Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Were you ever sacked?

• 21-03-2008 2:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭

I was once. About 7 years ago was working for this Web Design company. Hated it, the boss was absolute w****r. So basically I was dossing all the time, doing nothing, most of my time spent on the Internet and talking to people on Instant Messenger, telling them how I'm doing nothing and how big of a w*****r the boss is. One Friday, he called me to his office and showed me the trasnscripts of my chats, they pulled them from the server. Really embarassing, I got a sack straight away. I didn't really mind that much though, because I already had my ticket to Ireland.

The funniest thing is, that he got sacked as well, following Monday.

Were you ever sacked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

I was half fired/half quit. I worked for a big computer company on the switchboard when I was just out of school. I'd basically take care of all the calls that come through so you'd get all sorts of people with problems. Then one day I got somebody with a problem and their salesperson wouldn't get back to them, so I sent the salesperson a mail with the subject "Sort this!". That was deemed rude and he ratted to my "team leader" and she took me up and had a word. Then she asked what do I think of working here and I went on a big rant of how the customers are always treated terribly and that I've been openly asked to lie to customers and I was given out to when I wouldn't lie and I went on and on until she finally said "Cormac if that's how you feel then I wouldn't be a good manager if I let you stay, feeling that way". So that was that. I was planning on leaving anyway as it was just a gap filler from when I left school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

yup.... my last job... first i ever got fired from

Long story short, i challenged the boss, shall we say, i was slightly more easy for all the other staff to approach when they needed help, as i had the most experience over anybody including the boss.
    She just took a dislike to me coz i am a joker, wasn't listening to lies & stupidity without poking some harmless fun..
    Basically got fired, no warning at half 6 on a saturday evening via telephone. "i cant work with someone who talks back to me"
    She just didnt like me as a person... very professional... i believe everyone else has left her by now bar 1.

What a t*t she is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

I was travelling in Oz and hadn't a cent left. Got a job in this really busy sandwich bar in Sydney, I had told the owner I had run my own Sandwich Bar back home and was well qualified. Lie. I thought I would have to make a few ham sambos and would be grand.

Jesus, I was wrong, was the most stressful job ever and I hadn't a clue what half the food was people were ordering. Someone asked for a cappachino and of course I didnt know how to use the machine, I told the owner the machine we had in Ireland was different to theirs. He screamed at me to get out that I hadn't a clue what I was doing. I told him to shove his job up his arse and got a round of applause from the customers (apparently he was real arrogant and not that well liked)..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

Worked in a sandwich bar in my first year in college. My bus didn't turn up to bring me home weekend so I rang my manager A.S.A.P and let him know. He didn't say anything, just hung up on me. He then rang me back later in the week and said that he had reviewed the rosta and there were no more hours for me at that time and he wasn't sure if he would keep me on as I wasn't dependable despite me never missing a day except for this one in 6 months. I promptly sent him a letter saying that he was forcing me to leave as he was refusing to give me hours which I saw as unfair dismassal and would bring him to court over it and blah blah blah. Got a nice little payout for that so I wouldn't bring him to court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

Been fired twice, once from Xtravision as I refused to vacuum the floor AND man the tills at the same time and again recently for not being a "cultural fit" for the company. Technically I call that culturalism(the cultural form of racism) and dont think of it as my fault. Cest la vie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Worked in a shop when I was a teenager..."padded" my wages and unfortunately 5 other employees where a the same craic and we were rumbled. Luckily one of them was related to the owner (lol) so we didnt get teh prosecutions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭omega42

God fired on my last night :)

I was working in stabra in sligo and had handed in my notice, an the last night i was told i had to do the washing up (dirtest job in the place).

