Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cashing out from Party Poker?

• 17-03-2008 4:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,

I lodged a few bob onto party poker via neteller yesterday to try it out and see if I liked it... I really didn't liekt he software and would probably be ok after I got used to it but the most they would let me lodge was 500 USD so I couldn't play my normal stakes or multitable without more money... I can lodge 500 a day but seems like too much hassle...

So I decided to leave 80 on there to play a tourney and cash the remainding 400 out but I got this message when i tried to cash out...

"
    Dear Paul, We have received your cashout request for 400.00 USD. However, we notice that you are cashing out without adequate gameplay after your recent deposits. This is a bit of a concern for us. Please note that every player is expected to earn ‘Standard PartyPoints’ equivalent to or more than 15% of the amount deposited (in USD) in their account before cashing out the same.We have cancelled your cashout request and put the funds back into your account. You may, however, request for a cashout after earning ‘Standard PartyPoints’ as specified."

Anyone any idea is this standard? prob should have read T&C's...
    But i would imaging I should be able to cash out whenever I liked? It's not liek I'm trying to cash out more than I lodged... I'm actually down 20 overall.... I've never seen this on any other site?

if not how many of the points do I need?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

stop cheating imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Wow, That's BS. I've never heard of this, but I still play on party for two reasons. a) It always has been and still is the softest site on the net and b) I can easily keep my money in euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭ZZR1100

Never heard of this problem with party before and tbh its BS. Are u sure they were not under the impression you were trying to cash out a bonus. unlikly i know.
    i used to play all the time on party and found it as nicky said to be soft but not soft enough to justify no RB deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

No I had no bonus or anything.... I was going to lodge 5 k and play there for a while but when I tried I was only allowed to lodge 500 a day so i lodged the 500 and played for about 1/2 an hour on 2 tables at 50/1 and was trying to configure pt at the same time and pahud and then just decided it wasn't worth the hassle and went to withdraw 400 of the 480 I had left.. I got no bonus or anything....I mailed them and they linked me to the T&C's where it does say I need to get 15% of my deposit in poits before I can cashout...

Surely It's my money and they cant force me to play with it.... any other authority I can write to as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

Don't know of any site that has those t&c's. It's mostly stealing, and given that they're a publicly traded company, if you argue hard enough, they'll probably bend the rules rather than deal with the bad press.

They're regulated by these folks:

http://www.gamblingcontrol.org/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

I presume the reason is because they got hit with credit card charges when you logged the money... they now want to make a bit for rake to pay for those before you cash out....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

party are such scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

I'm not a fan of party as some of ye probably know, but I don't think this is too unusual. It happens to me on at least one other site as well and tbh I don't blame them that much in this case, they get hit quite a bit with neteller/credit card charges.

If yeah want the moneys badly mac - you can do a player transfer to me there and I'll swap yeah on some ipoker skin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭Zab

This is pretty common across a lot a sites. People don't realize it because it's actually fairly rare to deposit->not play->cash out. I'd suggest just playing it out, you can mix tables with another site if you want to multitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

this story would slot into a 50 word column in the herald next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

NickyOD wrote:
    Wow, That's BS. I've never heard of this
    Don't know of any site that has those t&c's. It's mostly stealing

Do either of you actually know of any other poker sites? This is 100% standard. Neteller charge a fee for depositing and withdrawing, Party agree to eat that fee but they expect you to play a bit on their site. Otherwise you could keep depositing and withdrawing money and cost them thousands in transaction charges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

RoundTower wrote: »
    Do either of you actually know of any other poker sites? This is 100% standard. Neteller charge a fee for depositing and withdrawing, Party agree to eat that fee but they expect you to play a bit on their site. Otherwise you could keep depositing and withdrawing money and cost them thousands in transaction charges.

Hey, what's with the condescending tone?

Of Course I know other sites. I have recently deposited and withdrawn within 24 hours on 2 other poker sites. One was full tilt, the other was an ongame skin. Also Pokerstars allows you to withdraw 48 hours after a deposit with no obligation to generate a % of your deposit in rake. Party's policy is not standard at all and if I'm not mistaken unique to their site.

If you walk into a live casino and play a couple of spins at roulette but then decide it's not for you you're never forced to stay and play. Live casinos incur their own overheads too. Why should it be any different for an online poker site? Neteller fees etc. are minuscule in terms of their overall costs. There is no excuse for forcing people to stay and play IMO.

Do either of you actually know of any other poker sites? This is 100% standard.

On what sites?

NickyOD wrote: »

Of Course I know other sites. I have recently deposited and withdrawn within 24 hours on 2 other poker sites. One was full tilt, the other was an ongame skin. Also Pokerstars allows you to withdraw 48 hours after a deposit with no obligation to generate a % of your deposit in rake. Party's policy is not standard at all and if I'm not mistaken unique to their site.

