Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First trip to Ibiza - advice required!

• 17-03-2008 4:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭

Hi all.

Myself and my Girlfriend are looking to head to Ibiza in early september to take in the clubs. We've wanted to do it for ages but for one reason or another never got around to it.

So ...Where do i start? Am i better booking a package break with Falcon (Or other) or book flights with AL and book a hotel myself? Ideally we'd like to stay somewhere half decent and be within reaching distance of the clubs.

Any help greatly appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

are you sure clubs open in Dec?

I remember one year we went in May, it was crap as hardly anything was open.

Season's June- Sep, which is a fantastic time to go. There's loads of packaged hols with travel agents, at decent prices, depends how much privacy you want really to determine whether you should book both seperately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

i think the 2 of you's will be on your own, if you's went in December, all the clubs close in mid September.

if you want to be right in the middle of things stay in the westend, or just walking distance stay on the bay(nicer hotels too) and if you don't like walking, you can get boat taxi's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭ianomccabe

Sorry guys i meant september...dunno why i said december:confused:

Ideally look to get there before or as the closing parties were going on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭sur_1_nuage

ianomccabe wrote: »
    Sorry guys i meant september...dunno why i said december:confused:

Ideally look to get there before or as the closing parties were going on

Depends what kinda music you re into. Anyway, i would recommend you 2 sites to check

Ibiza voices
    OR
    Ibiza spotlight. You can even book club entrances on this one and there s also a recap of the line ups per club and per night. Did that last year...very handy as you dont have to queue either.

I can tell you just one thing...you WILL enjoy it!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

advice: 5-htp before you go, lots of it, and some while youre there (buy it at health stores)
    oh and if you have problems sleeping, i heard the doctors sometimes prescribe valium, apparently theyre life savers for ibiza insomniacs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

advice: 5-htp before you go, lots of it, and some while youre there (buy it at health stores)
    oh and if you have problems sleeping, i heard the doctors sometimes prescribe valium, apparently theyre life savers for ibiza insomniacs

Would docs really prescribe valium for that sort of sleeping problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

you can get valium over the counter, can't ye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭jimmychin

ADVICE: be careful with mandy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Ibiza Spotlight is the best to book a Hotel with, avoid package holidays with the usual suspects the hotels/apartments are not as good.

Bring plenty of money (a cliche but you'll really need it over there) at €18 for a vodka and orange and €12 a beer int he clubs and €8 for a bottle of water it's an absolute rip off, clubs wise my fav is Pacha,also Space and Amnesia and El Divino, all the clubs are good although lack of atmosphere wherever there was minimal played, the best atmosphere i went to last summer was the club classics room @ Renaissance in Pacha, MN2S @ El Divino was pretty cool as well.

Obviously Bora Bora beach is a must for a few hours during the day for some afternoon grooving in the sun, we stayed in Playa D'en Bossa which IMO is the best resort to stay in, well Ibiza Town is cool but expensive, San Antonio especially the west end is too much, worth going there for a few hours but it's populated by too many pissed up Brits falling over the place getting sick.

If you need anymore info let me know.

Cheers Jonny and the rest!

Least i have an idea where to get started now. Thanks again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Limey

Stay away from all the big nights that the reps tell you have to go to, normally you just get the Ibiza Uncovered posers and people into the image thing, stick to smaller (or at least non hype) events.

Limey wrote: »
    Stay away from all the big nights that the reps tell you have to go to, normally you just get the Ibiza Uncovered posers and people into the image thing, stick to smaller (or at least non hype) events.

Really they could say whatever, my plan is decided weeks before. I am only looking at which act or DJ i want to see and am going to wherever they are playing!

Limey wrote: »

You make a good point,although some of the big nites are good but not all of them, the most overated and probably commercial is either f**k me im famous David Guetta's nite or Pure Pacha Pete Tong's nite both @ Pacha which ironically enough is IMO still the best club although it really is an utter rip off @ €12 a botle of beer.:confused:

If you can go to raves in secluded caves or in the mountains, all word of mouth and donations accepted but hard to get to know about, also the workers party's are some of the best as well.

