Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

May Festival.

• 21-03-2008 2:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭

Here is the details of The Sporting Emporium Summer Festival.

Monday 26th May.

€100 + €10 "No Limit" Hold'em Freezeout.

9pm Start.

Starting Stack : 7,000.

Clock : 20/25 minutes.

Tuesday 27th May.

Super Satellite for the Main Event.

€100 + €10 "No Limit" Hold'em.

1 x €100 Rebuy or Top-up.

9pm Start.

Starting Stack : 3,500. Rebuy/Top-up : 5,000.

Wednesday 28th May.

€150 + €15 Pot Limit Omaha.

Double Chance Freezeout.

9pm Start.

Chips : 3,500 + 3,500.

Thursday 29th May.

Super Satellite for the Main Event.

9pm Start.

Starting Stack : 3,500. Rebuy/Top-up : 5,000.

Friday 30th May.

The Main Event.

€1,000 + €100 "No Limit" Hold'em Freezeout.

3 Day Event.

8pm Start.

Starting Stack : 15,000.

Clock :

Day 1 : 60 minutes.

Day 2 + 3 : 90 minutes.

Saturday 31st May.

7pm.

Day 2 of The Main Event.

8pm.

€250 + €25 "No Limit" Hold'em Freezeout.

2 Day Event.

Starting Stack : 10,000.

Clock : 30/40 minutes.

Sunday 1st June.

7pm.

The Final Table of The Main Event.

8pm.

The Final Table of the €250 Tournament.

9pm.

€150 + €15 "No Limit" Hold'em Double Chance Freezeout.

Starting Stack : 7,000.

Clock : 25/30 minutes.

I will post the structures for all of the Tournaments in the next couple of days.

Details of The Main Event Satellites to follow.

Alex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭S.Emporium

Super Satellites for the Main Event of the May Festival.

€50 + €5 "No Limit" Hold'em Super Satellite.

1 x €50 Rebuy or Top-up.

Starting Stack : 3,000.

Rebuy/Top-up : 4,000.

Clock : 20 minutes.

Dates :

Tuesday 1st April.
    Tuesday 8th April.
    Tuesday 15th April.

€100 + €10 "No Limit" Hold'em Super Satellite.

Starting Stack : 3,500.

Rebuy/Top-up : 5,000.

Dates :

Tuesday 22nd April.
    Tuesday 6th May.
    Tuesday 13th May.
    Tuesday 20th May.
    Tuesday 27th May.
    Thursday 29th May.

Entry into the May Festival Main Event for every €1,100 collected.

All Satellites start at 9pm. Entry is allowed until the end of the second level ( 9.40pm ).

Please note : Tuesday 29th April is the date for the Cash Game League Play off.

Five of our seven Festival Tournaments are now European Ranking Tournaments. The Satellites on Tuesday 27th and Thursday 29th April are the only exceptions.

Please check www.pokerineurope.com for further details.

This Tuesday ( 22nd April ) is the first Satellite for the €1,000 Main Event. Tickets have been given out for the Satellite so there will be at least 25 runners before Tuesday. The Satellites for our €1,000 Tournament in November all had over 30 runners with an average of 6 tickets per satellite.

If you would like to reserve yourself a seat for any of the 7 Tournaments, feel free to send me a pm or phone the Poker room on 01-7030679 between 8pm-6am. The same goes for anybody enquiring about hotels or directions to the Club.

Alex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

at last, tournaments in may not clashing with exams, I wholl expect to win the Main Event, tyvm.

Just a reminder that tonight is the first Satellite for the €1,000 Main Event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭dagunman

ur reg fee of €100 is well steep, also the 50 reg for your 500 game is way to much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

dagunman wrote: »
    ur reg fee of €100 is well steep, also the 50 reg for your 500 game is way to much.

yeah, the food provided for the fee is DISGRACEFUL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

valor wrote: »

My first ever QFT post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭thechamp87

dagunman wrote: »
    valor wrote: »
    kpnuts wrote: »
    My first ever QFT post.

