Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Open--which start day?

• 12-03-2008 12:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭

Ok lads,
    Finally secured my ticket for the PP Irish Open. I've been thinking about which start day to use, Thursday or Friday?

Some points that come to mind:

1) Playing Friday as day 1, we'd be aware of leading stacks from Thurs ( say 120k or so) so it puts you in an aggressive mode chasing chips?

2) Many of the visiting pros probably wont arrive in time to play day 1 anf will be playing Friday.

3) Play day 1, survive hopefully with a healthy stack, free day 2, back day 3. What way does this affect the mind. (I'm asking this because I havent played a tourney before with 2 starting days so no experience of it.) Would it be better to start Friday and play it on like any other 3 day tourney?

Lots of ye I presume would have views on this. I'd like to hear them, the pros and cons and any other points ye feel are appropriate.

PS: Are the starting numbers going to be pretty similar on both days?

Coonie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭Blip

Theres no drink on Friday, so you may aswell play cards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

I personally do not like a day break in a tourney so decided on playing the Friday. For me its quite simple i dont like hanging around for a day which could lead to me to going on the lash (yes i have no self control)
    The fact that the 2nd day is normally a bigger field with more chips in play it gives you the opportunity to get yourself in a good position for Day 2.
    Another positive is if you are on a rush its much better to continue it on within the shortest time period rather than have a big gap in between.

My 2.5 cents.

Well done on the ticket Connie, see you in the Citywest

Fran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

Blip wrote: »
    no drink no drunks :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

Blip wrote: »

It's a hotel ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

play the tourney on Friday so you can play the drunken cash games on Thu then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

RoundTower wrote: »
    play the tourney on thurs afternoon so you can play the drunken cash games on Thu night then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

if i play it will be day 1a:

i like the idea of a day off after a long days play (if i made it to day 2) - it would be better to be refreshed imo

the majority of the pro's will start on day 1b, due to traveling etc

i think it's not such a good thing looking at 1a's chip leader with 120k when your sitting there with 10k - all you really have to do is double up to 20k (or whatever the average is) - therefore day 1a again is my choice

day 1b is bops jnr's 4th birthday so i'd rather be at home (ie i'd better be at home :))

gl