Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

show us your pedalboards

• 24-03-2008 7:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭

mines nearly done,i'm like a proud father at the moment :D

EDIT: crap, I can't link to the shot! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

Can't you upload the picture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

boardos7.png
    got it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Enough pedals? :D

I don't have a board yet, plan to get one soon but I do have a few pedals.

Currently I have...

Loooper
    BOSS CEB-3
    Guttermouth Electronics Doom Fuzz
    Morley Power Wah Fuzz
    BYOC Screamer
    BOSS TU-2

Looking at buying an Akai Headrush and also some sort of Comp soon. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

v nice, powering all them would be fun!

arrrgh there she is

DSCF1427.jpg

and theres the wiring

DSCF1429.jpg

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

punchdrunk wrote: »
    boardos7.png
    got it!

wow.

Why arent they hooked up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

punchdrunk what's that moog pedal sound like, i have to admit it's the first time i've seen a moog guitar pedal and i'd be lying if i said i wasn't intrigued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ravelleman

boardos7.png
    got it!

How do you like your SIB Mr Echo? I have one and it came with the infamous dodgy switch. Any interesting settings? I've always found it difficult to get a good sound out of it. It always oscillates when i turn the repeat control up past 8 o'clock...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

How do you find the strobo tuner? Are they worth the money? Been thinking of getting one for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Seziertisch

I also use a Strobostomp. Its big advantage over other tuners is that it is accurate enough to intonate. Indispensable for studio/recording stuff. I would say that in a live situation (presuming of course that your guitar is intonated correctly) a lesser tuner would suffice in most cases.

It also works well as a DI box; the new issue of Tape Op (highly regarded pro-audio/recording publication) has a review of the Strobostomp 2 and sings the praises of it as a D.I.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

gt-8a.jpg

Nice and simple :D Unless you want to include my double muff and modded wah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ravelleman

Hah I also have a Pod XT Live but I'll spare you all the picture. Mine always had the annoying pedal squeak that you got while rocking the expression pedal back and forth. I finally opened it up on Saturday and put some lubricant on the joints. It's so smooth now.

joe,tell us more? Guttermouth Electronics Doom Fuzz

al,how's the gigadelay? i'm considering this or the re20 for home use?

RHCP,i only brought all the pedals into work yesterday to mount it up,most of my leads are stuck in TBMC at the moment,it's my day off but i'm considering going into town to finish the job i've got George L's cables like AL's

cremo the moog id fantastic but when bypassed the drive knob still controls the output,so it's not true bypass which annoys me thinking i'm going to put it in a chain with a TB looper pedal

Ravelleman,yeah mine acts up every now and then but i love the crazy oscillation though! they'll swap out that switch for free AFAIK...

GSC,the strobo is deadly but rather big,i'm thinking of taking it off and getting one of the tu-15 boss ones with the needle,it'll free up space for the looper

joe,tell us more? Guttermouth Electronics Doom Fuzz

Funny you should ask...

Basically I'm a member over at the Harmony Central forums. One of the guys there has a company called Guttermouth Electronics, he repairs amps, modifies pedals and does lots of other crazy electronic stuff. Mad scientist stuff. :D

He initially built a pedal for himself and posted clips, everyone loved it and asked him to build one for them. I ordered one too, got a few extra things on it that I wanted. Very nice, each one was built to order. I think there's about 20-something of the first ones. He's stopped making that now and has a different model.

The fuzz itself is tweaked specifically for bass. It sounds unreal!

SP_A0054.jpg
    Crappy mobile phone pic. ;)

The knob is to control the volume, the fuzz level is preset. The switch on the side is a three pos switch with two levels of high cut and a bypass for it. The switch on the top of the pedal is the power switch to stop the battery draining when the plug is left in.

Its very responsive to playing dynamics. If you back down the volume on the bass you can change how it reacts even further, turning it into an overdrive sound. Which in itself is probably the best bass overdrive I have ever heard.
    Turning the volume on the bass down even further until it's barely on makes the pedal gate the signal and sounds almost synth like. Freakin' cool. :cool:

Basically this is one of my favourite pedals EVAR! :D

I'll try throw some clips up later.

looks great,good idea that battery defeat switch
    i'm on the boards at HC too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

heres my baby :)

LINE6%20POD%20XT%20LIVE.50.jpg

looks great,good idea that battery defeat switch
    i'm on the boards at HC too ;)

Awesome. I mostly hang out in the bass forum. :)

i'll be hangin out there soon enough,i'm building a USACG P-bass soon so i'll be looking for advice on which pickups/bridge to get etc!