QFT.
    same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭pumpdaddy

how many runners expected to play M.E??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

its quite ironic that a venue so plush should provide such knackery offerings....i never crib over reg fees normally but if you look at the fitz eom, its quality food for half the price. CHLs with even less resources ensure players are not fed total crap.....why is this? I'm baffled. Do the SE not care about thier players. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

YULETIRED wrote: »
    its quite ironic that a venue so plush should provide such knackery offerings....i never crib over reg fees normally but if you look at the fitz eom, its quality food for half the price. CHLs with even less resources ensure players are not fed total crap.....why is this? I'm baffled. Do the SE not care about thier players. :confused:

No they don't. This stuff has been discussed many times. The food and the reg fees are out of the hands of the poker room management. They are dictated by upper management who:

- seem to have little understanding of what is on offer elsewhere in the Dublin poker market;
    - seem to have little inclination to learn;

As long as the poker floor continues to turn over much less per square foot than downstairs poker players shall be considered as second class citizens in there.

So, while I agree with all of the above about the food and reg (and contend that the €550 won't last five months) I would suggest that Alex won't be able to do a whole lot about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

players committee required in the SE imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭SWAR

players committee required in the SE imo

I second that, badly needed - but i'm not sure they would pay much attention anyway!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

SWAR wrote: »
    I second that, badly needed - but i'm not sure they would pay much attention anyway!!

Banging heads against hard brick walls comes to mind..............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Macau Cork

Hi John/Alex

I be hosting a satellite for this event can you put me down for 3 seats.

I contact yee with the details during the week.

That's great, Thanks Ken.

Talk to you soon.

Alex.

Every Tuesday between now and the festival (Monday 26th May - Sunday 1st June) will be €100 Super Satellites for the €1,000 Main Event.

Clock : 20/25 mins.

Starting Stack : 3,500.

Rebuy/Top-up : 5,000.

Doors open at 8pm for a 9pm Start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Hi ALex / John can either of you confirm what the €100 reg fee is going to provide or at least show this post to the people who make the decision re food etc. Your numbers are going to suffer as a consequence of the tripe thats served for these high buy in events in comparison to other clubs.

There are 2 other €500 buy in events either weekend of your main event and people will opt to play these instead of the SE game if you do not provide proper decent food. Fitz provides a full hot meal. Dessert etc etc. You know what I mean

Obviously people are getting peeved at your high reg fees and sh**te food.

Jay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

if you ask me the food in the SE is DISGRACEFUL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭SWAR

Jayminator wrote: »
    Hi ALex / John can either of you confirm what the €100 reg fee is going to provide or at least show this post to the people who make the decision re food etc. Your numbers are going to suffer as a consequence of the tripe thats served for these high buy in events in comparison to other clubs.

There are 2 other €500 buy in events either weekend of your main event and people will opt to play these instead of the SE game if you do not provide proper decent food. Fitz provides a full hot meal. Dessert etc etc. You know what I mean

Obviously people are getting peeved at your high reg fees and sh**te food.

Jay

Well said Jay, but i'm afraid it's not gonna make a blind bit of difference. In fairness to Alex and John tho, it's out of their hands - it's the snobs on the gamming floor (who don't have a clue by the way!) that make all the decisions regardless of what John and Alex propose.

As far as I know there is food being served in the bookies for the €1,000 game - probably twice as many hang sandwiches and coctail sausages as usual - now that's value for money!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭smoothcall

ye 100 reg is a joke,

How about book a few booths at Eddie Rockets for us and let us dine like kings then a bottle of plonk each in La Cave to wash the chillychips down..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

SWAR wrote: »
    Well said Jay, but i'm afraid it's not gonna make a blind bit of difference. In fairness to Alex and John tho, it's out of their hands - it's the snobs on the gamming floor (who don't have a clue by the way!) that make all the decisions regardless of what John and Alex propose.

As far as I know there is food being served in the bookies for the €1,000 game - probably twice as many hang sandwiches and coctail sausages as usual - now that's value for money!!!!!