When i refused the little P***K of a superviser told me i was fired, I had about 40 minutes left of my shift, i was laughing at him as i was walking out the door :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Brave man workin there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

I quit my last job, got someone to cover my last shift and still got paid for it ;)

not been sacked yet from any job. (touch wood)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Got fired (well, my hours cut to nothing) from a part-time job when I started college, as I refused to learn how to program an 8051 microprocessor. Didn't care. Was more afraid that my boss would try to rape me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I worked for a tech company where the staff were totally untrusted. For example, even though I was a developer, I didn't have access to Windows Control Panel or Regedit. Also we had to be in at 9 on the dot, and our lunch break was from 1 - 2 on the dot. One minute late and you got an audible tut tut tut.

Anyway after a few months of this I gave in my notice. They were shocked and saddened (I was a good employee) and they asked why. I told them, nicely, that I felt there was a lack of trust between management and the staff, and that it made for a weird working environment. They said OK and that they were sorry I would be gone in one month.

The following day they came in angry and fired me.

WTF?!

I guess they went home and took it personally.

The company closed down shortly afterwards. What a disaster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I got fired from a kitchen porter job when I was 17 for almost coming to blows with one of the boss who was the most arrogant and ignorant **** I have ever encountered. I was rehired in 3 days. I quit the following month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I worked for a music retailer and got fired cos a customer complained me. Before that I had sorted out the games which were in sh1t and the sales went up, sorted out the videos (twas before the DVD :)) which were also in sh1t and the sales went up, won a customer service competition thingie, got glowing reports from mystery shoppers/callers, was past my probationary period of three months (I got sacked after five months), got the staff ID card which you don't get til you're permanent. And so on.
    Anyhoo, the retailer was also a concert ticket agent for a particular company and we were told we didn't have to pay as much attention to customer service when selling tickets - seeing as we didn't work for the company on whose behalf we were selling them. Then some asshole came in looking for tickets and was being a difficult prick and getting ratty cos he wasn't getting the answers he wanted. He asked to speak to a manager but there was nobody around. That was a Friday, I got fired the Monday. The manager, who was Satan incarnate, acted all nice, as if nothing had happened. Then on the Monday he took great delight in advising me my services were no longer needed. I remember a few months later pulling up at traffic lights and he walked past and smirked evilly in at me.
    I definitely think he's unstable - pretty much a psycho. Hopefully karma's got him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭thebiggestjim

I was working in a playground minding a bouncy castle ball pond when I was younger. I got fired for roughing up a bunch of lads who were throwing balls at the younger kids. Talk about an injustice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

I was working in a playground minding a bouncy castle ball pond when I was younger. I got fired for roughing up a bunch of lads who were throwing balls at the younger kids. Talk about an injustice.

Hahaha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

Went into work one day to get my hours for the following week. Was told I had none, walked out and that was it. Not sure what happened. Was not arsed to find out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Buzz Buzz

Yep, got fired from Baskin Robbins while I was working in the States on a J1.. was taking the piss in fairness, refused to serve customers and kept over indulging in banana splits.. burst out laughing when the manager told me! Landed a better job the next day making a mint in tips!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

My second job involved working for a little IT security consultancy for slave wages for a real bastid.

Went in to do C++/MFC (which was the in thing then) and ended up spending 18 months writing DOS assembly device drivers - christ my head was melted. About 15 months in I got offered another job and stupidly decided to stay on foot of a doubling of salary and a promise of doing "better" work. Turned down the job and the next day actually got told to fcuk off that my job there was writing assembly language.

A couple of months later, got a new job - arranged a 6 weeks start with the new company, 2 weeks later had a company weekend in Belgium - then handed in my noticed - got fired the next day. Didn't get paid the month either - but didn't care - started the new job the following Monday instead - result :)

Of course 6 months later when the guy came crawling back to me begging for me to do some nixers - it was of course company policy to "let people go" when ppl handed in their notice because they are an IT security company - not that it actually ever happened to anyone else.

D.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

I haven't been "sacked" per se but if an employer wanted to get rid of me the fcukers wouldn't tell me to my face.
    Always used just stop putting me on the roster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Im leaving a part time job soon, its in a gym / swimming pool.

