Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bouncers in pubs/clubs

• 17-03-2008 10:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭

This has being bothering me for a while and really got to me this past saturday night!

Im in my mid-twenties and my friends and I love going out at the weekend!However recently our nights have being ruined by bouncers. There is 4 lads and 3 girls who head out and we always split up as it would look bad if all 7 went up to the door at once!

Im living in Swords by the way and have being to these venues many times!However despite having NO DRINK at all on me on saturday night we went to the only 2 decent places to go in Swords only to be told 'Not Tonight'.It was only 8.40pm!!So we politely asked why??They replied with 'Not Tonight' again to ALL of us!We then had to go into the city to find somewhere decent which I think is very sad!

We dont do drugs or cause trouble so there can be just no justifiable reason for him not to let us in!We all work all week and just want a good night in our local where we know everybody!!I know loads of people who have this problem and just wondering does anybody have any simular experiences and
    what can be done?I know management would just say to us we were drunk or something so i think its fruitless going down that road!

Rant over!Feel a bit better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Generally bouncers on doors can be power hungry assholes from my experience.

Me and my mates are far from scumbags. We went to the Palace one night (I know its a dump) and the bouncer give us a big speech on how he was doing us a favor letting us in and that if we made one wrong move we were out.

We went inside to see drunk idiots falling off chairs, fight among themselves and dropping glasses. We were wondering why he was lecturing us when he let those monkeys in.

Also I've never been allowed into Capitol bar. Dunno why, just always refused.

If you are talking about Velvet, a lad who use to work with me had a members card for there and was still refused sometimes. He said it was very random

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭bantee

Ya its a major problem going out in Limerick too. The bouncers basically have way too much power on the doors of all the pubs and clubs in the city.
    It can put a dampener on a good night out when half of the group get into a pub and the other half get refused. I've know plenty of people who get stopped with no drink on board.
    Hot wimmin, on the other hand, are welcomed into these establishments with open arms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

lpool2k05 wrote: »
    Im living in Swords by the way and have being to these venues many times!However despite having NO DRINK at all on me on saturday night we went to the only 2 decent places to go in Swords only to be told

as a swords resident and ex bouncer - i disagree - they're are loadsa decent places in swords.

anyway back to the matter at hand.
    There are a multitude of reasons for refusing a person. In almost 100% of the cases the reason given will not the the real reason. This is for libel reasons.

It could have been how you are dressed or looked. You could have looked rough if any of you had the (but not limited to the following) chains, visible tattoo,a tash, girls with big hoop earings , tracksuit, jersey, trainers, or simply looked dirty or rough.

You would be surprised that in a lot of cases it's not the doormen who refuse uyou but a cowardly manager who may instruct the doorstaff on who to let in. I've had managers stand behind me at the door before saying "aye" or "Nay". I've also been instructed in the past - no blacks, russians (polish ok though - wtf!!), packbackers ,travellers , lower classes, over 40's, under 25's etc.................

Also that spliting into smaller groups rarely works cos bouncer always know who is together or have a suspicion. Groups that hang out together generally have the same look, vibes about them , esp if they are coming up to door together or within a few min of each other.
    That could have led to suspicions.

anyway with 7 of you - the chances of being refused are multiplied. esp if you have that "weird looking friend" with you. Don't say you don't have one, cos we all have "that" friend.

It's not fruitless to go down the road of talking to the manager - or even the doorstaff at a less busy time.
    In fact I've unbarred people in the past who came to see me , when i wasn't busy and apologised/explained/ just asked why etc........when seeing they were decent and alright I made a point of letting them in next time.
    If it means that much to you go politely to the manager and explain (politely)
    get his name and then next time you can say this to the doorstaff.

In fairness there are a multitude of reasons and i cannot explain that here. a lot of times I refused people on the basis of a bad feeling or vibe.
    for example I liked to ask "where are you coming from". the truth is i didn't care where they were I just wanted to get them talking to see what they were like. And you would be surprised how many people got thick over a simple question like that. So then I realised that they'd be a nightmare with drink on board.

But then again - like society in general - some doormen are just dicks. I've certainly worked with a few.
    thanks!
    with that attitude no wonder you've trouble getting in. Most bouncers just want a safe club cos
    1. less work for them
    2. less grief from manager
    3. a club with less grief generally gets a big crowd and thus future employment

To this effect they have to make instantaneous decisions on people. I've got it wrong heaps of times, refused choirboys and let lunatics in. sorry my bad.
    Did I mention that the decision is instantaneous so it's an instinct decision. sorry i wish i could study for it but I can't.