John,

food was served in the bookies for the last 1000 event also.

Friday night - Bangers and Mash >> actually wasnt too bad as the gravy added some taste

Saturday Night - Fish + Chips >>> The fish was disgraceful, others and me actually just ate the batter and left the fish. The chips were only partially cooked and hence not edible.

Sunday night/Final Table >> cocktail sausages, sambos, goujons, sausage rolls and fruit skewers.

I emailed the SE management after this event as I was really really disappointed. About 5 weeks after I sent the mail I got an reply saying "Ive just seen this now, will investigate and get back to you". Needless to say thats the last I heard of it. In fairness I didnt do myself any favours when I signed off the email by saying that there were some homeless bums on the street that ate better than us that weekend. Obviously this probably lead to me getting no response but this is truly how I felt about our treatment for 100 reg.

Just this last weekend I was in the Dusk Till Dawn club in Nottingham >> now they can put on a show, top class. It is frustrating to see a facility such as the SE do so poorly. The customer is the last concern in there. Ive yet to see a business take that stance over a prolonged period of time and flourish. Despite the efforts of the lads on the poker floor the SE will certainly not prove to be an exceptionm to this rule.

If the the value for your reg is the same as the recent €500 game ie. sausages and sandwiches and nothing else, I'm not playing this event. €1000 + 50 would be a lot more acceptable and would be a step in the right direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Amigomenor

Its a pity that the quality of food is not better. its not difficult to arrange some decent food especially when the bookies downstairs can afford a full time chef and they do virtually no business. if the management of the gaming floor are preventing the lads in the poker from developing their custom its a sad state of affairs especially as they have the core of a good business here. My suggestion is that they should rule out the crap food they serve and instead look for better class alternatives, Marks and Spensers is down the road or get the chef downstairs to make somthing up nightly. Or else order from the PIg and Heifer a preprepared platter.

I think Dermot Desmond would be very interested to see these posts as he is not known as a man who scrimps on the bottom line. So much money was invested in this club that is shuld be sucking up all the competition and making itself a leader in the poker section within Dublin. Alex should be strong in his arguments to senior management and in turn he should demonstrate to them that he can grow the business through running it the way the customer wants, this can be his way of growing the business and taking a share of the increased turnover. The SE is in danger and this need to be addressed. Alex put a halt to the decline before its too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭doke

thechamp87 wrote: »
    If the the value for your reg is the same as the recent €500 game ie. sausages and sandwiches and nothing else, I'm not playing this event. €1000 + 50 would be a lot more acceptable and would be a step in the right direction.

I like your principled stand so much I think I've changed my mind and won't play this one after all. It's about time poker players starting voting with their feet against inflated regs and awful finger food.

Again, kudos to the Fitz on both counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

doke wrote: »
    I like your principled stand so much I think I've changed my mind and won't play this one after all. It's about time poker players starting voting with their feet against inflated regs and awful finger food.

Again, kudos to the Fitz on both counts.

I was really looking forward to this event, would've been the most I'd paid in as well, but tbh I agree with everything said above.

Thats €400 in reg you have lost already btw, wonder how much food you'd get for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Played in the Satellite last night, generated only 2 tickets (well almost), only 20 runners
    There was €88 taken out for the tournament league. Is that the norm for Satellites, just enquiring

Martin (guy who won the last €500 game Headsup V the Chief)
    Pat Storan won the tickets, and it was agreed that they would take the 1K each and split the balance evenly.

I doubled pat storan up (never a good idea) when I called his all in with pocket 7's and he had As8s,

I would like to play the SE 1k game but I'm in agreement with the general jist of this thread. The SE must reduce its reg OR decide to offer better value for 100 euro. As I mentioned before at the 500 game I had to go to a fast food joint for food plus I was disarmed of my lethal weapon (can of pepsi) on the way back into the club. I don't WANT to snub the tourny but enough is enough and player power must speak.