Thanks lads. On jonnys advice looking to stay in Playa den Bossa. Is this within commuting distance to all the clubs? I know it is close to Ibiza Town but aren't there more in San An?
    Thanks again

Thanks lads. On jonnys advice looking to stay in Playa den Bossa. Is this within commuting distance to all the clubs? I know it is close to Ibiza Town but aren't there more in San An?
    Thanks again

Well in my opinion, clubs in San An are a load of sh1t. There is only Eden and Es Paradis if i remember well + West End :rolleyes: + Bar M, Cafe Mambo and Cafe Del Mar.
    In PDB there s Space(voted best 2007 club by the way) and Bora Bora.
    Than you have DC 10 near the Airport, so near enough to Ibiza
    And also Amnesia and Privilege in San Rafael, which is very close to Ibiza as well.

I stayed in San An last year and i would not stay there again me thinks as i was constantly at the other end of the island

Dont worry about commuting, the disco-bus is running all night (if u manage to get in), i never went to any San An club last year and relied on the bus, never had any problem moving around, but now it was september so not as rammed as July and August.

btw, i m not sure to head off this year and I AM JEALOUS :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭booooonzo

I stayed in poth San An (16 fellas) and Play denBossa(me & gf) and my advice would be STAY AWAY from San An except for maybe a trip to the rocks at cafe del mar for sunset and maybe a meal, forget the name but the very first bar you hit at the rocks is tasty, you can eat out onthe rocks after the sunset while watching the water lap up and all that.

PDB is way nicer but i wouldnt stay too close to Bora Bora as the hotels around there looked like your head would be wrecked and its only a 3 min walk over the beach to the other hotels anyway.

Ibiza town is class and the boat goes over the whole time, Far too much to reccomend tbh. although we tried walkin to ibiza town at noon for the fun cause we kept missing busses, Not a good idea!

we stayed here and it was really nice and cheap http://www.ibiza-hotels.com/jabeque/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭booooonzo

Oh ya DON'T MISS SPACE!!! It rocks.
    Not sure is dc10 still open but if you like your house deep and dirty its savage.
    Pacha is good for the funkier techy stuff.

F**k it, i wanna go back now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Limey

You just have to make a few nights at the sunset bars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 ValloN

i've been to ibiza the last 3 summers, twice with my girlfriend (the marian in san an, the ebano in playa den bossa) and once with the lads (the jet in playa den bossa)

personally i would say to stay in playa den bossa, it seems to be a much more mature clubbing crowd who stay there. more interested in the music than getting absolutly wasted. the one problem with pdb though is the bars, they are really very poor in comparison to san an

heres some pros and cons of both places just from my experience

san antonio
    pros
    - plenty of bars to choose from on the strip, all packed and have a great atmosphere
    - cafe del mar and the other sunset bars are a stones throw away
    - eden and es paradis are on your doorstep, depends on your muscial taste though!
    - i found theres a much better chance of getting reduced entry flyers into the big clubs down at the end on the strip, close to the beach

cons
    - can be a very laddish resort, especially if its just you and your girlfriend going, maybe a little intimidating
    - will cost you about 20 - 25 euro in a taxi to get to space, pacha, il divino, dc-10 and bora bora, plus you have to think about getting all the way home afterwards and another 20 - 25 euro!
    - much younger crowd, so it can get a little messy at times
    - the music being played in the big clubs in san an can be a little cheesy

playa den bossa
    pros
    - bora bora and space are literally on your doorstep
    - pacha, il divino and dc-10 are a short hop in a taxi
    - much bigger and nicer beach front than in san an
    - no real trouble, night or day, as i said, the crowd that go to pdb are more mature and diverse than san an
    - top quality tuneage in all the clubs that are close
    - ibiza town is close if you want to go for a decent meal

cons
    - i found the bars to be completely devoid of atmosphere at times so it can be a little difficult to get yourself in the mood for your big night out
    - if you stay in or close to the jet apartments it can be a little difficult to get any sleep
    - hard to get reduced entry flyers unless you stay in bora bora all day and look like your part of the cool brigade!

and a couple of other things:
    amnesia and privilage and right in the centre of the island, so itll cost you the same amount of money and time to get to these clubs from san an and pdb.
    bring plenty of money if you plan on going to the big clubs on more then 2 or 3 nights of your stay. i ran out of money a day before the end of my first and second year there, hassle!
    id say just over 1000 euro each will get you by
    id recommend the ebano apartments in playa den bossa, 5 minutes walk from the action and a good place for couples :D

ok, i was bored. sorry for the long post!

Thanks for all the help on this lads, just checking it again now.

Ended up booking Hotel Garbi in PDB, going from 16th - 23rd Sept. Looking forward!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭W1llz0rz

Ended up booking Hotel Garbi in PDB, going from 16th - 23rd Sept. Looking forward!

