Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attention PS3 Owners

• 24-03-2008 9:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭

Hey everyone, have all of you PS3 owners enabled the Folding@Home option from the main menu? If not then why not? If you don't know what it is then I'll explain here. Very simply, the Folding@Home program uses your PS3 to calculate the results of big sums. It only runs when you tell it to or when your PS3 is idle. The results of these sums help medical research and you'll be part of a global network all helping to contribute to cures for numerous diseases. It's simple to enable and there's no good reason not to do it so why not check it out and start it up today?

PLUS!!!! You get points for each sum completed and you can see how you rank against all other folders on the planet.

If you want to know what folding is or just read some more on the subject click here

To see how to enable Folding on your PS3 click here

EDIT:

Some respondents below seem to be mis/uninformed so to alay any misconceptions, it uses very little bandwidth (10-30MB per month if you ran it 24*7 which is unlikely) and very little power (200watts for 60GB or 115watts for 40GB), it's especially efficient if you set it to run overnight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

conorgriff wrote: »
    have all of you PS3 owners enabled the Folding@Home option from the main menu? If not then why not?

no

because im not wasting bandwidth

Helix wrote: »
    no

Me neither.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭conorgriff

no

wow, good reason. And how much bandwidth do you think it uses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

get eircom to bigger my cap and i'll think about it.

also not to mention the amount of power leaving your ps3 on all day would use.

Cremo wrote: »

Approx 200w if left running all day, and 10-30mb per month, I really don't think it's alot to sacrifice but hey, your decision guys. Good to see such a charitable attitude

I don't know how much bandwidth it uses and I don't really care, but my ps3 is never idle when its on. If it's on I'm playing something or watching a movie. I'm not going to leave it on just for folding at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

I used it once for about 5 minutes, it has a virtual globe and shows where all the people using the program are, which I thought was pretty cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

+1 the ps3 is a hungry yoke when it's working.

Plus ,I don't want to kill my drive yet:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,372 ✭✭✭ongarite

You're a mean bunch alright.
    Its doesn't use any bandwidth at all when running. I leave my PS3 folding one WU overnight nearly every night. It then shuts down the PS3 when its finished in the morning usually when the ESB day units kick in.

What what?? The program is on your PS3 HDD, nothing to do with BD drive.
    no

It maybe uploads 1MB every time you finish a WU which takes around 7hrs.

Seems like everyone who has posted has the wrong info on what Folding@home does with your PS3.

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

I run it constantly on my PS3 and server, the PS3 does about 900 points per day which is pretty good :)

lol @ the people who wont run it because of "bandwith" each WU is a couple of megs...

People should run it for a few weeks anyway to contribute....

Well as is often the case with stuff like this, the detractors are working on assumption and know little about the subject. Good to see you lads are doing your bit (ongarite & conzymaher).

I think Sony should have had it enabled by default, nobody would even have noticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

that would of just caused them bad rep tbh, i see the merits of folding i do, i just don't want to do it that's all.

it's like i see the merits of not drinking but i just won't do it ;)

that would of just caused them bad rep tbh

That's like saying McDonalds using recycled paper in their cartons would give them bad rep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭Clover

use it a few time's a week , when i'm not playing a game / watching a film / downloading a demo etc...

ongarite wrote: »
    What what?? The program is on your PS3 HDD, nothing to do with BD drive.

Are you dyslexic or something ? ,I never mentioned the blu ray drive.

I've read all about this months ago and the conclusion the sites where coming to was that it was using the PS3 hard.

I intend on running it on my PS3 ,but not for a while yet.

Edit : PC's also run this ,heres a piece on the pc end

The PS3 is outrunning all the rest of the FAH client types. Should I stop my existing PC/GPU/... FAH clients?

NO. The other clients are valuable to us too and we have chosen a points system to try to reflect the relative merits of each different platform to our scientific research. For example, the SMP client has been producing some very exciting scientific results and continues to be very important in our work. By supporting machines with lots of different functionality, we have a very rich set of hardware on which to run varied types of calculations, allowing us to tailor calculations to the hardware to achieve maximum performance.