Down with suasages ! Down with limp soggy salty sangwidges. If yer not going to feed us at least place a big pole in the middle of the floor and get one of the girls to dance during the break. I'll take that.

Grand Final, Wednesday 28th May, 9.30pm. $110 + $10, with rebuys/topup at $60. 1 ticket is guaranteed subject to a minimum of 9 players taking part.

Feeders to the Grand Final, Thursday 22nd - Tuesday 27th, 9.30pm. $12 + $1 multi rebuy with 1 ticket guaranteed for the Grand Final subject to a minimum of 6 players taking part.

Could someone from the SE comment on the thoughts people have expressed in this thread. I am aware that decisions like this are probably out of the hands of John and Alex, but surely there is somebody there who would not be happy if they were to see the players' reluctance to play the event due to the terrible value for registration.

In such a competitive market, with so many tournaments in the calender I think it would be a shame for such a good tournament to lose runners due to something as simple as a reg fee.

The event isn't that far away, and committing to playing it involves keeping a weekend free so I'm sure others, along with myself, would like to know if the buyin and registration fee will remain the same.

Thanks,
    Adam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

The SE is my club of choice whenever i play live these days, the lads are very professional and work bloody hard to run the card room as best they can

However, as with previous posters the food really is appalling. I understand that they can't introduce meals and are very limited with the range of food they can make available to players but the stuff they do offer is the cheapest of the cheap and is normally dangerously undercooked.

I'm a few businesses that sell food to the public (restaurants/delis) and there are huge improvments that they could make just by changing suppliers and having whoever cooks the food trained in food preparation (would take about a day).

I can very seriously see a large scale case of food poisioning arising out of the SE.

If Alex or John want any help etc with addressing the food issue I'm more than happy to talk with them on my own time and advise on a practical easy solution that they could manage with on an ongoing basis. Just PM me.

Just for example a hot meal (thai curry & rice etc) could be provided to all players for about €4 a head, and the only preparation required would be 12 mins in an oven.

Alex/John

Can you comment on what food will be served at this event. People should be talking about the poker and not the food. I have seen that over 2000 viewings of the thread have taken place, this is not good advertising. Lets have some feedback as its the least we deserve.

You have a great facility so you should be doing better. You need to start delivering on what the customer wants otherwise they will go elsewhere. Lets see the average numbers over the last 6 months, me thinks there has been a decline and i reckon the food has been the cause of this.

Start delivering before the decline cant be halted.

Ehm before people get carried away, it's not the food that is the issue here. It's the fact that there is nothing to justify charging 10% reg on the tournament. The food is a separate issue and should be looked at separately. At the end of the day if you want dinner then the SE is not where you should go. In my initial post in the thread I was taking th efood as an example. I did say that if there was nothing else on offer for the 10% then it wasn't justified.

The fact of the matter is that 10% for what is offered is too much, with other venues offering a lot better value. The food is only part of the issue here. As I said, you're not there for dinner.

I would still like someone from the SE to comment in this thread, as commiting to playing the tournament involves keeping a weekend free and it's just around the corner.

Guys and Gals,

Thank you to everybody for your comments regarding the quality of the food in the Emporium. Just to let you all know that I am in the middle of organizing the food arrangements and as soon as I have the final details, I will post them on here.

Regards,

Alex.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Will the 4% reg be taken from all the festival events? I presume it won't be from the main event, but will it from the side events and sats?

The Tournament League finishes this Sunday with the Play off next Sunday ( 25th May ) so there will be nothing taken from any of the 7 Festival Tournaments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I had fully intended to play this because the dates are very suitable and it will be the last opportunity for me to play a good game for a while. But if the players are going to choose it as the weekend to put the foot down over the value for the reg in the SE then I guess I'll skip it. Unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭mormank

wow. if a player embargo on the SE arose because of all this talk i think it could be a massive step in the right direction. Organisers who's event are not up to scratch would have to think twice in future and it would surely improve the game for everyone in the future...player power ftw!!!!