Cool, I'm building a bass to at the moment. It's going to be a monster. :eek:
    I need to give Derrick Nelson a call about it actually, I've got some stuff to do that I can't well....umm do. There are no bridge holes drilled so I'm not sure about bridge placement and stuff like that. :o

I'm known as "Super Bass" in HCBF btw. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

Let me know if you're selling the strobo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

My bass pedalboard closely resembles a 15' lead :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Joe Robot wrote: »
    There are no bridge holes drilled so I'm not sure about bridge placement and stuff like that. :o
    Cut one string so it's 34 inches long. Hold one end at the nut. The other end is roughly where the saddles will need to be. Then mark a straight line running the length of both sides of the neck and down across the body... fit the bridge in the dead centre of the two of them and the strings will be aligned on the neck and then move it so the saddles can travel back and forth either side of the first line you drew. Job done ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

my bass pedalboard is also just a lead

and the dd20 is a great little delay nice n small with a lot of features and options, i love that pedal i hardly ever use the looping bit so 5 footswitcable delays at my foot is what i need

Doctor J wrote: »
    Cut one string so it's 34 inches long. Hold one end at the nut. The other end is roughly where the saddles will need to be. Then mark a straight line running the length of both sides of the neck and down across the body... fit the bridge in the dead centre of the two of them and the strings will be aligned on the neck and then move it so the saddles can travel back and forth either side of the first line you drew. Job done ;)

Meh, I'm just going to take the easy way out and bring it to him. Have to wait about 3 weeks though, he's really busy at the moment (as usual). :)

Some material needs to be taken out of the neck pocket and general setup, frets levelled etc... :)

Wait til you see pics of it, sure is a looker. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Funnily enough, I just bought a pedal board to put my pedals in there a couple of weeks ago. Photos soon (although I'm waiting on a few additions to my arsenal).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Lads I'd hope some of you are planning a world tour with some of those monsters :eek:

Anyway, I'm looking for a decent multi-effects floor based thingy, what would y'all recommend between the GT8, Pod XT Live or any of the other mentionables on the market?

I do not want amp modelling fooking up the tone, so whichever one I get I'll just be bypassing all internal bollix and using delays, chorus and maybe the odd SFX for when I get bored.

Used both Boss and Line 6 stuff in the past with decent results, I also know the TC Electronic stuff is superb and I know it from using some of their gear in PA use that they do lovely delays and 'verbs.

Any thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭The_g-man

http://www.thomann.de/ie/boss_gt_10.htm
    http://www.thomann.de/ie/line6_pod_x3_live.htm

The boss unit is out soon enough, no dates yet for these ones:

http://www.thomann.de/ie/tc_electronic_nova_system.htm

http://www.thomann.de/ie/line6_m13.htm

http://www.thomann.de/ie/line6_pod_x3_pro.htm

TC Electronics would be a more expensive setup than line 6 and boss. You may have to sit yourself down in a store and compare the different units to see if you personally think the TC is worth the extra cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Savman wrote: »

Anyway, I'm looking for a decent multi-effects floor based thingy, what would y'all recommend between the GT8, Pod XT Live or any of the other mentionables on the market?
    The GT8 is the king of (affordable) multi-effects boards. Just a brilliant choice for pure effects, it's got them all and the routing options (any effect can go before amp or in effects loop) make it perfect. And it's ridiculously flexible, so much you can do with it, and so many ways to have it set up.

Havent used the GT10 but it presume it'll be more of the same + better.

Although, if you're just using delay and chorus maybe a full multi-fx would be overkill ?

Maybe but it'll look cool. :D:D

Ah no, I'm weighing up the pros and cons of that option versus the stompbox method I'm using now. I'm defo going for a minimalist approach, clean/wah/lead, thank you very much. Not even pushed on reverb tbh and I only use Chorus and Delays sparingly.

I'm defo leaning toward the Boss option, didnt know there was a GT10 on the way out...that deserves a 'hmm'

The_g-man wrote: »

TC Electronics would be a more expensive setup than line 6 and boss. You may have to sit yourself down in a store and compare the different units to see if you personally think the TC is worth the extra cash.
    Yeah was thinking that alright. I have a TC effects unit in the PA rack, it's a super yoke and the delay is the best I've heard in the price class. I'm thinking it might be nice to have that quality a sound on the axe.

Right now I've the standard Boss setup, DD6, RV5, Chorus, Compression, Wah etc. - oh and a Tubescreamer that I think I'd miss if I ditched this setup in favour of a fancy nancy all in one with lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

380638952a4298543588b532237768l.jpg

In a Boss BCB-60. ****in wires everywhere cos i had to take out the top yoke so the wah would fit in. Ah well sher!