But believe me , I was more upset than you, having to drag the lunatics out later, deal with the violence that sometimes came with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭bantee

There are a multitude of reasons for refusing a person.
    It could have been how you are dressed or looked. You could have looked rough if any of you had the (but not limited to the following) chains, visible tattoo,a tash, girls with big hoop earings , tracksuit, jersey, trainers, or simply looked dirty or rough.

LOL. "No Village People" allowed should be clearly displayed on the door.:D

bantee wrote: »
    LOL. "No Village People" allowed should be clearly displayed on the door.:D

if somebody serenaded me with "in the navy" i'd let them in.

anyway didn't the indian get got for a stash of coke recently. so he'd be barred :P

thanks!
    with that attitude no wonder you've trouble getting in. Most bouncers just want a safe club cos
    1. less work for them
    2. less grief from manager
    3. a club with less grief generally gets a big crowd and thus future employment

I've worked in pubs that have changed bouncers and security companies. I've seen a bouncer upset and pissed off all night refuse people for no reason, then when a customer approached the manager about it, the bouncer refused to work the door.

I've seen bouncers attack people who were drunk outside the pub (not the one i worked in) because they knew it was a easy target. I've seen a bouncer on well know bar in temple bar let in 16 year old girl because she was going to get off with him later that night.

Like I said, generally from my experience of bouncers they are power hungry assholes and i stand by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭lpool2k05

I've worked in pubs that have changed bouncers and security companies. I've seen a bouncer upset and pissed off all night refuse people for no reason, then when a customer approached the manager about it, the bouncer refused to work the door.

I've seen bouncers attack people who were drunk outside the pub (not the one i worked in) because they knew it was a easy target. I've seen a bouncer on well know bar in temple bar let in 16 year old girl because she was going to get off with him later that night.

Like I said, generally from my experience of bouncers they are power hungry assholes and i stand by it.

I totally agree with you!Sorry if i dont look like a hot girl!I just want a few drinks after slaving in work all week!It just isnt on!!

Fair enough if they are being cheeky I wouldnt let them in myself but If you are sober and polite they shouldnt refuse you based on race or looks!We all deserve a chance!

When Im abroad they are begging people to try their club but here you just get power hungry assholes as you said refusing people a good night!Who do they think the are??They are just normal people like us!Its no wonder you hear of attacks on bouncers!!All people want fair go!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Moojuice

Bouncers think you should be thankfull that they are letting you in to spend your money on the over-priced drinks in their ****ty over crowded establishment. Some bouncers are decent, there to stop trouble and nothing else, but most are pwer tripping assholes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Ah, a classic AH thread.

OP, if you got refused in two places in the same night, then there was obviously a reason for it.

Personally, I've never been refused by bouncers, apart from the odd time, and it's always been for a valid reason.

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    Ah, a classic AH thread.

OP, if you got refused in two places in the same night, then there was obviously a reason for it.

Personally, I've never been refused by bouncers, apart from the odd time, and it's always been for a valid reason.

Yeah I thinks it the fact that I aint female with big breasts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭yummycake

eh why don't you just go ahhh fuc it and move on to a place that the bouncers will let you in and enjoy the night instead of worrying about crap like that. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

OP, if you got refused in two places in the same night, then there was obviously a reason for it

Got a point.

The fact that you lot were all going into a club/discobar at 840PM means the bar was likely pretty empty at that point. So 7 people walking up together within minutes of each other would of clearly been marked as a large group because there prob wasnt anyone else going inside within 10minutes of you lot.

The Palace is v.strictly 20 to 25 I believe. The bouncers will let pretty much anyone in once theyre not dressed like they fell out of a bin lorry 5mins ago once theyre in that age group.

Capitol bar is 22+ and predominatantly female, anytime Ive gone in their its been 70-30 female to male ratio. Youd get in there going in with a group of classy women or with a girlfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

You would be surprised that in a lot of cases it's not the doormen who refuse uyou but a cowardly manager who may instruct the doorstaff on who to let in. I've had managers stand behind me at the door before saying "aye" or "Nay". I've also been instructed in the past - no blacks, russians (polish ok though - wtf!!), packbackers ,travellers , lower classes, over 40's, under 25's etc.................

