Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Superman Returns again!

• 11-03-2008 7:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭

http://www.empireonline.com/news/story.asp?NID=22165

What did ye think of Superman Returns? I felt that the lack of action was the only poor point in the film. The direction and acting was great, aside from Kate Bosworth's slightly weak Lois.

I'm really looking forward to the sequel, seeing confirmation is great! I hope some of ye share my enthusiam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Predhead

To be honest I thought it was utter rubbish. So many things wrong with it. The whole ''Superboy'' thing was unneccessary, Lex's plan was ridiculous, Kate Bosworth was a horrendous Lois Lane. Totally lacked the edge and wit Margot Kidder's had. Also Bosworth's Lane was a bit of a bitch and very annoying to watch her portray the character as I've always like Lois' character.

Having said that, the action sequences were brilliant. Not really looking forward to the next one. Ya can't beat Chris Reeves & Richard Donner! :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I didn't think Bosworth was that bad tbh, just too young. And Singer paid far too much homage to Donner's original film. I mean why didn't he just remake the f**king thing and be done with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Mr. K

I agree, that's why I'm hoping his next one will be more different to Donner's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

The bit with the airplane and the space shuttle was very well done.. other than that I found very little to like about the film.

Superman came across as a bit off an asshole the way he was trying to steal Lois away from the new guy. I could understand if she was with a dick.. but he was a good guy who raised the kid that Superman abandoned and was a far more heroic character as him putting himself in danger as a vulnerable human being takes a lot more guts than Superman putting himself in the line of fire.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

The bit with the airplane and the space shuttle was very well done.. other than that I found very little to like about the film.

Superman came across as a bit off an asshole the way he was trying to steal Lois away from the new guy. I could understand if she was with a dick.. but he was a good guy who raised the kid that Superman abandoned and was a far more heroic character as him putting himself in danger as a vulnerable human being takes a lot more guts than Superman putting himself in the line of fire.

I don't know, Cyclops is pretty tough :)

Plus, it was basically the same film as Superman 1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Mr. K wrote: »
    http://www.empireonline.com/news/story.asp?NID=22165

What did ye think of Superman Returns? I felt that the lack of action was the only poor point in the film. The direction and acting was great, aside from Kate Bosworth's slightly weak Lois.

"WRONG!"

The movie was boring from start to finish and the whole thing stank like yesterdays cheese. Plus anytime you give Spacey free reign in a movie he seems to turn into this camp manchild.

Singer is finally getting found out. The Usual Suspects is overrated pap and this is even worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Superman Returns was one of the worst films I've ever seen in my life, and that's not an exaggeration by any means. Everyone involved delivered nothing more than an insult to the intelligence of the audience by thinking such a malconceived piece of work could possibly pass as cinema.

Funnily enough, DC/Warner's Batman Begins had already provided the blueprint for how to reboot a waning comic-to-screen franchise. Shame it was completely ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭van damme

I really wanted to like this film, but was bitterly disappointed when I saw it. I've rewatched it a few times since and my opinion has not changed. There were some great action sequences in it but not enough of them. Kate Bosworth did not impress me as Lois Lane at all and Kevin Spacey, who I though would be great as Lex, was just far too camp and I totally agree witgh Predhead that Lex's plan was just ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Ah, I thought it was grand. Nothing special, but I didn't hate it. There were some really great sequences in it (saving the plane, the bank robbery and the shock wave hitting metropolis all looked fantastic). I honestly didn't expect it to be mind blowing as I kind of assumed the next one would be the action film that everyone wants, while this one was just getting through the back story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Petey2006

There were moments in Superman Returns that I really liked. But moments do not a decent film make. If this sequel goes ahead, they'll really have to knock it out of the park. A superhero is only as good as the bad guy he has to vanquish, so drop Luthor and bring in Zod or Brainiac or even Doomsday. Whoever it is, the villain has to put it up to Superman and not just present the man of steel with challenges to lift things.

Petey2006 wrote: »
    There were moments in Superman Returns that I really liked. But moments do not a decent film make. If this sequel goes ahead, they'll really have to knock it out of the park. A superhero is only as good as the bad guy he has to vanquish, so drop Luthor and bring in Zod or Brainiac or even Doomsday. Whoever it is, the villain has to put it up to Superman and not just present the man of steel with challenges to lift things.

