Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

use the languague make sense who you are,what your surname means

• 14-03-2008 4:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15

Hey eires people this is josu from basque country(euskadi) just sending a salut to people from Eire.Have a nice day and think smart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Best post ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

josufromgetxo for new mod of AH!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Motosam wrote: »
    Best post ever!

That's because he's Spanish

MUHAHAHA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

whiskeyman wrote: »

QFT +1 roflcopterlmfao ^_^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jb91

+ 1!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭sinjin_smythe

bah hahahah!!! think straight !! o hes gold ,, hes gold!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 josufromgetxo

Bythe way,I am not spanish I am basque that is completely different

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Calling wee josufromgetxo Spanish is like calling a nationalist from Northern Ireland British.

What the hell is the title about, josufromgetxo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

I <3 this thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

thread of teh day!

whats it all about tho:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Josu, Josu, Josu! [/CHANT MODE]

Someone get this man a drink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

Salute to you! nor am i spanish or basque, i am completely different:)

kerash wrote: »
    Salute to you! nor am i spanish or basque, i am completely different:)

Fcukin Catalans.

ferst of all sorry aboot my english,not all is cracked up to be.
    Second what the thread means is that irish is what make baile at a cliath or whatever the spelling is make sense and no dublin,irish language is what gives sense to all the legends,believes,and misticism of irish people that is part of your background.Use english and not irish in your daily routines what makes is make you forgett what you really are,play irish people´s culture down,etc.
    This is what I think,from an anthropology point of view.
    Best wishes to irish people what ever languague you use

Second what the thread means is that irish is what make baile at a cliath or whatever the spelling is make sense and no dublin,irish languague is what gives sense to all the legends,believes,and misticism of irish people that is part of your background.Use english and not irish in your daily routines what makes is make you forgett what you really are,play irish people´s culture down,etc.
    This is what I think,from an anthropology point of view.
    Best wishes to irish people what ever languague you use

From what I understand of this, you are saying that Irish people should take pride in their heritage and language, and that our use of the English language undermines our cultural past. I agree to a great extent, but I feel our use of the English language is a great help to us to communicate with the rest of the world. I am starting to realise how important Irish as a language is to our identity, and how much we should try to keep it alive, whilst not neccesarily speaking it all day, every day.

I like you Josu! I like Athletic Bilbao too! :D

I agree with you absolutely.I am not trying to say that you have to forget English language,very far from that.If you can speik 5 languages instead of 2 the better for you ,but irish should be the first one.I know its difficult,´cause we have the same problem down here in euskadi,but its doable;it requieres a lot of time and determination to learn irish and secondly,to use it,to produce your first words in irish even when you ken the one you are adressing cant speik in irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Bythe way,I am not spanish I am basque that is completely different
    Dudess wrote: »
    Calling wee josufromgetxo Spanish is like calling a nationalist from Northern Ireland British.

I was joking :)

Ah well...

no problem dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Josu , interesting English you speak and good to see you here. Maybe you can help me.
    I was wondering if you can tell me what the word xirimiri means. Someone told me it was Spanish or Basque. I like the sound of it but want to make sure that it's not something rude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

i think xirimiri means to rain. Or something to do with rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

is_that_so wrote: »
    I was wondering if you can tell me what the word xirimiri means..

"Yore Ma"

"Yore Ma"

Walked into that :o

basque word for drizzle

Thanks for that . Think it's spelt txirimiri though. I believe they use the same word in Spanish as well. Is that right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i want to buy luckada tuv, you sell luckada tuv

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

i want to buy luckada tuv, you sell luckada tuv
    Is it to play Doovds.

Ok, so what's the bit in the title about your surname?
    By the way +1 on the "Josu is a legend" consensus...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Is it to play Doovds.

yeah and i need it delivered by duullll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

dublindude wrote: »
    That's because he's Spanish

MUHAHAHA.

Yeah, just like how you are British Martian...

[edit] Damn you Dudess

Additionally, time to get new batteries for the humour detector methinks...

dont understand your answer

Nop,they use calabobos or llovizna for the same word.Xirimiri or txirimiri-both accepted- are basque words only.From now on use euskara/euskera or uskara instead of basque

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭eldeabroad

Aupa Josu!!!!!!! how were the txakoli´s this morning muy rico, no?