The management are always real pr*cks about things, usually dont have the balls to give out to you face to face, you'll just get a little punishment like sh*t hours whenever you ask for a day off or anything, and rarely actually sack someone, they just give you no hours.

The shower of incompotent b*stards haven't got a clue how to run the place, they're only in charge because the owners are too cheap to hire anyone with any sort of qualifications.

Anyway someone let it slip to the manager that I was leaving, she's a bit p*ssed off I heard as I'm one of the most senior part-time staff, always have to train new staff etc even though I shouldn't be training anyone at all, and they still pay me minimum wage for it

I'm planning on leaving at the end of May, but i'm doing college exams up to then so I know she'll give me the sh*ttest hours up to then just to be a b*tch, so I know i'll just packing it in.

Can anyone think of anything funny to do as a little leaving trick? Dying to get one over on these?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Can anyone think of anything funny to do as a little leaving trick? Dying to get one over on these?

Take a sh*t in the pool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

You really are going to have a good work life ahead of you with your attitude to work..........good grief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I worked in a Chinese and my boss told me that he didn't need me to work the next Friday night. I thought that was great, a Friday night off. When I got home I found out that my sister's friend, who my boss fancied, had been given my hours on Friday night from then on. My boss's English was rubbish so what he'd been trying to tell me was that they didn't need me on Friday nights anymore.

Headed down to the restaurant and gave out **** about how unfair it was, etc, and how he should have explained properly or get one of the Cantonese guys with good English to translate. Also, to my shame, I cried about how my parents weren't able to give me money and I needed the Friday night (I also had Saturday night) to get me through college. Complete lie of course!

Got a call later saying he'd give me Thursday night. It worked out great because I basically got payed to do nothing every Thursday.

Not completely fired but halfway there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Im leaving a part time job soon, its in a gym / swimming pool.

The management are always real pr*cks about things, usually dont have the balls to give out to you face to face, you'll just get a little punishment like sh*t hours whenever you ask for a day off or anything, and rarely actually sack someone, they just give you no hours.

The shower of incompotent b*stards haven't got a clue how to run the place, they're only in charge because the owners are too cheap to hire anyone with any sort of qualifications.

Anyway someone let it slip to the manager that I was leaving, she's a bit p*ssed off I heard as I'm one of the most senior part-time staff, always have to train new staff etc even though I shouldn't be training anyone at all, and they still pay me minimum wage for it

I'm planning on leaving at the end of May, but i'm doing college exams up to then so I know she'll give me the sh*ttest hours up to then just to be a b*tch, so I know i'll just packing it in.

If you're training people in, this can't be difficult - you can get them to do anything you like!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

DaveMcG wrote: »
    Take a sh*t in the pool
    Yeah that happens every day though, diahorrea would be better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Dye the pool red.

You really are going to have a good work life ahead of you with your attitude to work..........good grief.
    I know yeah i'm f*cked, don't know how I lasted this long in a job, lookin for a handy doss job to do full time, any idea what I could do?

Eamon Dunphy looks like he's getting toward retirement age, I genuinely feel I could be the new him

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    If you're training people in, this can't be difficult - you can get them to do anything you like!
    We don't get too many new staff, only one every month or two

It's a common knowledge based job so there isn't really any way someone could be trained to be a complete f*ck up

But fortunately the criteria for recruitment these days seem to be a lack of said common knowledge, along with a distinct inability to swim. And don't worry I always play a little trick on the newbies, my last two were asking some girl to get me a bucket of hot steam to clean something up (yep you guessed it, blonde as the hairs on me a*se), and sending a fella to another pool nearby to get a fallopian tube for the pool pumps as ours was broken

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

lookin for a handy doss job to do full time, any idea what I could do?

civil service is your man so

Helix wrote: »
    civil service is your man so
    I'm going to ask this question again, at about 10 on Monday morning.

