Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's It Like Where You Are?

• 17-03-2008 3:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919
    ✭✭✭✭

St. Patrick's Day that is.

I just went out for lunch there and Perth is just a sea of green. Everyone from surfys to builders has a green top on. The pub around the corner has Irish dancers in and music blaring and it's the same all over the city. The ratio of actual Irish to plastics is about 1:4. It's amazing how much our national holiday captures the imagination of the world over.

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 Jesus Wept
    ✭✭✭✭

Yea I reckon it's better craic elsewhere.

I'm going elsewhere next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 orestes
    ✭✭✭

Dublin is a pain in the arse for Paddys Day, in future I'm going abroad for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 HAPPYGIRL
    ✭✭✭

my best paddys day was in Amsterdam.

Its crap in Ireland.

✭✭✭✭

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Yea I reckon it's better craic elsewhere.

I'm going elsewhere next year.
    orestes wrote: »
    Dublin is a pain in the arse for Paddys Day, in future I'm going abroad for it
    Happygirl wrote:
    my best paddys day was in Amsterdam.

Its crap in Ireland.

Boards Paddy's Day excursion ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 Rabies
    ✭✭✭✭

Loads of bars are giving away free grub to drinkers all day. Parade was on yesterday, didn't go. Decided to stay in bed. I did have plans to go drinking tonight but I now need to be in work at 6am :eek: so that screws my plans.

/cries green tear

Oh ya, I'm in Auckland.
    Wannabe Paddies every where :)

✭✭✭

*checks watch, starts packing frantically*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 HAPPYGIRL
    ✭✭✭

\o/ cant wait!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 dr.bollocko
    Mod ✭✭✭✭

Not much of a change to the usual here in Melbourne to be honest. People in a good mood, and everyone wants to shake me hand cos Im irish. But not a lot of green. Although I havent left the office since 8am, and when I came in at that time, most Irish people would still be hungover from the Grand Prix yesterday.
    Which I was at.
    Which ruled!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 Xavi6
    ✭✭✭✭

I'm sure I could put a few of ye up if ye fancy it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 Voodu Child
    ✭✭✭

The craic's mighty here in Tibet! :D It's just like back home, everybody's fcukin locked and rampaging through the steets wreckin' the place....it's bleedin' deadly!

✭✭✭✭

Xavi6 wrote: »

Everybody to Xavi's , STAT! :D

✭✭✭

Xavi6 wrote: »

You're gonna regret that in a years time if you're still over there :D

✭✭✭✭

orestes wrote: »
    You're gonna regret that in a years time if you're still over there :D

Perth's a big enough place :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 Lambsbread
    ✭✭

In Moscow, it was very strange. Local people waving the tri-colour, a military band in the parade and all against the backdrop of some of the worst communist architecture - oh, and the Russians get drunk too!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 Basq
    ✭✭✭✭

In Russia - you don't go to parade, parade goes to you! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 Ruu_Old
    ✭✭✭✭

I live in a small town in central Illinois, I haven't seen much going on here and most people I talk to go to Chicago for the bigger parade and other cultural festivals held in the working class areas.
    I try to avoid going into town because I'm sick of seeing 'St.Patties day' written on banners in pub windows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 yummycake
    ✭✭

just home now from the night before ohhh god i need sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 Mweelrea
    ✭✭✭

paddy's day here is sh*te
    Everyone else seems to do a better job on our holiday than us
    New York would be a good one to go to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 simonrooneyzaga
    ✭✭✭

todays gonna be class... big party in mine. your all invited

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 Bob the Builder
    ✭✭✭

todays gonna be class... big party in mine. your all invited
    free drink? if there is, then gimme a directions to da partay!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 eldeabroad
    ✭✭

Im doing my little bit here in Basque Country, tricolour and shamrock bunting up inside the bar, huge flag hanging outside fluttering in the breeze, Irish music playing... All morning people coming in asking if today is "San Patricio". Apart from that just like any other day...

Just gone 1pm here so gonna have a guinness (from a can :( ) and turn up the volume a bit more, maybe try and see the parade from rte.ie, though getting busy now so will see fcuk all.

Later I will be closing early and going to the local "Irish" pub to have a few pints of Guinness, think they have music on too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 simonrooneyzaga
    ✭✭✭

nevf wrote: »
    free drink? if there is, then gimme a directions to da partay!!

what do you think i am? a gainful employee? no, try student - ill be scraping the barrel for 14 euro to fund my dutch gold for the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 Bob the Builder
    ✭✭✭

what do you think i am? a gainful employee? no, try student - ill be scraping the barrel for 14 euro to fund my dutch gold for the day!
    ah well, twas' worth a try... well, maybe i'll go to your house another day.... :)

✭✭✭✭

Just back from being abroad, have missed any build up to paddy's day so I haven't noticed a thing.

✭✭✭✭

Just in the door myself from one of the local pubs. 'Diddly-eye' music all the way and everyone dressed up like a complete tool. It was all in good spirits though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 Nalz
    ✭✭✭✭

Not leaving the house today...Dublin & Paddys Day = disaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 Basq
    ✭✭✭✭

Went up to Centra to get a panini and caught the ass-end of the tacky parade, was surrounded by screaming kids and bumped into about 12 buggies.

Reminded me why I never really enjoyed this day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 whatsgoinon
    ✭✭

spent the weekend in London, met about 15 people from home which reminded me why I left in the first place. Heaps of people wearing green all over the place, wandering round the place this morning, not so many. dropped an awful ball of cash over the few days of there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 Oilrig
    ✭✭✭

"Its crap in Ireland."

"Parades" composed of tractors (modern, vintage, you name it)... etc. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 Dennis the Stone
    ✭✭✭

I'm a Paddy and I'm okay
    I drink all night and eat spuds all day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 Pompey Magnus
    ✭✭✭

Oilrig wrote: »
    "Its crap in Ireland."

"Parades" composed of tractors (modern, vintage, you name it)... etc. :o

Ah that reminds me of the parades I used to go to back home in Mullingar. About 100 tractors, a child on a donkey dressed as a leprachaun, the FCA with an artillery piece and every primary school band in the midlands playing either Roddy McCorley or The Moon Behind The Hills. Rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 Nalz
    ✭✭✭✭

Oilrig wrote: »
    Parades composed of tractors (modern, vintage, you name it)... etc. :o

some ppl like that kinda thing...not for me but some ppl are into it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 Mr. CooL ICE
    ✭✭✭✭

Dunno what the parade here was like, but I did get a few compile-time errors. They're ok now though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 Bard
    ✭✭✭✭

This could have been any other day. Got up late, inhaled something made of magic, ate some stuff, watched some telly, went to see "In Bruges" came home, now having a few beers.

Sad really, I suppose...

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.