To add to that, I've been instructed to insist on:

Allowing a limited amount of Irish coming into a venue, in Dublin.
    No runners, unless they look expensive.
    No sports jerseys, unless it Leinster rugby.
    No large groups (over 6 people)
    No single men i.e. walking up to the door on his own.

The combinations of the above are limitless, and they are just the fruitiest examples I can think of.

Violence on part of door staff is completely the fault of the door staff concerned. Door policy i.e. who is to be let in or not, is completely at the discrection of management.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Im a doorman aswell and as the other lad said, there are a lot of reasons that people wont be let into clubs and told "Not Tonight" mainly for the reasons he pointed out i.e someone in the group looked rough etc. And i totally agree with what he said about there being a cowardly manager behind him instructing who to let in and who not to allow in. The club im in has a strict no travellers policy which is illegal but he still sticks by it.

And ive posted on here about it, the days of all bouncers out to crack some heads and try to look tough doing it are long gone mainly because of the new licence law that is in place for us. If you were to see a bouncer doing anything like that unprovoked then just report it to the guards if you have such a problem with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ImDave

There is a popular night club where I go to uni, which I must say has the most efficient doormen/bouncers I have ever seen. If there is someone drunk, they always have them spotted half way back in the queue (Although that many not always be too hard :D). Last week, a friend of a friend tried to get in and was told he was too drunk, despite the fact that he had no drink in him at all. He waited untill it quitened down and asked the bounucer again why he was refused. The bouncer took him aside and told him it was becase he was dressed similar to a scanger, but could not say that aloud. The simple fact is there was a certain standard the management were looking for, and this guy didnt meet it. So I would be of the opinion that there is always a reason for refusal, not just down to what kind of mood the doorman is in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

with the number of bouncers that appear to be here, next time you get refused just say you're from boards.ie, it might work...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

gosh imagine a nightclub without...bouncers...good luck to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Melion wrote: »
    The club im in has a strict no travellers policy which is illegal but he still sticks by it.
    Heh. Pub I used to work in allowed them in... and called EVERY bouncer on the books in. Seriously. There was 20 of them at least, plus another 10 from another pub. Discrimination? No. Who started the fight? The groom. Why? The best man slapped her ass, and suddenly knives appeared. We watched, herded them outside, where there was 3 riot vans, and two Gardai cars (from Maynooth/Leixlip/Lucan/etc)...

They never got into the nightclub. Mainly because they were in a cell by 5pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭robric

In fairness there are a multitude of reasons and i cannot explain that here. a lot of times I refused people on the basis of a bad feeling or vibe.

so because you dont like the look of someone you dont let them in, but someone that you like the look of gets in, isnt that just proving the point about the power hungry thing...... you ruin peoples night out because you have a vibe. nice one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

There is 4 lads and 3 girls who head out and we always split up as it would look bad if all 7 went up to the door at once!
    Go up in couples, then send 1 girl out to get the last lad. Dunno if things have changed much but thats what we used to do in "difficult" pubs, it is rare to see them refuse a couple. We used even go up holding hands to make it look more like a couple.

Just thinking nowadays just get 2 of the lads to go up holding hands! no way in hell they will risk refusing you for fear of being branded homophobes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Just for your bloody information, i workd as a bouncer for 3 yars and i can tell you one thing for certain....

You are correct.

Thats one of the reasons i gave it up. Too many were into looking the part, and not doing the part when there was trouble.

I wasnt interested anymore of getting a bottle in my face because too many of them were interested in adjusting the ear piece in their ear... so funny.. because i worked with one lad.. he wore the er piece.. but there was bo radio connected.. he just wore the ear piece and tucked the csable under his belt... douche

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

I don't know I think there might be some case for randomness being a factor for refusing admittance into clubs.

For example there's a club that I go to literally every time I'm out, once last year I was refused for no reason, was just told "no, next". I waited and asked the bouncer beside the guy that refused me and he was all sympathetic but still would'nt give a reason.

Went to the same place the next weekend and the same bouncer let me in no questions asked, even opened the door for me!

I still don't know what I did wrong that night :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Bouncers, power trip, refused, rant, AH. Yep I think that's all the boxes ticked for a typical thread on this. Boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 donomo

This is, of course, a sweeping generalisation. I asume that reading what some bouncers have posted on this thread, that you realize that they are not all gung ho, steaks-on-legs. A "Bouncer" is not a breed, it is a job. No more than all accountants being embezling, patsy-happy creeps, are bouncers all, drunk bashers and fun-killers.