If you walk into a live casino and play a couple of spins at roulette but then decide it's not for you you're never forced to stay and play. Live casinos incur their own overheads too. Why should it be any different for an online poker site? Neteller fees etc. are minuscule in terms of their overall costs. There is no excuse for forcing people to stay and play IMO.

I agree that RT's condescending tone is unnecessary but I think he's monotone so that's all your going to get from RT I'm afraid ;)

Other than that I think Roundsie is right on this one.

I'm not sure what fees the sites get hit by with neteller and credit cards but I think it can be substantial. I was told this before by a couple of different site owners. One guy was telling me about some Italian maniac poker player who was costing them a fortune, he was so bad he was losing all his deposits so quick they were losing more on the deposit fees than they made from him in rake. He was saying what they got charged by credit card companies was ridiculous.

Anyway one site I play sometimes on Expekt an iPoker skin also do something similar with neteller deposits. Personally it doesn't bother me, it's not a huge volume of hands to play to make the withdrawal. Though I can see why this might annoy people, especially if it's never happend to you before, this is probably one of the least of PartyPoker's bad practices imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

That is just a running cost of the business they are in. It should be balanced by rake or by charging the customer at the time of depositing. This system of forcing you to play is underhanded and not responsible at all, especially for a gambling company. It is your money, and you should have the option of not gambling with it. $500 sitting in your party account should be $500. It should not be $500Y, where Y is the variance associated with the game they force you to play. At least they should have the option of paying the transaction charge.

ocallagh wrote: »
    That is just a running cost of the business they are in. It should be balanced by rake or by charging the customer at the time of depositing. This system of forcing you to play is underhanded and not responsible at all, especially for a gambling company. It is your money, and you should have the option of not gambling with it. $500 sitting in your party account should be $500. It should not be $500Y, where Y is the variance associated with the game they force you to play. At least they should have the option of paying the transaction charge.

Exactly.

Partypoker already charge for CC withdrawals, if that was the issue they could just charge $0.50 on neteller withdrawals too (which'd be about the average cost of a neteller transaction to the company).

The standard for most companies would be to request id/account verification, not to force someone to risk losing their money, which was theirs in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭meathman 007

i had this maximum deposit issue with an ipoker skin in the past. Basically i had to e-mail them a copy of my passport and my credit card so as to prove it was me who was depositing the money. After that i was allowed to deposit what i wanted. I presume party would do the same if you got in contact wth them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

To the OP.. I had the same problem awhile back, I phoned support and had to battle with them to "allow" me to withdraw my own money, eventually they said they'll make an exception and let me withdraw.
    I remember they pointed me to the t&c's which say you have to wager x amount of times your first deposit across the "party brand". I told them if I had known this before I'd lodged I'd never have played there in the first place and I felt like they were holding me to ransom, and in fairness the support guy sorted it there and then and I withdrew immediately. All this took about 10 mins on the phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭SuperHans

I recently deposited a small amount with Party, and withdrew immediatelly without playing. The money took longer than usual to get back to my neteller account, but the withdrawal was never stopped.

ok strong mail sent "requesting" my money... let you know how i get on

Party's policy is not standard at all and if I'm not mistaken unique to their site.
    yes you are mistaken. Of the sites you mention, FT at least doesn't usually let you withdraw without playing, unless you have history with them. Possibly also the others, I can't speak for every site.
    Partypoker already charge for CC withdrawals, if that was the issue they could just charge $0.50 on neteller withdrawals too (which'd be about the average cost of a neteller transaction to the company).

lol no, you made this up and you should probably stop embarassing yourself. Think more like $50.00.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Wisesmurf

lol no, you made this up and you should probably stop embarassing yourself. Think more like $50.00.

Stop being an argumentative idiot. 50c is closer to the mark p/transcation. Pulling that figure out of the air makes you sound like heather mills!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

NickyOD wrote: »
    luckylucky wrote: »
    I agree that RT's condescending tone is unnecessary but I think he's monotone so that's all your going to get from RT I'm afraid ;)

Wisesmurf wrote: »
    Stop being an argumentative idiot.

The wonder and glory of boards.ie. Even social retards like the original roundtower can find a forum where they can be rude and yet not be banned.

Ok issue resolved.... but just be aware of the "unusual" procedure on this site and maybe others that I'm unaware of....

mail recieved from party

Dear Paul, Thank you for contacting us. With reference to your email, we apologize for the inconvenience caused.Please request for a cashout so that we can process it as a one time exception. However, we request you to earn the required number of party points inorder to cashout in future. Contact us anytime, we are available around the clock to assist you withyour account related questions and suggestions. Sincerely, PaulGame Fairness & Security Teamalerts@partyaccount.com

Stop being an argumentative idiot. 50c is closer to the mark p/transcation.

