Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another Knacker Dilemma

• 17-03-2008 2:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭

Just before anyone leaves a comment accusing me on "attention seeking" I'm not. And secondly this isn't a personal issue thing so please Mods don't move this, I'm just looking to see what any of the After Hours crew would do if they were in my situation.

Basically, I gave a girl €100 for something (not drugs). She lives in a pretty rough area but I met her a few times and she appeared pretty decent each time so I took no notice of where she lived. Anyways since giving her the money I've heard nothing back (shes not replying to texts or anything, it's been almost 2 months) so I decided to send her a message asking her for my money back or the thing I paid her to get and that if I got neither I'd have to go to the guards. She sent back a very threatening message telling me that if I went to the guards she'd kill me and "dats not a threat its a promise" kinda thing. That was 3 days ago. Last night some young lad pulled up outside my house with a hood up, lights off and stayed there in darkness on his own texting and hopping out for a smoke every now and again. He stayed for 30 mins then drove off. My family are really concerned now.

I'm just looking to see what you would do if you were me in this situation? I'm just standing up for my principles, I wouldn't ever let such scumbags threathen my family and do a runner with my money like that, in other words I wouldn't let people intimidate me like that. My family on the other hand want me to cut all communication and just accept that my money is gone and hope that they won't come back (if it even had anything to do with them that is).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Nick_oliveri

Yes... go to the guards and tell them you paid 100eur for drugs. Your gonna have a bad time. They'll probably pay no attention. Time to cut your losses and leave it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

edit - excuse me.. mis read the post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

What? You payed her 100 e for what exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

Yes... go to the guards and tell them you paid 100eur for drugs. Your gonna have a bad time. They'll probably pay no attention. Time to cut your losses and leave it.

I'm not into any of that crap, I said it wasn't drugs. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

On the money front I would say let it go. I myself have helped out a couple of apparently "respectable" people who needed help at the time but soon disappeared when I went looking for the money back. Sometimes the only solace in that situation is that you gave with a good heart.

On the possible intimidation I personally would be inclined to report it, if it continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

What was it?

Essentially you were conned.

I thinking knowing what the item was may help us give u a better answer...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

Yup, we're gonna need to know what the money was for before we can offer proper opinions.

Also, maybe the guy outside your house was just waiting for someone.
    Sounds like if I wanted to intimidate you I'd do more than sit outside your house getting out of the car to have a smoke.
    If a guy's too scared to smoke in his car, he's probably no real threat to your safety.

Was it something legit that you bought, or "off the back of a lorry".
    if the first you have some (minute)chance with the police, the second, no chance.
    Either way your're on a loser because of who you may be dealing with, just put it down to experience and don't fall for that one again.

Was it a 100 e worth of barells? Some rip off gear? dvd's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

im a small bit lost here. so did you give her the money to get something for u or was it that you lent (sp) her money to get something for herself? either way shes being a right c*** about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Put it down to experience and treat it as a learning exercise - you learned some valuable lessons: never trust anyone whom you don't know with your money (it doesn't matter where they're from), never pay for something until you actually get it handed to you (or at least a receipt), never tell strangers your address.
    Now respect your family's wishes and move on.

It was for a fake drivers license for my J1 cuz you have to be 21 over there (so going to the guards isn't an option really), quite a necessity. And I can assure you this lad wasn't waiting for someone. It was extremely suspicious and the house isn't in an area where you'd park outside to wait for someone.

I'm a bit shocked here, does no one else agree with standing up for your rights? And surely you all wouldn't just ignore someone threatening your family?

togster wrote: »
    Was it a 100 e worth of barells? Some rip off gear? dvd's?

Hey.. tog.. take yer head outta the gutter.. yer gonna try and start selling some of your knock off stuff again :D

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    I'm a bit shocked here, does no one else agree with standing up for your rights? And surely you all would just ignore someone threatening your family?

2 wrongs and all that. You're fcuked

It was for a fake drivers license I'm a bit shocked here, does no one else agree with standing up for your rights?

Darling.

Quit while you're ahead.

If you dont agree..

Take it to the ombudsman.. Jimmy "4 knuckles" Joyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I'm a bit shocked here, does no one else agree with standing up for your rights? And surely you all would just ignore someone threatening your family?