311 wrote: »

using the PS3 hard

Er, no I'm afraid not

PC's also run this ,heres a piece on the pc end

Yes but the PS3 config is a complete no brainer. You basically turn it on and it works. Hence the reason anyone who has one should turn it on.

I'm all for the project ,but I don't want to leave my ps3 running all the time.

The balance is definetly in favour of the results as opposed to the power consumption. But it's a choice that the user has to make though.

I'm all for the project ,but I don't want to leave my ps3 running all the time.

The balance is definetly in favour of the results as opposed to the power consumption. But it's a choice that the user has to make though.

OK 311, just in case you have misunderstood I'll reiterate. You are not required to leave your PS3 on all the time, in fact you need never leave it on. But with folding@home enabled, should you happen to leave the PS3 idle for a couple of hours someday, it will download a sum, get a result and send it back. Thereby you'll be helping out with no impact on your usage of the system whatsoever. Just something to consider, I understand it's impractical or even inadvisable to leave any electrical appliance on 24*7. The program works around your usage, not the other way round.

The ps3 heats up when the processor is calculating ,therefore shortening the life of the machine :)

You're taking the piss now. That might be a determining factor if you plan on still using the PS3 in 15 years.

I'm not the one posting about something ,that everyone already knows about:rolleyes:

Thats nonsense.
    I better not turn on my TV, PC, light bulb then as they all heat up and shorten their life span. If I never heat them up they will last FOREVER!!

ongarite wrote: »
    Thats nonsense.
    I better not turn on my TV, PC, light bulb then as they all heat up and shorten their life span. If they never heat them up they will last FOREVER!!
    Do you normally leave lightbulbs on in the daytime?:D

I'm not the one posting about something ,that everyone already knows about:rolleyes:

...and being childish, you're on a roll. The irony of that post is pretty funny. You say everyone knows about it yet with every post you highlight your ignorance on the subject. Keep going...

As far as I know Unklerosco posted about the client in a thread a few months back.
    He mentioned that he had it running on various machines in work.

I'm not in the slightest bit ignorant about the use of the program ,but unlike you I turn off my ps3 when I'm not using it.

I'm not in the slightest bit ignorant about the use of the program

Just to prove I wasn't imagining it...
    +1 the ps3 is a hungry yoke when it's working.

In relation to Folding this is WRONG

WRONG
    I don't want to leave my ps3 running all the time.

WRONG

Being realistic, the processor will outlive the usefulness of the console. So...

WRONG

I rest my case, and since you're just being argumentative I couldn't be bothered replying to further comments by you on this topic, good night.

njoy the fairy juice:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Jeez if you love folding@home so much why don't you marry it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

wow, good reason. And how much bandwidth do you think it uses?

more than none, so im not turning it on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

That's like saying McDonalds using recycled paper in their cartons would give them bad rep
    WRONG

ShaneU wrote: »
    Jeez if you love folding@home so much why don't you marry it?
    more than none, so im not turning it on
    WRONG

Whatever lads, I was simply trying to highlight the fact that the option was there. I'm unsubscribing from the thread coz I couldn't be bothered justifying it to those patently against it, rather I was trying to bring it to the attention of those who knew nothing of it. Clearly a misguided objective. Mods can close/delete/whatever, I have nothing further to add.

I intend on running it on my PS3 ,but not for a while yet.

I've never quoted myself before ,but seen as how I'm being childish ......

This project is important ,but so are other things aswell. The project has improved loads since the PS3 and the ps3 has sold loads more since the jump.

Theres no need for everyone to have fah running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Whatever lads, I was simply trying to highlight the fact that the option was there. I'm unsubscribing from the thread coz I couldn't be bothered justifying it to those patently against it, rather I was trying to bring it to the attention of those who knew nothing of it. Clearly a misguided objective. Mods can close/delete/whatever, I have nothing further to add.

I understand what you were trying to say conorgriff and your intentions were admirable indeed but there are always a few idiots who just want to make noise. 311 has epicly failed as they say.

I'm off to load-up Folding@Home as a result of this thread.
    Theres no need for everyone to have fah running

But it'd be great if they did.