Don't get me wrong, I have been refused from clubs and pubs countless times, and quit often for no good reason and i understand the incredible frustration felt. I have gotten past bouncers and into clubs for free, just because i've linked arms with a pretty girl. It can be bewildering and annoying.
    But in the same breath, i know some bouncers very well and nicer people you couldnt meet.

Well thats me about done, i've got all my hyphonated words in.Sound-hey

Well in all fairness i did say that from my experiences with bouncers that they are power hungry assholes. I understand the other lads coming in and saying otherwise. I'm not trying to convince people of one opinion or other.

I'm just stating from interactions through previous jobs and going out, that this is generally what i have experienced from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

even though ive never been refused entry in ta any place, i can totally see where these feelings towards bouncers are coming from. I wont really take any side, just because both sides have fair points. Bouncers can be power mad assholes, but many of them are sound as hell.

funny thing happened me in the sin bin in limerick last week (which by the way always has around 6-10 bouncers) the place was DEAD, probably more staff than other ppl, myself n the lads were jus standin off the dance floor havin a few pints n chattin away (seriously, thats all we were doin), bouncer comes up ta me "dont you be messin with that railing, im watchin you"...im thinking :confused:WTF:confused:, n tell him "wudja piss off n go bug sumone else"....(kind of an involuntary verbal fart :D), surprising thing is he looked at me for a few seconds n walked off. lauged my ass off! guess they needed the business! (plus he was only a lil fat bouncer) that was the only experience ive had with a spanner of a bouncer.

i have three friends who are bouncers, n id say they would back up what "king of kings" said to the letter.

IMO, bouncers do kinda need the image of being hard-ass jerks just for the psychological aspect to deal with drunken boyos n scobes. the image of a bouncer needs to demand respect.

robric wrote: »
    so because you dont like the look of someone you dont let them in, but someone that you like the look of gets in, isnt that just proving the point about the power hungry thing...... you ruin peoples night out because you have a vibe. nice one

you have upset me with your twisting of my words :(

When I said "like the look of" i'm not talking about BT clothes, hot tits or ass etc. ....I'm talking about that hungry under fed junkie look, the sovereign rings, the knife scar, the bad attitude somebody gives off when asked a simple question like "where were you before this", the incoherent answers to the previous question.

Power is involved in the job admittedly , but I've better and more enjoyable things to do - like hit on chick than waste my time refusing people for the hell of it.
    Surprisingly most doorstaff hate rows, we see enough and prefer a qt pint at the end of the night with a blank incident report book.

People mightn't want to hear the truth that somebody (usually the pub owner or manager) thinks they're undesirable. truth hurts, sorry about your loss

I get rude shop assistants occasionally - i don't write here whining.

OP I count 8 pubs/clubs on or just off swords main thoroughfare. You tried 2 and got refused . god love ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭Rossibaby

i've only suffered it twice so far,the other times were being for underage with no ID.and sa said before when i was underage and walked up with a girl arm in arm,just turned 17 and i got into a classy place that is usually reserved for people in their early 20s...

in galway i have got the ''not tonight you've too much drink on ya'' even though i hadn't touched anything that night and even when i do im not one of those that looks drunk i usually will keep my wits about me and my eyes dont go red like some guys i know.i didnt argue cuz one of two of my mates were rejected just ahead of me...they wouldn't know we were together as everyone their was a student and we were apart in a big line.

next time was same place different bouncer,i again was sober and well dressed apart from i had runners on[which were allowed and no-one wheres shoes really there]...the guy took my ID and asked a question,obviously to see if i was drunk and could i answer...i was fine but he kept staring at my ID,then he confers with other lad beside him and goes ''look your runners are far to casual for here'' i was like wtf!he goes ''no theres no problem with you just those runners arent allowed'' [nike air classics,i suppose alot of travellers and skangers do wear them]i argued for 5 mins with them that i lived a bit away and would need a taxi etc...they were lie ah its not that far....so anyway i return about half hour later having swopped my 130 euro runners for 20 euro appa ones with a hole in the side....guy winks and goes ''ah changed your runners,sweet,in ya go''

my roomate in college is barred from one club,gets rejected every week from the club i had the trouble in and why you ask?because they think he's someone else who starts fights etc and he got this from the start when he was never out in the city before!the ones at home in sligo are grand,if you've got ID you're pretty much in unless your really drunk and they think your dangerous.again girls get in there as young as 15 and they look it too,damn peedos.