Josu is a customer of mine - and we share the same birthday too!!

I introduced him to boards - do I get a prize....;)

agurrrrr Josu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

That's class! He's obviously still learning English, yet he knows a phrase like that :D Threw in a bit of Canadian too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭gollyitsolly

HAHAHAHAHA:D:D:D this is so funny. Keep going ,its great!

I love him, and insist that we keep him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

I love him, and insist that we keep him.

Ok but he's yours. That's a big responsibility I don't want to be the one left feeding him and changing him. Remember your rabbit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

This line is great, good work josu.

And for the record, I agree with you ;)
    Even bringing in a few words in everyday use would help, "Pass the bainne (milk)" for example.
    Ok, so what's the bit in the title about your surname?
    By the way +1 on the "Josu is a legend" consensus...

I think he meant it in an anthropological way, not to forget who we are and where we come from (based on his 'We are diluting our Irish ways with english' bit).

Naos wrote: »
    This line is great, good work josu.

And for the record, I agree with you ;) Even bringing in a few words in everyday use would help, "Pass the bainne (milk)" for example.

I personally always use the Irish word for cat. :rolleyes:

Hey eires people this is josu from basque country(euskadi) just sending a salut to people from Eire.Have a nice day and think smart

OK. Listen an learn. Howya bud. Gis a smoke ,ya bleedin geezer.Areyuz goin for a jar,lads. Pog mo hoin cailin deas. Supermercardo. Sangria. See, me to lern talk an tink smart multilangwich:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

javaboy wrote: »
    I personally always use the Irish word for cat. :rolleyes:

As opposed to which other form of "Personally"... :rolleyes:

Naos wrote: »
    As opposed to which other form of "Personally"... :rolleyes:

Personally, if I'm making a stupid silly point I will do it in a stupid silly way. ;)

nice perpaus,esaldi=sentence u golly

I like languagues and nahastu=mingle por ejemplo=for example an peu de francais=a bit of french und ein bisschen deutsch=a bit of german and welsh gaelic in sentences like basquir I du ir or however they spell in cymrug gaelic "I am basque".

Nice lesson your´s.By the way this august me and a friend of mine will spent 10 days or so in south east ireland.We´ll go from waterford to dublin on foot

I like languagues and nahastu=mingle por ejemplo=for example an peu de francais=a bit of french und ein bisschen deutsch=a bit of german and welsh gaelic in sentences like basquir I du ir or however they spell in cymrug gaelic "I am basque".

Nice lesson your´s.By the way this august me and a friend of mine will spent 10 days or so in south east ireland.We´ll go from waterford to dublin on foot

Legend! Waterford to Dublin on foot? Wow. Just make sure you visit Dunmore East!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭eldeabroad

OK. Listen an learn. Howya bud. Gis a smoke ,ya bleedin geezer.Areyuz goin for a jar,lads. Pog mo hoin cailin deas. Supermercardo. Sangria. See, me to lern talk an tink smart multilangwich:D

Supermercado.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

But that's what they are....

On the whole Basque thingy*, with José being a very common name in Spain, are you called Josu instead of Jose just to be different?

*Not to trivialise the situation by calling it a 'thingy' :D

Coola bula, am doin a road trip of Ireland on my own this summer. If I see you I,ll give youse a jaunt. How will I recognise you? Sombrero or fedora?;)

On the whole Basque thingy*, with José being a very common name in Spain, are you called Josu instead of Jose just to be different?

*Not to trivialise the situation by calling it a 'thingy' :D

Scobie or Head to me,thats it!

Kold wrote: »
    But that's what they are....
    Maybe, but they'll still get mighty cross with you if you tell them that...
    Remember your rabbit?
    Are you calling me a bunny-boiler...?! :mad:

Josu is the basque name for jesus,Jose is a spanish name not basque

what is true is that many names were "invented" in the late XIXth century or rediscovered to the citizens by the nationalism cultural movement