I often wonder why the people who make super hero films find this concept so hard to get. If I see a superman film, I want him throwing bad guys through buildings and smashing them with cars. Use what you've got!

Same with that piece of much Fantastic Four film. The only entertaining bit in it was the last ten minutes, when the final fight with Doom occured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭The Denouncer

Kevin Spacey wasn't great as Lex, I always visualised Lex as a big, powerful bad dude who reeks of power and wealth, and I didn't get that from Spacey. None of actors impacted at all, but as a home cinema movie it is impressive visually and aurally.

lex%20luthor.jpg

Kevin Spacey wasn't great as Lex, I always visualised Lex as a big, powerful bad dude who reeks of power and wealth, and I didn't get that from Spacey. None of actors impacted at all, but as a home cinema movie it is impressive visually and aurally.

lex%20luthor.jpg

Spacey's Luthor was- unfortunately- based on the 50's - 70's Luthor, who was a mad scientist, not an incredibly intelligent ruthless business man, which sadly makes little sense to our modern sensibilites.

SDooM wrote: »
    Spacey's Luthor was- unfortunately- based on the 50's - 70's Luthor, who was a mad scientist, not an incredibly intelligent ruthless business man, which sadly makes little sense to our modern sensibilites.

After seeing There Will Be Blood I imagined that Citizen Kane-esque ruthless streak to be the perfect Lex Luthor template.

Couldn't agree more.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,124 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I thought the opening credits to Superman Returns were absolutely awesome. Went pretty downhill from there though. I don't particularly like Superman as a character though, invulnerability is a rather boring trait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Pigman II wrote: »
    The Usual Suspects is overrated pap

Heretic!!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Jar_421

It did have its nice set pieces, saving the plane looked fantastic but the overall story was a bit crap.

I agree that Singer payed way too much homage to donner.

I just dont get with around 70 years of superman stories in the comics how coming up with a decent story for the film is so hard. there are some great superman story arcs that are very self contained and just a good story, and while translating from page to screen effectively can be difficult its not impossible with a good writer and director and providing that the studio doesn't feel it has to pander to an audience with a combined intelligence of a five year old as most super hero movies try to do.

A Superman fighting 1930's gangsters would be superb, then Lex could come on the scene as an all powerful businessman with an eye on world domination. Yes, set it in the 30's, and mention whats going on in Gotham. Bring in the Nazis too, as any film set in the 30's usually has a dose of Nazis.
    Superman vs the Nazis vs Lex Luthor; Hitler and Lex would on the surface cosy up, but be major enemies.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I hated superman returns, routh was uncharismatic and the superman character came across a bit of a perv. There was no super villian either. Luthor was lack lustre

Then again im not a fan of superman in general. Too many super powers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

Terrible film it bored the pants off me altogether...Bad acting rubbish story crap bad guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Terrible film it bored the pants off me altogether...Bad acting rubbish story crap bad guy

... and if anyone knows what constitutes a bad movie it's Howard the Duck!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Oh, imagine a well done, Superman vs Doomsday fight, comic book style...

*Drools* :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Mr. K

Yeah, a big fight with Doomsday would be awesome. In the Death of Superman, their blows caused the glass in the surrounding buildings to smash. That'd be rather cool in a movie!

They brought out an animated Superman: Doomsday movie recently on DVD.

It's outstanding.

You have massive a battle between Doomsday and Superman... smashing tanks, cars and buildings...

Then you have Superman versus an evil Superman... again outstanding super powered battle...

And you have a properly evil Lex Luthor pulling the strings in the background.

It's exactly how a Superman movie should be made.

Fight scene here:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

he keeps saying oh it was a romantic film but people wanted action, but it was chemistry that fell falt, thats what was wrong with the film, i don't know how he be so misguided.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

ps
    im waiting for captain america hopefully set in the fifties

The new Justice League animated movie was set in the 50s.

Again, a very well made film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Damn that's a great fight scene monkeyfudge. Not sure it would work with cgi though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I thought it was half a remake and half a sequel...which didnt really work for me. One or the other please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

Pigman II wrote: »
    ... and if anyone knows what constitutes a bad movie it's Howard the Duck!