You're taking the piss now. That might be a determining factor if you plan on still using the PS3 in 15 years.
    How do you know it will go 15 years, my 360 went in 3 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Can't believe all the rubbish in this thread. There's virtually no overhead in running Folding@Home on the PS3 overnight or when it's not in use during the day. It's not going to knacker your harddrive, melt your processor, hog your bandwidth or anything like that.

The PS3 is virtually silent throughout, and it adds about as much to your electricity bill as boiling the kettle once.

And not to be melodramatic, but this kind of thing could contribute to saving many people's lives.

eo980 wrote: »
    I understand what you were trying to say conorgriff and your intentions were admirable indeed but there are always a few idiots who just want to make noise. 311 has epicly failed as they say.

I'm off to load-up Folding@Home as a result of this thread.

Well Ghandi ,you saved the world last night did you ?

Sorry man, but your attitude stinks.

Being called an idiot stinks ,no one ever said FAH was useless or not worth running.

But there will always be geekoids who must be right.

Well Ghandi ,you saved the world last night did you ?

I wouldn't mind a well balanced arguement but you really are coming across like a child.

Entering an argument ,calling people stupid is not a means to an end.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

Approx 200w if left running all day,

Is the PS3 mainly turned off when Folding@Home is running?

No mick it has to be on to run folding@home.

Entering an argument ,calling people stupid is not a means to an end.

I've looked over my posts and I don't see where I called people stupid.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

PLEASE NOTE:

The next off topic poster will be banned.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

No mick it has to be on to run folding@home.

Really? It has to be on? I meant does it turn off components or go into standby for certain parts like PCs do? The PS3 uses way more than 200W per day if everything is running.

Folding@Home is supposed to run when you aren't doing anything with your playstation. It runs when the PS3 is idle and uses relatively little power because it's not as demanding as a game. Unfortunately you can't run it in the background like you can on a PC.

I have just ran a couple of tests on my ps3 ,to see exactly what usage it gets running folding at home.

When running folding at home ,it uses the hard drive like it's downloading continously.
    The power consumption of the ps3 is 150 watts +or- 2 watts.

Power consumption of the ps3 when running
    Team Fortress online 135watts
    Warhawk online from hard drive 135watts
    Half life two peaks at 147 watts when theres action and idles at 132 watts when standing.

It really looks like folding on the ps3 is working the machine more than any games I have.

I don't know why I'm bothering,
    I have just ran a couple of tests on my ps3 ,to see exactly what usage it gets running folding at home.

When running folding at home ,it uses the hard drive like it's downloading continously.

disable the music option and it will not access your harddrive except when storing results or obtaining a new Work Unit. By default it plays music from your hard drive to 'entertain' you while you watch it fold.
    The power consumption of the ps3 is 150 watts +or- 2 watts.

At 150 watts it would cost you approximately €2 per month at current electricity rates to allow the PS3 to perform 1 WU per day, every day. That's 2 euro a month for 21 hours folding a week. More I'm sure than most would plan to allow it to run.

I don't know why I'm bothering,

Costs have nothing whatsoever got to do with my post.
    I specifically compared the power usage of the ps3 with games ,so people could quite clearly see that FAH works the ps3 hard.

Surely you can see what I was doing.

My htpc idles below 70 watts and maxs below 80watts ,running an 8600GT card.
    So a jump of 15 watts is a lot in terms of operations.

So what is your point exactly?
    That you're worried this 15w of operations will reduce the lifespan of your PS3?
    That it will damage the hard disk?
    That it will wear out the CPU?
    That it will make the PS3 overheat?

There are lots of people running their PS3s 24/7 with no ill-effects. As highlighted before in this thread it is up to the individual to choose whether they wish to enable it or not. However, if you are going to go posting reasons not to do it then at least make them clear and back them up with evidence instead of conjecture.
    My htpc idles below 70 watts and maxs below 80watts ,running an 8600GT card.

Worth noting that the graphics card alone maxes at 188w so it's physically impossible that your htpc could 'max' at 80w. It depends on your definition of 'max'