Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The ones that got away

• 20-03-2008 9:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭

Really crap movies with good actors released by big studios. There aren't many. Even Superman Returns was watchable despite it coulda been much better. Likewise with Cloverfield, it delivered on some level.

But I think my award for worst 'big' film ever made has to go to the steaming pile of monkey s*** that is [drum roll please]
    Batman And Robin

How, HOW did this thing ever see the light of day? Clooney's not a bad actor at all even for a hearthrobby type but he's not the worst offender here. Uma fooking Thurman has some of the worst lines I've ever heard on the silver screen, absolutely shocking. And how exactly did she "become" Poison Ivy? She fell into some weeds, and 10 seconds later she emerges with these superpowers? WTF?

Alicia Silverstone turns into "Batgirl" faster than you can say "plot hole" and next thing she's jumping thru glass roofs and using her bat thingymajigs. Wow, I thought the job of superhero involved a training regime of some sort.

I don't normally whine about films, some are better than others, but this yoke baffles me altogether. Let us not forget Arnie playing himself (aka the North Pole Terminator) but I'm actually glad he's there because some of his lines are so cheesily funny you just have to lol. "Tonight, hell freezes overrrrrrrrrrrrrrr" - Arnie at his best.

Oh, and the WORST part of this painstaking film is Clooney whipping out the Bat credit card. I mean FFS. Joel Schumacher and whoever else was responsible for this abhorration should face the death penalty, no trial.

We thank the lord for Nolan & Bale, for no matter how bad their endeavours may be, we must be grateful it could never worsen Batman & Robin.

Absolute stinker. -1000 out of 10.

Sorry I needed to rant, Sky have been showing it on repeat all ****ing month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭plonk

3 words

WILD WILD WEST

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

plonk wrote: »
    3 words

WILD WILD WEST
    Haven't seen it in a while but dont remember it being totally excrucitating. Could never quite figure out that movie for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭plonk

Its just horrible so horrible in fact I dont even want to try to put it into words but I would also have to agree with you about Batman and robin. Having 5 big names and making SUCH a terrible film is inexcuseable.

Joel schumacher has made alot of bad films and not very many good ones. Then when you take into account that Tim burton directed the first two batman films which pretty much put him and batman on the map. ( I know beetlejuice was pre batman but batman helped alot more IMO)

Schumacher had a lot to live up to and batman forever didnt help the situation but batman and robin put the icing on the cake plus I think kilmer and carrey were definately better choices than clooney and arnie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭big_show

Rollerball....god help us all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

See most of De Niro and Pachino's output in the last 10-15 years. Highlights include:

88 Minutes
    People I Know
    Meet The Fockers
    Analyse This

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭My name is Todd

GIGLI

Al Pacino
    Christopher Walken
    Ben Affelck
    Jennifer Lopez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Brow

I actually feel for Joel Schumacher. Well at least in the case of the Batman franchise. His cut of Batman Forever was butchered by the studio and had some plot lines scrapped. For instance the opening scene with Two Face and the bank originally happened halfway through the film instead of opening it. There's been cries for Schumachers original cut to be released in a special edition but i doubt it'll ever see the light of day.

As for Batman and Robin the studio wanted Schumacher to gear towards a more campy version similar to the 60's tv show for his next effort instead of his effort that was 'Forever' that the studio had to 'save'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Jugs82

Rollerball....god help us all

+1 - so bad, i almost cried

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Cpt.Willard

I was gonna say Be Cool, but then I remembered John Travolta and Uma Thurman are crap.

Brow wrote: »
    As for Batman and Robin the studio wanted Schumacher to gear towards a more campy version similar to the 60's tv show for his next effort instead of his effort that was 'Forever' that the studio had to 'save'.
    That certainly explains a lot of the crapiness. It's too bad to be unintentional.
    See most of De Niro and Pachino's output in the last 10-15 years. Highlights include:

88 Minutes
    People I Know
    Meet The Fockers
    Analyse This
    Boring, maybe, unfunny, perhaps, but nowhere near the same league as Batman & Robin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭big_show

i dunno savman, have another think about 88minutes....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

two words.

battlefield... earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Jack B. Badd

two words.

battlefield... earth.

Two more words.

Shut...up.

That movie never happened!

/me cries

two words.

battlefield... earth.
    Haven't seen it yet but have been mighty tempted in the video shop :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

the books meant to be really good. at least my brother loved it, even if it was written by the nutter behind scientology, but he thought the movie was a travesty.

personally i just thought it was boring and all over the place plot wise. its a huge book so they probably cut out too much stuff. it came off as kinda dumb really.

i think its one of the only films i ever left the cinema thinking " that was a waste" , that and fecking rushmore. i know some people loved that but it did my head in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

I was gonna say Be Cool, but then I remembered John Travolta and Uma Thurman are crap.

i was about to say be cool aswell, but you cant say they're crap, with the right script they kick ass (*ahem* pulp fiction) i dont get how it could have gone so badly wrong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

plonk wrote: »
    3 words

WILD WILD WEST

It had the best theme song for a movie ever.

Wiki,wiki,wiki......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Bubs101 wrote: »
    It had the best theme song for a movie ever.

Wiki,wiki,wiki......

ah good aul stevie wonder :p