I have no idea what your talking about :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

They brought out an animated Superman: Doomsday movie recently on DVD.

It's outstanding.

You have massive a battle between Doomsday and Superman... smashing tanks, cars and buildings...

Then you have Superman versus an evil Superman... again outstanding super powered battle...

And you have a properly evil Lex Luthor pulling the strings in the background.

It's exactly how a Superman movie should be made.

Fight scene here:

That was really good. Based on 'The Death of Superman' I take it ? I was surprised that they didnt pussy out and have him live at the end.

Tusky wrote: »
    That was really good. Based on 'The Death of Superman' I take it ? I was surprised that they didnt pussy out and have him live at the end.

Well that's pretty much the beginning of the film.

The film also covers the rebirth of Superman.... but doesn't have 4 versions of Superman like in the comic.

I love the bit where Superman's blood gets splashed on Lois's face.

There is a new animated Batman film in the works too that looks brilliant.. it's set between Batman Begins and The Dark Knight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Good fight scene, although that train bit was kinda nicked from Blade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

In an ongoing Federal court battle over Superman, Judge Stephen Larson ruled Wednesday that the family of the superhero's co-creator, Jerry Siegel, has "successfully recaptured" rights to additional works, including the first two weeks of the daily Superman newspaper comic-strips, as well as portions of early Action Comics and Superman comic-books.

This means the Siegels -- repped by Marc Toberoff of Toberoff & Associates -- now control depictions of Superman's origins from the planet Krypton, his parents Jor-El and Lora, Superman as the infant Kal-El, the launching of the infant Superman into space by his parents as Krypton explodes and his landing on Earth in a fiery crash.

DC owns other elements like Superman's ability to fly, the term kryptonite, the Lex Luthor and Jimmy Olsen characters, Superman's powers and expanded origins.

A new Superman movie has to be in theaters before summer 2011 or WB owes the siegel family $250m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Josey Wales

With the rights to certain aspects of the Superman universe split between two camps doesn't sound ideal. I wonder will it impact on a potential sequel to Superman Returns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

Will other families of comic book franchises follow suit? Also if DC have rights to 75% of content does that mean they could make a movie and leave out loads of stuff and make a total mess of it? Ie The recent Catwomen film. I agree the families should get royalties from any profits but DC should take a lot of credit for their work over the years and should retain ownership.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I don't think Kate Bosworth understood what it was to be a strong woman. From watching her portray Lois Lane I got the impression that she thought to be a strong woman like Lois, that you have to be a total bitch. So I think she failed in her role.

Brandon Routh didn't really impress me as Clark Kent either. He came across as a genuine buffoon, whereas Christopher Reeve's Clark Kent was like someone who enjoyed playing the "role" of the buffoon and enjoyed watching the likes of Lois underestimate him. So he IMO failed too.

Then again, maybe it's not their fault, and that these issues are down more to how the characters were written more so than how they are portrayed.

Having said all this, Superman is the epitome of "feel good", and besides for the inaccurate character portrayals I enjoyed watching this film in the cinema. The plane scene was one of the most breathtaking pieces of cinema I have seen in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

I liked it because it was like Singer had anticipated character development through the years of Supermans absence.

He was still saving the day and living his double life, just like all other Superman stories, but now the background (or should I say foreground) stories, work, love life etc.... were different.

My only gripes were your run of the mill inconsistancies.

iMax wrote: »
    This means the Siegels -- repped by Marc Toberoff of Toberoff & Associates -- now control depictions of Superman's origins from the planet Krypton, his parents Jor-El and Lora, Superman as the infant Kal-El, the launching of the infant Superman into space by his parents as Krypton explodes and his landing on Earth in a fiery crash.

This is a good thing. I think most of the world is more up to speed on Superman's origins than they are on Jesus Christ's origins at this stage, we do not to see it all over again in a film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

Agree with Monkey Fudge. We also need to see a stronger enemy for superman, maybe General Zod. Also maybe a crossover of one of the other DC characters (not Batman). Wonderwoman would be good & would set up a wonderwoman movie by intrucing the character...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

hated it