hammered they got.

Don't get me wrong, I love alcohol. I just find the culture very, very boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

yeah them Finglas and Blanch skangers :D not able for it at all :p

So true and it gets really boring after a while when you realise that the only thing your friends talk about is their last session and how hammered they got.

Don't get me wrong, I love alcohol. I just find the culture very, very boring.

your friends DOES NOT EQUAL the culture ;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Was in St Petersburg a bit back, and no disrespect for my fellow countrymen, but if quantity was the measure of a drinker, and not sloppiness, those Ruskies I partied with could drink most I've known under the table in Dub or wherever, and hardly show it (although we did do a bit of dancing on table tops after awhile).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

those Ruskies I partied with could drink most I've known under the table in Dub or wherever, and hardly show it
    I pity people with high tolerances for recreational drugs, costs them a fortune.

I can drink 4 cans and be drunk, and love that fact. If I was in a drinking contest or something I could drink 4 times that and be grand, I would just have to eat. Anybody I ever met who can "handle" lots of drink just eats a lot, it has a massive effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Oh for **** sake.

Is there anything that won't be whined about?

"They took our drink!"

The above complaint doesn't even make sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

NONONO,the media sensationlise everything.
    Thankfully the best cure for media sensationalisation is a healthy sense of denial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

"The best drinkers in the world" is about as great an honour as "the loudest farter in the classroom". Sure, I love booze and I love going out, and people come to Ireland from all over the world to visit our pubs with good reason. But a massive amount of people in this country don't know when its time to call it quits. Hence the overcrowded A&E departments, the stabbings, the drink driving, the domestic abuse, the streets getting covered in debris, and the girls who drank so much that they can't remember whether they've been raped or just had bad consensual sex.

Don't get me wrong, our drinking culture is a lot of fun to an extent, but I can't fathom how people are actually *proud* of it, given the lengths that its been taken to. It would all be fine if everyone knew their limits, but sadly they don't, the muppets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Jay D wrote: »
    yeah them Finglas and Blanch skangers :D not able for it at all :p

You couldnt decide which youliked more so you moved to Ashtown. In between both. The next ballymun with all them apartments :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It might be there somewhere but how accessible is it? If you live in the country you have pubs or GAA pitches. That's about it other than running around fields having farmers taking pot shots at you.

It wouldn't be so bad if we had decent roads that didn't make going anywhere a complete nightmare. So most times your stuck with pubs.