Not really any rights in this seeing as you yourself were doing something illegal. It would have been a different story had this been a case of helping someone out. As posted above learn the lesson and move on. The potential threat appears to have come from your own actions anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

It was for a fake drivers license for my J1 cuz you have to be 21 over there (so going to the guards isn't an option really), quite a necessity. And I can assure you this lad wasn't waiting for someone. It was extremely suspicious and the house isn't in an area where you'd park outside to wait for someone.

I'm a bit shocked here, does no one else agree with standing up for your rights? And surely you all wouldn't just ignore someone threatening your family?
    I think you're being paranoid. The kittykiller said it best. If all that happened is all that you said happened, they wouldn't see you as a threat/worth getting out of bed over.
    You paid for an illegal item, made an empty threat and ...wait, remind me, are you meant to be on the moral high ground here? You took a risk and got stung. What do you want? You can't go to the Gardai, like you said. Small claims court? hah.
    Nobody here is going to tell you to get your cousins and kick their teeth in, because if they do: I will most likely ban them.
    Chalk it up and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

100 Euro lesson.

Gardaí normally care more about the people producing the fake IDs. Heard a few times from a few guards how some 15 year olds houses were raided, taking with them the family computer and all that. It's a bit more serious producing a fake ID instead of being caught with one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Your refusal to divulge exactly what the money was for would lead me to believe that it wasn't exactly legal. If this is the case (and it may well not) your threats of going to the guards isn't going to carry much weight.

The guy pulling up outside your house sounds very cloak and dagger stuff. Did you happen to be watching the Sopranos before hand? All that for €100? Sure he probably lost €20 in time, hassle, petrol and cigarettes. To me it sounds more likely that he was there for a perfectly legitimate reason, and it is rampant paranoia on your part linking the two. Stranger things have happened though!

Whatever about the principal - it's only €100. Forget it.

is_that_so wrote: »
    The potential threat appears to have come from your own actions anyway.

I realise that, hence why would I leave it? Surely I should tell this knacker where to go?

I'm a bit shocked here, does no one else agree with standing up for your rights?
    Nope when it comes to skangers. Just keep as far away from them as possible, let them fight among themselves.

Dudess wrote: »
    Are any members of your family really tough nuts? If not, I would simply ignore.

What? No OP just let it go. chalk it down to experience-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭blah

RuggieBear wrote: »
    100 Euro lesson.

E100 sounds expensive for a fake driver's licence but it's a good price for a valuable life lesson. Next time you'll think twice.

The guy pulling up outside your house sounds very cloak and dagger stuff. Did you happen to be watching the Sopranos before hand?

One tree hill and no, it's exactly how it was. We've also had phone calls from these lads threatening various stuff aswell. My brother answered and was told to be careful or his car would be bashed up and all this. Stupid stuff but it is worrying the folks.

togster wrote: »
    What? No OP just let it go. chalk it down to experience-
    I should have put in the ;) smiley there. I really was not being serious.

OP, you gotta let it go. There's nothing more you can do.

Customer service aint what it used to be.

Short of press ganging friend and family members and getting violent I don't see what choice you have other than letting it go. IMO it serves you right for attempting to buy a dodgy licence. Why don't you sit your driving test like the rest of us, you goon? Last time I checked the Department of transport didn't try and intimidate the public by sitting outside their houses.

Dudess wrote: »
    I should have put in the ;) smiley there. I really was not being serious.

OP, you gotta let it go. There's nothing more you can do.

Thanks Dudess, think I might end up having to do that. It's a stressful situation to be in though. I work with this girl so i'll be seeing her again no doubt. Her friends threats though and her own are enough to make me punch her when I see her next so you can understand my frustration. Seems as though I'm talking to a brick wall here with some of the responses.

The responses are pretty much "learn and move on."
    You asked questions and got answers; just because you don't like them...
    You insisted on asking AH, you got AH answers - is it any wonder you don't like 'em? If you want a shoulder to cry on, go post in PI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Raspberry

Go to the Gardai and rat them all out. If you do it right, you should get a right laugh out of it. If anyone threatens you, report them to the Gardai as well. If anyone in relation to this incident opposes you in any way, report them to the Gardai. Take them all down. You wont get your 100 euro back, but you will get revenge.