alot of bouncers you encounter are complete tools who think they are hard and have no worries pushing you around.funny actually one of my mates actually was made take off his ring because it was a sovereign...funny because he's not exactly hard or a skanger..i do think some bouncers deserve a hiding though,minority are just complete dopes and satisfy themselves by pissing people off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

What is a packbacker???

daiixi wrote: »
    What is a packbacker???

never heard of them? you should get out more :)

stung :eek:

you know what i meant. backpackers. smart ass

never heard of them? you should get out more :)

stung :eek:

you know what i meant. backpackers. smart ass

Are they so easily spotted from just walking up to a door these days? Anyway, I am a backpacker and have never been refused entry anywhere...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I presume he means backpackers.

One of my main gripes with bouncers is when they insist on acting like some sort of fashion police. I've lost count of how many times I've been instructed by some goon to remove my wolly hat as I'm walking into a club.

Having read some of the other comments on this thread I realise that it may be the management insisting on some kind of 'look' for the people in the club though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Melion wrote: »
    Im a doorman aswell and as the other lad said, there are a lot of reasons that people wont be let into clubs and told "Not Tonight" mainly for the reasons he pointed out i.e someone in the group looked rough etc. And i totally agree with what he said about there being a cowardly manager behind him instructing who to let in and who not to allow in. The club im in has a strict no travellers policy which is illegal but he still sticks by it.

And ive posted on here about it, the days of all bouncers out to crack some heads and try to look tough doing it are long gone mainly because of the new licence law that is in place for us. If you were to see a bouncer doing anything like that unprovoked then just report it to the guards if you have such a problem with it.

True on all said there, i do some doorwork in derry and have been told many different things by management on what to and not to allow (and they get away with far more here then in Dublin). As for the bouncers smacking the head off people well i have never done that nor would i allow anyone i am working with to do it. Ha reminds me of this one guy i escorted out of the place and he proceeded to call me a "Free State Bastárd"............where was he from? Donegal! :rolleyes: and i have a serious problem with being called that here, did i raise my hand? Nope just laughed at him and continued watching the people approaching the door.

Op there had to be a reason,it is entirely possible one bouncer being a dick but for it to happen with the same group in two different places should tell you something. You said you weren't drunk etc were any of the others? Were any of them drug users (you know how you can tell by the look of them) etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

1 bouncer in a local club of mine took a disliking to me for some reason a few months back and 3 weekends in a row I got refused by the same bouncer. I wasnt drunk and was dressed in shirt, shoes etc. What makes it more annoying is that every other bouncer on the door waved me passed no problem and this guyjust decides to pull me out of the queue and of coarse ask him why and your completly ignored.

Anyway, I am a backpacker and have never been refused entry anywhere...

for god sake, ...you are assuming that you've used a place while I was working - a big assumption. I can't be everywhere at once ,can I?

anyway , it wasn't me, i hate hippies as much as the next man but it was the the manager of 1 place who had such a rule and he is now in galway - away from those dirty smelly hippy ****ers who clogged his bar and bought **** all when he could have filled it with bankers and gaa fans who'd drink till the cows came home..........

usually at that point of the rant I'd nip in for a coffee.
    Are they so easily spotted from just walking up to a door these days?
    surprisingly, yes they are (or were then)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Out of interest, how much of a factor is one's anticipated spend in dertermining if they would be allowed in or not.

Is there some sort of balance between trouble caused and amount spent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

Well in all fairness i did say that from my experiences with bouncers that they are power hungry assholes. I understand the other lads coming in and saying otherwise. I'm not trying to convince people of one opinion or other.

I'm just stating from interactions through previous jobs and going out, that this is generally what i have experienced from them.

Well then there must be something seriously wrong with you. Considering the vast majority of people will only suffer at the hands of an over-zealous bouncer once in a while, the fact that it seems to plague you suggests to me that there's a reason that they're treating you like crap. Sorry, but either you're lying or you're being singled out for a reason.

Having worked on the door myself for quite a few years, I can safely say that there are a higher ratio of scumbags in the drinking public than there are working on the door. I think Irish people forget that they are a disgusting, sniveling, aggressive, embarrassing and surly bunch of filth with enough drink on them. And God knows, we seem to love to drink an awful lot. Bouncers are paid to put up with your crap, but don't expect them to do it with a smile on their faces.

