Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Doyle Brunson - Book Signing

• 17-03-2008 4:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭

Im happy to confirm that Doyle has arrived in Dublin and that Todd has also come along for the spin.

Doyle will be doing a book signing on Wednesday night 19th at 9.30pm in Citywest.

He has 500 copies of his books which he will be giving away so turn up on the night if you would like a photograph, signed book etc.

Noel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 SIDESHOW BLOB

can i sell some of dem magazines while doyler is giving out his books,i'll even sign them for ya,
    is it true dat doyler has bought out paddy power and you now work for him noely boy ... rumors are that ur gonna wear a ten gallon hat for the weekend .. true or false ya big lick-ars :eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

can i sell some of dem magazines while doyler is giving out his books,i'll even sign them for ya,
    is it true dat doyler has bought out paddy power and you now work for him noely boy ... rumors are that ur gonna wear a ten gallon hat for the weekend .. true or false ya big lick-ars :eek::eek::eek:

Ten Gallon hats are part of our normal office attire.

Interesting name, quite a stupid post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭rag2gar

Unlike other book signings where the deal is "I'll chat and sign your book as long as you buy the book" this one is different.

There is no charge for the meet and great AND the books are free.

wp Doyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭MrPreachan

Ten Gallon hats are part of our normal office attire.

Interesting name, quite a stupid post.

All 3 combined would be the spitting Image of the real Sideshow Bob:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

rag2gar wrote: »
    Unlike other book signings where the deal is "I'll chat and sign your book as long as you buy the book" this one is different.

There is no charge for the meet and great AND the books are free.

wp Doyle

you have to sign up to his site...lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

bump - just a reminder.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I'll probably head out for a nosey to see if I can get a spin in his chair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

5starpool wrote: »
    I'll probably head out for a nosey to see if I can get a spin in his chair.

I'm hoping to dust of either my indiana jones hat or my aussie kangaroo leather hat and come along and get a pick of me and the legend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭Blip

Just back from Citywest with my Doyle Brunson's Super System 2, signed by the man himself and Todd too.

What a freebie, WP PPP, Cheers. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Doyle signed books for almost 2 hours straight, what a legend of a man! Sound as a pound too. I was in shock at the handful of people in line who asked me 'who is that?', 'what books are they' and the like - most of whom are playing tomorrow, dead money I imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Taxipete29

Great to meet the man himself and Todd too of course and the signed copy of Super System 2 was a fantastic freebie. WP Doyle, a true Legend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 QueenJulesII

ionapaul wrote: »
    Doyle signed books for almost 2 hours straight, what a legend of a man! Sound as a pound too. I was in shock at the handful of people in line who asked me 'who is that?', 'what books are they' and the like - most of whom are playing tomorrow, dead money I imagine.

You are joking?!!!

So disappointed to have missed him....

I played in the Freeroll tonight with a guy who won the opportunity to have breakfast with the guy and he was more nervous about that, than playing with his free ticket in the IO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bigslick

ionapaul wrote: »

He was real sound! I was 5th in line when it started, and i to was shocked at how many people were asking who he was, and referring to super system as 'the big book'. The two guys behind me even said that as soon as they got home they would be putting theirs up on ebay :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

bigslick wrote: »
    He was real sound! I was 5th in line when it started, and i to was shocked at how many people were asking who he was, and referring to super system as 'the big book'. The two guys behind me even said that as soon as they got home they would be putting theirs up on ebay :eek:

LMFAO...that was me, But I was joking :D I was about 6th/7th in the que

No way this baby is going on e-bay

What a guy, ole Doyler 75 years old signing books in citywest

Speaking of guys who didn't know who he was, Surrinder Sunar stopped myself and a mate outside in the smoking area and asked us what we were carrying I was like "eh it's a book by Doyle Brunson"

He says, "hmmmm never heard of it, how much is he charging"

This is when I should have flattened Surrindar with a tallaght loaf:D, but decided to just let him look for himself:p

WP TexDolly gg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

The Al Lad wrote: »
    LMFAO...that was me, But I was joking :D I was about 6th/7th in the que

No way this baby is going on e-bay

What a guy, ole Doyler 75 years old signing books in citywest

Speaking of guys who didn't know who he was, Surrinder Sunar stopped myself and a mate outside in the smoking area and asked us what we were carrying I was like "eh it's a book by Doyle Brunson"

He says, "hmmmm never heard of it, how much is he charging"

This is when I should have flattened Surrindar with a tallaght loaf:D, but decided to just let him look for himself:p

WP TexDolly gg

Book signed by Doyle and levelled by Surrindar in the one night. VWP! ;)

kpnuts wrote: »
    Book signed by Doyle and levelled by Surrindar in the one night. VWP! ;)

lol, that Surrindar...wat a messer:p

Just saw this on the cardplayer site, its taken from Doyles blog

Nice things to say about the Irish and the country itself

"I got to Ireland and it was pretty much the way I remember it. This is my 3rd trip here instead of my second. Louise reminded me that we came in 1982 to the second Irish Open and she was right. I didn't come so much for the tournament as for the cash games. Chip Reese, Walter Cintula and myself flew in at Terry Roger's request to play some large cash games. I can still remember playing for 36 hours, going home and sleeping for 10 hours, coming back and the same people were still playing. I sat down and when another player tried to join us a jeweler named Melvin said "oh, no fresh players can join us, we are too tired." They didn't even notice I had slept and come back. Great spot, huh? Don't worry, they broke me.

Then we came back in 1987. Todd was 18 years old and led the tournament the first 3 days and the Irish press called him "The Dark Horse" which has been his nickname ever since. The Irish economy is just booming. It makes me sick that the dollar has fallen so much that everywhere I go our money isn't worth as much as the country I'm visiting. The other thing I've noticed is how short the Irish people are. They must be at least 2 inches shorter than Americans. Also, I don't believe I've seen one Irish person to be what I would call fat. Gotta go to a book signing. More later. -DB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

leprechaun-gold-inverted.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭sirpsycho

Got me book too and fair play to the brunsons, both smiling away through what must be torture sitting there and signing books! Sound lads.

Got stopped by a few people asking me how much they were charging for the book. When i told them it was free you wanna see the look of amazement on their faces. Was funny watching them sprint off into the queue!