Dossers and wasters from all areas of employment should be just after dragging themselves into work then, and if my preconception of working life is correct, they should be just loading up the computer looking for a hang over cure on AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

or poker

or poker
    Friend does that, I envy the f*cker, just back from a holiday in Atlantic City, moving into a lovely new gaf now, doesn't work at all.

It's something i'm seriously considering, for the summer at least, but there is the potential to build up debts, already I don't think i'll be Bank of Irelands favourite customer when I get my post Cheltenham credit card bill. As for Ulster Bank.

But that seems like the best suggestion so far, can you expand on it? Where should one start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Angus MacGyver

Ive been fired from the same job twice.

Was working for a toy shop over the christmasabout 8 years ago. i kept missing days and the management were gettin really pissed because i was runnin the stores. I avoided the chop with all the other christmas staff because they had nobody else to do the job. Manager called me in one day and made it fairly clear that if i missed another day I was gone. I went two weeks without calling in sick but rang in sick the following week and was fired.

The following August I was out of work again after being fired from another job and the toy shop rang me seeing did I want my job back. I went back to them and was given a warning that absences wouldnt be tolerated. I swore blind that I wouldnt let them down. They even re-hired me on a much higher wage.All went well for a few weeks until i missed a day. Nothing much was said so i started pushing it. The last week I was there I called in sick on the Thursday, I reckoned they would be fairly pissed so I didnt show up on the friday. Went in on the Monday mornin and was told to get lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭hedgeh0g

Where do I start.

Was working for a publishing company for a year, this coincided with a binge every night on the raz. Used to go to the local shop around the corner a drop a Solpadine into a bottle of water and went into work hanging. Cant understand how they kept me so long, was one big piss fest.

Was called into the bosses office a few months later and he asked "do you think you are special" :-) I told him that if there were any uneven numbers in his bank balance to throw them in on my severance pay.

It was summer time, half way through the tax year and didnt give a fidlers.

I think its important to be fired a few times. My favourite x girlfriends are the ones that told me to fcuk off as well.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

dublindude wrote: »

The following day they came in angry and fired me.

WTF?!

I guess they went home and took it personally.

The company closed down shortly afterwards. What a disaster.

Weren't they doing you a favour, firing you so you could claim unemployment benefit which you can't do if you quit?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I'm going to ask this question again, at about 10 on Monday morning.

Dossers and wasters from all areas of employment should be just after dragging themselves into work then, and if my preconception of working life is correct, they should be just loading up the computer looking for a hang over cure on AH.

A false preconception I'm afraid. In my Real Life experience, people tend not to come in to work at all on bank holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

Got sacking from a food delivery company in mayo, weedy little F**ker ran the set up always claimed he was jonny rottens (lydon) cousin.
    Funny thing about it I was getting laid at the time he rang me, so answered the phone as I was ment to be working....Long story it was a quiet night etc etc...

And I also got sacked from eircom sales which I think was brilliant, Pure lowlife's, I signed up a alco couple to a phone package they couldnt afford, this was under my training period with my supervisor.....Wrecked the van they gave me and I wrote join BT in the dirt on the back window, apparently this isn't considered a value eircom like staff to have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

I got fired from a promotions job I had once. It was only about 4 hours a week giving out free beers and t-shirts and stuff in pubs. I gave one too many freebies to my boyfriend.

They called me and asked me about it, I admitted I was doing it, they said they'd call me back and never did. I assume I was fired.

I got a proper job the next week :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Buzz Buzz wrote: »
    Landed a better job the next day making a mint in tips!