I could be wrong but from what I've gathered the charges are significantly more than 50c. Doesn't look like any site reps want to get involved in this thread to confirm the type of charges they get hit with though.
    The wonder and glory of boards.ie. Even social retards like the original roundtower can find a forum where they can be rude and yet not be banned.

lmfao. RT does come across as the Rainman of Boards alright :p . though I concur with your statement I am a bit surprised that someone with the handle Roundtower2 made it ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

I could be wrong but from what I've gathered the charges are significantly more than 50c. Doesn't look like any site reps want to get involved in this thread to confirm the type of charges they get hit with though.

4% was the normal credit card charge to the site/seller/shop a few years back, not sure what it is now....

jhegarty wrote: »
    4% was the normal credit card charge to the site/seller/shop a few years back, not sure what it is now....

That's a fair whack then. Could be a few hundred dollars on big transactions. I note that Expekt charge something like 3.8% on neteller withdrawals if you don't play enough hands.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Mother of Mercy. Please stop behaving like 5 year olds (those of you that are). Roundtowers remarks are admittedly not exactly a constructive tone either, but he is not being abusive, whereas others are (somewhat at least). If RT could be less abrasive and others stop getting wound, then my life on boards would be much easier for one.

Civil conversation anyone? Everyone?

5starpool wrote: »
    Mother of Mercy. Please stop behaving like 5 year olds (those of you that are). Roundtowers remarks are admittedly not exactly a constructive tone either, but he is not being abusive, whereas others are (somewhat at least). If RT could be less abrasive and others stop getting wound, then my life on boards would be much easier for one.

Civil conversation anyone? Everyone?

Mother of Mercy is right, so Roundtower's consistent rude behaviour gets indulged and others throwing in a bit of tongue-in-cheek abuse as a well overdue retort gets shot down!

On RT's tone when is it ever anything other than condescending. :rolleyes: Jaysus I even agree with his points over 95% of the time, but he makes them in such an obnoxious fashion. Since the time I've been on boards RT is the one person that is constantly using a 'condescending' unneccessary tone, the 'abuse' he is getting here is probably a very mild portion of what he dishes out, if he is prepared to give it out he should be able to take it too.

RT is clearly a clever guy but you'd swear he was the only one the way he goes on. There are many successful players on this forum, most of whom do not feel the need to take a high-handed tone.

/long overdue rant over

Anyway Roundsie isn't going to change his behaviour and tbh a part of me doesn't even want him to, having a character like him can make the forum more interesting, but he's always going to rile people up, do you expect people to sit back and say nothing!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Mother of Mercy is right, so Roundtower's consistent rude behaviour gets indulged and others throwing in a bit of tongue-in-cheek abuse as a well overdue retort gets shot down!

On RT's tone when is it ever anything other than condescending. :rolleyes: Jaysus I even agree with his points over 95% of the time, but he makes them in such an obnoxious fashion. Since the time I've been on boards RT is the one person that is constantly using a 'condescending' unneccessary tone, the 'abuse' he is getting here is probably a very mild portion of what he dishes out, if he is prepared to give it out he should be able to take it too.

RT is clearly a clever guy but you'd swear he was the only one the way he goes on. There are many successful players on this forum, most of whom do not feel the need to take a high-handed tone.

/long overdue rant over

Anyway Roundsie isn't going to change his behaviour and tbh a part of me doesn't even want him to, having a character like him can make the forum more interesting, but he's always going to rile people up, do you expect people to sit back and say nothing!

How am I indulging him and shooting down others? I told everyone involved to cop on, which includes him.

If people resort to abuse to deal with it (in general, not necessarily in this thread), how is that helping the situation? If someone laughs at you and then you call them a retard or similar, do you think the two are similar offenses?

How am I indulging him

I wasn't really taking this thread on it's sole merits I mean historically he is indulged more than just about anyone, and actually rightly so for his entertainment value.
    If someone laughs at you and then you call them a retard or similar, do you think the two are similar offenses?

I dunno, maybe you should ask Roundtower :p (my amateur attempt at a Roundtowerism)

Stop being an argumentative idiot. 50c is closer to the mark p/transcation. Pulling that figure out of the air makes you sound like heather mills!

I don't think NETeller publish their rates but I understood it is something like 2-5% depending on the site.

Here is an example of a guy getting charged $43 on a $1500 transaction or about 2.9%, for a deposit to a small sportsbook.

Here is an example of a guy getting charged $15 on a $150 withdrawal from a small Boss Media poker skin, or 10%.

If you have rakeback on Full Tilt you might be able to work out what you get charged for NETeller withdrawals and deposits, as the fees are deducted from your MGR (i.e. you get less rakeback). I think it might be 3% but I can't find anything right now to back that up.

So no, I'm not making the figures up.

regarding neteller transfers my rakeback is paid to my neteller account and I'm charged 2.9 % on each withdrawal... is often up to 50 euro