Why don't you sit your driving test like the rest of us, you goon? Last time I checked the Department of transport didn't try and intimidate the public by sitting outside their houses.
    Because she needs a liscence to say she is older that she is in order to purchase booze while in America on her J1.
    Serously Fanny, it's not a particularly long or complicated thread, read it!

IMO it serves you right for attempting to buy a dodgy licence. Why don't you sit your driving test like the rest of us, you goon?

Oh bite me why dont ya! :rolleyes:

GOON!

No personal insults.

Raspberry wrote: »
    Go to the Gardai and rat them all out. If you do it right, you should get a right laugh out of it. If anyone threatens you, report them to the Gardai as well. If anyone in relation to this incident opposes you in any way, report them to the Gardai. Take them all down. You wont get your 100 euro back, but you will get revenge.

How do you block people in order that when you log onto boards you can't read their stupid responses?

I'm looking at you Raspberry...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Op, what did you expect people to say? You can hardly claim to be a victim here and take the moral high ground. You were trying to make an illegal purchase and got stung. You might as well have come in here and said you paid 100 euro for drugs that you never got and started looking for sympathy and talking about standing up for your rights. You don't have any rights here, you were breaking the law

As far as the intimidation goes, just let it go and they will back off

You're not going to get your money back if this girl is as tough with the kind of connections you've been worrying about.
    It's €100 not the deeds to your house.
    How much *is* your family's peace of mind worth to you?

Move on. Be more careful when giving strangers money for dodgy purposes from now on.
    You'd think they could've put *that* on the college course for you. The state of third level education today eh!?

How do you block people in order that when you log onto boards you can't read their stupid responses?

I'm looking at you Raspberry...

Do you actually want an answer? Will you bitch, whinge and moan if I give you one an answer?
    I'll take that risk:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/usercp.php - Buddy/Ignore lists - add the username.

Also, why on earth did you give cash up front?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Toolbag

Why did you pay her before she gave you the license?

Because she needs a liscence to say she is older that she is in order to purchase booze while in America on her J1.
    Serously Fanny, it's not a particularly long or complicated thread, read it!

I'm not sure what your getting stroppy about. You are correct though, I didn't see that part of the thread. My apologies to the OP. Still, whatever the reason (and it remains illegal), there is little that can be done.

Karoma wrote: »
    Do you actually want an answer? Will you bitch, whinge and moan if I give you one an answer?
    I'll take that risk:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/usercp.php - Buddy/Ignore lists - add the username.

Also, why on earth did you give cash up front?!

haha okay thanks. :D

It was the deal, I'll learn not to be so stupid in future.

I'm not sure what your getting stroppy about. You are correct though, I didn't see that part of the thread. My apologies to the OP. Still, whatever the reason (and it remains illegal), there is little that can be done.
    Sorry, I forgot to pop a smiley in there! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Noddywood

A €100 fake licence.....Not worth the toilet paper it was printed on.
    Guards are not as stupid as they once were and would probably cop(pun) on fairly quickly

I think you dug yourself a hole. It would have better if you hada gotten €100 of drugs, Then you coulda had a bit of a laugh.

Cheap and illegal usually has its consequences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I agree with those who said to take it as a very expensive lesson. Stupid thing to do IMO.

Rarely has the population of After Hours agreed so much on one thing.

I know! It's too beautiful! :o *wipes away tear*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Basically, I gave a girl €100 for something (not drugs).
    It was for a fake drivers license for my J1 cuz you have to be 21 over there (so going to the guards isn't an option really), quite a necessity.

They saw you coming, i believe the term is "rube".

rule #1: Never give cash up front, if you do you deserve to be ripped off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

100 quid for a fake driving licence!!?!?:eek:

u overpaid! (even if ya woulda gotten it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Report to her Social Welfare officer all the extra earnings that she receives.

There's no point in going over and over how much of a bad idea it was, how much she's lost etc. It's over, nothing more can be done. That girl's mates seem really dodgy - keep well away and leave them to be scumbags amongst themselves.