Lets wait and see Alex's response on this. The big May tournament is one I really want to play as the structure is great but I dont want to play against a low number of players. Will leave my decision to the end of the week so Alex if you could come back on the food and the reg that would be great. Thanks

I have decided that I am not playing this event. I am sick of providing feedback to the SE on where their service lies in relation to their local competitors only to receive lip service in return.

Ive not made the decision lightly esp considering the brilliant structure and that i ft the last 1k game there.

There is a growing trend in this thread, and if it is ignored by the mgt and staff of the SE then it is worrying.

At a quick glance through the thread, there are a lot of players who have decided against playing the event due to various complaints.

Myself
    Valor
    Smoothcall
    Dagunman
    Goodluck2me
    Doke
    Lloyd
    BCB among others.

I also think that if myself, smoothcall and dagunman are not going to play then Rees and O'Dea won't either.

That is 10 players just at a glance who will not play. I think this is a great pity as no doubt John and Alex will put on a great tournament. I also have no doubts that if something is rectified in the next few days, that most if not all of the players mentioned above would play the event and give it the numbers it should deserve.

on a separate note. Is the 500 game on this weekend? I may play this one. I will eat some pasta beforehand for sustinance.

SE! is the 500 game on this weekend?
    How many tickets are out for it?
    Is it cancelled due to the festival?

Will there be chicken curry....if so I'll knock the pasta on the noggin.

tell us tell us..

wow, player power in action....scary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

easy to make this stand for a 1100 buy-in;). yeah put me on the list i aint playin either!.

Ah no im mostly joshing. most of the players on the list have bought into 1000buying before to be fair.

Let us raise an army of chimps and sizes control of the state.....

YOU MANIACS you blew it up... god damn you.....god damn you all to helll....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VUR-OdR3egU

PS I love my new keyring...

YULETIRED wrote: »
    Let us raise an army of chimps and sizes control of the state.....

YOU MANIACS you blew it up... god damn you.....god damn you all to helll....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VUR-OdR3egU

PS I love my new keyring...

wait....that was our planet?:eek:

this new player power thing could have some interesting consequences...cue dream sequences in El Stuntman's head....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

easy to make this stand for a 1100 buy-in;). yeah put me on the list i aint playin either!.

Ah no im mostly joshing. most of the players on the list have bought into 1000buying before to be fair.

Fair point Aidan and I too can't say I'll be boycotting the 1000 game because of ridiculous reg fees but I will never buyin direct to a 500 +50 reg game in there again which is something I have done in the past.

This isn't just about the food either. The quality of some of the tournie dealers has dropped a lot due I feel to people not tipping in tournies where the reg fees are considered to be too high and where Alex and John are no longer given time to train dealers correctly so we have to put up with surly blackjack dealers dealing at a snails pace in some instances. Even some of the newer cash game dealers are very poor in the SE. This is not something it pleases me to say but I know I'm not alone in thinking it.

ollyk1 wrote: »
    Fair point Aidan and I too can't say I'll be boycotting the 1000 game because of ridiculous reg fees but I will never buyin direct to a 500 +50 reg game in there again which is something I have done in the past.

This isn't just about the food either. The quality of some of the tournie dealers has dropped a lot due I feel to people not tipping in tournies where the reg fees are considered to be too high and where Alex and John are no longer given time to train dealers correctly so we have to put up with surly blackjack dealers dealing at a snails pace in some instances. Even some of the newer cash game dealers are very poor in the SE. This is not something it pleases me to say but I know I'm not alone in thinking it.

very fair point on the dealers Olly, there has been a serious deterioration in there lately.

bring back Laurent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

very fair point on the dealers Olly, there has been a serious deterioration in there lately.

bring back Laurent

I have twice left the SE this year due to dealer incompetence. Once after only being in the place after 30 minutes when I had intended to put in a 4 or 5 hour session.

As for Laurent I don't know what happened to that guy, he was in Luke's for a short while but I assume he's working on a cruise ship somewhere these days ! :D