Stuffed down your g-string no doubt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,322 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

Yep, got sacked from my first ever job after 5 or so years there because I had my ears/tongue/lip pierced. In all my years working there, I always had at lest one piercing. I never did anything about it though

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Yeah that happens every day though, diahorrea would be better

More worrying to them- but ultimately totally harmless, is to replace the daily water samples (which I presume are being done!!!) with dilute urine- perhaps if you have some fluid based steroids, a few drips should give any microbial content a welcome boost before it gets plated. :) It would be about 72 hours before fresh samples showed that the altered samples were an anamoly.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I didn't so much get sacked from a rather well-known company in the Plassey industrial estate in Limerick (not Dell) as I was told my temporary contract wouldn't be renewed. The supervisor said I was the "Weakest" member in the team I was in.
    I was bullied for the first couple of months when I joined. The 2-faced tossers who were doing the bullying eventually left but because of what they done (and the repetitive nature of the work) I ended up hating the job. I went in there every day with a rather indifferent attitude and the supervisor obviously noticed this, thus my contract was not renewed.
    Anyway, it was for the best that I was eventually out of there. Things are much better where I work now.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I got the Donnelly Visa in 1989 and one of my first port of calls was Boston. I got a cash paid job of over $750 a week as a hydraulics fitter for a garbage truck company run by an Italian :eek: The boss was a total raciest. He gave out to me for chatting to this black guy on the floor and said I had no business talking to that man. I was slowly building up a resentment to this guy.

It all boiled over when I knocked over and damaged a couple of chrome plated hydraulic rod that were improperly stored. After a row about the way he was treating his workers and other matters I said I was quitting and asked for my back pay of over $600 he refused to pay me and gave me $150 and said the $450 was to cover the damaged. When I was grabbing my toolbox I loaded it up with whatever company tools I could find in the workshop to make up the Deficit of my lost wages. :) I didnt stay in Boston for much longer after that!!!!

smccarrick wrote: »
    More worrying to them- but ultimately totally harmless, is to replace the daily water samples (which I presume are being done!!!) with dilute urine- perhaps if you have some fluid based steroids, a few drips should give any microbial content a welcome boost before it gets plated. :) It would be about 72 hours before fresh samples showed that the altered samples were an anamoly.....
    They take samples every 1-2 hours so this would be a lot of effort, could be worth it though, would they have to close the pool?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i've been sacked a few times

1st lateness 3rd week i was late every day for about 2 weeks got sacked it was a sucky job
    2nd i was sacked from a lab in a big multi national for (snip) which although i had been asked to do by management they didn';t back me up when hr found out
    3rd i was leaving a job anyway and the manager said come into my office , he tol' me that i wasn't gonna spend my notice hanging round chatting so i told him that if he didn't shut up id throw him out the window
    i strolled out off his office and when he came after me i told him in front of about 10 people that if he didn't shut up i'd smack him and that i might smack him anyway, still got paid my notice jumped up little hitler

i know work for me
    i might sack me i'm always dossing on boards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Noodledoodle

My brother was sacked last year ... he is mid forties and had worked for large shop in the south for last 5/6 years .... good worker, no problems. Hab been under a lot of stress & been very depressed in previous year. For a few weeks he had been takin some stuff from the shop, most of it was for the skip but a couple of things were okay. He was caught and admitted taking the things, he told them he could bring everything back, said sorry and tried to explain that he had been under stress etc He offered his resignation but the boss refused it and he was treated with contempt, he was fired. The shop got almost everthing except a few newspapers and some sweets back. My brother was distraught and we got him to a psych doctor ... he was diagnosed with severe stress related depression and the doctor said it was a common enough sympton and acknowledged it was totally out of character for my brother. He is still very upset at everything and feels his life is ruined because he was fired and it will be on his record. My sister is thinking of approaching the company he was working for to see if they would accept a letter of resignation to give him back his dignity,as his actions were directly linked to his condition rather than wilful but they are a big company and I don't think she will have much luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

;

Where should one start?

Don't.

Don't.
    I'm staying in tonight, so think it might be a good one to start

guess you could try here or here, but be warned, only about 5% of people actually make money at poker.