Thinking of going at the exact same time man, might see ya there, haha ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

+1 for staying away from San Antonio. Full of pissed-up 20-year-old Brits.
    jimmychin wrote: »
    ADVICE: be careful with mandy

Haha, she's a good friend, but easy to get sick of.

Garbi come recommended i stayed there last year and it's very nice, plus they have upgraded it to a 4 * Hotel this year so even better

My mate CTRob is currently in Ibiza for the summer so anyone wants to know anything about the scene let me know and ill get in touch with him.

By the way mate i might be in Ibiza for a few days around the time you're there,will let you know.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

What ever you do, dont do this....
    An Irish woman has been arrested in Ibiza after trying to sneak 100 ecstasy tablets into an Ibiza nightclub in her bra.

The 23-year-old tourist was on her way into the Space nightclub with seven of her friends when the drugs were discovered.

The doorman asked the woman if she was carrying any drugs and to his surprise she pulled a bag of pills out of her bra. The bouncer then confiscated the tablets and called the Civil Guard.

It is understood that the woman was stunned by this because she claimed that she didn't know it was a serious crime to carry drugs on the party island.

"She's obviously not the sharpest tool in the box," a police source said.

"The doorman asked her if she was carrying any drugs and she simply put her hand inside her bra and pulled out a big bag of pills."

"The bouncer couldn't quite believe it."

"The girl claimed she did not know it was a serious crime to carry drugs in Ibiza."

The woman is now facing a possible penalty of up to nine years in prison if found guilty of dealing drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

lol what an eejit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

might be ehadin over for the closin down parties.

any1 i know thhat has gone over the last few years has said playa den bosa all the way.

space..nuff said

KevIRL wrote: »
    What ever you do, dont do this....

dozy cow deserves to go to jail for being so stupid in the first place..."she didn't know it was a serious crime to carry drugs in Ibiza" she says :rolleyes:

copeyhagen wrote: »
    might be ehadin over for the closin down parties.

any1 i know thhat has gone over the last few years has said playa den bosa all the way.

space..nuff said

I'm going over on Sept 13th for a few days, will catch the MN2S closing Party @ El Divino which i was at last year and it was excellent, the line up this year is class, Derrick Carter and the man like Joey Negro;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

i would be more into the space sunday closing down party with zabiela, steve lawler, nic fanciulli!

just talkin with the lads there. possibility of heading to i <3 techno 2008.

lineup looks class already

copeyhagen wrote: »
    i would be more into the space sunday closing down party with zabiela, steve lawler, nic fanciulli!

just talkin with the lads there. possibility of heading to i <3 techno 2008.

lineup looks class already
    Too proggy for me mate, music id listen to at home and not in a club.

I Love Techno however would be something id be into, i may look int going there somtime.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭properbo

hi.
    i'm heading over on the 5th -19th . its my m 30th on the 17th! its my first time. like the sound of these raves in da caves. anyone any info on them? staying in playa. can't wait!!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭CTRob

properbo wrote: »
    hi.
    i'm heading over on the 5th -19th . its my m 30th on the 17th! its my first time. like the sound of these raves in da caves. anyone any info on them? staying in playa. can't wait!!:pac:

As Jonny68 already said I'm living over here for the summer in San Antonio, if u get down to the bay near savannahs at around 5am some nights there does be groups out having a bit of a dance of which can be good fun, only prob is you dont wanna bring **** down there with u cause the cops are well aware of what goes on and do random searches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭insert-gear

Check out who you want to go see on ibiza spotlight. Don't pay at the door (they sell tickets everywhere) Cheapest place to get tickets is in Playa den Bossa, its across the road from where the free bus is to amnesia (not the car hire place on the same side of the road). If youre looking to mingle dont stay in playa den bossa, its aaaaaall spanish and italian. san an bay is good to avoid the crowds if you want a lack of scumbags, but its still close to san an if you want a bit of mentalness.

Amnesia make you pay 2 euro i think it was and leave it in if they see you with your camera so just stash it, once your in they dont take it off you

get drunk before you leave the house cos drink in the big clubs is riiiiiiidiculously overpriced, how ever go to Tropi in San an and its 4 euro for half a pint glass of vodka and a red bull

dont buy ket off strangers... bad idea

pace yourself, it will get messy otherwise

if ur doin it on the cheap busses arent too much hassle (just make sure ya know what bus your getting in which direction)

invest in a safe, and leave your passports at reception for the duration.

thats all i can think of now