And another point - if we rid the country of bouncers, see how long it takes before the rest of you have to stop going out for a drink because of how dangerous your favourite trendy bar has become overnight. That's right - although you think that bouncers are out to get you, they're really there to protect you. Whatever about not getting any praise for the (often difficult and dangerous) job they do, they seem to get abuse! It's quite hilarious really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Don't really have a problem with bouncers, if they refuse me I just walk on and wish them a nice night. Doesn't wreck my night, there's plenty of places to go.

Though a few years back I went to Barcode with my mate and a few college buddies of his (they were all over from the UK) and I was last in the line. My mate and his friends all got in, using their British Passports as ID, then when it came to me the bouncer said "Sorry mate, only regulars tonight". I just calmly asked him what the people in front of me used as ID, and did they fly over here regularly? He laughed and let me in!

also anytime I've been completely smashed in a club, the bouncers have always treated me really well. Keeping me in a little room while they go find a mate of mine to make sure I get home safely. Fairly sound of them, considering the state I got in back when I used to drink!

Laslo wrote: »
    Well then there must be something seriously wrong with you.

Never been evicted from a pub. Never got drunk and got sick, started a fight, fell asleep and such in a pub. Never been in a garda station other to report a crime or get a insurance form signed.

Whats wrong is my friends have to split into two groups otherwise we could be refused. If one of us catches the eye of the bouncer he'll probably get refused for no reason.

Imagine you tried to walk into Tesco's and the security guard stopped you, looked you up and down then said not today. Not a great feeling. I know this is an extreme example.

Btw, i said i only have been constantly refused from Capitol bar. So i'm hardly plagued with refusals. I have worked in pubs and heard first hand from bouncers. I've seen bouncers been assholes for no reason (while i worked there) and i've seen them start a fight on a drunk guy when i was out with friends.

So it wasn't me being singled out... beside the Capitol bar refusal thing lol

for god sake, ...you are assuming that you've used a place while I was working - a big assumption. I can't be everywhere at once ,can I?
    No, just assuming that you're not the only person in the world who was given that instruction.
    anyway , it wasn't me, i hate hippies as much as the next man but it was the the manager of 1 place who had such a rule and he is now in galway - away from those dirty smelly hippy ****ers who clogged his bar and bought **** all when he could have filled it with bankers and gaa fans who'd drink till the cows came home..........
    Hippie and backpacker are two completely different things. Although they can be the same thing that's a ridiculous generalisation.. though this is AH so nevermind..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

I have quiet a few horror stories to do with bouncers being dicks which i've outlined on other AH threads on this topic so i won't go into them now.

What i will do is give you some advice, 9 times out of 10, a bouncer will ask you for ID/Hold you for what would seem a long time/ say not tonight to see what your reaction is, if you get aggressive then they have been proven right,If when asked for ID you start to shift or look away from the bouncer they will automatically think that there is something wrong with your ID, IF you're over 18 you have nothing to worry about, so at them when handing your ID to them.

What you need to do if turned away, is just turn on your heel and go to walk away, the majority of the time they will call you back when they see that you are a non confrontational person.

My 2c anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

What foinse said, and also I've rarely had problems with bouncers.

Swords, there are a few places I know of. The Old Boro, a few lads I know got asked for ID, even though some were over 30, in The Harp, the bouncers try to keep some "class", as often they have companies in on staf outings, so they don't want a bad name, the Slaughtered Lamb isn't too bad. Prefer the Old Boro myself, as I can smoke out back, have a pint, and it's all good.

Having worked in a pub, I know what the bouncer will refuse, and why. I've seen 1st hand the people they turn away, and half the time it's either them, or who they associated with. If you're associated with scum, it's easier just to bar you. Anyone causes serious trouble, throw them out in a heavy handed way. A few will get a kick up the ass, and told to calm down, but only if the bouncers know that they will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

The ID issue hardly holds any weight. A bouncer asking you for ID doesn't make him an asshole; it just means he's doing his job. If you're lucky enough to look under 40, carry some ID. Bouncers have every right to ask you to prove your age regardless of how old you are. If you get refused because you don't have ID - tough. Saying "but I never get asked for ID" just makes you sound like an idiot. Bring your ID out with you or run the risk of getting refused. Simple as that.

If you get refused from somewhere and you feel that it's unfair, have a discussion with your solicitor and ask him/her that, if it happens in the same place again, would he/she come down as a witness to this discrimination and you can take the establishment to the cleaners in court (and believe me, you can do this very easily under equal status and provision of services acts).

My point is basically this - stop whining like a bunch of little underage twits and deal with it like adults. If you're old enough to get into a pub, you should be intelligent enough to 1) ensure that you get in or 2) prosecute the pub if you're refused entry unfairly. Grow up and stop whining about bouncers basically.

Kids these days. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

A pub that needs a bouncer is not a pub i'd drink in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Laslo wrote: »
    The ID issue hardly holds any weight. A bouncer asking you for ID doesn't make him an asshole; it just means he's doing his job. If you're lucky enough to look under 40, carry some ID. Bouncers have every right to ask you to prove your age regardless of how old you are. If you get refused because you don't have ID - tough. Saying "but I never get asked for ID" just makes you sound like an idiot. Bring your ID out with you or run the risk of getting refused. Simple as that.

I wish alot more people thought like you!!

This has being bothering me for a while and really got to me this past saturday night!

Im in my mid-twenties and my friends and I love going out at the weekend!However recently our nights have being ruined by bouncers. There is 4 lads and 3 girls who head out and we always split up as it would look bad if all 7 went up to the door at once!

Im living in Swords by the way and have being to these venues many times!However despite having NO DRINK at all on me on saturday night we went to the only 2 decent places to go in Swords only to be told 'Not Tonight'.It was only 8.40pm!!So we politely asked why??They replied with 'Not Tonight' again to ALL of us!We then had to go into the city to find somewhere decent which I think is very sad!

We dont do drugs or cause trouble so there can be just no justifiable reason for him not to let us in!We all work all week and just want a good night in our local where we know everybody!!I know loads of people who have this problem and just wondering does anybody have any simular experiences and
    what can be done?I know management would just say to us we were drunk or something so i think its fruitless going down that road!

Rant over!Feel a bit better
    Maybe it was ecause you support liverpool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Nigel Pinchly

There are always people moaning about being refused admission into places, and they're always baffled as to why. If it keeps happening, there is likely a reason you're just not aware of.
    I can honestly say I have NEVER been refused admission to anywhere, and I reckon the usual "power-hungry bouncer" excuse is just a reason to pass the buck rather than look more closely at yourself.

e.g. the OP says: "We dont do drugs or cause trouble" & "We all work all week" - how the hell is the bouncer suppossed to know any of this? Do you have a sign around your neck? If you say you were in a mixed group of males & females, then it's likely down to appearance or attitude. These are the only 2 things a bouncer can judge when you walk up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I've seen boucers i have worked with jump into massive brawls to pull out some innocent boy or girl.

Me and another bouncer ran into a group of 4 lads who were attacking a lass on our walk home without even thinking about it.

I have seen bouncers stabbed, glassed and beaten for doing nothing more than their job.

I have lost a friend who refused to allow dealers into his club and died because of it.

Two sides to every coin mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

My biggest gripe with bouncers (and managers / proprieters etc) is this bull**** about not being allowed in cause i'm wearing trainers.. WTF is the craic with that?? I'm not talking about a pair of Nike Airmax or anything. Anything that doesn't look like it was made by Clarks and you're not getting in.. BTW i'm talking about in dundalk. I went to Uni in Belfast and it was never a problem, nor in London or pretty much any other country / city i've been in.

Don't really go to Dublin but i presume its the same there.

There are always people moaning about being refused admission into places, and they're always baffled as to why. If it keeps happening, there is likely a reason you're just not aware of.
    I can honestly say I have NEVER been refused admission to anywhere, and I reckon the usual "power-hungry bouncer" excuse is just a reason to pass the buck rather than look more closely at yourself.

e.g. the OP says: "We dont do drugs or cause trouble" & "We all work all week" - how the hell is the bouncer suppossed to know any of this? Do you have a sign around your neck? If you say you were in a mixed group of males & females, then it's likely down to appearance or attitude. These are the only 2 things a bouncer can judge when you walk up.

I relise that they dont know me or my friends but none of us gave any grief so maybe its the way we dress!!any fashion tips??Its a sad day that people have to dress in a way thats acceptable to bouncers!!By the way my friends and myself dont dress extravacant!!We dress very well!

We didnt go anywhere else in swords because we wanted a good night and the rest of the places were full of teenagers so we went into the city and went to 3 different places without even a whince off a bouncer!My point is Id rather not have to travel!!